Compo for last night

After the result of last night etc......

It got me thinking about when Spurs beat Wigan 9-0.

The Wigan players were so mortified by their performance that they refunded all there fans who went to the game......

So can all the fans, who braved the cold weather last night & paid there hard earned cash on a ticket and getting there on a wednesday expect such a gesture....

I was just wondering folks thoughts
    Last edited by Gus; 18-02-2010 at 09:22 PM.

Well I didnt get a ticket on entry for a start which would likely scupper such an idea

Quote Originally Posted by Gus View Post

It got me thinking about when Spurs beat Wigan 7-1.

The Wigan players were so mortified by their performance that they refunded all there fans who went to the game......

So can all the fans, who braved the cold weather last night & paid there hard earned cash on a ticket and getting there on a wednesday expect such a gesture....

It was actually 9-1.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...em/8365091.stm

A refund?.... fae Rodders?

It was 9-0 to Spurs...there is a tanking and then there is complete and utter humiliation.

Its St J's dosh anyway with it being a league game.

I didnt go but I would expect the poor souls who went up the road last night would like their refund paid in full by the way of 3pts on saturday? That would be the best refund one could hope for.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    It was actually 9-1.

ah, so it was..........

Not Rodders, but the players....a gesture of good will

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    It was actually 9-1.

I stand corrected

Knew it was 9 likes!

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    Why on earth would a supporter want to take money out of the club?

Quote Originally Posted by 500miles View Post
    It was the players that refunded the fans not the club.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    One of the joys of watching Hibs is the sheer unpredictability of what you are going to witness next time you take your seat for a game.

Of course, last night was far from joyous, but we`ll arrive at Fir Park on Saturday with no-one having the remotest idea what we can be watching for the next 90 mins... Could be equally dire, could be scintillating, (probably won`t be dull)

Goes with the territory of supporting Hibs, pay your cash and take your chance...

First Team Breakthrough Harpandcastle's Avatar
    Should the support who went to Parkhead offer to pay double?

If they get a refund for that I want my money back for that 4-1 defeat against Dunfermline under Williamson.

Free Admission next game?

Why not? Other clubs feel embarrassed enough to offer a freebie for letting their supporters down. Got this from the BBC site. I know, never in a month of Wednesday nights will it happen.

Weymouth offer free entry to fans for Braintree game

Weymouth fans are being offered free entry for Tuesday's game against Braintree Town as an apology for their heavy defeat at Basingstoke Town.
    The Terras lost 6-0 with striker Mitchell Bryant breaking the Conference record by scoring all six goals.
    Weymouth chairman George Rolls has issued an apology, calling the performance embarrassing.
    He told the club website: "This is not what we at the football club expect and you as paying fans do not deserve."

Quote Originally Posted by noseyhibby View Post
    Why not? Other clubs feel embarrassed enough to offer a freebie for letting their supporters down. Got this from the BBC site. I know, never in a month of Wednesday nights will it happen.

Weymouth offer free entry to fans for Braintree game

Weymouth fans are being offered free entry for Tuesday's game against Braintree Town as an apology for their heavy defeat at Basingstoke Town.
    The Terras lost 6-0 with striker Mitchell Bryant breaking the Conference record by scoring all six goals.
    Weymouth chairman George Rolls has issued an apology, calling the performance embarrassing.
    He told the club website: "This is not what we at the football club expect and you as paying fans do not deserve."

I would be wanting cash, a pie and some refreshments in exchange for watching Weymouth.

Anyway you're right - not in a season of 5-1 defeats would the tache be letting the turnstiles click at Easter Road without money up front.

Quote Originally Posted by zlatan View Post
    If they get a refund for that I want my money back for that 4-1 defeat against Dunfermline under Williamson.
    Well in that case I want my money back for that 6-0 defeat by Celtic at Hampden about 40 years ago.

Anyone know what 5 bob equates to nowadays?

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    I see your point and kind of agree, however in the current climax(trying to build a new stand, get Stokes/Miller etc signed up) I would far rather the club took in tens of thousands of pounds from our next home game as opposed to me getting my 20 quid bk from the other nite! It was brutal yes, but lets jst draw a line under it and move on. We support HIBS, theres gonna be ups and downs...more downs than ups if were being honest! If some of our egotistical players were to refund the fans then I would be over the moon at that gesture, however any refund would come from Petrie's pocket and to be fair he's provided us with the manager most of us wanted and the likes of Bamba, Miller, Stokes, Deeks, Zouma and Benji from our starting 11 lst nite!! Hardly his fault they played like a bunch of fannies!!!

Too true. Following Hibs is a passion, a bit like a long term relationship or a marriage. You have that sparkling honeymoon period, when we win, Easter Road looks great in the sun, the East are in full voice, and the team play silky football. Everything is exciting. Then you have the comfort stage where you kind of just feel right together, things are going smoothly, and you look around and you can't complain. Then you have your first taste of defeat (being Hibernian, not very long after those previous two stages). It's like your first argument. You have red mist, but you kiss and make up, cos you still love them after all and they try hard. Then after a while, you get itchy feet, start looking at other teams cos they play more sexy stuff and are winning things, you might even stray and watch them on Sky.........but somehow no matter how sexy they are, you still go back to old dependable Hibs......they are always there for you. Then, mid season, a few months into your relationship, you have a hum dinger of a defeat, you hit the bottle, and you want to punch every one of the players in the kisser. Hard !!!! But you control that rage, and what do you know, in Hibs fashion, they surprise you suddenly with an unexpected gift of 3 points the next weekend........like getting your nat king cole when you least expect it...........so you could never divorce them or turn your back on them, because as Joni Mitchell says.......don't it often seem to go that you don't know what you've got til it's gone..........Hibs.......we love them really despite all their flaws and all the tribulations

Would be difficult anyways, they didn't give out reeipts or tickets at the gate the other night.

I'm attempting to get compensation already.....

From Scotrail, train from Perth to Aberdeen was delayed at Montrose for 1h 45m.... Didn't get home until 0250

Re: Compo for last night

Don't think we should get a refund. An apology for such a pathetic display would do.

@hibs.net private member JoeTortolanoFanClub's Avatar
    It would be boring if we won every week

Quote Originally Posted by JoeTortolanoFanClub View Post
    It would be boring if we won every week
    We will never know if that is true or not.

High horse much?

Maybe we should get in for free but pay on the way out? Defeat by 4 goals or more would be free, narrow defeat $10 (sorry, Aussie keyboard), draw $20, narrow victory $40 and a win by more than 4 goals would be $50. Same goes for away fans, but in reverse, obviously.
    So, would you happily have paid 50 and let the Accies fans go for free a couple of weeks ago?

Nae chance of a refund but an apology from the captain or gaffer would've been nice, let a massive travelling support down.

Was there any apologies? Stayed away from the rags yesterday...

Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    I see your point and kind of agree, however in the current climax.....

...Hardly his fault they played like a bunch of fannies!!!

Is that what's called a Freudian Slip?

you need read the op, players not the club

Quote Originally Posted by Gus View Post

It got me thinking about when Spurs beat Wigan 9-0.

I think the poor 1,800 deserve a refund but here's nae chance! I'll settle for 3 points at 'Well as this will let me forget!

@hibs.net private member therealgavmac's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Is that what's called a Freudian Slip?

Bugger! you beat me to it!

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

Unterfan alert

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Well in that case I want my money back for that 6-0 defeat by Celtic at Hampden about 40 years ago.
    You must have left before we scored, iwasonlytherepartof1972.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    You must have left before we scored, iwasonlytherepartof1972.
    Must have been all the fights that day that wiped Alan Gordon's goal from my memory.