Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Gamertag: sjmcg1304

T in the Park - 2011 - Line Up Announced

Headlining act on the Main Stage on either the Saturday or Sunday is Blink 182.

Nothing officially been announced, but they've announced a UK Tour for their new album (released in March/April next year) with a big gap in between dates where the T in the Park weekend falls and no Scottish dates. Very likely
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

T in the park... Do people still bother with this?

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by Antifa Hibs View Post
    T in the park... Do people still bother with this?

What uber cool alternative do you suggest special one??

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    It was pretty pish last year. Too many weegies and phannies.

Quote Originally Posted by Dunbar Hibee View Post

I've not been for a few years now but that pretty much sums up how i remember it.

And Blink 182 as a headline band......Oh dear. Decent enough band for a mid afternoon or early evening slot but headlining the countries 'flagship' music festival- not for me.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunbar Hibee View Post

I've not been for a few years now but that pretty much sums up how i remember it.

And Blink 182 as a headline band......Oh dear. Decent enough band for a mid afternoon or early evening slot but headlining the countries 'flagship' music festival- not for me.
    yawn .......seems like not liking T in the Park is now the "cool" thing to do. I've been camping it for years. Are there neds? Aye but much less than you'll find in pretty much all the clubs in Edinburgh. I've never had any trouble and always had an amazing time.

Blink 182 as a headline act..

Wow

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    yawn .......seems like not liking T in the Park is now the "cool" thing to do. I've been camping it for years. Are there neds? Aye but much less than you'll find in pretty much all the clubs in Edinburgh. I've never had any trouble and always had an amazing time.
    Fair enough, each to their own.

I don't like or dislike anything based on whether it's deemed 'cool' or not. I just didn't enjoy T in the Park the last couple of times i was there. The range of acts had been narrowed down into a much more defined genre and, IMO, the atmosphere in the campsite was nowhere near as good as it had been in previous years. Over the last couple of years i've been to both Glastonbury and Leeds/Reading and enjoyed them more than i was enjoying T in the Park. I'm sure many will disagree but thats what opinions are for.

I heard it was Bowie !

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by #10 View Post
    Blink 182 as a headline act..

Wow
    to be fair... IF they are scheduled to play at TITP, they certinaly wont be headlining any stage!!

i dont care anyway... ill be smashed wandering around aimlessly as usual.

Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    I heard it was Bowie !
    I actually heard the same thing, but it's all just rumours just now.

Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie View Post
    to be fair... IF they are scheduled to play at TITP, they certinaly wont be headlining any stage!!

i dont care anyway... ill be smashed wandering around aimlessly as usual.
    The OP said they'd be the headline act SCOTT!!!!

Your such a chavvy little ned...

Quote Originally Posted by #10 View Post
    The OP said they'd be the headline act SCOTT!!!!

Your such a chavvy little ned...
    Must be true then...

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    Unfortunately Blink 182 are more than big enough/good enough to headline T. Kasabian did last year!

Quote Originally Posted by Calvino View Post
    Unfortunately Blink 182 are more than big enough/good enough to headline T. Kasabian did last year!

I'll bite....Kasabian are brilliant.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post

I'll bite....Kasabian are brilliant.
    I don't dislike them, but I think if they can headline T then Blink have even more of a right to be headliners if they play.

Kasabian have only had three albums!

Blink 182 are perhaps one of the most successful bands of the past 20 years - they're not everyone's favourite cup of tea, but they are more than big enough to be deemed a headlining act on one of the 3 days, considering some of the pish which has filled this slot in years gone by.

Anyway, regardless to where they feature (I did say "probable", as I personally would expect them as a headline act), their attendance looks highly likely, going on their tour dates - added to that, the fact that they said "we'll see you next summer at some little festival you guys host" (not word for word, but paraphrased).

I'd also expect Muse to be one of the headline acts on one of the three days, as they also suggested in a few interviews that they were confirmed for a few festivals in the UK this coming summer.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    wont be muse again. I heard that all the effort is going on prince and bowie. Probably means we'll get snow patrol and cheryl cole

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    wont be muse again. I heard that all the effort is going on prince and bowie. Probably means we'll get snow patrol and cheryl cole
    - if either of those are considered "headline acts" for T in the Park, then the organisers are obviously trying to attract a very different type of audience.

First Team Breakthrough steve75's Avatar

Gamertag: rowPP
    Can't see it being Muse, sure I heard they were finished with their big staging, stadiums and festivals and looking to do 'smaller' gigs.

Blink is probable, considering over NME and Main stage there are 6 headline slots and they're more than big enough. Bowie could be one, since muse played last year he's pretty much the only one left everyone 'tips' to play every single year.

Anyway, think i'll give it a miss regardless, been the last 4 years and its a bit same old same old, still love it just think i'm going to try something like pukklepop or sziget

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    - if either of those are considered "headline acts" for T in the Park, then the organisers are obviously trying to attract a very different type of audience.
    Prince is ***** but i'd really like to see Bowie

But maybe not at T though when you're more than likely to be ****ed out your face
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

I'm by no means a big fan of blink 182, but they played at rock en seine last year and were very good indeed. I'd love to see Bowie this year, and I wouldn't mind Pulp either.

[QUOTE=Calvino;2645534]I don't dislike them, but I think if they can headline T then Blink have even more of a right to be headliners if they play.

Kasabian have only had three albums![/QUOTE]

Yip. But one good and two amazing albums at that

Gamertag: RAFFERTY X
    [QUOTE=SunnyLeith;2645712]
    I don't dislike them, but I think if they can headline T then Blink have even more of a right to be headliners if they play.

Kasabian have only had three albums![/QUOTE]

Yip. But one good and two amazing albums at that
    .. Kasabian are something a bit different and a breath of fresh air!

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    I'd love to see Bowie play live, I bet there would be an absolutley huge turnout at the main stage if Bowie was the headline act.

Gamertag: RAFFERTY X
    Ian Brown should play at T, promote his most recent album 'My Way' a bit more cause i'm not that sure many people know about it.

I think he's played at T once before but it was years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Marabou Stork View Post
    I'm by no means a big fan of blink 182, but they played at rock en seine last year and were very good indeed. I'd love to see Bowie this year, and I wouldn't mind Pulp either.
    I would settle for Blink, Bowie and Pulp! Going down to Wireless to see Pulp and hopefully Isle of Wight too. Bowie is a legend and the chance to see him doesn't come along too often - although I said that about The Who and thought they were crap when I saw them. I sold my ticket for Blink at the SECC the other month because Feeder were playing the Liquid Rooms but think they'd be good headliners and a good laugh.

I'd rather TITP went for a Bowie crowd than a Black Eyed Peas crowd!

As for T being a "much more defined genre" - I can't define the genre in the slightest. A lot of absolute pish pop music has appeared on the lineup over the past few years, dance is still a big part of the festival, rappers come as well as some excellent guitar bands.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by seanraff07 View Post
    Ian Brown should play at T, promote his most recent album 'My Way' a bit more cause i'm not that sure many people know about it.<br />
    <br />
    Ian Brown was on tour last winter promoting My Way. He has produced better.

Bowie is a legend and the chance to see him doesn't come along too often - although I said that about The Who and thought they were crap when I saw them.
    I didn't see The Who, think I was watching Kasabian doing there first T set when The Who were playing. I went along to see James Brown a few years back at T though and he was awful.

Quote Originally Posted by seanraff07 View Post
    Ian Brown should play at T, promote his most recent album 'My Way' a bit more cause i'm not that sure many people know about it.

He's played a few tines at t

Last time he done his usual huffy routine last time, punched his sound engineer and walked off

It was crap