First Ever Hibs European Game

Continuing the theme from another thread....

Mine was Norkopping (sp). 3-2 I think. Too wee to be taken to any of the big euro nights in the early 70's...unfortunately!

Hibernian 2 SV Hamburg 1

Out on away goal.

Leeds in 1973 we lost 5-4 on pens

Hibs 3 - 2 AEK

Paco Luna

Strasbourg, think we won 1-0.

73/74 against Leeds nil nil on aggreagate after return leg at ER and we lost on penalties

1961, Hibs 3-2 Barcelona...............arguably the most exciting Hibby match ever in Europe.

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Liverpool, Fairs Cup, think we lost 2-0 I was very wee...
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    Sochaux 1-0. 1976. Don't remember much about it except Sochaux were in yellow.

7th November 1973 v Leeds Utd
    It was my first Hibs game as well.
    God im Auld

Hibs vs AEK 3-2

Anderlecht at ER 1992 2-2.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    2-2 v Aderlecht, 3-3 on agg, out on away goals. '92 i think.
    Anyone remember MacBean Protective Clothing!!!

Gamertag: Hanny0762
    Quote Originally Posted by AllyF View Post
    Hibs 3 - 2 AEK

Paco Luna
    Quote Originally Posted by Mainboy View Post
    Hibs vs AEK 3-2
    Snap

How did Paco miss that header!?!

Best atmosphere I've ever experienced at Easter Road, by some distance.

Quote Originally Posted by surreyhibbie View Post
    Liverpool, Fairs Cup, think we lost 2-0 I was very wee...
    If it was 1970 we lost 1-0 at home & 2-0 away.

Joe McBride got a hat-trick in his second game [home début] for us in my first Euro game.

He got both the Hibs goals in his next Euro home home, which was also "the Prof" first Euro match.

Come to think of it, if I remember correctly, the next Euro match we played at home after the Hamburg match, he also got another hat-trick.
    Last edited by Ray_; 02-09-2009 at 08:51 PM.

@hibs.net private member hibee_nation's Avatar
    My first one was a friendly against Gornik Zagreb or something like that, think we lost 2-1. First competitive tie was the Liverpool game we lost 1-0 at ER John Toshak scored for them i think.

Never mind first game !!! My first 3 European games were Hibs 6 Sporting Lisbon 1 , Hibs 7 FC Besa 0 , and Hibs 9 Rosenborg Trondheim 1. Christ was I spoiled !!!!!!

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    September 2005 v Dnipro (0-0) @ ER. Not been to any away games.

It was a friendly but does the Real Madrid game count

2-0 to the Hi-bees

Think Peter Cormack got one, canny mind the other, canny be bothered lookin it up cos I know some auld Hibby fogies like masel will tell me

Best games that stick out for me was, obviously the Napoli game
    and the trouncin of Sporting Lisbon, beating Liverpool, think Joe Harper got the winner that was another great night out, Leeds games were great but we never quite done them but came close, was at Elland road at the 0-0 game Higgins ya numpty, missed a great chance wi a header inside the six yard box, great night all the same

Other games against Hadjuk Split and Hamburg were great nights too

Ah, them were the days

Leige 0-1 away, Goram beaten in extra time.

Hibs v Porto at Easter Road.

I wish I had kept a diary because I can't remember half the games I attended.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    1961, Hibs 3-2 Barcelona...............arguably the most exciting Hibby match ever in Europe.

Should have been at that one, but I had my 11-plus exam coming up very close, and my mother refused to let my father take me.

First competitive one was the Fairs' Cup tie against FC Porto in 1967. We won 3-0. Peter Cormack scored twice, and the other was scored by Eric Stevenson.

I have the feeling that that was Alex Scott's home debut after his transfer from Everton - it was the first time I'd seen him in the team, anyway, and I remember being mightily impressed by the beautiful delicate way he could cross the ball into the box - every cross and every corner 'laden with menace', as the old Scotsman reporter put it. A series of curling, dipping, beautifully flighted balls in to the strikers. Those were the days!

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I was technically there. Only game my Mum ever attended - 2 months before I was born ! My Dad still ribs me about that one !!!

The odd friendly in the 1950s-I remember Spartak Prague and Vasco de Gama from South America then 1961 Hibs 3 Barcelona 2 .Wow

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    Napoli - 5-0 at ER with Zoff in goals for them. Have to admit I dont remember too much of the game but my dad has mentioned it a few times since 1967

Mine was Hadjuk Split 4 - 2, I think we lost 3 - 0 in the second leg. My next was Keflavik an Icelandic team and my third was the 0-0 Leeds Utd game. I missed the pens as we had to catch the last bus to Penicuik on a Wednesday night which was about 10:10 if I remember right. The crowd was huge and it too us ages to fight our way up to the top of the old east terrace. Does anyone know the official attendance for that game. My biggest crowd at ER by a long way.

Gamertag: HFC Owain
    Hibs 0 - Dnipro only prober European game I have been to.

If the Inter-Toto counts then Hibs 1 Fk Vetra 1

If not then Hibs 0 Dnipro 0

Mine also Hadjuk Split 4 -2 remember watching most of the game on my dad's shoulders (oh the days), can confirm we did lose 0 - 3 second league.

Quote Originally Posted by FraserHFC View Post
    If the Inter-Toto counts then Hibs 1 Fk Vetra 1

If not then Hibs 0 Dnipro 0
    Please don't go to anymore European games - You're already a jinx.

How that Vetra game managed to get played is beyond me. Remember Garry O' sliding though the rain sodden pitch at the FF end. It was monsoon time I tell ya.

To think that an England cricket game got cancelled the other night because someone spilt a glass of water on the pitch.