Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar

Sorrento.....

anyone been?

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Aye.

Also

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Naw, but nearby Pompeii's great - kinda like Iceland is the noo.

Wii Code: 666
    Naw. But my Mum and Dad have.

First Team Regular weedgiehibbie's Avatar
    Yeah spent a couple of nights there on a tour of Italy last summer, never heard of the place before i went to it but quite suprised by the pubs - quite good for a smallish wee place, ended up heading to nearby Positano for a bit but had the bus journey from hell back - great views of Positano - a village built up a cliff, weird

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Been to the area a few times. I much prefer Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. Sorrento is pretty nice though but a bit more commercialised.

Capri and particularly Ischia are well worth taking the time to visit. The great thing about Campagnia is that there is such a superb variety of lovely places to visit.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    cheers guys heading there at the end of the month (volcano permitting) for a wedding and will be there for 5 nights. Anyone recommend decent places to eat etc.

is Pompeii (sp?) worth a vist?

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hwuhibby View Post
    is Pompeii (sp?) worth a vist?
    Not half! Pompeii is an incredible and memorable visit. Make sure you go there if you can. Also look out a trip to Herculaneum which was similarly buried under volcanic ash. Some think it is an even better visit.

Don't underestimate a visit to Napoli, it's a fantastic city.

For a different and relaxing day out try this thermal resort on Ischia:

http://www.negombo.it/
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

@hibs.net private member vincipernoi's Avatar

Gamertag: eh? Wii Code: eh?
    been to sorrento 4 times over about 35 years, wife's family come from nearby so know the region

used to have some charm, stunning location , allegedly where ulysses fended of the sirens

now full of english speaking 'elderly' tourists and a combination of generalised shopping and dull formulaic restuarants where the waiters speak to you in english before you open your mouth

Ok as a base for pompeii - very easy to get to - circumvesuviano railway goes from central sorrento to the front door of pompeii easily a full day trip

herculeaneo is much smaller but better preserved and isn't as easy to get to by public transport, essentially they manage to dig up a small bit of the town, the rest is still there under folks' houses

climbing vesuvius is worthwhile, you could get to the edge of the crater last time I went (in 2002) and see wisps of smoke

positano is a town on a hilside leading to a beach, OK, but no more than a days worth

capri, anacapri and ischia are easily accessible for a day or so and were worth the trip (but haven't been for about twenty years so may have been gubbed)

would ony use sorrento as a base and spend minimal time in the place itself, OK for going for drinks with yer pals

when you compare it to Italy that hasn't been knackered by anglophone tourists its a bit plastic

regards

Italian weddings are a bit mental but great fun, the meal may last several hours and you won't be thirsty