View Poll Results: How important is it to have a Hibs-supporting partner?

55. You may not vote on this poll
  • Very - I need someone to understand my obsession.

5 9.09%
  • Moderately - It'd be good but I'm not fussed.

14 25.45%
  • Neutral - Not bothered whether they support Hibs or not.

20 36.36%
  • Not at all - I'd prefer a partner who wasn't interested in football at all.

7 12.73%
  • I'm already with a Hibs-supporting partner.

11 20.00%
Multiple Choice Poll.

Thread: Hibee Partners?

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar

Hibee Partners?

On a loosely related note, how important is it for the .netters that their significant other is a Hibs fan?

I ask because everyone's heard the stories about man and woman meeting on the terracing and getting married etc. and wondered if some people still hope for this.

Multiple choice included for anyone who, er, needs it...
    Last edited by Bayern Bru; 25-11-2009 at 11:54 AM.

My Wife is from a good hibbie stock ...she accepts my love for all things green & white..she shares my passion & is there for the bad times too..she also accepts that im on here 24/7 .....:notworthy:

Where's the married a Jambo so I can F*** them all the time

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Not important in the slightest for me, though I also don't have a woman who isn't into football - granted, in her daily life, I doubt it plays a big part, but she comes from a family of Rangers fans, and is conversely one herself. We have good exchanges about football though, and enjoy good banter back and forth on occassion.

She comes to ER every now and then, and I go to Ibrox on occassion, though only once has it ever been against the other. Sitting on my hands in the home end at Ibrox was difficult, though a woeful Hibs performance made it somewhat easier.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by Leitrim Hibee View Post

I ask because everyone's heard the stories about man and woman meeting on the terracing and getting married etc. and wondered if some people still hope for this.

I was all for re-intrducing terracing to football grounds but that's one danger I hadn't reckoned with!

Keep the seats, sit down and be counted!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs7 View Post
    Good lord.

I shall resist the temptation to input such a vulgar edit.

Quote Originally Posted by Leitrim Hibee View Post
    Good lord.

I shall resist the temptation to input such a vulgar edit.

See it is your mind, the word could be free,

Gamertag: Japhakayk
    There probably SHOULD be an option "I converted my partner to the Church of Hibs".

My partner was a bluenose until I started taking her to games and now she's mad about the Hibs. She's also become a lot more attractive!

It also helps that the first game I took her to was Dnipro at home (great atmosphere, floodlights, full house) and her first season featured Brown, Sproule, Boozy, Murphy, O'Connor et al

If you have married a jambo , i do feel for you and im sure we all sympathise(sp) with you

with regard "f**** them"

i mean thats wrong pure wrong

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    See it is your mind, the word could be free,
    could be feed.... some people are into that!!

"feeeeed a jambo"
    "let them know its christmas time"

I went one further and married someone related to a former player.

My girlfriend likes football but doesn't follow a team her dads a hun and has took her to a couple of games but she doesn't bother about them. She likes to see Hibs win cos then i'm in a good mood. She likes Liverpool cos of Gerard and she liked Man Utd cos of Ronaldo but he's away now. Wouldn't really bother me who she supporrted as long as it wasn't hearts i couldn't stand that.
    Last edited by CorrieHibs; 25-11-2009 at 01:45 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by TheBall'sRound View Post
    There probably SHOULD be an option "I converted my partner to the Church of Hibs".

My partner was a bluenose until I started taking her to games and now she's mad about the Hibs. She's also become a lot more attractive!

It also helps that the first game I took her to was Dnipro at home (great atmosphere, floodlights, full house) and her first season featured Brown, Sproule, Boozy, Murphy, O'Connor et al
    There probably should be. Curses etc.

I'd spent a year in China and my gf there went from having no interest in football to becoming a big fan of the hibees.

And no, I'm not jealous at all that pictures of Ian Murray and John Collins are what swayed it

(Actually it was the difference between the Hibs website and Hearts website - Yams site described as "pink *****")

Probably also to do with the fact that even though I was halfway round the world I still threw a tantrum like a 5 year old when I got news of a defeat to yams haha.

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Liam Miller View Post
    My girlfriend likes football but doesn't follow a team our dads a hun and has took her to a couple of games but she doesn't bother about them. She likes to see Hibs win cos then i'm in a good mood. She likes Liverpool cos of Gerard and she liked Man Utd cos of Ronaldo but he's away now. Wouldn't really bother me who she supporrted as long as it wasn't hearts i couldn't stand that.
    You share a dad, I smell a jambo

my wife is a hibby now, former tic but only in the way that everyone has a team they support without ever going or taking any interest what so ever. i'm happy with that as it means I get to go to the footbal on a saturday with the lads for a piss up. Time apart is very important

Quote Originally Posted by bighairyfaeleith View Post
    You share a dad, I smell a jambo
    My girlfriend likes football but doesn't follow a team her dads a hun and has took her to a couple of games but she doesn't bother about them. She likes to see Hibs win cos then i'm in a good mood. She likes Liverpool cos of Gerard and she liked Man Utd cos of Ronaldo but he's away now. Wouldn't really bother me who she supporrted as long as it wasn't hearts i couldn't stand that.

Sorry thought i would change it just for u.

Gamertag: Nick T Muir
    My wife's not in to football. She comes from rugby stock and goes wild for her egg chasing. She's also english.

I've got it tough.

PS: her old boy (despite being an egg chaser) is from Darlington so I have been dragged to the odd quakers game. And folk say the SPL is a bad standard.

My girlfriend is a Queen of the South Fan, would be great to see them get promoted.

Went with her and family to the SC semi final against Aberdeen and final against Rangers few years back, superb going to Hampden without the worry of Hibs blowing it!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Liam Miller View Post

Sorry thought i would change it just for u.
    Thank you

My wife never followed football but her dad and brother were both Hibees, so she had a sort of sympathetic leaning towards them.
    About 5 years ago she came to her first match to see what me and my boys got all exitable about. Didn't think much of the match, beaten by Inverness, but loved the pre/post match entertainment.
    She's been a season ticket holder for the last 4 years now, and is even starting to understand the game.

Quote Originally Posted by bobbyhibs1983 View Post
    If you have married a jambo , i do feel for you and im sure we all sympathise(sp) with you

with regard "f**** them"

i mean thats wrong pure wrong
    Sense of humour by-pass here I think.

burds have no place in football.

i took the wife to the hibs rangers game last year when they won 3-2. She wondered what happened to set the Rangers fans cheering (they scored).

First Team Breakthrough marti1875's Avatar
    Well my woman's Thai...(and no..i didnae "buy" her,lol)....she loves the Hibs but has absolutely no idea why she has to wear the top and cheer the team from down here, just tell her it's good and she wears it with a big smile on her face no matter what!!!......

Quote Originally Posted by puff the dragon View Post
    burds have no place in football.

i took the wife to the hibs rangers game last year when they won 3-2. She wondered what happened to set the Rangers fans cheering (they scored).
    Aye they do ...they drop ye off at boozer before game then pick ye up from said boozer after the game ..when they decide tae go to the game they go fetch the pies n bovril ..then they run ye to boozer & head home tae make yer tea ..

Wished my wife was like that..

My wife isn't really a fitba fan but likes to see Hibs win. My brother in laws are all jambos which makes it even better for her when we beat them!