Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Totally graceless and classless thing to do

STEALING from the club is not on and if I get my hands on that wee bugger I'll take one of his baws and give it to Mr Petrie as compensation

nearly pished masel laughing ,at the first game in Falkirk's new stadium. the ba' went out the park,on the grangemouth dide and into long grass,wee guy popped up and grabbed it,got clean away wi' a bunch o' well paidsecurity lads chasing him.

I find it humourious how all the daft old codgers are claiming that the club was "scammed" in some way...

Especially seeing how half of you snuck in over the fences to get into games at that age.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    I find it humourious how all the daft old codgers are claiming that the club was "scammed" in some way...

Especially seeing how half of you snuck in over the fences to get into games at that age.
    can you gie me a lift o'er at the next home game mister?

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by I'm_cabbaged View Post
    Didn't expect this to turn into a slagging match.

Can i change the title to the "Boy who ran away with the ball instead of giving it to the Killie keeper in injury time."

Anyways, did he outsprint the sterward that chased him or did he get captured?
    Quote Originally Posted by Bourne Yesterday View Post
    Ask the OP. If it is such a common occurrence why cream himself over the incident and start a thread?

I'm more happy with the concept that the ball goes out of play. Someone chucks it back. Game on.

It sort of ties in with the idea of fair play that we're all supposed to be keen on.

I'm wondering where we draw the line. Is every ball that goes out of play fair game or just the ones that go out when we're winning with minutes to play? Is it still funny if it happens to us when we're one nil down away from home?

Perhaps we should just accept it as a one off and not make too much of it. Surely that applies as much to those that are getting off over the incident as much to those wagging their fingers.
    See the bit in bold, and I was hardly creaming myself over it in my OP. I did think it was amusing watching the bravado of the laddie though and his impetuous decision that the game would be over if he ran away with the ball. What I compared it with was a time when I was younger when the ball went into the old East in injury time and an old boy ran to the top with it and booted it away, still brings a smile to my face.

As for all the whingers, nae wonder the match day experience is getting more sterile year after year, we'll be getting ushered to our seats and looked upon strangely if we start singing soon, wait a minute.........

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    can you gie me a lift o'er at the next home game mister?
    Am no Peter Crouch!

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Am no Peter Crouch!
    Bring back the old turnstyles.

Am no Peter Crouch!

Gamertag: Vanquinho
    Quote Originally Posted by Storar View Post
    Totally graceless and classless thing to do

STEALING from the club is not on and if I get my hands on that wee bugger I'll take one of his baws and give it to Mr Petrie as compensation
    Animal!

Quote Originally Posted by Nando™ View Post
    Animal!
    I saw him do it and was about to push him down the stairs but couldn't be arsed getting nicked

Gamertag: CENNYDD

Question

DO we actually re-use the match balls? I thought they were only used for one game, don't know why I thought that though.

Quote Originally Posted by maiden666 View Post
    DO we actually re-use the match balls? I thought they were only used for one game, don't know why I thought that though.
    No danger do they only get used once.

That would just be sheer pointless and a waste of money.

They get kept in top nick though...

Gamertag: Vanquinho
    I saw him do it and was about to push him down the stairs but couldn't be arsed getting nicked
    I completely believe you brother.

Do the club actually pay for the balls. I always thought they were sponsored.

I thought it was funny as -- but it was funny as because it was wrong. That's the point, isn't it?

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    The wee blighters are always trying to steal the balls in the FF lower
    Its been happening for years.
    That was the first time i've seen someone bolt away with it though
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    The stewards are funny though
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

I was gunna chase the wee barsteward too but i couldn't be bothered putting down my irn bru 32.

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben-Jelloun View Post
    I was gunna chase the wee barsteward too but i couldn't be bothered putting down my irn bru 32.
    I don't believe they sell that in the concourse. So you smuggled that in and are doing Hibs out of money you would have used to purchase a soft drink inside the ground.

Diddling Hibs out of money. Hang your head in shame.

Quote Originally Posted by ArabHibee View Post
    I don't believe they sell that in the concourse. So you smuggled that in and are doing Hibs out of money you would have used to purchase a soft drink inside the ground.

Diddling Hibs out of money. Hang your head in shame.

Ben-Jelloun is such a dick

Wii Code: 666
    Ben-Jelloun is such a dick
    Personally, I think he's graceless and classless.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    nearly pished masel laughing ,at the first game in Falkirk's new stadium. the ba' went out the park,on the grangemouth dide and into long grass,wee guy popped up and grabbed it,got clean away wi' a bunch o' well paidsecurity lads chasing him.
    Remember that.

I think you all deserve a tennis ball in the mush to be honest.

My interest in this thread has proportionally waned circa post 5, ergo I am no longer going to read it... Cor !

Quote Originally Posted by Chuckie View Post
    My interest in this thread has proportionally waned circa post 5, ergo I am no longer going to read it... Cor !

Quote Originally Posted by Chuckie View Post

Club 12 (2013) Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by lEXO View Post
    Well dont do it then.You can obviously afford it, but not being able to afford the full price for a ST, but paying what you can into the club,might be dishonest to you(and maybe others).I on the other hand have stated my thoughts that i would rather see a fuller ER with Hibby,s than not.The wee guy today was an opportunist,the ST thing is hopefully a necessity.
    I was unemployed for a bit and could,nt afford my ST, and if i could have done this i would have.
    There's always similar arguments on Kickback when non-students use student STs to get in cheaper, arguing that they'd rather see a fuller Tynecastle and they couldn't afford to get in otherwise. It's an argument I have sympathies for, but what would peoples' reactions be if the club announced a scheme where they would launch an ST for people that couldn't afford the full whack, but that they would somehow means test it?

I realise administration would be a challenge (you could ask people applying for the ST to provide a detailed budget, but you'd struggle to find those who'd lied, and would the staff in the shop be able to read the budget anyway?), but IMO while some people genuinely can't afford a full price ST and could do with all the breaks they can get, others spot the oppportunity to get something on the cheap just because they can then claim financial hardship when people ask why.

All of us would like to get things cheaper if we can, but some will go to the point of lying at cost to their club to acheive it- if the clubs can catch these people (and I hope they do) I hope nobody has any sympathy for them if they get a lengthy ban. Fuller Tynecastles/Easter Roads can only be a good thing though, and if offering a discount to those who need it helps this I'm all for it.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by EH14 View Post
    There's always similar arguments on Kickback when non-students use student STs to get in cheaper, arguing that they'd rather see a fuller Tynecastle and they couldn't afford to get in otherwise.
    Shirley the boy Lawson must have come up with a concise proposal to solve this problem by now?

Club 12 (2013) Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Shirley the boy Lawson must have come up with a concise proposal to solve this problem by now?
    I think the first volume is due to be published March 2011.

Quote Originally Posted by EH14 View Post
    There's always similar arguments on Kickback when non-students use student STs to get in cheaper, arguing that they'd rather see a fuller Tynecastle and they couldn't afford to get in otherwise. It's an argument I have sympathies for, but what would peoples' reactions be if the club announced a scheme where they would launch an ST for people that couldn't afford the full whack, but that they would somehow means test it?

I realise administration would be a challenge (you could ask people applying for the ST to provide a detailed budget, but you'd struggle to find those who'd lied, and would the staff in the shop be able to read the budget anyway?), but IMO while some people genuinely can't afford a full price ST and could do with all the breaks they can get, others spot the oppportunity to get something on the cheap just because they can then claim financial hardship when people ask why.

All of us would like to get things cheaper if we can, but some will go to the point of lying at cost to their club to acheive it- if the clubs can catch these people (and I hope they do) I hope nobody has any sympathy for them if they get a lengthy ban. Fuller Tynecastles/Easter Roads can only be a good thing though, and if offering a discount to those who need it helps this I'm all for it.
    I used to work doing students grants when there was a maintenance allowance and it was means tested.

In my experience the folk who would get discounted tickets would be the farmers, lawyers etc. who drive about in huge cars, live in huge houses and had good accountants. But apparently no income.
    Space to let