Anyone miss the old stand?

I miss the terracing. I know the new stadium is great but I remember when 13000 were in it looked pretty full an had a good atmosphere. Something is gone now I just can't get used to it unless we pulled 19000 every week.

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Quote Originally Posted by gazza88 View Post
    I miss the terracing. I know the new stadium is great but I remember when 13000 were in it looked pretty full an had a good atmosphere. Something is gone now I just can't get used to it unless we pulled 19000 every week.
    a 13,000 seat stand, have i missed something ?

So tell me mate - how did you enjoy the game last night. What was it like sitting in that pile of manaure you call a stand?

13000 in the ground I meant and no. I'm not a jambo.

Not normally my patter on here to play the yam card but this thread stinks of a wind up!! Hearts were begging for a bigger stadium last night and the look on the spurs players faces was priceless when exiting the bus into the main bus shelter.

I wasn't even thinking bout them tbh I just miss the atmosphere.

Quote Originally Posted by Hakim Sar View Post
    Not normally my patter on here to play the yam card but this thread stinks of a wind up!! Hearts were begging for a bigger stadium last night and the look on the spurs players faces was priceless when exiting the bus into the main bus shelter.
    They thought they were stuck in a time warp ..back to the days of the old rickety flea, ridden asbestos lined ****-hole stands ..& ive not even touched on the wooden one yet ...

I've played at tynecastle twice. One of the worst changing rooms even compared to public parks but the terracing wasn't our main stand.

I've played at tynecastle twice
    Are you Mirsad Beslija? Are you still the fastest man in Bosnia?

Mind it was rocking when we pumped the Yams 6-2?

Mind their greeting Yam tramp faces at the end? Priceless!

What word would you use to describe their sad pusses at the end of the game?

No u played for Edinburgh youth select when I was 15 I'm 222 now.

I'm 222 now.
    I'd get on to the Guinness Book of Records if I were you

22 touch screen fones.

Aw ah bet yer no ...ma Nana doesnae ken ye ..

Did you scrub yourself down with disinfectant afterwards?

What words would you use to describe how manky and filth-ridden the Pink Beast Shelter is?

22 touch screen fones.
    Sitting on a wall?

It's a throw back to 19th century football.

I really miss the old terracing and you are right, something is missing. In the old east you felt like part of the game, a 12th man almost, even when there wasn't much singing. A lot of the time now I just feel like a mere customer, like I'm at the theatre or something.

It all boils down to quality of the product on the park one way or another. They were quick enough to put the prices up when we were doing well under mowbray/collins so why haven't the prices gone back down now that we are gash again?

It's a throw back to 19th century football.
    At least there's still one throwback stand in Edinburgh, surrounded by three pink bus shelter-esque stands which are regularly half filled by orcs and tramps.

Gamertag: WormyEel
    not getting involved in the YAM debate, but...YES i miss the old East. said at the time I would rather have invested in the squad
    and gave the old east a face lift.

New East is pish compared to the terracing, verging on the fact I'm starting to hate it. New ones good against Hearts when there's 1-2k up for it and stood. Against everyone else though its dire. The singing section in recent weeks has been an embarrassment. Full of witless dafties that you never seen in the auld stand.

Also when did you last smell hash floating across the stand or empty cans kicking about the bogs?

Give me the old stand every day off the week. Was also alot cheaper!

Now this boy may well be a Jambo I certainly have my reservations ..BUT...YES, I do miss the Old East terracing Place went radge when scoring against Hearts...The new East just doesnt do it for me one bit, Im aware it makes it look a nice new fancy stadium that looks the part..But i miss the old east terracing bigtime...Scoring against Hearts was carnage in the East.

East terracing fans folk ken whats gaun on..

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Now this boy may well be a Jambo I certainly have my reservations ..BUT...YES, I do miss the Old East terracing Place went radge when scoring against Hearts...The new East just doesnt do it for me one bit, Im aware it makes it look a nice new fancy stadium that looks the part..But i miss the old east terracing bigtime...Scoring against Hearts was carnage in the East.

East terracing fans folk ken whats gaun on..
    At 35 y.o. you can't really remember the old East Terracing Andy.
    WillieHamiltonheader-2.jpg

@hibs.net private member R'Albin's Avatar

Gamertag: Razza96
    I wish we were able to keep the East stand longer, I was never really able to properly enjoy terracing because I was really small and could never see

Even so I still loved when the whole stand was bouncing when we played Hearts or anyone else for that matter

Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post

Great pic ....Google Souness sending off in 86 at Easter rd and thats the East terracing a member

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Great pic ....Google Souness sending off in 86 at Easter rd and thats the East terracing a member

I googled "Souness pulled off at Easter Road"

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post

Looks like Erik Sorensen in goals for Morton. And Neilly Martin for the Hibees?

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Looks like Erik Sorensen in goals for Morton. And Neilly Martin for the Hibees?

Willie Hamilton, I think.

I miss the old shed. Squad of about 10+ always meeting up in there. Lucky if 4 or 5 turn up now and you end up getting scattered about the ground to your allocated 'seat'. Give me the old bench style so as we can stand again!

no,total sh..hole with annoying pillars,crap food,woeful toilets,crap seats,.......infact,a bit like the PBS main stand !
    Last edited by jabis; 19-08-2011 at 09:39 PM.