Hibs Club Open Day

Many folks firing along???

There will be the added bonus of watching Ra Tic beating the Yams!

Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Many folks firing along???

Any details? First I've heard about it.

First Team Breakthrough invisible man's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Any details? First I've heard about it.
    Hibs Supporters Club Members Day Sunday 20th September from 12.30pm.

Face Painting and Bouncy Castle for the kids from 12.30pm

Darts, Doms, Pool and Crib Fliers from 1.30pm

Sports Quiz @ 6.00pm, Karaoke @ 7.00pm, Bingo @ 8.30pm and finished of with The Legends of Las Vegas show at 9.00 pm.

Free entry for members all day but a £2 charge for visitors for the show in the evening.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    I'm not too into social clubs, what's this one like? Is it the sort of place where they have a rule for everything, enforced by over officious nobody's on the committee. The type that have never had any power at all in their life and now find themselves in a position of authority?

If you win the Bingo, are you allowed to shout "house" like you are absolutely delighted, or are you expected to snivel "right" in a voice that sounds like you have stood on some dog pooh?

What's the entertainment like? Do you get genuine live bands, or some fat turd from West Lothian or Lanarkshire, singing along to tapes of songs like "Penny Arcade"?

Finally, if you are a stranger, does the place fall silent, as everyone stares at you when you walk in, or do people just get on with enjoying their night out and continue in happy conversation?

Sorry to ask these questions, it's just that I've had a few bad experiences at other clubs. Needless to say I'll never sit in a regular's seat again.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    I'm not too into social clubs, what's this one like? Is it the sort of place where they have a rule for everything, enforced by over officious nobody's on the committee. The type that have never had any power at all in their life and now find themselves in a position of authority?

If you win the Bingo, are you allowed to shout "house" like you are absolutely delighted, or are you expected to snivel "right" in a voice that sounds like you have stood on some dog pooh?

What's the entertainment like? Do you get genuine live bands, or some fat turd from West Lothian or Lanarkshire, singing along to tapes of songs like "Penny Arcade"?

Finally, if you are a stranger, does the place fall silent, as everyone stares at you when you walk in, or do people just get on with enjoying their night out and continue in happy conversation?

Sorry to ask these questions, it's just that I've had a few bad experiences at other clubs. Needless to say I'll never sit in a regular's seat again.
    Yes to all your negative questions

Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    Yes to all your negative questions
    Sounds like my kind of place. One last question, does it have a wee room at the back where private members can be entertained by swarthy, buxom hostesses for five dollah?

I'm afraid not - there is a pool table in that wee room at the back though

That doesn't explain that group of Ladyboys I saw leaving Sunnyside at 1:30 the other morning then. Perhaps they like Bingo and pool?

Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Why would that be a bonus? Cannae stand either of them!

used to go to `the hibs club` evry friday + saturday days/nights
    they had a great band on then called fags n matches
    anyhoo the worst thing then was the smoking in the BIG hall, being a non smoker my eyes were usually streaming,,,,,my clothes stank fer days!!!!
    but it was a braw club
    auld maud selling you tickets you didnt want, as fer the food stand,mmmmm
    yon karen was some cook
    my missus was really glad when i stated to move doon to musselburgh 20 years ago[ methinks had i stayed in leith, i would not be married noo]
    havent been to `sunnyside` fer yonks but it used to be great
    so all those going on sunday,,,,,,,,,,,ENJOY YERSELF,,[especially if your off on the monday, lucky bassas
    im not
    hb

That doesn't explain that group of Ladyboys I saw leaving Sunnyside at 1:30 the other morning then. Perhaps they like Bingo and pool?
    Those are just the ladies I'm afraid

So not that different from other social clubs after all.

I heard that if Frank Dougan is on the door not many people get in?

Quote Originally Posted by 49years a Hibee View Post
    Aye it's a bit of a squeeze to get past him right enough

???? Another pointless pop at Frank........

Thumbs Up

there will be a lot going on at the club on sunday. you only make the day as you want it to be. come along and experince it for youself. I am sure there will be something for everyone. remember - cheap drink

Manchester derby will be on as well i think.....
    Last edited by grievsie; 17-09-2009 at 12:46 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbeebri View Post
    used to go to `the hibs club` evry friday + saturday days/nights
    they had a great band on then called fags n matches
    anyhoo the worst thing then was the smoking in the BIG hall, being a non smoker my eyes were usually streaming,,,,,my clothes stank fer days!!!!
    but it was a braw club
    auld maud selling you tickets you didnt want, as fer the food stand,mmmmm
    yon karen was some cook
    my missus was really glad when i stated to move doon to musselburgh 20 years ago[ methinks had i stayed in leith, i would not be married noo]
    havent been to `sunnyside` fer yonks but it used to be great
    so all those going on sunday,,,,,,,,,,,ENJOY YERSELF,,[especially if your off on the monday, lucky bassas
    im not
    hb
    is the singer with fags n matches still singing - he was at least 62 back then

Not at all, it's a very friendly and welcoming club to members and visitors alike

Of course you can shout "house", just watch out for the regular players who will take you outside and empty your pockets of more than the £2 you've just won.

Saturday's alternate between Live Bands and Disco's. We splash the cash on the first Saturday of every month for a bit more quality see http://www.hibsclub.co.uk for more details

No one falls silent or stares at you, they just continue slaughtering Hearts, or Hibs for that matter, and since Steve-O no longer works their you're sure of a warm welcome from the bar staff

Get yourself along and enjoy a pint among fellow Hibees.

Quote Originally Posted by invisible man View Post
    Get yourself along and enjoy a pint among fellow Hibees.
    Will the Manchester derby and Chelsea/Spurs games be shown? If so, I'm sold!

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Will the Manchester derby and Chelsea/Spurs games be shown? If so, I'm sold!
    Yip

Quote Originally Posted by Delabooze View Post
    ???? Another pointless pop at Frank........

Aye right - here's my previous pop!
    http://www.hibs.net/message/showpost...&postcount=145

Kent Frankie since the early seventies - he and I can laugh at oorsels

Should gie it a go

hibs club

as long as committee get there freebies

Quote Originally Posted by invisible man View Post
    ...since Steve-O no longer works their you're sure of a warm welcome from the bar staff.[/COLOR]

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    I remember playing football on the dance floor with a tied up scarf about 30 years ago !!!!
    Good Grief !! 30 years ago
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

I do believe bar staff are people to ?????

Quote Originally Posted by archiebald View Post
    I do believe bar staff are people to ?????
    Would you like some oil to help you grind that axe?

Nah might let it slip

Quote Originally Posted by archiebald View Post
    Nah might let it slip

Gamertag: DuNdEeHiBeE
    Speaking of the hibs club is old maud still on the go there i ask as i was a member of the hawkhill branch of the club when i used to come through with the aberdeen lads, was just wondering if she was still going strong.

If I go, I'll definately get in. I remember Frank as a schoolboy ,was it Heriot's or Edinburgh Academmy? I remember him having the blue blazer like mine of Leith Academy.

I bumped into him 5 years ago after 34 years no seen( I wasnay at any games as I brought up my kids) and we recognised each other immediatelly.He is a true Hibbee . He knows me a Jakki