First Team Breakthrough aazza91's Avatar

Gamertag: azmo14

Edinburgh Chippy Sauce

For all you non Scotland/Edinburgh folk found this amazing site where you can buy undiluted chippy sauce! Already made my first order

http://www.chippysauce.co.uk/

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by aazza91 View Post
    For all you non Scotland/Edinburgh folk found this amazing site where you can buy undiluted chippy sauce! Already made my first order

You can buy gold star stuff in makro and cosco. pickled onions and eggs and sauce i think. Cracking find tho mate

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Make your own

It's brown sauce diluted with either vinegar or water. Take your pick and adjust to personal taste.

I don't make it frequently but when I do it's two-third's HP to one-third's white wine vinegar. Tastes smashing! Bet there's other better homemade versions though, if anyone's offering
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

SALT & VINEGAR

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    SALT & VINEGAR

First Team Breakthrough Don-hibee's Avatar
    Chippy in Balerno sells you bottles of chippy sauce, always a bottle in our cupboards, the kids insist on it

Got to say I'm a salt & vinegar man my self. Sould do a poll though, salt & sauce or salt & vinegar.

SALT & VINEGAR
    Incorrect.

Wrong, and indeed scientifically proven to be an absolute abortion of a combination.

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Make your own

It's brown sauce diluted with either vinegar or water. Take your pick and adjust to personal taste.

I don't make it frequently but when I do it's two-third's HP to one-third's white wine vinegar. Tastes smashing! Bet there's other better homemade versions though, if anyone's offering
    I don't think there are any better, or more authentic recipes than the vinegar one. It's the one almost every chipy uses.

I've made chippy sauce before and it's using the same method as yourself. Every chippy sauce I've tasted in fife or the lothians has exactly the same taste as the basic recipe.

It's an open secret and I find it amazing that some chip shops are selling it in glass bottles for a lot more than what it costs to make.

Do they not, by law, have to list the ingredients?

I worked in a chippy for years and made many a bottle of sauce up in that time. It is Gold Star Sauce and water, we never used vinegar

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    My local chippy sells it, basically it's brown sauce and lots of vinegar. Most chip shops will make there own.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    SALT & VINEGAR
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Got to say I'm a salt & vinegar man my self. Sould do a poll though, salt & sauce or salt & vinegar.
    Oh dear oh dear oh dear. I blame the parents.

Quote Originally Posted by Don-hibee View Post
    Chippy in Balerno sells you bottles of chippy sauce, always a bottle in our cupboards, the kids insist on it

the wee kids or the big kid ?

Quote Originally Posted by bod View Post
    the wee kids or the big kid ?
    no me

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    I like both, but I have a strong preference for sauce. I also make my own, using the 2 parts HP/1 part vinegar recipe noted above.

Wii Code: 666
    Salt and Sauce is definitely an Edinburgh area thing.

Brown sauce is minging anyway.

salt & vinegar

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    salt & vinegar

Yer Barred!

Gamertag: magseven7
    Salt and Vinegar, all the way.

Chippy Sauce/Brown Sauce is revolting.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    SALT & SAUCE & VINEGAR!!!

..just back from a weekend in AYR, where we hit the local on-site chipper and asked for brown, sauce with vinegar.

"youse must befae Edinbru then, aye?" said the wee lady, "folk fae thare aye ask for it like that"

We confirmed we were.

Woman behind us leans forward and asks what we had just asked for, looking completely bamboozled.

Massive container of chips arrives and my haggis pudding(well could only see batter(!) is shoved aside as the wee lady does a zig-zag, ever so gentle of minute squirtings of brown sauce, then proceeds to drown the friggin thing in vinegar with a smattering of white Icelandic Ash, otherwise known as salt. Clueless...

Quote Originally Posted by aazza91 View Post

Hmmm...someone at the St Johns Chippy trying to make a fast internet buck or two(and why not?).

Reads to me that the sauce you buy from them needs to be enhanced by you and you are paying more for lower quality sauce as per this..

http://www.practicallyedible.com/edi...s/chippiesauce

Also told you can buy this Gold Star stuff at the following Sainsburys in Edinburgh:

Dalry
    Cameron Toll
    Meadowbank

although I can't find it online.
    Last edited by Toaods; 19-04-2010 at 09:14 AM.

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    A couple of years back I was in the chippy on Easter Road. It was before a Huns game and I was behind a few Huns in the queue who were all getting salt and vinegar on their food. I asked for a bag of chips and the lass behind the counter was just about to put vinegar over them, I said, 'eh naw, salt and sauce'.

Must have thought I was one of the Huns, bloody cheek.

Salt and Sauce all the way.

Buy it? You should make your own. Cheapest broon sauce that you can get (Rowatts is good) water it down with the vinegar from pickled onion.

Amazing.

Quote Originally Posted by Toaods View Post
    Also told you can buy this Gold Star stuff at the following Sainsburys in Edinburgh:

Dalry
    Cameron Toll
    Meadowbank

although I can't find it online.

All this sauce talk got my tastebuds going and I was at Savacenyre earlier tonight so searched out a bottle........670g for 99P...

First thing I'm getting when I'm back is a Haggis super with SALT AND SAUCE.

Maybe a deep fried pizza tae.