Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: No Calderwood?

Quote Originally Posted by JCHibby View Post
    From what I have heard would not be surprised by this - CC apparantley spends very little time during the week with Hibs and the relationship with Rod is not good at all, alot of bad feeling and horrendous management down ER at the moment and no shock that is carried onto the pitch by the team.

Pish

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby D View Post
    Ironically we actually are stable at the moment. Stable and stuck at the bottom of the table, and consistently crap.
    True. For me Aberdeen is a must win game.

Quote Originally Posted by The Falcon View Post
    Perhaps all these folk that were wanting to buy us in the past, we are often told on here there are plenty of them, can put up their money now, get rid of Petrie and sort all our problems. I can't wait.
    And they were ?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee1 View Post
    Was sitting behind the home dugout today and as far as I'm aware Colin Calderwood did not make a single appearence today. It shocked me to see he wasn't there to guide his team and support his players (Ian Murray especially!).
    Anyone hear anything as to why he was a no-show?
    He doesn't want to be at Hibs!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by magpie1892 View Post
    Don't shoot the messenger but I was speaking to a journalist yesterday who spends the majority of his working life dealing with Edinburgh football and he's fairly certain (noises from the club and various other sources) that Calderwood is finished at ER.
    Any Hibs fan could have told you that after the Killie/St mirren game. Journalists live on gossip, sometimes they get it right, most of the time they get it wrong. It's in there interest and their selfish self importance to keep things " alive " Fannies the lot of them!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by 325EasterRoad View Post
    Here we go wi the Petrie garbage again.

Can anybody explain to me what role you think Rod is performing at the club these days?

Lindsay is managing everything on the football Side and Hyland is managing everything on the non-football side

Time for Petrie to retire at the AGM?
    I think all 3 maybe in the roles of:

Hear no football
    See no football
    Speak no football

I was in the East Stand today and couldn't really tell if he was there or not, to be honest I didn't pay much attention to the dugouts because I just assumed that he was there.

If he wasn't there today and he didn't have a family/other personal emergency to attend to then I don't think it's acceptable for the current manager of the club to not turn up to a testimonial match for one of the club's current players.

Quote Originally Posted by magpie1892 View Post
    Aye, Aberdeen was mentioned yesterday.

The journo I spoke to said CC will be away by the middle/end of this month.
    Hopefully he is away

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post
    I was in the East Stand today and couldn't really tell if he was there or not, to be honest I didn't pay much attention to the dugouts because I just assumed that he was there.

If he wasn't there today and he didn't have a family/other personal emergency to attend to then I don't think it's acceptable for the current manager of the club to not turn up to a testimonial match for one of the club's current players.
    Agreed FH. Whatever reasons anyone else had for not going today, CC did not have them. He is an employee of an organisation that decided this was how they were going to honor their captain. As the manager of that team, he should have been there (If he was not). I was not because I had more important things to spend my hard earned money on.

Hopefully if he does plan to stay he was out with his family looking at houses in the Edinburgh area.

To be fair he may well not have been there as coincidentally it was Hibs' best performance of the season (not difficult I know).

All I can say, joking aside, is if CC's days are numbered, then I hope Mr Petrie follows him out the door as I for one do not trust/want him picking our next manager. He needs to go!!!

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    I'm glad he wasn't there; a situation I could happily get used to

As you say, D. As you say.

But as team manager, of he was in any sense committed to or caring about the club, he should have been there.
    Last edited by --------; 05-09-2011 at 09:38 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by 325EasterRoad View Post
    Here we go wi the Petrie garbage again.

Can anybody explain to me what role you think Rod is performing at the club these days?

Lindsay is managing everything on the football Side and Hyland is managing everything on the non-football side

Time for Petrie to retire at the AGM?
    If he's got nothing to do, as you allege, why is he still receiving a salary?

Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    spoilsport

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Oh no!!!

No sinister subtle sub-text?

How are we going to pass the time now?

spoilsport

Ach, ah wis only tryin tae help

He was at his house down south this weekend, fact !

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    Oh no!!!

No sinister subtle sub-text?

How are we going to pass the time now?
    Says everything to me though speedway about team spirit when your own team manager uses this weekend in particular to 'watch transfer targets'. Surely not too much to ask, or even expect, to have your own team boss there to wish him well and be there for him. I think it's shocking to be honest. And not wishing at all to look for sinister reasons either......I just think at a testimonial, your own boss should be there to wish you well (in any employment, not just football). If two ex managers can swallow their pride and turn out (Hughes and Collins) despite their 'grievances', I think CC has shown a distinct lack of respect to the player and occasion (if indeed true).

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    So while there may be nearly four full months before he can make any further signings – apart from free agents – Calderwood is already looking ahead not only to January's transfer window but next summer's.

The above is the bit that caught my eye, appears CC aint going nowhere soon.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Says everything to me though speedway about team spirit when your own team manager uses this weekend in particular to 'watch transfer targets'. Surely not too much to ask, or even expect, to have your own team boss there to wish him well and be there for him. I think it's shocking to be honest. And not wishing at all to look for sinister reasons either......I just think at a testimonial, your own boss should be there to wish you well (in any employment, not just football). If two ex managers can swallow their pride and turn out (Hughes and Collins) despite their 'grievances', I think CC has shown a distinct lack of respect to the player and occasion (if indeed true).
    Disagree completely, TrueH.

If the manager makes a phone call to the player and says 'all the best, sorry I'm not there but I'm out trying to make this team a wee bit less pish in the future and I see you everyday anyway and I rate you enough to keep you as my captain and despite signing millions of midfielders, I still pick you to start' and then naffs off to spot who Hibs can afford in January/Summer is a lot more of a dedicated way to spend a free weekend than show up at a nothing game with nothing to see, which is clearly the same way the fans evaluated it.

Looking for crisis for the sake of it IMO.

If the manager makes a phone call to the player and says 'all the best, sorry I'm not there but I'm out trying to make this team a wee bit less pish in the future and I see you everyday anyway and I rate you enough to keep you as my captain and despite signing millions of midfielders, I still pick you to start' and then naffs off to spot who Hibs can afford in January/Summer is a lot more of a dedicated way to spend a free weekend than show up at a nothing game with nothing to see, which is clearly the same way the fans evaluated it.

:

Ok he's in a no win situation some will say...

More players? For where? He's signed enough.

This supporter just wants him to work with what he has signed in January and this summer.

Getting them fit would be a start.

Getting them playing as a unit perhaps too...

Oh and i don't believe he was overseas alone. Yes this cynical mind has gone into overdrive....

Don't get me wrong speedway, fully agree that looking for players, preferably better ones that we have, is a must. And I am not really seeing it as a crisis..........I just think that for the actual event, it shows a togetherness, with your manager at the helm there to wish you well and get involved on the day. I suppose it's like my old man knowing it's my birthday every year, and then on the day saying that he is away to get his car serviced instead.......Nid's committee had arranged this match well in advance and I don't think it's too much to ask that your own boss makes an appearance even to shake his hand and wish him well.

Now if he was away watching and laying groundwork for another Latapy type, that's a different story............................

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by smurf View Post
    Ok he's in a no win situation some will say...

More players? For where? He's signed enough.
    You're right smurf, it seems he'll never win with some folks.

He's signed enough? That can't be right because loads on here are looking for another CH / RB / CM / GK. Any manager worth his salt should constantly be looking to sign players.

Oh and i don't believe he was overseas alone. Yes this cynical mind has gone into overdrive....
    Christ, have you told his wife??

Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post

He's signed enough? That can't be right because loads on here are looking for another CH / RB / CM / GK. Any manager worth his salt should constantly be looking to sign players.

That's up to him to get the balance right with the budget he's got.

Results will determine whether he has or not.

Thus far not looking good. And needs to improve. Fast.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    What under 21s games were being played yesterday that he could have been having a look at.

That's up to him to get the balance right with the budget he's got.

Results will determine whether he has or not.

Thus far not looking good. And needs to improve. Fast.
    But your opinion is that he's signed enough players now, and should have been there to hold Ian's hand instead, yeah?

On the other point, about you not believing that he was overseas alone. Where do you think he was?

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post

Yeah you are right there Bawheid, thats what folk on here have been screaming out for, but you missed out one word, experience, fans are wanting these positions to be filled with experienced players and not more youth players.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Yeah you are right there Bawheid, thats what folk on here have been screaming out for, but you missed out one word, experience, fans are wanting these positions to be filled with experienced players and not more youth players.
    I'm all for signing experience, but only if the experienced players are any good. We've signed loads of experienced players over the years that have turned out to be utter mince.

Incidently, which experienced CHs or CMs would you sign silverhibee?