Hibs v Aberdeen - Relegation Battle ?

With the Hamilton game being off - our next game is at ER on the 26th.

Craig Brown's 1st game in charge - Aberdeen currently sitting bottom of the table - 5 points behind us - the return of Paul Hartley....

This game is going to be pretty big

St Mirren and Hamilton are down there too fighting to stay in the SPL but a win against the Dons would be a massive boost

Thoughts...?

Quote Originally Posted by NJ Hibee View Post

Craig Brown's 1st game in charge - Aberdeen currently sitting bottom of the table - 5 points behind us - the return of Paul Hartley....

St Mirren and Hamilton are down there too fighting to stay in the SPL but a win against the Dons would be a massive boost

Thoughts...?
    Exciting times ahead.

Thoughts...?
    HMMMM I think I will wear a hat and gloves as its going to be BALTIC

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Hoping it's postponed. I can't make it because of family commitments.

Despite their lower position they still have the psychological advantage over us from our last meeting. Add to that the fact that they really can't get any worse, while, unfortunately, IMHO we have the propensity to do even worse than we have recently. All in all, a real nail biter and our most important game for a while.

My worry with Hibs is how are we going to score. Any manager looking at us probably think all they have to do is shackle Riordan and then Hibs are toothless.

Quote Originally Posted by Vini1875 View Post
    My worry with Hibs is how are we going to score. Any manager looking at us probably think all they have to do is shackle Riordan and then Hibs are toothless.
    Add into the mix, Spineless and Gutless.

Bad times when were already talking about relegation battles.

We came back better and stronger last time we went down........ not so sure it would be a disaster if it were to happen again.

but then i forgot, back then we had some pure class in the team, now that we're a balance sheet 1st, we'll maybe never see such quality at ER again.

If it's really a massive game on Sunday, you only know that hibs will let us down. It's what they do.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar

Thoughts...?
    In a warped sort of way it could help draw a big attendance.
    Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 21-12-2010 at 09:31 PM.

Aberdeen come to Easter rd in a worse situation than us, Havent won for weeks, You better believe they will take our scalp on boxing day.

These are the games we must win to avoid the relegation battle.

Win puts us 8 clear of Aberdeen and with the "Super Js" away to Celtic it's a good chance to climb a place in the league.

A defeat puts us in a difficult position and would be worrying given the upcoming fixtures:
    29 Dec Dundee Utd Home
    1 Jan Hearts Away
    15 Jan Celtic Home
    22 Jan Motherwell Away
    26 Jan Hibernian Home

I can't see us getting more than 4 pts from those games.

As for the Aberdeen game, it will probably be a draw.

Quote Originally Posted by sparky View Post
    These are the games we must win to avoid the relegation battle.

Win puts us 8 clear of Aberdeen and with the "Super Js" away to Celtic it's a good chance to climb a place in the league.

A defeat puts us in a difficult position and would be worrying given the upcoming fixtures:
    29 Dec Dundee Utd Home
    1 Jan Hearts Away
    15 Jan Celtic Home
    22 Jan Motherwell Away
    26 Jan Hibernian Home

I can't see us getting more than 4 pts from those games.

As for the Aberdeen game, it will probably be a draw.
    26 Jan - could be a very bad game!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post

It is a big game. we really need Trakis to be fit. I fear for Hibs this season but the sheep will still be dire regardless who is in charge just like us. CC took over we went up there and got humped. He made no difference. Like wise Pa Broon is not going to make them a better side overnight.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    There's a chance we could win it though

Quote Originally Posted by james62 View Post
    a heard they have a shocking defence...

Thoughts...?
    Would not surprise me in the least if this game also got postponed. The weather at present in the Grampian region is poor with more snow forecast, so may be unsafe for team and fans alike to travel......

Fingers crossed it is on though, could not bear more Christmas tv and turkey pieces......

Quote Originally Posted by james62 View Post
    I'll go for a goalless draw with the match ending early due to an array of red cards!

Aye just like the huns did at Ibrox.

How many goals did we score again

Promising Youngster

Thoughts...?
    I think if we beat the Yams on New Year then we might just go on a wee run also the Yams might go on a bad run.

So does a 3rd place still look possible?

Quote Originally Posted by markom127 View Post
    I think if we beat the Yams on New Year then we might just go on a wee run also the Yams might go on a bad run.

So does a 3rd place still look possible?
    we'll be closer to 3rd than relegation

Thoughts...?
    Anything less than a win and we are in serious trouble, there are still those who don't yet believe we are in a relegation battle, a defeat and there will surely be nobody left deluding themselves.

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    The words "Relegation" and "Hibs" in the same sentence is scary.

Do people really believe we will go down?
    ​​
    Scottish Cup Winners 2016 - The Immortals

Quote Originally Posted by essexhibee View Post
    The words "Relegation" and "Hibs" in the same sentence is scary.

Do people really believe we will go down?
    Did people believe it last time just before it happened?

Looking at the last 6 games for both teams show we have taken 7 points, scoring 8 and conceeding 9 which is really quite bad, however, when you look at Aberdeen their record is 0 points from the last 6, scoring 1 and conceeding 21! Now that truly is shocking form.

We can take heart that aberdeens away form is shocking as they have lost a crazy amount of goals, however, our home form is the problem for us scoring goals. I think the general play will be rank with this one but I think there will be goals galore with either team shading it. Whichever team wins though will get a big boost for the next game.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    What price Hibs -1 Andy?

We'll pump the sheep ****gin ****s nae bother

Mon The Hibees' :notworthy:

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    It is a big game. we really need Trakis to be fit. I fear for Hibs this season but the sheep will still be dire regardless who is in charge just like us. CC took over we went up there and got humped. He made no difference. Like wise Pa Broon is not going to make them a better side overnight.

Trakys is the one we have to get and keep fit if we are gonna do anything..

He is the player who we need up front...

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    Aye just like the huns did at Ibrox.

How many goals did we score again
    Alright one game where we played out of our skins, but week to week who else has been scoring goals on a regular basis other than Riordan.

Nobody. But remember we felt worse before the huns game and Riordan wasn't even playing. I even put 4 nil in my predictor and that was being generous. I'll probably get shot down for this but why can't we do it at the pbs. Nobody gave us a chance at Ibrox, at that includes the majority of our own support, myself included.

Let's go to Gorgie with our heads held high and chests out. Let's get some positivity on this board ffs. Let's support the players we have and back them to the hilt no matter what.

We'll support you evermore. Sometimes I'm not so sure reading this message board.

We are Hibernian FC. **** the Hearts.