Quote Originally Posted by Archie21 View Post
    Sun reporting nish is a £200k target for scunthorpr
    Big Rob been bigging him up doon there aye

Bite their hand oaf

Double our money on him

If Nish goes I think it will become evident what he brought to the team in his absence. Not everyone's cup of tea but his assist and goal record at Hibs is pretty decent.

Quote Originally Posted by col02 View Post
    If Nish goes I think it will become evident what he brought to the team in his absence. Not everyone's cup of tea but his assist and goal record at Hibs is pretty decent.
    I agree. The man is an embarrassing mess and not easy on the eye, but the paradox is that he's one of the most effective players in the Scottish game.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    I agree. The man is an embarrassing mess and not easy on the eye, but the paradox is that he's one of the most effective players in the Scottish game.
    And all thats wrong in the game in scotland. Get rid asap, and build a side that can play without this lumbering statue.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Rearrange the following words into a well known phrase or saying:

off their hands bite

Quote Originally Posted by Archie21 View Post
    Sun reporting nish is a £200k target for scunthorpr
    Bye Bye Nishy.....thanks for................bein g Hibs answer to Nade?

Riordan
    Stokes
    Benji
    JJ
    Byrne

Dont see the need for the big man

And all thats wrong in the game in scotland. Get rid asap, and build a side that can play without this lumbering statue.
    Aye now lets blame Nish for the state of Scottish fitba as well.

Quote Originally Posted by col02 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Even if you play the prettiest football around, there are times when you need a big huddy to mix(u) it up front.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenPJ View Post
    Aye now lets blame Nish for the state of Scottish fitba as well.
    Yes, why not. Its also his fault england won the ashes too.

No. That was Maka's fault.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor® View Post
    Even if you play the prettiest football around, there are times when you need a big huddy to mix(u) it up front.
    I agree, although that huddy has to be able to stay upright most of the time, he also needs to know the rules regarding the off side rule. If we could sign a big huddy who knew how to do these 2 basic things, then i'd for one be in favour of us getting him.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Its also his fault england won the ashes too.
    Did they? I hadn't seen or heard that mentioned anywhere.

I agree, although that huddy has to be able to stay upright most of the time, he also needs to know the rules regarding the off side rule. If we could sign a big huddy who knew how to do these 2 basic things, then i'd for one be in favour of us getting him.
    Until such time, one can only urinate with the p enis one has.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Did they? I hadn't seen or heard that mentioned anywhere.
    Aye, they are keeping it a secret down here too.

Colin did well the last two games. Unfortunately to date he lacked a strike partner who was fast enough to make the runs into the channels.

In the Gary O'Connor days that man was Deek. These days whilst Riordan is far and away our best striker in dead ball situations he has lost much of his pace. One feeble attempt to go round his man on the left wing confirmed that on Saturday to the away support. However his 2 fantastic goals on Saturday secured his place in the team, probably on the left wing.

Stokes on the other hand is the ideal striker to play off a target man. I think that Nish and Stokes will be an ideal partnership in the season ahead.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    I don't actually mind Nish and I think he is a decent player but for every goal he scores he squanders 2 opportunities and his inability to stay onside causes so many attacking moves to break down that its just not funny.

He gives us an option up-front but if I'm being honest its an option I think we could live without, wouldn't be too fussed if this went through and good luck to him if he wants to try his luck in the championship

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dublinhfc View Post
    Riordan
    Stokes
    Benji
    JJ
    Byrne

You've taken that too far! I wouldn't compare Lee Power to Nade!

I think we now have plenty forwards at the club and Nish will eventually find himself 4th choice so, take the cash if it's being offered. However, I will temper that by saying, of the forwards you listed, one is totally untried at 1st team level or even the reserves, one was shocking last season and never scored a single goal in half a season with us and one was public enemy number 1 until a week ago.

Whatever you think of the big man, he's one of us. If he is to leave I hope he is a success, if stays I'll be quite happy because he will contribute again this season.
    Last edited by Frazerbob; 24-08-2009 at 09:25 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by frazerbob View Post

However let's not forget, whatever you think of the big man, he's one of us. If he is to leave I hope he is a success, if stays I'll be quite happy because he will contribute again this season.

First Team Breakthrough If Only's Avatar

Riordan
    Stokes
    Benji
    JJ
    Byrne

What exactly do you mean by this post?

Riordan
    Stokes
    Benji
    JJ
    Byrne

Don't see the need for your post either. Ok, he's not the easiest on the eye but he does what it says on the tin. As many people will acknowlege, he's scored goals, held the ball up and had a fair share of assists. I've already said on another post that, playing in the front line we have now, highlights any shortcomings he has, but he's an honest player that gets his head down and doesn't go in the huff when things aren't going for him.

Hibs answer to Nade my hoop, Hearts would bite our hands off if we offered him to them for probably any of their front line.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12

PSN ID: aberhibsfc
    Sell him,

I appreciate he's a Hibby and he's a staturesque player up front. At best he's a 10 a season player. I'd rather persevere with Riordan, Stokes, Benji, JJ & Byrne.

Hughes must rate him though as he's played the first two games with Riordan being subbed. The best way to see how much we'd miss him is to see Hibs play without him, if the attack is worse for it then fair enough. Personally I just don't think he offers that much to the team. It really makes you hanker back to the times of a strong striker who can also bag goals, Keith Wright and more recently Killen. It's fine to have big strikers but they have to score goals or at least offer a threat and create opportunities for others.

Nish is a huddy but our strikeforce would be very lightweight without him.

For a so-called targetman, he's not the best at holding the ball up and tends to fall over an awful lot but he does put in a good shift up front, unlike the majority of our other more luxury-type forwards. He's also useful for defending set-pieces, particularly in the absence of Jones.

He scores a few goals and on Saturday won us the free-kick for our third goal. I felt that his link-up play with Stokes also improved as the game went on.

If Hughes and Petrie are happy with him leaving then fine, but I don't think he's necessarily a player we should be shoving out the door. Huddy or not, we don't have an abundance of hard-working 6ft 3in forwards.

Not for the first time, I think its a case of our favourites not quite being as effective as we think and our huddies not quite being as bad as we sometimes say either.

I say keep him.

We all know he isn't the greatest and a bit of a lump but he does score and he does get assists, which is more than I can say for JJ

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by aberhibsfc View Post
    Sell him,

I appreciate he's a Hibby and he's a staturesque player up front. At best he's a 10 a season player. I'd rather persevere with Riordan, Stokes, Benji, JJ & Byrne.

Hughes must rate him though as he's played the first two games with Riordan being subbed. The best way to see how much we'd miss him is to see Hibs play without him, if the attack is worse for it then fair enough. Personally I just don't think he offers that much to the team. It really makes you hanker back to the times of a strong striker who can also bag goals, Keith Wright and more recently Killen. It's fine to have big strikers but they have to score goals or at least offer a threat and create opportunities for others.

For all we know Benji and JJ could be away sooner rather than later, that would leave us with Riordan, Stokes and an untried laddie. Heaven help us should we get a suspension or injury.

Nish is unpredictable and probably isn't good enough for where we are hoping to be but the one thing in his favour over any of our forwards is he helps defend set pieces. With the lack of height in our team this seems to be a point all the Nish bashers have overlooked.

Got the full 90 minutes reply of the game on TV here in Italy and was like all happy with the result but not with the rest. A lot of high balls into the box and thats because its an easy option if you aim them at Nish. Whether he is able to control the ball is another story. This said he works hard and I agree he will get his 10 goals in the season. As regards Byrne, I have not seen him so don't know if he is similar or better. In Yogi we trust, at least for now !

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    Rearrange the following words into a well known phrase or saying:

off their hands bite
    Not my kind of player .. not enough basic attributes.

Imagine another rumour like this appearing in the rags this week, who do we play this weekend again??

Quote Originally Posted by 49years a Hibee View Post
    Colin did well the last two games. Unfortunately to date he lacked a strike partner who was fast enough to make the runs into the channels.

In the Gary O'Connor days that man was Deek. These days whilst Riordan is far and away our best striker in dead ball situations he has lost much of his pace. One feeble attempt to go round his man on the left wing confirmed that on Saturday to the away support. However his 2 fantastic goals on Saturday secured his place in the team, probably on the left wing.

Stokes on the other hand is the ideal striker to play off a target man. I think that Nish and Stokes will be an ideal partnership in the season ahead.
    Yep, I'm not a big Nish fan but the difference with ( a half match fit ) Stokes running the channels off him was apparent on Saturday. I posted previously that biggest difference with Deeks now was his loss of that vital yard of pace & that hopefully he'll compensate elsewhere & he certainly did that at weekend.