ben the kitchenete
    It's in the drying green.

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Do the wee ones still do "tic tac" to see who gets 1st pick?
    "Eeny meeny miney mo" was a better way of picking.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    The telly needs a new bulb !

---------- Post added at 12:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:23 AM ----------

I'm taping the charts on Sunday.

---------- Post added at 12:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:25 AM ----------

Want a game of shapes ?
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post
    Tic tac aw the way!

Tic tac was when the 2 team captains stood opposite eachother (distance apart to be decided) and alternated turns to walk towards eachother one step at a time (heel of front foot touching front of rear foot) until one persons foot was on top of the others. They were deemed winner and had 1st pick for their team.

A Ken, a was being a bam!, kids do still use this.

I don't hear this anymore though

There was also- dip dip dugs s**t ....

---------- Post added at 12:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:51 AM ----------

[QUOTE=sleeping giant;2444568]The telly needs a new bulb ![COLOR="Silver"]

or maybe 50p for the slot?

There speaketh a woman!!!

Tic Tac toe all the way.

I've not heard "1 2 3 Helpy caught" in ages either, though Health and Safety have probably banned that primary school favourite.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Tic Tac was great as long as no lamposts were allowed

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post

THAT's what they were called.

When some cheeky bugger jumped from about 7 paces away just to get first pick

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

I wasnt sure if anyone would know what I was on about & lamposts were just a Leith colloquialism

It was definitely the terminology at Parsons Green Primary school circa early 1990's

Ditto to Danderhall Hibs - I just remember the rules being stipulated before Tic Tac Toe started, but couldn't remember what the forbidden act was called.
    Last edited by lyonhibs; 30-04-2010 at 12:36 PM.

I wanted to post it in my explanation post but couldn't remember what it was called!

Wasnt a lampost when the person lay on the ground and reached out to touch the other persons foot? I cant remember the name for it but wasnt the running jump a totally different controversial tactic?

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Danny_Hibee View Post
    Wasnt a lampost when the person lay on the ground and reached out to touch the other persons foot? I cant remember the name for it but wasnt the running jump a totally different controversial tactic?
    I thought a lampost was when one person lay along the ground head first to touch the other's foot with their forehead.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    I thought a lampost was when one person lay along the ground head first to touch the other's foot with their forehead.

The use of the word "shan" to mean cruel.
    Geordies still say that. It takes me back to when I was wee in Edinburgh

"Cheesy Boakin" while stroking your chin. (while making fun of someone elses misfortune). God knows what it meant.
    Last edited by hibsbollah; 30-04-2010 at 07:51 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Geordies still say that. It takes me back to when I was wee in Edinburgh

"Cheesy Boakin" while stroking your chin. (while making fun of someone elses misfortune). God knows what it meant.

That reminded me of one, strokingly pinching ones chin and saying "chin chin"
    meaning - Talking s***e.
    We should just do this instead of ever using the word "Hearts"!

Quote Originally Posted by dawn View Post
    meaning - Talking s***e.
    and brought back another memory

Anyone remember Tutti Frutti on RTL

meaning - Talking s***e.

"Chinny chin chin" I believe was the required phrase, around my bit anyway.

Right, so if a lampost was someone lying down to get an unfair advantage (which makes sense now I think about it) what the hell was the "jump from miles away" move called - I'm sure it had a name, and was similarly outlawed whilst partaking in the hallowed art of Tic-Tac-Toe.

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC

Right, so if a lampost was someone lying down to get an unfair advantage (which makes sense now I think about it) what the hell was the "jump from miles away" move called - I'm sure it had a name, and was similarly outlawed whilst partaking in the hallowed art of Tic-Tac-Toe.
    It was 'itchy chin' for us.

In Tic-tac, for us, lamppost was just someone taking a massive step. We had a tiny one as well where you pretty much only put your toes down and the rest of your foot lay on the foot already down.

Quote Originally Posted by Calvino View Post
    It was 'itchy chin' for us.

In Tic-tac, for us, lamppost was just someone taking a massive step.
    We had a tiny one as well where you pretty much only put your toes down and the rest of your foot lay on the foot already down.
    Aye, I'm sure that's what it was for us as well - don't know why I'm doubting myself!!! I remember the wee "ballet steps" tactic you mention as well - that must have a term as well, no??

Could be wrong but I think they were called, "baby steps".

Lamposts were a full stretched out body from tiptoes to fully stretched out arm to the tip of the fingers.

@hibs.net private member Groathillgrump's Avatar
    Here's a phrase you don't hear much anymore:

"I see Hibs won today"

I got six of the belt today.

Did a few times.

" If you see Sid , tell him "

Gamertag: Vanquinho

The Superman

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    ploughing or scudding as in sh4ggin

Earlier today while passing by some laddies kicking a scuffed football around I was reminded of the word "philly" meaning real leather football as opposed to a plastic replica. If you had a philly yer baw was always in demand!

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greentinted View Post
    Earlier today while passing by some laddies kicking a scuffed football around I was reminded of the word "philly" meaning real leather football as opposed to a plastic replica. If you had a philly yer baw was always in demand!
    In contrast if your ball was a plastic one it would be a 'flyaway'