We need a Billionaire !

If we had one we'd be the biggest club in Scotland! I ken am only stating the obvious, but surely we can con some oil rich arab inte investing in the club!!

@hibs.net private member da-robster's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Lewis77 View Post
    If we had one we'd be the biggest club in Scotland! I ken am only stating the obvious, but surely we can con some oil rich arab inte investing in the club!!
    Just like Hearts
    In any film with Italian American characters, one of them must be called Vinny -Roger Ebert

Why would they? There is nothing glamorous or profitable about Scottish fitba. Unless a prospective buyer had an existing connection to the club I'd assume his intentions aren't honourable.

Yep, if only we had someone like the PBS submariner.

He could loan us lots of money that we'd never have to pay back, cos' we'd owe it to ourselves anyway. Then he could make a £51 million main stand out of carboard boxes and planning applications. We could use it for lots of non-football activities, like Russian "Simply come Dancing".

Oh and the things we could get up to in the toilets.....

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Yep, if only we had someone like the PBS submariner.

He could loan us lots of money that we'd never have to pay back, cos' we'd owe it to ourselves anyway. Then he could make a £51 million main stand out of carboard boxes and planning applications. We could use it for lots of non-football activities, like Russian "Simply come Dancing".

Oh and the things we could get up to in the toilets.....
    At least it got them the Scottish Cup

We don't even need a billionaire. A multi-millionaire would be sufficient.
    Getting the stand finished and 4 or 5 accomplished players,around 30 or 40 million and I reckon we could win the league and get into the Champions league. Scrape through to the qualifying rounds(if Rangers can do it) worth around 10 or 20 million the investor would get half his money back in his first year

I can't believe ANY of you are taking this post seriously.

Have you ALL lost your sense of smell?

anyone know the number for the sultan of brunei? we could send him some hibs chocolates and tacky mugs if that doesnt do it then i dont know what will

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    anyone know the number for the sultan of brunei? we could send him some hibs chocolates and tacky mugs if that doesnt do it then i dont know what will
    The green popcorn from a few years back. Yes, the actual popcorn.

Can I keep him as a new pet, please, please please. He sounds so intelligent and cant possibly be a yam
    Last edited by hibbybri; 04-09-2009 at 07:59 PM.

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

Excellent first post.

Welcome to hibs.net.

However, you're setting your standards, way too low. If we had a gazzillionaire, we'd be the biggest club in the world.

Only Hearts would be able to even think about trying to challenge us.
    Spin it anyway you want, but 5 will never be 6 and it will never be 7.

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    this time next year hibs will be more than fit for purpose and will most certainly be an attractive thought for any investor who wants to realise a dream!

A billionaire in Dundee? That's as likely as Hearts putting a team out next season.

@hibs.net private member Big Frank's Avatar

Pull yer kecks up Lewis.

Hertz are gash.

And poor.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbybri View Post
    Can I keep him as a new pet, please, please please. He sounds so intelligent and cant possibly be a yam
    You always say that, and who ends up having to look after it?

Quote Originally Posted by shamo9 View Post
    At least it got them the Scottish Cup
    And a huge debt which will be almost impossible to pay back but a cup is much much much more important.
    In any film with Italian American characters, one of them must be called Vinny -Roger Ebert

Quote Originally Posted by da-robster View Post
    And a huge debt which will be almost impossible to pay back but a cup is much much much more important.
    I keep telling myself that, but it gets harder every year.

Quote Originally Posted by MrSmith View Post
    this time next year hibs will be more than fit for purpose and will most certainly be an attractive thought for any investor who wants to realise a dream!
    Expect to see this post resurrected this time next year. Could be a hardy annual infact.
    Free beer tomorrow!

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    You always say that, and who ends up having to look after it?
    They don't take much looking after. Chain them to the shed and throw them a dead rat every now and again, and they'll be fine. They actually like sleeping in their own waste.

Quote Originally Posted by VegasHibby View Post
    We don't even need a billionaire. A multi-millionaire would be sufficient.Getting the stand finished and 4 or 5 accomplished players,around 30 or 40 million and I reckon we could win the league and get into the Champions league. Scrape through to the qualifying rounds(if Rangers can do it) worth around 10 or 20 million the investor would get half his money back in his first year
    I thought we had one of those?

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    They don't take much looking after. Chain them to the shed and throw them a dead rat every now and again, and they'll be fine. They actually like sleeping in their own waste.
    Well.....OK then, but only if he buys it a wee coat, and a nice wee bowl with a picture of Vlad's arse on it, so it can lick it whenever it wants. You can't be too cruel, you know, there's laws.

I assure that it is much much much more than simply 'a cup' to Hibs fans.

I dare say that Hearts will manage to 'deal' with the debt in the span of, say, a 107 years?

Thumbs Up

Quote Originally Posted by shamo9 View Post
    I assure that it is much much much more than simply 'a cup' to Hibs fans.

I dare say that Hearts will manage to 'deal' with the debt in the span of, say, a 107 years?
    But not to Hearts fan which is who we are talking about.It is clear that romanov was a huge failure it should be funny to see how long it will take them to admit it.

Don't we already have a multi millionaire owner?

Why would anyone with that sort of cash want to invest in a club in scotland?

But not to Hearts fan which is who we are talking about.It is clear that romanov was a huge failure it should be funny to see how long it will take them to admit it.
    Considering the guy is most likely a Yam, the original question is basically stating subtlety: 'you'd still be happy to be in our situation right now'.

Sure, we'd be a laughing stock. Sure, we'd have a huge debt.

But we'd have the Scottish Cup and several 'demolition derbies' to console ourselves with. I'm sure after so long a lot of Hibs fans would be severely tempted by that.

I admit that Hearts more often than not finishing above us in the league despite their debt frustrates me at times.

Quote Originally Posted by blueisthecolour View Post
    This is probably a question that Sir David Moonbeam asks himself a lot.

@hibs.net private member happyhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by blueisthecolour View Post
    Why not ?..buy the league just like you lot done a few years back, play in the champs league, gain some european cred ....doesnae last forever though eh, when they get bored wi their toys they move onto bigger & better things ..

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Why not ?..buy the league just like you lot done a few years back, play in the champs league, gain some european cred ....doesnae last forever though eh, when they get bored wi their toys they move onto bigger & better things ..
    Or just buy a club in the EPL where the movey is, instead of wasting time and money in Scotland.