Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: The Open

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Looks like those who backed Cabrera and Jiminez would have been better setting their hard-earned on fire and lighting a cigar with it - no way back for either now with Cabrera at +14 and Jiminez and +9 - Birkdale is chewing em up and spitting em' back out again!
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by harvey View Post
    Just checked the odds and Duval is at 1000/1. One cut made this year and a world ranking of 1087. Unbelievable to think he was number one in the world, won the Open and got a round of 59.
    Backed him midway through his round today at 64/1. Now into 39/1.

First Team Breakthrough 12AlbionPlace's Avatar
    Just gone E/W on Poulter, Mediate and Els and win on Harrington.

Tomorrow should sort them out there's wind forecast.

Experiencing Technical Difficulties
    Quote Originally Posted by vein View Post
    Backed him midway through his round today at 64/1. Now into 39/1.
    Gutted I never put money on him at 1000/1 now. Still don't think he'll win it but he's done great just to make the cut.

Quote Originally Posted by Houchy View Post
    Can't see him lasting the pace I'm afraid Dave. Although more chance than my tip of Ernie. I backed him at 350/1 after the first round on betfair on the basis that if he had 2 solid rounds, I could Lay the bet off. Looks like he's onlt just making the cut at +9 though.

Still, a level par tomorrow will see him move in the right direction.
    Aye about that Els tip mate.....

I backed him at the start on the back of you know how

Was thinking of backing Harrington for another interest into the last day but not sure as with the forcast for today its looking like anyone can win it. Maybe Els will come back

Noticed at the start that Greg Norman was 1000/1 on betfair and now into 30/1. Granted I didn't (and still dont) think he has a chance but even if you'd put £2 on him at £1000 and laid him off now, you would have made a tidy wee£600!!!
    How did you work out the maths on this one mate? I cant get my head around it.

I don't know what your talking about mate.

Managed to pick up KJ at 48's after the 1st round.

Come on the Tank.

Level par today, you'll have at least a 3 shot lead going into tomorrow.

Does anyone know if he posts on here???

What's with all the "love" for David Duval from the commentators.

Sam Torrance: "It's great to see him back. An absolute gentleman"

Wasn't saying that after Duval's whooping and hollering after the Ryder Cup at Brookline when he refered to his antics as disgraceful and the same for Lehman to which he stated "and he calls himself a man of God".

I agreed at the time with Sam but to now go a full 360 and refer to him as a gentleman.

KJ's poofed it. Bottle's gone.

So who is winning it then mate (I only have a bet on the open so dont have a clue about golf )

I backed Els at the start, then Duval yesterday. Today I went crazy and backed Harrington @ 12.5 at the start of the day, Poulter @ 26 and Norman @ 16.5 in play.

Will hopefully keep me interested tomorrow

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Will Greg triumph tomorrow? - that is the question.

Or will he do "a Hibs" by snatching defeat from the jaws of victory ? - as he's done so often in the past.

It will make great viewing tomorrow that's for sure.

So who is winning it then mate (I only have a bet on the open so dont have a clue about golf )

I backed Els at the start, then Duval yesterday. Today I went crazy and backed Harrington @ 12.5 at the start of the day, Poulter @ 26 and Norman @ 16.5 in play.

Will hopefully keep me interested tomorrow
    I stuck £10 on Harington at 6's earlier to cover my bets if he wins.

Still can't see Norman holding on but i'm not confident of anyone to be honest.

I can still see someone shooting low tomorrow morning and moving right up the board. Els and Mickelson are too far back though.

I'm now thinking of making myself £40 by laying KJ at 6's but don't want to regret it tomorrow afternoon.

Just stuck a tenner on Jim Furyk at 28/1. Finished his round and is in the clubhouse at +10.

Its a long shot but who knows

Quote Originally Posted by finhq031 View Post
    How could we possibly all forget Ian Poulter?

He is ,after all, the self proclaimed World Number 2 so in Tiger's absence he's got to be the odds on favourite

Poulter ? - mair like Poultice!

I never forgot him - backed him EW at 70/1. Spewing that Harrington managed to pull it out of the bag.

Does that make him world number 3?

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    I never forgot him - backed him EW at 70/1. Spewing that Harrington managed to pull it out of the bag.

Does that make him world number 3?
    Well done on your bet!

At long last "Poults" has let his clubs do the talking - it makes a very pleasant change that's for sure. His second place will move him up to number 42 in the world rankings.

Having said that, his self confidence and flamboyancy might just be what the Ryder Cup team needs.

Quote Originally Posted by finhq031 View Post
    Well done on your bet!

At long last "Poults" has let his clubs do the talking - it makes a very pleasant change that's for sure. His second place will move him up to number 42 in the world rankings.

Having said that, his self confidence and flamboyancy might just be what the Ryder Cup team needs.
    Cheers - there's big difference in the payout between winning and coming 2nd though!

I think TalkSport said yesterday he was up to 23 in the world rankings?

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Cheers - there's big difference in the payout between winning and coming 2nd though!

I think TalkSport said yesterday he was up to 23 in the world rankings?
    These world rankings tend to be confusing things! According to the Daily Express, "Poults" is now up to number 7 following his 2nd place at Birkdale.

Wonder what he'll be tomorrow!