Thread: The Open

The Open

whats peoples thoughts on a Tigerless field? I've had a couple of tips for the same guy - Hunter Mahan. Any good, or any other tips?

@hibs.net private member The Sundance Kid's Avatar
    The 4 names that I fancy to do well are Sergio Garcia, Lee Westwood, Trevor Immelan and Retief Goosen.

paddy harrington

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Westwood is playing some wonderful golf just now and is on home soil (or close enough to!).

Henrik Stenson is having a good season also and could be a decent shout.

Fancy one of the big guns though to step up to the plate - either Els, Mickelson, Goosen or Garcia could be in with a decent shout.

For family reasons, i'd love to see Damien McGrane winning it
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Sergio Garcia - he's playing well, finished second last year, and he missed out on the Scottish Open in order to further hone his skills on a links golf course.

Each way bets - go for Lee Westwood & Richard Green

Experiencing Technical Difficulties
    I'm actually quite happy that Tiger Woods isn't playing. I prefer it when there's a few people in contention.

Really hoping for a Garcia win.

Fisher.

And ah hope Monty doesnt make the cut.

Quote Originally Posted by stenhouse hibby View Post
    paddy harrington
    Bear in mind that he has a wrist injury before lumping too much cash on him.

I'm swaying towards Ernie just because of the way he finished on Sunday at Loch Lomond.

Pretty unimaginative but I really wouldn't be confident backing anyone. Think I'll wait until the end of the 2nd or maybe even 3rd round before placing anything. Made £120 on Sunday by waiting to see how the fields were lying going into the final rounds.
    Last edited by Houchy; 16-07-2008 at 10:24 AM.

Jimenez @ 35/1 is my bet for the Open.

How could we possibly all forget Ian Poulter?

He is ,after all, the self proclaimed World Number 2 so in Tiger's absence he's got to be the odds on favourite

Poulter ? - mair like Poultice!

Left by mutual consent! New Corrie's Avatar
    Geoff Ogilvie....Win@25/1
    Graeme McDowall....Placed
    Lucas Glover....Placed

First Team Breakthrough Spoonjilloun's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by James Connolly View Post
    Jimenez @ 35/1 is my bet for the Open.

you can get him at 66-1 at ladbrokes and apparantley even better with William Hill.

Me and my dad are gonna put a few on and hope they make the cut for a bit of interest on sunday. Anyone else going to it?

Experiencing Technical Difficulties
    Just checked the odds and Duval is at 1000/1. One cut made this year and a world ranking of 1087. Unbelievable to think he was number one in the world, won the Open and got a round of 59.

Quote Originally Posted by Spoonjilloun View Post
    you can get him at 66-1 at ladbrokes and apparantley even better with William Hill.

Me and my dad are gonna put a few on and hope they make the cut for a bit of interest on sunday. Anyone else going to it?
    He's 33/1 wi Lads & 20/1 wi Hills.

Quote Originally Posted by LustForLeith View Post
    whats peoples thoughts on a Tigerless field? I've had a couple of tips for the same guy - Hunter Mahan. Any good, or any other tips?
    Mahan down in the betting. Paddy Power had him at 66/1, down to 45/1..

Tough conditions so far!

Lyle gave up the ghost early doors.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/7511254.stm

I bet some of the reserves are doing their nut in as he has basically given a place in the field which, arguably, someone more deserving could have had.

Vijay Singh was +10 through 11 holes - thankfully he stopped the rot on the back 9 when the weather improved slightly.

It won't be a high score that wins this if the weather remains the same - especially with Birkdale very stupidly setting the course Par at 70!

Noticed that Ernie Els is available on betfair at 240/1. I know he shot +10 today but he's the kind of guy that could shoot -6 tomorrow (late tee time) if the weather's better. As long as he makes the cut you'll be able to lay him off on Sunday (that's the plan anyway).
    Last edited by Houchy; 17-07-2008 at 02:32 PM.

Retief Goosen won't be far away.

I watched him this morning when he played in the worst of the conditions and he was swinging the club effortlessly.

Adam Scott will surely be there abouts - he was striking the ball well today!

Great to see the conditions are tough; makes for far better viewing than the target golf they play in America, IMO.

Still early doors; as always, the tournament will take shape on Saturday.

My man Jimenez made a good start today; hopefully he gets the best of the conditions tomorrow morning.

So much for my tip hoping he starts late tomorrow and pulls somehting out of the hat. Like a miracle!

Quote Originally Posted by LustForLeith View Post
    So much for my tip hoping he starts late tomorrow and pulls somehting out of the hat. Like a miracle!
    Noticed at the start that Greg Norman was 1000/1 on betfair and now into 30/1. Granted I didn't (and still dont) think he has a chance but even if you'd put £2 on him at £1000 and laid him off now, you would have made a tidy wee£600!!!

M A Jimenez has fell in a hole, +8 for the front 9!

Oh well, time to reload.

Fancy KJ Choi at the moment and also the Goose but hope i'm wrong with the latter as I think he made an Montgomerie sized erse of himself with his comments about Tiger faking his injury.

Quote Originally Posted by Houchy View Post
    Fancy KJ Choi at the moment and also the Goose but hope i'm wrong with the latter as I think he made an Montgomerie sized erse of himself with his comments about Tiger faking his injury.
    Lost a lot of respect for Goosen after that - still a cracking player, but he was out of line in saying that.

Norman is playing well today, but I can't see him holding another 2 rounds! Would be an amazing story right enough!

Can't see Choi doing a great deal to be honest - too inconsistent.

Which way is big Mumpglumerie going to go today? Sneakily up the leaderboard or plummeting down amongst the also rans?

I fancy the latter

I like the look of Jim Furyk just now. Held back putting any cash on the Open so far this year but I'll see what the state of play is come tonight and stick a tenner on someone...maybe

A 65 for Villegas!!!! Where did that come from

Sandy Lyle

I've lost a lot of respect for oor Sandy after he walked in yesterday. I dare say we've all done that,(or thought about doing it) at some time or other in our club competitions but for a professional golfer to do that in the Open Championship is unforgivable.

Aw diddums - Sandy was getting wet and more to the point was 11 over after nine holes.

A young guy from New Zealand was first reserve and was desperate to play so I hope Sandy is now regretting his petulant wee tantrum as he deprived someone of their place in the starting line up.

Future Ryder Cup Captain? - nae chance!

Quote Originally Posted by Houchy View Post
    Tiger's subsequent operation proved that Goose was wrong - but I must admit i thought the same during the last two rounds as the only times Tiger appeared to grimace was after he'd hit a bad shot!

Quote Originally Posted by finhq031 View Post
    Sandy Lyle

I've lost a lot of respect for oor Sandy after he walked in yesterday. I dare say we've all done that,(or thought about doing it) at some time or other in our club competitions but for a professional golfer to do that in the Open Championship is unforgivable.

Aw diddums - Sandy was getting wet and more to the point was 11 over after nine holes.

A young guy from New Zealand was first reserve and was desperate to play so I hope Sandy is now regretting his petulant wee tantrum as he deprived someone of their place in the starting line up.

Future Ryder Cup Captain? - nae chance!
    Have to agree with these sentiments - with the amount of money these guys are worth, spitting the dummy out when setting an example is unforgivable.

I can't say i've EVER walked in off a golf course (save for seriously bad weather) when i've been playing poorly, and i've had some TERRIBLE rounds!