Hoodoo No More - Well Done CC

As someone who isn't convinced by Calderwood, I'd like to offer him congrats on doing what no other Hibs manager has been able to do, and get the embarrassing Inverness monkey of our backs.

Yes, perhaps we were lucky, perhaps we are Barry White, but football is a confidence-based game and three away points on the board is welcome. I had gotten to the stage where I thought we'd never win up there in my lifetime, so bring on the Scottish Cup.

Have a drink and relax tonight, CC, you torn-faced hoodoo buster, you.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    As someone who isn't convinced by Calderwood, I'd like to offer him congrats on doing what no other Hibs manager has been able to do, and get the embarrassing Inverness monkey of our backs.

Yes, perhaps we were lucky, perhaps we are Barry White, but football is a confidence-based game and three away points on the board is welcome. I had gotten to the stage where I thought we'd never win up there in my lifetime, so bring on the Scottish Cup.

Gamertag: SKIPSTER07
    lets hope all our hoodoos go this season

Quote Originally Posted by skipster7 View Post
    lets hope all our hoodoos go this season
    I keep hoping. This never-having-had-a-three-way-with-Natalie Portman-and-Scarlett Johansen has been getting me down, and it's high time it went, along with the Scottish Cup jinx.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    No matter how we played. With our record up there and need for confidence, that is a FANTASTIC result. ICT are tricky for anyone to play against. And at the end of the day, 3pt is 3pts

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    After seeing 1 shot (off target) in 180 mins of football v Celtc and Blackpool, any win is welcome but ICT away doubly so.

Who cares about a goalie error. You don't shoot you don't score.

I'm away to gatecrash the royal wedding party. A few of bottles of our sponsor's finest should guarantee entry
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

OK let's reword this post.
    Delighted by the win and happy for the team but still not convinced by Calderwood and his tactics. Still certain players out of position and not playing to form and missing 3-4 players. We could've lost 3-0 easily but for defence, midfield still very weak and unless we get the players needed, it's going to be a long hard season. Apologies if original post came over too negative.
    Last edited by J-C; 31-07-2011 at 09:59 AM.

It might appear lucky given last 15 mins when ICT had several chances...

Fact is that Esson was MOM and made several good saves as well as chances that went wide...the system IS right and needs time an some other players to wok fully...BUT there is progress..and as long as we can see that I think that fans will start getting behind the team again...

a 0-0 up there would have been a very good result in all the circumstances...3 points the win and the end of that miserable record is just fantastic

She board...the investment in those over night hotel rooms paid dividends

Now some more development and getting injured players back against Sunderland and then on to next match with maybe addition/s to squad

@hibs.net private member johnrebus's Avatar

Gamertag: Eh ? Wii Code: What ?
    Quote Originally Posted by jc1 View Post
    Happy with the win but it's only papering over the large cracks.
    Here we go again........,

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    What cracks? Inverness had a good spell at the end, but esson made 4or 5 cracking saves, and Sproule should have done better with another chance

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    There`s always 1 none of our super teams managed a win up there so lets just enjoy the moment

Also noticed that we're now in our highest league position since the opening day of last season!

Who knows, maybe Calderwood has a pack of Pollyfilla near hand.

PSN ID: aberhibsfc

Bang on.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    You sound disappointed that those cracks didn't appear today?
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Jeez its a win.... Whooopeee
    a win that has passed us by for many seasons
    Well done the team, well done CC, well done tam mccourt ( nah)
    We are a team in transition,,, team are getting to know each other
    Lets just enjoy the moment
    BT

54% possession
    4-2 Hibs on target
    1-0 Hibs
    First win there
    Their keeper MOM.

These are the facts!

Happy with the win but it doesnae paper o'er the moaning mare like!

Quote Originally Posted by The_Quiet_Man View Post
    54% possession
    4-2 Hibs on target
    1-0 Hibs
    First win there
    Their keeper MOM.

These are the facts!

Happy with the win but it doesnae paper o'er the moaning mare like!
    Yep, end of the day it's a good three points in a place that's been tough for us. Nice to get off the mark too which will help the confidence.

Ye just cannae please some folk. [ This has to be a wind-up eh ? ]

As I said happy with the win as I didn't expect it and even shouted in the back garden as the goal was scored for my wife to tell me to keep it down a bit.

From the commentary I listened to on BBC Scotland both teams were pretty awful in the first half, yes a couple of shots were Essen made a couple of saves, one coming off his face and an offside goal fro Murray, says a lot when an average keeper with2-3 average saves gets man of the match. the 2nd half we were very lucky not to be 3-0 down by the end if it wasn't for their poor finishing as they were all over us, the goal was a sickener for them and as I said, delighted for the win but was still a pretty poor performance.

Wotherspoon inefective......Stevenson poor again.....Palsson pretty poor and passing by a lot of the backs and midfield very poor. Booth was again a standout with GOC upfront on his lonesome again, even Murdo Mcleod was saying he was crying out for a partner and didn't understand why sproule wasn't used as this using his pace up front, it wasn't till the last 20 mins when this happened and the game opened up and chances came.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Oh jolly bad show old chap :-)
    Last edited by Hibrandenburg; 31-07-2011 at 02:37 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiberlin View Post
    Away hame and take yer tablets. You know the wee maroon lithuanian re-imports.
    And you sir can take a flying one tae yersel ya erse.

I keep hoping. This never-having-had-a-three-way-with-Natalie Portman-and-Scarlett Johansen has been getting me down, and it's high time it went, along with the Scottish Cup jinx.

Don't get your hopes up, it wasn't as much fun as I thought it would be.

Well done.

Three times as many points as the Gorgie Tossers this early in the season.

I'm feeling good.

@hibs.net private member Tricla's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiberlin View Post
    Away hame and take yer tablets. You know the wee maroon lithuanian re-imports.
    And you sir can take a flying one tae yersel ya erse.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    The vast majority of us would have take three points from our opening two fixtures.

A draw at home to Celtic and a draw today would have been acceptable to most so to have more than two points is a bonus.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    The vast majority of us would have take three points from our opening two fixtures.A draw at home to Celtic and a draw today would have been acceptable to most so to have more than two points is a bonus.
    Shocked when I got a text saying we'd won, I did a minger of a wheelie to celebrate

We've had a succession of managers who started well and then fell apart. Wouldn't it be nice if CC proved us doubters wrong?

Congrats to all involved in taking the first three points of the season.
    Last edited by Kato; 30-07-2011 at 11:35 PM.

Wotherspoon inefective......Stevenson poor again.....Palsson pretty poor and passing by a lot of the backs and midfield very poor. Booth was again a standout with GOC upfront on his lonesome again, even Murdo Mcleod was saying he was crying out for a partner and didn't understand why sproule wasn't used as this using his pace up front, it wasn't till the last 20 mins when this happened and the game opened up and chances came.
    The view of the ICT pitch from your back garden must be pretty good.