Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC

Lost Finale - Warning: Spoiler Alert

Penultimate episode tonight, leaving the finale pretty soon.

Was wondering when it was and a quick google threw this up: http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2010...m-uk-simulcast

Great idea, means that I can just Sky+ it and watch it when I get home from work on Monday!

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Just saw an advert for this earlier. Will probably stick it on sky+ and watch on Monday night. I'll just have to avoid all forms of Internet and news during the day incase I find out the ending before I watch it.

Pity it wasn't last Monday when I was off and it was a holiday.

@hibs.net private member Scooter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Calvino View Post
    Penultimate episode tonight, leaving the finale pretty soon.

Was wondering when it was and a quick google threw this up: http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2010...m-uk-simulcast

Great idea, means that I can just Sky+ it and watch it when I get home from work on Monday!
    according to ABC the finale airs on sunday in the states

ive seen tonights

Wii Code: 666
    Have seen the final eposode.

Jack wakes up in the shower and it's all been a terrible dream.

Sorry to spoil it for you boys.

@hibs.net private member Scooter's Avatar
    seriously though

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Quote Originally Posted by Archie21 View Post
    seriously though
    this.

Gamertag: Daniel1875
    I still found it a little confusing! Are they all dead or what ? Don't understand why Sawyer etc are flying off the island but they are returning in real life ?

Having watched this im still very uncertain what the ending was actually all about

@hibs.net private member The Sundance Kid's Avatar
    Spoiler Warning

The timeline where the plane didn't crash is basically a purgatory type place where the characters go when they die so that they can live out a nice life with people they love. Then at the end when they realised that this was the case and had been reunited with one another Jack's dad opened the church door to heaven.

As far as the people who flew off the island e.g. Kate, Sawyer, they could have gone onto have lived until they were in their own age before they died but would have evenually arrived in purgatory. This is why when Jack asked his dad if everyone in the church was dead he replied that "everybody dies at some point. Some were before you, some long after you". Also even if lets say Desmond or Hurley died 50 years after Jack they would still have been in purgatory at the same time as again Jack's dad said "There is no real here or now".

Basically I think the writers were trying to say that the characters and their relationships were the most important part of the show and therefore missed out some of the mysteries e.g. what was the island or what were the significance of the numbers

Hope that managed to clear up some confusion.
    Last edited by The Sundance Kid; 24-05-2010 at 10:58 AM.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Quite like how Lost and Ashes to Ashes had pretty much the same idea behind it
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

Gamertag: Daniel1875
    What about ben not going into the church ? Is this the theme of everyone dies at some point or are the writers leaving it open to be continued in the future ?

Quote Originally Posted by HarpyHibby View Post
    What about ben not going into the church ? Is this the theme of everyone dies at some point or are the writers leaving it open to be continued in the future ?

Was reading somewhere that maybe he wasnt ready to move on or something along those lines, and hence why there was some other characters not at the church, ie Ana Lucia and Ilana etc.

My opinion on the ending has changed a lot in the last day to be honest! Wasnt convinced at first, but then it all kind of clicked, and I actually really liked it, and i'm not that bothered about anything that wasn't answered.

Shed a wee tear tae!

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpyHibby View Post
    I still found it a little confusing! Are they all dead or what ? Don't understand why Sawyer etc are flying off the island but they are returning in real life ?
    everything that happened on the Island happened. They were actually there and some of them did leave (Kate, Miles, Alpert, Sawyer & The pilot).
    This was conveyed when Kate said to Jack 'i've missed you' implying she has been waiting ages to meet her soulmate in the afterlife. Jack died on the Island and Kate probably went on to live her life but when she died she returned to the point and the people where she is happiest - her time on the Island.
    This goes for all the characters who are in the church at the end. Anna Lucia 'wasn't ready' yet, Michael hadn't resolved his demons, Ben wasn't ready either. As a result they are still resolving their lives post-death.
    So the Island was a place for people to resolve their traumas and Jacob selected people to be there. Fake locke wanted to leave the island and therefore wanted to destroy it and be able to exist outside of the island presumably leaving people with no way of finding happiness if their normal lives weren't going to supply it.

Thought the finale was good but somehow feel left empty by many unanswered questions

Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post
    Thought the finale was good but somehow feel left empty by many unanswered questions

I loved Lost throughout all the years it's been on but that was just one giant cop out if you ask me..

Didn't answer ****all, very dissappointed they went down the predictable "Every ***** deed" road..

Pish

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    I'll See you in another life brother

Quote Originally Posted by Number_10 View Post

I loved Lost throughout all the years it's been on but that was just one giant cop out if you ask me..

Didn't answer ****all, very dissappointed they went down the predictable "Every ***** deed" road..

Pish
    They weren't all dead. Everything that happened on the island was real, the flash sideways was when they had all died. Presumably the plane got off the island, Hurley + Ben lived on the island for a bit before eventually dying and then they all came together at the end. That's why Hurley says to Ben you were a great number 2.

Quote Originally Posted by Ally View Post
    They weren't all dead. Everything that happened on the island was real, the flash sideways was when they had all died. Presumably the plane got off the island, Hurley + Ben lived on the island for a bit before eventually dying and then they all came together at the end. That's why Hurley says to Ben you were a great number 2.
    Who says?

You?

Nae answers just emotional bull****..

If you enjoyed that your either a bird or a poof

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Billychaotic182 View Post
    I'll See you in another life brother

that was quality

Who says?

You?

Nae answers just emotional bull****..

I too thought there was a total lack of helicopter chases and naked woman to make the finale blokey enough. For a drama television programme to involve anything emotional is a total shambles.

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar
    I personally thought it was a major ****** you from the producers/director etc.
    Six series and 120 episodes and they employ one of the oldest, most clichéd endings in the history of film?

I'm sure there were other options for an ending. I personally never watched it as I thought it was a pile of gash. (I gave the first couple of episodes a chance but just naw).
    They've only gone and done it! They've only gone and won the Scottish Cup! What kept you, Hibs?!

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    did anyone notice that the height of the black smoke was less than the previous 3 series and was also a different shade?

@hibs.net private member WeAreHibs's Avatar
    Classic !

Quote Originally Posted by DE-V8 View Post
    Classic !
    Hilarious. I wonder how low the average IQ is on these boards is sometimes.
    Last edited by Ally; 26-05-2010 at 01:58 AM.

The whole programme was about the development of the characters, not about giving answers to every single question, the greatest thing about science fiction is leaving it to the imagination to work out. What more answers do you want from the programme?
    REMOVED BY ADMIN.
    I think the answers had actually been coming for the whole of the last series.

We found out why the island was special, the light that it was protecting, we found out what Jake and the other guy were up to and why they were bringing people to the island.

We know that all the people who had been on the island over the years all did so for their own various reasons and were no real part of knowing anything about why they were there or what the Jake/other guy issue was all about.

We are never going to get answers about why there is a white light down there and how it can turn you immortal or turn you into black smoke. It is science fiction after all!

The afterlife thing only really answered what was going on in the sideways flashes during the last series.

The final series itself was the answer to what the rest of it had been about.
    Last edited by marinello59; 26-05-2010 at 07:13 PM.

@hibs.net private member WeAreHibs's Avatar
    Hilarious. I wonder how low the average IQ is on these boards is sometimes.
    I'd hope his comment was meant with a certain element of jest, if not, it still made me chuckle. Do you think you have a superior IQ because you "GOT" Lost? I happen to think it was a pile of pish. That doesnt mean I have a lower IQ, just a different taste.

Wind your neck in fella!

Removed by Admin:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4W1Qp...eature=related

On Lost I couldn't get into it, watched a few episodes in the first series but got bored with it. But then maybe I'm one of these "fucking idiots" that doesn't enjoy it
    Last edited by marinello59; 26-05-2010 at 07:10 PM.

I wouldn't have thought this thread would be contender for the hibs.net' Fight in an Empty Room' award.
    Please cut out the personal abuse, we don't want to be spending time deleting posts and handing out warnings. It's nae fun.

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    I wouldn't have thought this thread would be contender for the hibs.net' Fight in an Empty Room' award.
    Please cut out the personal abuse, we don't want to be spending time deleting posts and handing out warnings. It's nae fun.
    Pricks!
    They've only gone and done it! They've only gone and won the Scottish Cup! What kept you, Hibs?!

Quote Originally Posted by Leitrim Hibee View Post
    Pricks!
    Theres always one.