Thread: The Aftermath

The Aftermath

Right chaps

We are no doubt all gonna be on here airing our disappointment about drawing today but.......

I actually thought we done alright. I will put my hand up for the goal as a centre half we need to be going through there strikers. the ball has come up the park far to easily though.

I think deek said it after, we make no attempt to win the second ball, we win the ball & then think our jobs are done.

Apart from a few through balls and crosses in the first half Geoff has had very little to do.

Gutted that Janetta had to go off, hope the knee gets better

We have had an embarrassing amount of chances today and the goal we scored took a wicked deflection

anyway
    :notworthy:

@hibs.net private member Scooter's Avatar
    Wouldn't add much more to that

more good than bad points. was good to see a wee bit dig from our players, something we should focus on. need to take our chances. janny looked goo take care bud and let me know when ur fit bud.

Gamertag: Vanquinho
    Unlucky lads, a few of us had some good opportunities to snatch the win, lesson well and truly learnt on my part that's for sure. I knew my luck was out when I hit the post

We played some nice stuff amidst some mental challenges and horrific refereeing.

Didn't think anyone in particular had a bad game, we played well, created chances and on another day at least one more would have went in.

Quote Originally Posted by Gus View Post
    We have had an embarrassing amount of chances today and the goal we scored took a wicked deflection
    It was going in the other corner anyway

Thanks for the runout, really enjoyed/needed that.

Very much more +ve than negative to take from that game, with a bit more composure/luck up front (from myself on a couple of occasions as well as Waniel Doods)

That ref was absolutely awful, that challenge from their fattie striker was a second away from being properly bad, not even a yellow. He should really retire/be put out to pasture. You know it's bad when I spent a lot of time bantering with their RB about just how dreadful he was - for both teams.

A stick-on penalty at the end as well that didn't get called, but anyway, a good game, and that bodes well for the future
    Last edited by lyonhibs; 07-03-2010 at 02:42 PM.

Right guys from an unbiased observer, I missed the first 20 mins, but hope I can add my thoughts to the pot,

Starting with the keeper Sorry I dont know the players names, Good display likes to get the ball into play quickly and looks to start from the back, good hands for the couple of crosses that came in at him.

Back four need to work together more, to much getting dragged about, and when free kicks were coming in nobody was taking charge and holding a line, more often than not Jon at right back always seemed to lie deeper than anybody else.

Midfield, too much arguing with the ref from the middle players, refs wont give you any decision when you are on there case [I know I have been a ref in the past, granted the ref today was worse than a man short] good hard tackles flying in at times but no width was provided a lot of the times to help out the back four when in possession.

Up front trying to much for the world cup finish, instead of just putting your foot through the ball and digging at goal, taking too many touches, cost you today IMO .

You lack leadership both on and off the park, I know your manager plays, but you need somebody on the sidelines to encourage, and make decisions re substitutions and the likes, and on the park somebody has to take charge also,without getting lip back, when you get in to your league next season the refs wont stand for the shouting and swearing, and the questioning of all there decisions, yellow and reds will be flying about everywhere

As I said just a neutrals observation, so feel free to ignore it

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    definitely not, thats what we need.

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    Right guys from an unbiased observer, I missed the first 20 mins, but hope I can add my thoughts to the pot,

Starting with the keeper Sorry I dont know the players names, Good display likes to get the ball into play quickly and looks to start from the back, good hands for the couple of crosses that came in at him.

Back four need to work together more, to much getting dragged about, and when free kicks were coming in nobody was taking charge and holding a line, more often than not Jon at right back always seemed to lie deeper than anybody else.

Midfield, too much arguing with the ref from the middle players, refs wont give you any decision when you are on there case [I know I have been a ref in the past, granted the ref today was worse than a man short] good hard tackles flying in at times but no width was provided a lot of the times to help out the back four when in possession.

Up front trying to much for the world cup finish, instead of just putting your foot through the ball and digging at goal, taking too many touches, cost you today IMO .

You lack leadership both on and off the park, I know your manager plays, but you need somebody on the sidelines to encourage, and make decisions re substitutions and the likes, and on the park somebody has to take charge also,without getting lip back, when you get in to your league next season the refs wont stand for the shouting and swearing, and the questioning of all there decisions, yellow and reds will be flying about everywhere

Interesting points, but way off the mark there m8.
    I was speakin to the ref thruout as i know him quite well. even when i was tellin him that the foul throw he gave against me spoiled the best throw in iv ever taken in my life(in jest), people were tellin me not to have a go??
    I spoke before the game about this and even when our players were havin a pop at him, i was tryin to keep him on side by havin a wee joke.
    As for my team-mates.........

think he's talkin more about when one of you called the ref a useless C U Next Tuesday

the boy never even blinked as well lol, you can tell he gets that every week.

Quote Originally Posted by Mister P View Post
    think he's talkin more about when one of you called the ref a useless C U Next Tuesday

the boy never even blinked as well lol, you can tell he gets that every week.
    That was me..

I'll hold my hands up for being way over the score with the ref today but I was rough as and to be fair that's the worst referee performance I've ever been subjected to..

We played much better this week and probably shouldve hammered them today but we missed shed loads of chances..

They've progressed well as a team but their best player is a known Hibby!? WTF

Marty Jannetti was excellent, I've no doubt that if he playe'd the full game he'd of scored and we'd of won easily! Hope the knees ok and your back playing for us again soon!

We desperately need more options upfront, young Josh has a guy that's coming along so that's another option!

Great to see plenty if us getting right stuck in today, that's the fight we need! Defence was pretty good too, Geoff had very little to do but what he had to deal with he dealt with it brilliantly!

FAR too slack with their goal, we need to mark tighter, this backing off nonsense will cost us dear next season and the culprits will be dropped!

I agree with the comments about leadership etc this will be spoke about at the AGM next week, all input is greatly appreciated

Frustrating not to win but a step forward from last week and that's what matters

Club 12 (2013) Supporter kevinref's Avatar
    word up guys

the league you are are going into has some of the strictest refs going, some of them will not take a joke
    the average for a game is at least 3 bookings per game
    and thats just the good refs

Quote Originally Posted by kevinref View Post
    word up guys

the league you are are going into has some of the strictest refs going, some of them will not take a joke
    You needed to SEE the ref today to believe it. A strict ref I could handle, but such rank incompetence from a auld duffer that didn't even come close to keeping up with the game is a different matter altogether.

Quote Originally Posted by kevinref View Post
    word up guys

Good advice, but i think ur missin the point on this one m8.
    I was chatting to the ref n havin a wee joke thru-out. no probs. end of.
    Now forget havin a joke wi a ref, some of the shouts out of sheer rage will see u all walk, no doubts, when we join the league next season.

I will say that in all honesty, if anyone is tryin to blame the refs performance on us not winning, then its just another way of finding an excuse for no playin very well.

man up ffs

Player ratings:

I scored the lads last week, anyone got the gahonas to have a bash this time??

Quote Originally Posted by Delboy* View Post
    Player ratings:

I scored the lads last week, anyone got the gahonas to have a bash this time??
    Aye

geoff- 7
    john - 7
    matt - 5
    pete - 6
    josh -6
    jamie - 6
    deek - 6
    fenton - 5
    ritchie - 6
    jannetta - 5 ( would be higher but due to injury)
    danny - 5

sean - 5

I KNOW EVERYONE will disagree

Quote Originally Posted by archie21 View Post
    aye

geoff- 7
    john - 7
    matt - 5
    pete - 6
    josh -6
    jamie - 6
    deek - 6
    fenton - 5
    ritchie - 6
    danny - 5

sean - 5

i know everyone will disagree
    correct

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by Archie21 View Post
    Aye

geoff- 7
    john - 7
    matt - 5
    pete - 6
    josh -6
    jamie - 6
    deek - 6
    fenton - 5
    ritchie - 6
    danny - 5

sean - 5

I KNOW EVERYONE will disagree
    id agree with your rating of me mate.

better than last week but still not my best!

Geoff - 7 - Brilliant as always

John - 6 - Good 1st half, tired in the 2nd and playe them onside 2 often

Matt - 6 - Won a lot in the air, more solid than previous weeks

Pete - 5 - Sat off too much, gave their guy too much time for the goal

Josh - 6.5 - Solid, cleared lines well, got forward plenty

Ritchie - 5 - Seems a yard off the pace, couple of good tackles

Deek - 7 - Battled well, hard in tackle, good distrubution

Me - 6 - Too rough, argued with the ref too much, was going to give myself a 5 but then remembered the 3 or 4 balls I played to Danny that created great chances plus my set piece delivery was excellent, not my fault we don't attack the ball and can't finish!!

Jamie - 6 - Great 1st half, tired in the 2nd, loves a tackle, didn't offer enough width though!

Janetta - 6 - Looked a player from KO, great link up, GUTTED he's injured!

Danny - 5 - Missed too many chances, looked better when Janetti was on

Sean - 4 - Struggled big time up front, much better in MF

Tarqs - 3 - Good option out wide but didn't run at them enough, need you to drive on more

Where are that Celtic team based and do they have a website Mr P?

The Airdrie team in the other league play in our league and will be a genuine threat as they are a not bad team.

Quote Originally Posted by Number_10 View Post

Me - 6 - Too rough, argued with the ref too much, was going to give myself a 5 but then remembered the 3 or 4 balls I played to Danny that created great chances plus my set piece delivery was excellent, not my fault we don't attack the ball and can't finish!!

Jamie - 6 - Great 1st half, tired in the 2nd, loves a tackle, didn't offer enough width though!

Tarqs - 3 - Good option out wide but didn't run at them enough, need you to drive on more
    A tad harsh on yours truly there - it's not that easy - as a right footer - being brought onto the left wing and told to drive past the full back, because I'd always have to cut back, as crosses with my left foot will always be - at best - gash.

I only really fluffed my lines with that shot that ballooned over the bar - apart from that I could (maybe should) have had a penalty right at the end, had a near post header (from an excellent corner I hasten to add ) go just over and put another just over.

Anyway, it was good to get a run out on a decent surface

Quote Originally Posted by Delboy* View Post
    correct
    Why no

I thought everyone had a decent game, the guys who I gave 5s to were only because I expected better from them

Xx

Quote Originally Posted by Archie21 View Post
    Why no

I thought everyone had a decent game, the guys who I gave 5s to were only because I expected better from them

Xx
    Archie, do I not even merit a rating

Starting line-up:
    Geoff Hunter
    John Pryde
    Josh Young
    Matt Verran
    Pete Mein
    Jamie Wyse
    Scott Ritchie
    Steven Fenton
    Derek Grant
    Ross Janetta
    Danny Woods

Substitutes:
    Sean McCrae
    Peter Dickson
    Peter Mordaunt (UNUSED)
    Scott Archibald (UNUSED)

Is this all correct?

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by Nando™ View Post
    Starting line-up:
    Geoff Hunter
    John Pryde
    Josh Young
    Matt Verran
    Pete Mein
    Jamie Wyse
    Scott Ritchie
    Steven Fenton
    Derek Grant
    Ross Janetta
    Danny Woods

Substitutes:
    Sean McCrae
    Peter Dickson
    Peter Mordaunt (UNUSED)
    Scott Archibald (UNUSED)

Is this all correct?
    you forgot muzzy

Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie View Post
    you forgot muzzy
    Aww aye, unused subby?

Quote Originally Posted by Nando™ View Post
    Aww aye, unused subby?
    Yep

This has been a problem of ours corners IMO, we are way to static at set pieces

Bit of movement & I almost had my first goal