Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    ach it il be orite

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greentinted View Post
    Earlier today while passing by some laddies kicking a scuffed football around I was reminded of the word "philly" meaning real leather football as opposed to a plastic replica. If you had a philly yer baw was always in demand!
    It didnt hurt as much as the Mitre Mould Master

What was that other "baw" ? Not the orange Striker ! It was white hard plastic , maybe captains ball ?

---------- Post added at 10:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:15 PM ----------

Quote Originally Posted by .sean. View Post
    In contrast if your ball was a plastic one it would be a 'flyaway'
    Watch me bend this
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

gantin = mingin - smellin

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    ploughing or scudding as in sh4ggin

Not heard that since I was about 18 (24 now). Still hear 'sowed her' all the time.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Aye, I'm sure that's what it was for us as well - don't know why I'm doubting myself!!! I remember the wee "ballet steps" tactic you mention as well - that must have a term as well, no??
    There was a defensive move if you knew you were going to be beaten, cant properly remember but you could move your foot 90 degrees Also used at Parsons Green 1990s.

Not played with a 'flyaway' ball in a while.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Woody1985 View Post

Not heard that since I was about 18 (24 now). Still hear 'sowed her' all the time.
    Never heard that one. Me and my pals use the phrase 'pinged her'

Been years since I said 'Mum, i'm away out. Gonnae tape that programme for me?!'

Can you even buy video recorders anymore?

go git that baw wee man

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Hits it gets it

Quote Originally Posted by Euphoria1875 View Post
    Hits it gets it
    YES!!! This is brilliant nostalgia.

Having to shin over the back fence at Primary school became a near full time profession.

What about the vocab that went the Panini sticker albums??

"Doublers" and "Shinys" etc

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    YES!!! This is brilliant nostalgia.

Having to shin over the back fence at Primary school became a near full time profession.

What about the vocab that went the Panini sticker albums??

"Doublers" and "Shinys" etc
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    NEED!

Always loved how there must have been 400 stickers in the album yet you automatically knew what you had and what you needed!

Come the end of the season you had about 600 'doubles'

Quote Originally Posted by .sean. View Post
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    Got.
    NEED!

Always loved how there must have been 400 stickers in the album yet you automatically knew what you had and what you needed!

Come the end of the season you had about 600 'doubles'
    It was got, got, got, got, got, NO GOT, got, got in my day.

Terry Fenwick was an easy one to get.

Gamertag: Vanquinho
    I remember one year I bought my first packet of the season and the first stickers on show was the Hibs badge and Jim Leighton. I was uncontrollable for the rest of the day.

Happy times.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    A humdinger (meaning brilliant)
    Cock or Hen / Pug or Engine (the call when two players turned up late)
    Cairy-cod (piggy back)
    A mennon (a stickleback/minnow - we used to 'cork' them in dubs on the rocks)
    Poddlies (wee sea fish)
    Peeochy (an ugly wee fish that we were all terrified of - our kind of piranha)
    Bowff (minging)
    Sprat killer (long thin piece of metal)
    Cavy howker (big hook for pull crabs out of rock crevasses)
    Braemar (something that was quality)

First Team Breakthrough Dav1986's Avatar

Gamertag: davidmcandrew86
    Barry- the game where there were 2 of you and took turns from opposite sides of a set of goals trying 2 hit the bar, duration went along the lines of 10 half time 21 the winner...

Also nae shannies when u stitched up a mate to go in goals at crossie

Any1 remember playing sting? Think it was hot ass in other places..

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    It was got, got, got, got, got, NO GOT, got, got in my day.
    Thats right

Reminded as I was of my own tragic angst-ridden teenage escapades wi lassies by the phrase to 'bag-off', the word 'nash' came to mind meaning to snog (usually the aim of a bag-off) but also it means to run fast as in 'we better nash, thats the polis coming'

As an aside, another hapless laddie in my class was offered a 'bag-off' wi a big huge fat lassie in Holyrood Park.
    His perplexed reply (and this is true): "a bag of what?"

Leb

What about doing Endoes on your bike ?

Pulling the front brake hard and keeping the back wheel up for a few seconds.
    Cool folk could do front hops

Maybe not a phrase but what about the jubilee carton stuck in you bike wheel for the motorbike effect ?

More of a phase but did anyone own a Trick Stick , Batty Bouncer or Yo Ball ?

Yo Balls were sound Mines was yellow

Quote Originally Posted by Greentinted View Post
    Reminded as I was of my own tragic angst-ridden teenage escapades wi lassies by the phrase to 'bag-off', the word 'nash' came to mind meaning to snog (usually the aim of a bag-off) but also it means to run fast as in 'we better nash, thats the polis coming'

As an aside, another hapless laddie in my class was offered a 'bag-off' wi a big huge fat lassie in Holyrood Park.
    His perplexed reply (and this is true): "a bag of what?"

Nash is another one I've not heard in ages .

For some reason, the word "nixy" was en vogue amongst the cool kids at school - we're talking S2/S3 age - to mean "no/no chance".

I.e. "I got a ****load of homework for tomorrow. Nixy will that be getting done"

Or even funnier, after a dressing down in front of the class, the "victim" (if a cool kid) would walk back to their seat, audibly muttering (preferably in a rising pitch of voice) "Niiiixxxyyyyy" - what a struggle it was to keep a straight face

@hibs.net private member therealgavmac's Avatar
    Can't believe "Gonny gie's a gam" has been passed over

@hibs.net private member therealgavmac's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 65bd View Post
    and brought back another memory

Anyone remember Tutti Frutti on RTL
    Oh yes -remember it well!!

http://www.rtlgroup.com/public/Websi...frutti_380.jpg