Thread: wasp nest

wasp nest

There's a buzzing noise coming from under our bath which is adjacent to the outside wall. The noise only seems to occur into early evening and the off occasion at night.

I put it down to wind or something else but I've been thinking of other things it could be but it's inconsistent in times and happens a lot throughout the day.

After I'd been out tonight I find a dying wasp in the next room. All the windows were closed when I left but it could maybe have came in earlier in the day but I think I'd have noticed as there was only one window open. I don't think it's the neighbours water pipes etc cos if I push on the side cover on the bath the noise 'moves'.

The problems I have are...

1. The girlfriend is allergic to them.2. Her kid is normally here. So for those two reasons we need to get to the bottom of it. Lastly, I'm **** scared of them and have never been stung so could potentially have an allergy.

Any advice?

I don't fancy pulling the side cover on the bath off just in case.

I'm going to have a look outside to see if I can see anything.

I wouldn't fart about with it. Google pest control and get a professional out asap.

Cheers. I'm not keen on paying a charge then looking stupid cos it's the wind or something.

Any idea how much a charge is?

Quote Originally Posted by Woody1985 View Post
    Cheers. I'm not keen on paying a charge then looking stupid cos it's the wind or something.

Any idea how much a charge is?
    No idea but a quick search has sites with "from £45". Others with "free no obligation quote",

There may be a council service as well

Or contact this guy
    Last edited by Removed; 10-04-2011 at 11:35 PM.

I had a look at a couple but were calls for quotes. Will give a couple a call tomorrow.

I wonder if it'll be a free quote if there's nout under there!

There's a buzzing noise coming from under our bath which is adjacent to the outside wall. The noise only seems to occur into early evening and the off occasion at night.

I put it down to wind or something else but I've been thinking of other things it could be but it's inconsistent in times and happens a lot throughout the day.

After I'd been out tonight I find a dying wasp in the next room. All the windows were closed when I left but it could maybe have came in earlier in the day but I think I'd have noticed as there was only one window open. I don't think it's the neighbours water pipes etc cos if I push on the side cover on the bath the noise 'moves'.

The problems I have are...

1. The girlfriend is allergic to them.2. Her kid is normally here. So for those two reasons we need to get to the bottom of it. Lastly, I'm **** scared of them and have never been stung so could potentially have an allergy.

Any advice?

I don't fancy pulling the side cover on the bath off just in case.

I'm going to have a look outside to see if I can see anything.

Phone the council as a first step,they do pest control or they used to

If you get stung and you think your allergic batter some anti histamin, eg piritin down your neck stops you going into complete anaphylactic shock.

Go out and look at the wall and if there's a nest it will be obvious.
    Even a small nest contains loads of them and there will be a lot of “traffic“.
    We had a nest under our window sill and it cost fifty quid to remove. The guy just came, sprayed some poison into the hole and that was it.
    It might be more tricky with it being under the bath but I'm sure they all do free quotes.

To get rid of the wasps, stick a wee pot of jam at the bottom of the garden, not any jam though, it has to be waspaway jam.
    happy to help

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Sell the hoose and run for the hills....wee baasas.

Cheers for the tips. Will post up how I get on.

Wii Code: 666
    A can of petrol and a lighter should do the trick. Well it did for me anyway, but they were in the bushes at the bottom of the garden. Suppose its one way of heating up the water in the bath.

Or you could place some walnuts on the ground where you think they are getting in. This will get rid of them, pronto.

It's 3rd floor in a six in a block. Do you know where I can buy giant walnuts? Maybe the shop where you can buy the stuff for your feet.

It's 3rd floor in a six in a block.
    Yet you were going to have a look from outside to see what you could see? Must be some pair of binoculars

I'll look out the bathroom window, get stung and then fall out.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbill2002 View Post
    To get rid of the wasps, stick a wee pot of jam at the bottom of the garden, not any jam though, it has to be waspaway jam.
    happy to help
    this was the method used by the colonial british in africa back in the days of empire...only they used 'jam boys'...they would cover local kids in jam and have them follow them around or just have them sitting around when they were sipping pimms on the balcony...the wasps,bees,flies ect.. automatically went for the jam boys leaving the big white chiefs free to enjoy the day....i dont know if it would work in gilmerton though but you could round up a few 'jambo's' as an experiment...as you say,theres too many round your way..

Left by mutual consent! Ed De Gramo's Avatar

PSN ID: Gramo
    kill the chief wasp and the others will naff off

Quote Originally Posted by Gramo View Post
    kill the chief wasp and the others will naff off
    your going the 'wrong way down a one way road' with that idea, limmy..

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post
    your going the 'wrong way down a one way road' with that idea, limmy..
    Don't encourage him, FFS!!

"
    Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post
    A can of petrol and a lighter should do the trick. Well it did for me anyway, but they were in the bushes at the bottom of the garden. Suppose its one way of heating up the water in the bath.

Or you could place some walnuts on the ground where you think they are getting in. This will get rid of them, pronto.
    How do walnuts get rid of wasps quickly?

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeSince85 View Post
    "

How do walnuts get rid of wasps quickly?
    You've never seen the Sopranos have you?

Quote Originally Posted by hibbill2002 View Post
    You've never seen the Sopranos have you?
    Start to finish, I've missed something though obviously :

You done anything yet?
    We had some in the autumn there and we called the council who sent round pest control to sort it out.
    They weren't going to kill the nest as they said the winter would kill them off. We love wasps just as much as you, so asked them to kill it off, and they di it.
    Don't know how much it cost as my dad dealt with it, but I can ask him if you like, he'll probably have number domehwere handy too if you need it.

We've looked out the back over a few days and we can't see anything but still don't fancy taking the cover off to be sure. We're moving in the next six weeks anyway so if it gets worse the landlord can deal with it!

Wait till late at night then take the cover off.
    They're pretty much inactive at night

The nest will be obvious - a round yellowy Whitish ball, the size of a golf ball up to the size of a football

Spray it with wasp killer, close the panel up then leave it till the next night

Ps finding a few dead wasps means there's a good chance there's a nearby nest

Quote Originally Posted by 1two View Post
    Wait till late at night then take the cover off.
    They're pretty much inactive at night

The nest will be obvious - a round yellowy Whitish ball, the size of a golf ball up to the size of a football

Spray it with wasp killer, close the panel up then leave it till the next night

Ps finding a few dead wasps means there's a good chance there's a nearby nest
    Are you mad?

I would never, even at night get close to a hive, never mind spray anything at them, they're mad enough as it is.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Are you mad?

I would never, even at night get close to a hive, never mind spray anything at them, they're mad enough as it is.
    Dinnae be such a blouse. They'll be sleeping. Easy.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Dinnae be such a blouse. They'll be sleeping. Easy.
    On you go mate, I hate the wee things.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    On you go mate, I hate the wee things.
    It's not like they're spiders, if it was spiders I could understand your reluctance to go for them at any time. Spiders never sleep. They're constantly plotting. Plus, regardless of what scientists say, they can bite you, and when they do it could kill you.

But it's just wasps. 2 jackets, 2 pairs of gloves, 2 pairs of jeans, boots and a net over your head. Even if they were to wake up they couldn't do anything.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    It's not like they're spiders, if it was spiders I could understand your reluctance to go for them at any time. Spiders never sleep. They're constantly plotting. Plus, regardless of what scientists say, they can bite you, and when they do it could kill you.

But it's just wasps. 2 jackets, 2 pairs of gloves, 2 pairs of jeans, boots and a net over your head. Even if they were to wake up they couldn't do anything.
    Give me a spider anyday, you know where you stand with them. Those wasps must have small insect syndrome, aggressive evil scary gits.

Still haven't seen anymore and the missus has said the noise has died down compared to how it was.

Can't think of any other variables that could cause it but I'm still not taking it off.

We're moving soon so will tell the landlord there's an unidentified noise before we go!