Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Thank you for tonight's entertainment. Look out for tomorrow's topic. :)

PSN ID: MrHibs
    Quote Originally Posted by HalifaxHibs View Post
    How about why would any decent Hibs fan have such an unhealthy hatred for Man United

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    How about Where did Shteeve McLaren learn to speak so much pish?

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    What a fud this guy's been. Been on the bevvy?

First Team Breakthrough Harpandcastle's Avatar
    If I had to spend time in a ******** like Halifax I would probably harbour a grudge against life aswell. I drove through it once and was depressed for a fortnight. What a toilet of a town.
    Last edited by HNA9; 18-03-2011 at 04:15 AM. Reason: Swear filter is there for a reason

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    While I'm no lover of Man Utd, Chelsea etc, it's fair enough for a supporter of a Scottish club to be a fan of an English one whatever club it is. Ha'way the Lads!

Far worse was living in Co Durham with 3 teams, Sunderland, Newcastle and 'Boro nearby and there will still Man Utd and Liverpool shirts dotted about. Not as many as OF shirts in Edinburgh though
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

First Team Breakthrough francobaresi's Avatar
    Man united? Other than they are a glory hunter. It makes me sick. Discuss.
    I was born a mile and a half from Old Trafford, lived there for four years so support Man U. I started supporting Hibs when I came up here because my dad did when he was a lad. Glory hunter, no, my local team!
    People hate Man U through nothing more than jealousy, if Fergie was a successful Hibs manager winning Champions Leagues & Scottish Cups every year then we would be the hated team.

Don't feel sick, just accept that success breads jealousy and Man U haven't always been successful

Quote Originally Posted by .sean. View Post
    Well go and be sick somewhere else.

Honestly, the current .net Man United witch hunt, and the snide wee digs which are being directed at Falkirk Hibee, are tiresome, boring, repetive, unwarranted and there's no need whatsoever.

Everybody on here is a Hibs supporter. Some choose to follow an English side aswell. Wow. Get over yourself.
    Absolutely spot on.

Folk can 'support' whatever English team they like.

For what it's worth i liked Man Utd in the 90s and early 00s, they were brilliant to watch and had some players who were class acts. I admit i chose them as my English club because they won a lot, so what? I couldn't give a toss about Man Utd now really although i still look out for their result.

The only other team i 'support' is Barcelona because i lived their for a while and had a season ticket at Camp Nou and still go over once or twice a season.

The OPs post was pathetic, a 'decent Hibs fan' can't support Man Utd? What a load of pish, at the end of the day we are all Hibs fans, who gives a flying one what other teams folk like?

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Why would any decent Hibs fan start a thread having a go at other Hibs fans for supporting an English team?

Quote Originally Posted by Wotherspiniesta View Post
    Gary, that post has hurt my feelings.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    My best mate is a Everton fan, so have been to 1 or 2 everton games every year for the last 4 or 5 seasons. I really do compare them to Hibs. Loyal support, perrennial underachievers, able to produce not bad teams on a shoestring. Used as a stepping stone to the big boys, and (unfortunately true) overshadowed by their City rivals. And we both sing "...for its a grand old team to play for"

What a load of keek

You obviously have an agenda against Man Utd, it's not natural for anybody on here that likes Man Utd to make you "sick"

Get over it and stop being a phanny

And for what it's worth I like Man Utd and always have done since I was growing up Denis Law has always been one of my all-time heroes, if that makes you "sick" well, tough titty

I'm neither decent or a Hibs fan, so is it ok for me to support Man Utd?

Support them because my mum and granpa support Liverpool cos they lived down there and they don't mind Everton, but hate Man Utd and Beckham (who at the time I started supporting them was still with them).

I've never been to a game and would prefer Killie making the top six (or avoiding relegation as it was last year) to Man Utd winning the league. Does this make me a Killie fan?

So from this thread we have established a few have reason to support Man United and the rest are glory hunters

Thread closed..... roll on Monday :-)

Why is there always one to spoil a serious thread.
    You'd consider this to be a serious thread??

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    You'd consider this to be a serious thread??
    What do you think?

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    Hate Man U, Chelski, Arsenal, Liverpool etc.. I'm Hibs and West Ham always have been always will be.
    i hate west ham, comon you spurs!! and i will be there on saturday!!

had soft spot for man u almost as long as ive supported hibs, 2nd strip i ever got as a bairn, 1963 cup final 1 i think it was, law man on front of the box, seen them relegated, travelled on man u bus from waterloo place, mostly hibs fans on this bus, so what gives you the right to call me a gloryhunter, think your letting the fergie years cloud your judgement, been a loose connection between hibs & unt for eon,s. suggest you read busby,s book etc, then make a judgement.

PSN ID: aberhibsfc
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    Why would any Hibs fan support any English team full stop?

Hibs are the only team I need.

However Scots footie fans have a natural draw to teams with Scottish connections, with Fergie being one of our best managers it stands to reason why some may have an affiliation with them. As they will with Liverpool, Leeds, Blackburn and so on.

Also as they tend not to be competing directly people wont neccessarily see this as affiliating with an opposition.

PS, if Hibby's were glory hunting the would probably most likely not follow Hibs.

The real reason being so that they can come on here and say how well "Their team" are doing and that Arsenal, Chelsea, Man City and Liverpool etc are inferior. That despite them never been within a 200 mile radius of Old Trafford.

They know who they are.

Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    Christ who the hell cares? Why should anyone from Scotland support Liverpool? We seem to have more than a few.

I bet we all watch English football from time to time, I don't support any English team, but I like to see any with a Scottish influence do well, so at the moment I keep an eye on Wolves, Blackpool and the like, and yeah, Man Utd.

In any case, why ask people to quantify why they support a club, or feel you have any right to question that, may as well berate someone as to why they love their wife for Christ's sake!

Well said
    As the saying goes "To each his own"

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    The real reason being so that they can come on here and say how well "Their team" are doing and that Arsenal, Chelsea, Man City and Liverpool etc are inferior. That despite them never been within a 200 mile radius of Old Trafford.

They know who they are.

Do you have the same take on which political party people vote for ?

They know who they are.

Quote Originally Posted by jdships View Post
    Do you have the same take on which political party people vote for ?
    I know nothing about politics but the quicker we vote Maggie out the better. Bloody poll tax.

Anyway back to the topic in hand. The word support needs to be used very carefully. I don't think it applies to someone who only sees "their team" on the telly or reads about them in the newspapers. Otherwise there would absent fathers out there declaring that they support their children when all they have done is looked out old photographs or videos of the kids and never once dipped their hands in their pockets.

As I have previously said, THEY KNOW WHO THEY ARE.

i have long stated that people who support teams for non geographical reasons are making up in defficiencies in there own make up..

Simples.

As far as man u is considered this is the same as Celtic and Rangers and it is very very sad to see supporters flock to them.

Although the glory hunting Edinburgh Old Firm football fans really do my nut in, they are losers of the highest degree..

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Huns.

Exactly easy to follow this type of team just like following the OF."

"Blue Moon since 1967
    "Keep the Faith"

I know nothing about politics but the quicker we vote Maggie out the better. Bloody poll tax.

Anyway back to the topic in hand. The word support needs to be used very carefully. I don't think it applies to someone who only sees "their team" on the telly or reads about them in the newspapers. Otherwise there would absent fathers out there declaring that they support their children when all they have done is looked out old photographs or videos of the kids and never once dipped their hands in their pockets.

As I have previously said, THEY KNOW WHO THEY ARE.

You make a good point
    My father's cousin was Billy Liddel who played for Liverpool just after WW2 when I was a young lad .
    My uncle played for the Hib's in the1920's and he took me to ER as an 8 year old - I was hooked !
    Billy L invited us to Annfield on a number of occasions and I was hooked on Liverpool as well !
    Can't see anything to get upset about at dong just that

Quote Originally Posted by jdships View Post
    You make a good point
    My father's cousin was Billy Liddel who played for Liverpool just after WW2 when I was a young lad .
    My uncle played for the Hib's in the1920's and he took me to ER as an 8 year old - I was hooked !
    Billy L invited us to Annfield on a number of occasions and I was hooked on Liverpool as well !
    Can't see anything to get upset about at dong just that

C'mon the Pool. Liverpool are my favourite English team but I wouldn't say I support them.