at the moment my favourite would be Kevin Bridges

&

the best i've seen live was Stewart Francis

Gamertag: SWYD1875
    My favourite would be Billy Connolly

Best I've seen live is Ross Noble

David O' Doherty- His show at the festival was hilarious. He was superb on Never Mind the Buzzcocks a few weeks ago

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I like Al Murray's 'pub landord' and Peter Kay. ther are many comedieans I like, but a few I can't stand, the main one being Johnny Vegas. He's a fat prick, and wholly unfunny.

Probably against the popular consencus here but i'm not a fan of Lee Evans.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Jimmy Carr is brill ..seen him live three times ...alao think Lee Mack is brill, no had the chance to see him live yet ..

I don't tend to watch a great deal of stand up, however I am loving Rhod Gilbert at the minute.

He is one of the select few comedians who never fail to have me in hysterics.

Eric Davidson

What do you think Suzy?

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    jerry sadowitz is by far and away the best i've seen live. First time i saw him was in the late eighties and he kicked off with "terry waite, what a ******, lend someone a fiver and you never see them again" which had me in stitches at the time. The guy is also a genius magician into the bargain

Plenty others that i like as well including frankie boyle, kevin bridges and jim jeffries.

Gamertag: Cod Flanders
    Best I've seen is Kevin Bridges. Not seen many though. I also really like Ricky Gervais, think fame and animals are brilliant.

Jim Jefferies - absolutely brilliant.

Micky Flanagan also.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Billy Connolly but in the mid/late 70s & early 80s....we're talking seriously side splitting. I just don't find any of the current lot remotely funny.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Billy Connolly but in the mid/late 70s & early 80s....we're talking seriously side splitting. I just don't find any of the current lot remotely funny.
    on both points

Only comedian I've ever been tae see though is Chubby Brown on several occasions

Rich Hall, Jerry Sadowitz, Dylan Moran and Ross Noble are probably the best i have seen live.

Also find Doug Stanhope ridiculously funny although haven't seen him live.

My 2 favourites though are Bill Hicks and vintage Billy Connolly.

I've not seen him live, but having seen his stand-up stuff (a lot) on the TV, It HAS to be Lee Evans for me.

I seen Kevin Bridges at the festival and he was very funny aswell.

Frankie Boyle's stand up is poor. Ricky Gervais and Russel Brand are just awful at everything. All IMO of course

First Team Regular Leicester Fan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post

Only comedian I've ever been tae see though is Chubby Brown on several occasions
    Me too (apart from a few minor comics). Hilarious but a bit stomach churning too.

Terry Alderton - funniest show on the the fringe, you just laugh for the whole hour. Defo recommend seeing him next time he plays Edinburgh.

Have to say I'm not a fan of jim jefferies, I think he's another one that uses shock tactics to make up for a fundamental lack of intelligence to his routine. Not saying he doesn't have his moments but I don't particularly like his stuff.
    one of my favourites at the moment is shaun locke, he is brilliant.

Kevin Bridges is (rightly so) the man of the moment
    Sarah Millican is excellent live
    John Bishop is on his way to becoming the finest lugubrious comic of our times.
    And maybe a controversial choice but I really enjoy Russel Kane's patter.

Quote Originally Posted by .sean. View Post
    I like Al Murray's 'pub landord' and Peter Kay. ther are many comedieans I like, but a few I can't stand, the main one being Johnny Vegas. He's a fat prick, and wholly unfunny.

Probably against the popular consencus here but i'm not a fan of Lee Evans.
    Couldn't agree more - running about, sweating like a pig and squawking in a high-pitched voice about pish is not my idea of funny.

Best I've seen live would have to be Jimmy Carr, though Chris Rock or Billy Connolly would have to be my favourites of all time.

Anyone been on a Thomsons holiday and seen Ricky K (flown in from the UK for 1 night only)

The funnier bit was when we were back from holiday Peter Kay was on tv and one of the bairns asked if he was Ricky K's brother

@hibs.net private member Hibbie_Cameron's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    I pretty much agree with that. Some of them raise a laugh here and there but i dont find any of the current crop side splitting, most of them are too predictable.

Dont even get me started on Peter Kay, i cannot stand that man

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    Working at the Festival this year I got to see Paul Foot about a dozen times and could barely pour a pint while he was on I was laughing that much. An absolute genius, glad that Noel Fielding got him onto the Buzzcocks a few weeks ago for him to steal the show. Andrew Maxwell this year was phenomenal but unfortunately he only did bits and pieces here and there. As for a stand alone comic doing a run, Chris Ramsey was absolutely brilliant and everyone I recommended him too agreed, definitely one for the next few years. I really enjoy Miles Jupp as well although his well spoken accent 'upper class' jokes begin to get a little repetitive after a while.

Kevin Bridges is really good but his major let down is his improvisational stuff which is pretty dire, not a patch on Frankie Boyle.

I've seen David O'Doherty the last few years and he really is a genius, I could listen to his material and songs all day. Likewise to Phil Kay, he is a must see if you've not seen him before. Uniquely irreverently brilliant.

I really dislike Lee Evans too. Contorting your face and body while saying something doesn't make it funny as far as I am concerned.

I forget the guy's name, but there's a wee fella that oes on Mock The Week, usually wears a Hawaiin shirt and has crap hair - he's brilliant. Just loads of one-liners but hilarious.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Couldn't agree more - running about, sweating like a pig and squawking in a high-pitched voice about pish is not my idea of funny.

Best I've seen live would have to be Jimmy Carr, though Chris Rock or Billy Connolly would have to be my favourites of all time.

Agreed, I can't stand Lee Evans. I also really don't like Al Murray. He just shouts a lot, mainly about being British.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_fairnie View Post
    I forget the guy's name, but there's a wee fella that oes on Mock The Week, usually wears a Hawaiin shirt and has crap hair - he's brilliant. Just loads of one-liners but hilarious.
    Milton Jones? I think he's ok, not briliant though. I think he was originally the Mock The Week warm-up guy.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Milton Jones? I think he's ok, not briliant though. I think he was originally the Mock The Week warm-up guy.

he's quite funny.... comes out with ridiculousy random things which tickle me on occassion.
    Last edited by Ritchie; 08-12-2010 at 04:14 PM.

BEST OPENING LINE EVER!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBudGOfNnac

I'm likeing Reginald d Hunter at the moment and Chris Rock's earlier stuff is funny as ****.

Funiest I've seen live is Nina Conti and her monkey, brilliant absolutely brilliant.

This went out on the BBC so hope it's OK for on here. (Warning some strong language)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=77QEa...eature=related

Unhappy

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    I'm likeing Reginald d Hunter at the moment and Chris Rock's earlier stuff is funny as ****.

Funiest I've seen live is Nina Conti and her monkey, brilliant absolutely brilliant.

This went out on the BBC so hope it's OK for on here. (Warning some strong language)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=77QEa...eature=related

Hahahahaha!!

That's the first time is seen that... Class

She is pretty tidy too, she could beat my monkey....

He possibly doesn't fall into the pure stand-up category, but Bill Bailley of NMTB fame has a terrific and very clever comedian/musician show.