Gamertag: sjmcg1304

Hibs.Net Longest Day of Golf

Hey all,

As some of you will be aware, a few of us are taking part in The Longest Day of Golf, to help raise funds for MacMillan Nurses. We're playing 4 rounds of golf in one day (23rd July) with the following itinerary:

Bathgate Golf Course - 6.00am
    Uphall Golf Course - 10.00am
    Harburn Golf Course - 14.00pm
    Dalmahoy Golf Course - 18.00pm

Our lineup features a member on here (whom many of you will know), who goes by the username Houchy. He, like the rest of us, is an ardent Hibs fan, but with a twist. At only 31, he has battled cancer and overcome it 8 times. His story is inspirational and one of the reasons the rest of us are getting behind him and taking part in this fantastic event. He put the feelers out to try and get some supportive publicity for our event, and the response in the last couple of days has been phenomenal!

Edinburgh Evening News

Daily Record

2nd Top Read Story on The Sun's Website!

West Lothian Courier

Safe to say, this is going to be an important event, and one I hope the members of hibs.net (whether taking part, or by helping in some way) can be proud of! We're trying to get Hibs involved as well in some way, so hopefully Hibs fans everywhere can feel some sense of pride in what we hope to achieve.

Our goal is to raise £10,000 for MacMillan Cancer Support - not an easy task, but one well worth striving for!

I completed this event last year, and managed to raise £1500 between 4 of us and I'm delighted to be doing it again this year!

I've set up a Justgiving page which aims to collect as many donations as we can possibly achieve in the months which will lead up to the event date. I've popped the link at the bottom of the email and most team participants will have the link at the bottom of their profiles (Houchy, Greenlex, Hi8sry, sg7nil, Godsahibby, HibbyScott, Cocopops1875 and myself).

I'm aware how tight everyone is watching their finances this year, but we would appreciate whatever you can give, no matter how big or small. To shamelessly steal Tesco's slogan "Every little helps".

Thanks in advance, and I'm sure we'll keep this thread updated with any major news relating to the date.

Thanks again. Glory Glory!

Donation Page

p.s. - any chance an admin can make this a sticky please?? Cheers!
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member Benny Brazil's Avatar
    Donation duly done - and well deserved.

Thank you very kindly BB!

Again, can this be made a stick please?

Muchos gracias from all of us!

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    As Scott says the thread in the Other Sports forum is well worth a read.

Good luck to the guys.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Donation made - well done guys

Good luck guys ...

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Easy peasy...done it twice this year already in my bare feet
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    Easy peasy...done it twice this year already in my bare feet
    Infront of the Wii or Playstation does not count

Thanks for all the donations made thus far guys - we've managed to make £175 online in a week since setting the site up.

We've yet to start passing round donation forms (as I think we're still waiting on them coming in?) family and friends, so you're all giving us a good start.

To all taking part:

We're being granted 4 rounds of golf for free, which would otherwise be fairly costly - maybe worth considering making a wee donation ourselves in what we're saving in green fees?

Same rules apply as anyone else donating though - just what you can afford.

I'm going to donate an amount myself - lex has already made a donation too, which is great.

Cheers again folks!

Quote Originally Posted by Scott M View Post
    Thanks for all the donations made thus far guys - we've managed to make £175 online in a week since setting the site up.

We've yet to start passing round donation forms (as I think we're still waiting on them coming in?) family and friends, so you're all giving us a good start.

To all taking part:

We're being granted 4 rounds of golf for free, which would otherwise be fairly costly - maybe worth considering making a wee donation ourselves in what we're saving in green fees?

Same rules apply as anyone else donating though - just what you can afford.

I'm going to donate an amount myself - lex has already made a donation too, which is great.

Cheers again folks!
    I've registered each of the players addresses individually, when registering the teams so the forms go out directly to each participant.

Done!

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeChick View Post
    Done!
    Thanks Amanda, and everyone else who has donated. It's incredible that we are over £300 already and haven't even got our sponsor forms out from MacMillan yet.

Thank you so much everyone who has donated to the cause so far in such tight times. It really is appreciated.

Everyone

I have just entered a Talksport competition in conjunction with MARS, and out lined our day,I also enclosed a link to our page in hope that we can raise awareness of our day, they are paying out £5,000 a month to worthy causes, so I hope they deem our cause as worthy

http://www.marsrefuel.com/refuel_fund/thanks.aspx

Ronnie, just donated. Sorry its not more.

Have a good day lads

Quote Originally Posted by Marydoll View Post
    Ronnie, just donated. Sorry its not more.

Thanks Jakki every penny is gratefully received

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    Have a good day lads
    Thanks Ronaldo7

Done - and happily so.

MacMillan Hospice and their nurses do an incredible job, and made my dad's short time there more comfortable than we could have possibly hoped for.

I also know one of the golfers personally, and despite going to the wrong Uni in Glasgow, he's a good lad and I hope you all have a great day and go on to meet and beat your donations target.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Just donated.

My auld legs would never have stood up otherwise I'd be a willing participant. May the golf gods smile on you throughout the big day.

Scotbet podcast promoting our events 20 mins in worth a listen from there on in click on the kickabout link

http://thekickabout.jellycast.com/podcast/feed/23

First Team Breakthrough Don-hibee's Avatar
    Just heard from my other half (H18SRY) have now reached the half way point and all holding up well

Keep going guys

@hibs.net private member Leithenhibby's Avatar
    Well done lads..no long now

I almost forgot to make my donation...fantastic cause..well done again.

Gamertag: Naw PSN ID: Naw Wii Code: Naw
    Last few holes I imagine

Well done lads

First Team Breakthrough Don-hibee's Avatar
    yep and you can still donate too.

Gamertag: Naw PSN ID: Naw Wii Code: Naw
    Quote Originally Posted by Don-hibee View Post
    yep and you can still donate too.
    Done that ages ago

But anyone else who would like to help the cause

Must be finished now though, it's dark

Just left them all in the coctail bar at Dalmahoy. Everyone round in one piece ( just) and in good spirits. Last two teams finished in tbe dark but finished none the less. Well done guys on a fantastic effort. Gutted I couldn't do it. Well done again.

I'm so so so so so sore

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyScott View Post
    I'm so so so so so sore
    **** knows how "caddyboy"

@hibs.net private member ano hibby's Avatar
    "We've also been unsure about what has happened to the receipts of the players who have been sold."
    George Foulkes BBC website 20/3/08

@hibs.net private member cocopops1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott M View Post
    **** knows how "caddyboy"
    caddyboy got it easy well till his second caddy started abusing him some of us kept it real tho
    Doing the 2013 Edinburgh half Marathon for McMillan it would be awesome if anyone fancies sponsoring me, http://www.justgiving.com/colin-smith1875 ,go on make a fat man run