Thread: Abe

Abe

What are your thoughts on the Anyone But England T-Shirts http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/s...st/8533791.stm

I reckon there will be plenty of Scots creaming themselves with delight at this but I find it a bit sad.

Quote Originally Posted by Tinyclothes View Post
    What are your thoughts on the Anyone But England T-Shirts http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/s...st/8533791.stm

I reckon there will be plenty of Scots creaming themselves with delight at this .

Same here - and the irony is I bet some of those self same people watch the Premiereship week in and out "creaming themselves" at some of the wonderful football on display.
    "He who hingeth aboot getith hee haw"
    © Jack & Victor

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Racist? Really?? Racist against whom? English people? Aren't they (for the most part) white caucasians too, or has there been a massive shift down south? I find it utterly laughable that it's being suggested that these T-shirts are potentially racist (perhaps xenophobic would be more appropriate) - It's a time-honoured tradition, that in football, you want to see your rivals lose, no?!

I do agree with your second point wholeheartedly though - it is a little sad!

It's annoying me to no end though, as I'll obviously be supporting the USA in the World Cup, but because I have a Scottish accent, everyone automatically assumes it's an ABE sentiment!
    I see nothing in your eyes. And the more I see, the less I like...

I think it's time we moved on.

First Team Regular Leicester Fan's Avatar
    As an Englishman and England supporter I can assure you I couldn't give a ****.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby D View Post
    Same here - and the irony is I bet some of those self same people watch the Premiereship week in and out "creaming themselves" at some of the wonderful football on display.
    Not a great point given that most of the players are foreign.

FWIW, I don't want them to win anything for the constant drivel from the media about how amazing they are.

England have great footballers, I think what makes them so good in the premiership as the english and foreign styles complement each.

Wouldn't wear the t shirt though.

Have you never had anything that takes the piss out of Hearts? It's football rivalry (used loosely).

Gamertag: Cod Flanders
    Quote Originally Posted by Woody1985 View Post

FWIW, I don't want them to win anything for the constant drivel from the media about how amazing they are.

England have great footballers, I think what makes them so good in the premiership as the english and foreign styles complement each.

Have you never had anything that takes the piss out of Hearts? It's football rivalry (used loosely).
    Aye, but nearly the whole England team plays in the league so she has a point.

I think the Premiership is the best league in the world though I wouldnt wear the T shirt but agree with it.

Quote Originally Posted by Woody1985 View Post

There's football rivalry and there's downright hatred - wanting England to get thumped in the WC is more than just rivalry to some and downright hatred to many. I condone rivalry but not hatred; not in the true sense of the word.

Let's face it, if England do win the WC, and the chances of them doing that are not slim, it would be a massive achievement; the likes of which this wee nation of ours can only dream about. And if it were ever to happen, we'd never let anyone forget it and we'd ram it down everyone's throats for a lifetime and more (take 0-7 & 6-2 as an analogy)

I simply think it's time us Scots bit the bullet when it comes to English football and give up on this incessant need to see them gubbed at every available opportunity just because they're from England(shire)
    © Jack & Victor

I could grow up and be mature.

But **** it.

ABE ABE ABE ABE ABE

I don't know if it's worth mentioning but I've been to several EPL, Championship and League One games over the last couple of years and I wonder if that's why my attitude towards all things "Engerlund" isn't so blinkered anymore.

Dunno, just a thought
    © Jack & Victor

Are these tee shirts really driven by football rivalry or is it more akin to jealousy?
    We might see England as our biggest rivals but surely they would consider the likes of Argentina and Germany to be their true rivals. And they would be right.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Are these tee shirts really driven by football rivalry or is it more akin to jealousy?
    We might see England as our biggest rivals but surely they would consider the likes of Argentina and Germany to be their true rivals. And they would be right.

Just like Hearts really. They see us as their main rivals, however we are above that level and now Celtic and Rangers are our rivals.

Hibs.net NFL Fantasy Football Champion 2012 Calvin's Avatar

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    If you want a team to win, by definition you must not want another team to win, that's fine. Rivalry is okay, that's fine. Generally you don't want your rivals to win, so that should be fine as far as I can see!

Testimonial Due AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    i find the t-shirt kinda funny, but it's really just part of our inferiority complex that is probably the reason we bottle it every time we might actually get somewhere.

@hibs.net private member Beefster's Avatar
    My missus is English but I still don't want England to win at any sport. She manages to take it in the spirit it is felt (i.e. part sporting rivalry and part to tease her) and takes great delight in ripping me when Scotland lose. To be fair to her, she gets much more opportunities than I do.

Only a few idiots extend the sporting rivalry to any sort of xenophobic hatred of the English so this has been massively blown out of all proportion.

Is it any different to hoping that the Yams get beat when not playing Hibs?

Hibs.net NFL Fantasy Football Champion 2012 Calvin's Avatar

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    Is it any different to hoping that the Yams get beat when not playing Hibs?
    Not as far as I can see. I'm half English myself but still detest their football team!

If it was causing genuine offence to English people, I would understand, but I think as long as the butt of the joke doesn't feel offence, it's okay.

I was working in a bar in Edinburgh during the World Cup 98 (Kings Bar), before the England V Argentina game I was on the way to work and written in paint on one of the pathways through the links was 'English Go Home' and when I got to work there was a sign outside the bar that read 'No English Allowed', is that just banter?

No, that's not banter but what's the connection to a t-shirt saying 'Anyone But England'?

I'm presuming you took your employer's policy on entry up with them?

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    No, that's not banter but what's the connection to a t-shirt saying 'Anyone But England'?

I'm presuming you took your employer's policy on entry up with them?
    It's not completely linked but when folk are faced with this then they might not see the T-Shirts as being just banter. I don't mind the shirts at all but would be sympathetic if some folk get the hump with them.

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    It's not completely linked but when folk are faced with this then they might not see the T-Shirts as being just banter. I don't mind the shirts at all but would be sympathetic if some folk get the hump with them.
    So did you take it up with your employer and let them know you were disgusted by this?

Some folk need to get out more.

Both the people wearing these t-shirts, and, to a far greater degree the humourless berks that have played the "racism" card for what is just a bit of footballing rivalry banter - juvenile and a bit petty, but hardly "racism" FFS!!

Quote Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post
    So did you take it up with your employer and let them know you were disgusted by this?
    Aye I did, but I was 'OK' to work apparently. Think they didn't want any English in there because of the fervour around the game as the Scots were cacking it that England might actually win the thing. When the Argies won they were dancing on the tables and all sorts.

I can only really speak from my missus' viewpoint. She can tell the difference between 'banter' and xenophobia but any graffiti daubed on a pavement/wall is/would be like water off a duck's back to her. She's got bigger things to worry about than some random illiterate bawbag's musings on UK relations.

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    Aye I did, but I was 'OK' to work apparently. Think they didn't want any English in there because of the fervour around the game as the Scots were cacking it that England might actually win the thing. When the Argies won they were dancing on the tables and all sorts.
    Pretty sad like, however i never want England to win at anything, i will root for whoever is playing against them. I think nowadays its mostly to do with the blanket media coverage of how this is the year and they will win! It just puts you off and you end up rooting for someone else. Its also jealousy, i know i am never likely to see scotland play in a major tournament any time soon never mind win one. Seeing all the english fans over there having a great time makes you jealous, then when you see the hooligans wrecking the place you want them to lose again.

There are many reasons i think not only scottish people want england to lose but not all of them are xenophobic.

Surely we should be wearing "Anyone but Spain"shirts.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Surely we should be wearing "Anyone but Spain"shirts.
    Can you imagine a load of fat Scots walking around with ABS written on their t-shirt?

I did have a pile of ICGAFSSGPO t-shirts made but "I couldnae give a fark since Scotland got put oot" didny trip of the tongue quite so well.

So, ABE it is.

...and aye, it IS banter and the pc brigade can bugger off. It is NOT racist nor is even nasty. Its a piss take. I wonder how many folk on here wouldnt actively want other teams to be beating hearts, celtic and rangers when it won't disadvantage Hibs? Some folk even want Hearts beat when it WILL disadvantage Hibs? I ask thee, where is the difference

So, I just wait with baited breath on the English going oot, on penalties, in the semi-final..............ideally, to the Gerries

YEEHAA.

Football rivalry?

How do we explain the fact that most Scots are happy when England lose at cricket?

There have also been threads on here with people professing their hopes for individual English sportsmen and women to lose.

Xenophobia is a huge part of it, imo.
    Spin it anyway you want, but 5 will never be 6 and it will never be 7.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post

exactly, the english don't give two hoots about scotland's football team, we're just insignificant and irrelevant to them nowadays

I've never really had the chance to be a discriminated against minority before, I'm milking this for all it's worth...

P.s. In all seriousness, you're a little bit mental if you think that 'anti-English racism' in Scotland is anything to be concerned with whatsoever.