@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar

Horror movies you would let your kids watch

My boy is going on and on about me letting him watch a proper horror film but he's only 11.

I was watching hammer house of horror and the horror double bill on friday nights when i was his age

I do not want t leave his disturbed and was thinking along the lines of Salems Lot !

Any other ideas of any good clean horror films ?
    Exorcist and Omen are a bit much i think !
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Poltergeist.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Quote Originally Posted by Purehibee View Post
    Poltergeist.
    You having a ****ing laugh!?! For a kid - proper mental
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    My boy is going on and on about me letting him watch a proper horror film but he's only 11.

I was watching hammer house of horror and the horror double bill on friday nights when i was his age

I do not want t leave his disturbed and was thinking along the lines of Salems Lot !

Oh and you are ****ing mental as well...Salems Lot!!
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

I watched H20 last week and totally shat myself. I told the kids the following morning and showed them a pic of Michael Myers with a big knife on my phone and the Mrs went totally radge at me

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    Oh and you are ****ing mental as well...Salems Lot!!
    The bit with the wee dead boy floating outside the window

Wii Code: 666
    Nightmare on elm street.

The bit with the wee dead boy floating outside the window
    Does he like animals? Try Pet Semetary

Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post
    Nightmare on elm street.
    Good call. I'll run it past the wife

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Watch freddys dead if you watching any of the elm street films, part of it is in 3d

Candy man

Nightmare on elm street.
    Are you kidding? I would have thought that wouldl give a kid nightmares forever, it still scares me now , plays with the mind.

I'd go for some sort of slasher movie like Scream or I Know What You Did Last Summer, more comical than scary at points IMO.

I think I'd watched Nightmare on Elm Street, Halloween, Friday The 13th and many many others before I was even 10 years old. Never actually did me any harm whatsoever (nae cheeky comments ) - I think too much is made of this sort of thing as I was never 'affected' negatively by watching such films.

If anything, watching all of these films just made me grow up with a love of films that continues to this day, including horror.

I recommend The Hills Have Eyes (remake)...quality

I let my girlfriends 5 year old watch the thing with me when she was out because she wouldn't go to her room.

She thought the dog we had at the time was part of the 'creature'.

The missus wasn't happy!

Quote Originally Posted by Slenj.=] View Post
    Candy man
    Do you still look in the mirror and check over your shoulder after you watch it?

Quote Originally Posted by Woody1985 View Post
    I let my girlfriends 5 year old watch the thing with me when she was out because she wouldn't go to her room.

She thought the dog we had at the time was part of the 'creature'.

The missus wasn't happy!
    Another that I definitely watched before I was 10.

Great film as well by the way

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I remember watching Pet Semetary when I was about 9 and being terrified.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Poltergeist.
    in used to ***** myself at that film

my dad used to let me watch predtor from an early age, not really a horror film but was quite scary

Gamertag: Rich Tea12

i'd suggest you tell him to wait till he's older.

i managed to talk my mum into letting me watch nightmare on elm street when i was about 11 and it totally ****ed my head up!

for the next year or so i couldnt sleep with the light off and had night terrors.

bad idea!

suppose it will affect everyone differently though!

Good call. I'll run it past the wife
    Really? Watch it again yourself first SG. Gotta say I wouldnt even be considering letting my 11 year watch any of them. Spoof ones yeah (maybe)but not real ones.

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    Poltergeist.
    Nightmare on elm street.
    I had a sadistic older brother and sister who enjoyed watching Horror films when we were younger and I watched both these films when I was under 10, I had nightmares for years and still can't watch horror films, I would honestly start with something like Scream or something like that before going on to these kinds of films. Even I coped with Scream.

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs. S View Post
    Really? Watch it again yourself first SG. Gotta say I wouldnt even be considering letting my 11 year watch any of them. Spoof ones yeah (maybe)but not real ones.
    I know i know. Poltergeist is a PG though.

He's been at me for months now about watching one. He wants to be scared

I'm thinking of going with Poltergeist as i remember being petrified when i watched it.

I realise that some folk might think i'm a terrible parent but ,like i said previously, i was watching horror double bills when i was his age.My mum would let me stay up late on the friday to watch them.

I've got Poltergeist, Salems Lot and Nightmare on Elm St but you might be right about Freddy.

I know i know. Poltergeist is a PG though.

He's been at me for months now about watching one. He wants to be scared

I'm thinking of going with Poltergeist as i remember being petrified when i watched it.

I realise that some folk might think i'm a terrible parent but ,like i said previously, i was watching horror double bills when i was his age.My mum would let me stay up late on the friday to watch them.

I've got Poltergeist, Salems Lot and Nightmare on Elm St but you might be right about Freddy.
    Looking at some of the folk who sit around you in the FF I'm sure he'll be ok

What about the Shining

I've got the Howling recorded of the telly last month. Not watched it yet, any idea what that's like?

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    Looking at some of the folk who sit around you in the FF I'm sure he'll be ok
    Aye there is a few mutants in our support

I dont think you are a bad parent SG.

I wouldnt let my 14 year old watch a horror as I know I wouldnt be allowed to sleep for at least a fortnight because of the nightmares he would have, thats if he managed to get to sleep in the first place! He cant want CSI crimescene!
    My oldest is 15 and has been watching horrors for a few years and can deal with them no probs. I never encouraged it and being a jessie myself never sat down to watch one with him but he has sky movies in his room so he chose to watch them.

Its down to the kids themselves and how they will be able to handle it - poltergeist is probably one of the best if you are going down that route in my opinion.

I watched all the horrors when I was about 13 or 14 - we rented videos from the garage everytime someone had a free hoose

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    I mind watching some zombie films when I was younger and that film about the giant ants 'Them'?

Poltergeist is probably a good shout but he might no want any toys in his room after it

No way would I say Salems Lot - I still won't watch it
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs. S View Post
    I dont think you are a bad parent SG.

I wouldnt let my 14 year old watch a horror as I know I wouldnt be allowed to sleep for at least a fortnight because of the nightmares he would have, thats if he managed to get to sleep in the first place! He cant want CSI crimescene!
    My oldest is 15 and has been watching horrors for a few years and can deal with them no probs. I never encouraged it and being a jessie myself never sat down to watch one with him but he has sky movies in his room so he chose to watch them.

Its down to the kids themselves and how they will be able to handle it - poltergeist is probably one of the best if you are going down that route in my opinion.

I watched all the horrors when I was about 13 or 14 - we rented videos from the garage everytime someone had a free hoose
    If I was 15 and had Sky tv in my bedroom I wouldn't be watching horror films

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    If I was 15 and had Sky tv in my bedroom I wouldn't be watching horror films
    What would you be watching?
    Last edited by Jay; 07-04-2011 at 10:07 PM.