Old Man Grammatical Grump Thread

It's a miserable wet Sunday and my weekend plans for gowf, country walk and garden are all cattled. I'm reading Hibs.Net and watching Sky Sports wi ma laddies (15 and 13). I've been focusing on their grammar now that they are more advanced in their education but what chance have they got when everyone around them cannae even manage basic grammar?

Neil McCann - "He had went" instead of " He had gone"

Any other auld grumps out there got their pet messageboard/TV/Hibs TV commentator grammatical faux pas?
    Last edited by RIP; 07-08-2011 at 11:45 AM.

"The boy done good".

The word 'lose' being written as 'loose'.

"I could of..." instead of "I could have..."

Everything Dean Windass has ever said on Soccer Saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Everything Dean Windass has ever said on Soccer Saturday.
    Him and Paul Merson definitely don't speak English.

"The boy's done ever so well" aka Jim Beglin's epitaph gets my goat as well.
    Last edited by lyonhibs; 07-08-2011 at 12:39 PM.

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    The loss of adverbs.
    'Communicating loud and clear' is one painful example from Midlothian Council.
    I blame the Americans, but I tend to do that anyway.

Quite a few posters use "through" when really meaning "threw" quite a few more but they escape me at the moment

The seemingly interchangeability of their/there/they're.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 325EasterRoad View Post
    It's a miserable wet Sunday and my weekend plans for gowf, country walk and garden are all cattled. I'm reading Hibs.Net and watching Sky Sports wi ma laddies (15 and 13). I've been focusing on their grammer now that they are more advanced in their education but what chance have they got when everyone around them cannae even manage basic grammar?

Neil McCann - "He had went" instead of " He had gone"

Any other auld grumps out there got their pet messageboard/TV/Hibs TV commentator grammatical faux pas?
    "Here here" is my personal teethgrinder.

(Just for the record "Hear hear" apparently is short for "Hear him, hear him".)

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

"The boy's done ever so well" aka Jim Beglin's epitath gets my goat as well.
    The way people use "epitath" when they mean "epithet", or perhaps even "epitaph".

Aswel and aken are not real words

Having said that, they dont drive me mad, they make me smile

Davie Provan's all consuming desire to describe every shot on target as, "a very decent" chance sets my teeth on edge.
    Maybe that's just Davie Provan right enough.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    The way people use "epitath" when they mean "epithet", or perhaps even "epitaph".

Don't know what you're (or should that be your................ ) on about.................

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Saltire2k View Post
    The seemingly interchangeability of their/there/they're.
    You mean seeming, not seemingly.

EDIT: The offence that most enrages me is probably apostrophe abuse.
    Last edited by nonshinyfinish; 07-08-2011 at 01:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    "I could of..." instead of "I could have..."
    that one that really gets on my wick.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    You mean seeming, not seemingly.
    I knew some seeming know-all would pick me up on that.

Quote Originally Posted by Saltire2k View Post
    I knew some seeming know-all would pick me up on that.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Do you mean "He and Paul Merson ... "?
    "The boy's done ever so well" aka Jim Beglin's epitaph gets my goat as well.
    Is that ungrammatical?
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    The offence that most enrages me is probably apostrophe abuse.
    That annoy's me too.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Is that ungrammatical?
    Well spotted sir - as written it's correct, a shortened version of 'the boy has done ever so well'.

Pedantry is the tit's.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    That annoy's me too.

Don't know what you're (or should that be your................ ) on about.................
    Me either.

In any film with Italian American characters, one of them must be called Vinny -Roger Ebert

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Interesting. I'm as big a 'pedant' as the next man, but the English language is constantly evolving. I don't know anything about the history of the Oxford English, but I'm intrigued that so many take it as gospel.

What are the criteria for a word making it into the OED? Are we likely to see the likes of 'aswel' make it in there if it's used often enough?

Wii Code: 666
    English can be tricky though:

1. The bandage was wound around the wound.

2. The farm was used to produce produce.

3. The dump was so full that it had to refuse more refuse.

4. We must polish the Polish furniture.

5. He could lead if he would get the lead out.

6. The soldier decided to desert his dessert in the desert.

7. Since there is no time like the present, he thought it was time to present the present.

8. A bass was painted on the head of the bass drum.

9. When shot at, the dove dove into the bushes.

10. I did not object to the object.

11. The insurance was invalid for the invalid.

12. There was a row among the oarsmen about how to row.

13. They were too close to the door to close it.

14. The buck does funny things when the does are present.

15. A seamstress and a sewer fell down into a sewer line.

16. To help with planting, the farmer taught his sow to sow.

17. The wind was too strong to wind the sail.

18. Upon seeing the tear in the painting I shed a tear.

19. I had to subject the subject to a series of tests.

20. How can I intimate this to my most intimate friend?

Not a grammatical error, but people saying: "It's a mute point". No. It isn't. It's a moot point.

Grrrr

When people use 'no' instead of 'know' ie. 'i no that'
    Certain abbreviations - especially 'omg', makes you sound like a 12 year old lassie.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    "yous"

Drives me loopy!
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by McSwanky View Post
    Interesting. I'm as big a 'pedant' as the next man, but the English language is constantly evolving. I don't know anything about the history of the Oxford English, but I'm intrigued that so many take it as gospel.

What are the criteria for a word making it into the OED? Are we likely to see the likes of 'aswel' make it in there if it's used often enough?

Language is indeed constantly changing and evolving. The OED can only record the language as it was spoken at the time of compilation - time has moved on, the language has developed, new words have been coined or adopted...

I used to get all wound up about it, but it's really not worth it. The point of language is communication, and as long as the communication taking place is clear and accurate, I don't gte annoyed. If someone isn't making himself/herself clear, it's probably because they're ignorant or stupid, and I derive a pleasing sense of superiority from this.

Case in point - this is a properly grammatical sentence, provided you know the meanings of the various words - but a degree of slang is involved.

So what does it mean?

Buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo.
    Last edited by --------; 11-08-2011 at 01:58 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Case in point - this is a properly grammatical sentence, provided you know the meanings of the various words - but a degree of slang is involved.

So what does it mean?

Buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo.
    It means you need to go and lie down in a dark room

Quote Originally Posted by Malthibby View Post
    I blame the Americans.
    I blame them for "my bad" wtf is that all about?