Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    I thought bowling was played on a green or is it ice bowling you oldies are playing
    Quote Originally Posted by sg7nil View Post
    Less of the oldies!!! and dinnae show yer ignorance!

Ice rinks were first artificially produced in the late 19th century (prior to that if people wanted to use an ice surface for skating/curling they had to wait for a body of water to freeze naturally. (not that I was around to attest to this personally)

Bowling existed long before this time, so the use of the word "rink" in this case is entirely correct.

You should try it sometime ...who knows ye might enjoy it ..

Quote Originally Posted by HNA6 View Post
    You should try it sometime ...who knows ye might enjoy it ..
    Played before when the branches used to have a day out at the RINK that used to be behind ER

But it was more just an excuse for a close seaon p1ss up

Played before when the branches used to have a day out at the RINK that used to be behind ER

But it was more just an excuse for a close seaon p1ss up
    There was a green behind ER (St Andrews Steelworks - and a nice green it was too) this will have consisted of as many as seven (or even eight -but fairly narrow) rinks, however the standard for most greens is just six. There are some greens in the town that are not big enough for six rinks and these are ineligible to host certain competitions. Dependant on what competition is being played, the rinks can be between 15 - 18 feet wide (can be narrower for non-competition play).

These will have been played on by bowlers in the following possible combinations ....

Singles = 1 a side
    Pairs = 2 a side
    Triples = 3 a side
    or... Rinks (very occasionally referred to as fours) = 4 a side (the maximum number in a game at a time I.E. a full rink as referred to earlier in this thread).

Ok guys, names so far ...

Burnsie

HNA6 (Kenny)

Hibby Dave ?

Tanfield

sg7nil

Hibee Craig0762

Luxjock

Dudley Hibee

Glasgow Hibs ?

Sambajustice ?

Fat Stu

I think I replied to this already, do these threads replicate across all of the forums that they exist on??

Quote Originally Posted by sg7nil View Post
    I think I replied to this already, do these threads replicate across all of the forums that they exist on??
    Nope..i done a quick run through of the three threads this morning mate to note down the names because i was dropping the thread on the main forum, i couldnt see a yes from yourself hence the ?...apologies if i have missed a post from you ...i will have another look ...

Edit: I see you have replied to the other thread ...thats no bother...

Ok guys, names so far ...

Burnsie

HNA6 (Kenny)

Hibby Dave ?

Tanfield

sg7nil ?

Hibee Craig0762

Luxjock

Dudley Hibee

Glasgow Hibs ?

Sambajustice ?

And me!!

Quote Originally Posted by Fat Stu View Post
    And me!!
    Your in ...

@hibs.net private member tanfield's Avatar
    Just had confirmation from the missus that she has managed to get a day off from work on the 28th June so I'm a definite now.

Mike - Please don't change the date

Had my first practice at Whitehouse tonight and not running to bad. Not long to the league games start.

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    Booked Three rinks last night at our committee meeting lads, so we are defo up and running for June 28th.
    I will wait and see what the numbers are before deciding whether I play for Hibs.net or the Northern.

I will now need to start inviting fellow Northern Hibbies to take part

BTW just in case anybody is not sure where the Northern is, I have just recently added a map to our website you can find us there.

http//:www.northernbowlingclub.co.uk

The link sometimes doesn't show exactly where we are when you click on it but scroll out to a slightly wider view and you will see us.

Good stuff Mike ...i know the club well, used to deliver yer beer ...

Ps: What sort of time are we talking....12.00/12.30...1.00...?

Good stuff Mike ...i know the club well, used to deliver yer beer ...

Ps: What sort of time are we talking....12.00/12.30...1.00...?
    Well done Kenny, maybe this time you can even drink the stuff you used to deliver .

I have booked the three rinks from 2.00pm.

I think I will leave team selection to yourself and Andrew, (Tanfield) and I will select the Northern team, if that's who I play for

Quote Originally Posted by Burnsie07 View Post
    Well done Kenny, maybe this time you can even drink the stuff you used to deliver .

I have booked the three rinks from 2.00pm.

I think I will leave team selection to yourself and Andrew, (Tanfield) and I will select the Northern team, if that's who I play for
    We were always seen alright for a pint or 3 when we delivered yer club Mike ..

As for the time etc ... im absolutley fine wi that ..

Booked Three rinks last night at our committee meeting lads, so we are defo up and running for June 28th.
    I will wait and see what the numbers are before deciding whether I play for Hibs.net or the Northern.

I will now need to start inviting fellow Northern Hibbies to take part

BTW just in case anybody is not sure where the Northern is, I have just recently added a map to our website you can find us there.

http//:www.northernbowlingclub.co.uk

The link sometimes doesn't show exactly where we are when you click on it but scroll out to a slightly wider view and you will see us.
    Is that the one on the street going towards warriston playing fields?

And for the selectors lead or third please, i'm a useless second and a hotheaded skip(in otherwords if i'm getting beat I keep driving out of anger and i'm useless at driving).

Suits me Stu ...i dont mind playing second ...i play that in the Esk league/my rink & my triples ...

Nae probs Stu, I think that happens to us all does it not??

Kenny (HNA6). Seeing as Mike has kindly delegated the selection to us it might be an idea for everyone to state honestly where they would prefer to play and take it from there.

Ok so far:

Fat Stu - Lead/Third
    HNA6 - Second
    Tanfield - I'm happy to skip (play anywhere mind)

What about the others??

Quote Originally Posted by tanfield View Post

Kenny (HNA6). Seeing as Mike has kindly delegated the selection to us it might be an idea for everyone to state honestly where they would prefer to play and take it from there.

Ok so far:

Fat Stu - Lead/Third
    HNA6 - Second

What about the others??
    Indeed.....im easy peasy but def no skip...if we have a couple o skips in our numbers then that would be great ...

Ok so far:

Fat Stu - Lead/Third
    HNA6 - Second

What about the others??

I'd rather play second or third, especially if I can repeat my form from the Hats last night . 21 -4 after 13 ends and we still never won the money!
    First league game on Friday and cannae wait.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    [/B]

I'd rather play second or third, especially if I can repeat my form from the Hats last night . 21 -4 after 13 ends and we still never won the money!
    First league game on Friday and cannae wait.
    So far ive lost 21-12 in the handicap & the team lost 5-3 at home in the Esk league to Loanhead private ...i was reserve....

Ok so far:

Fat Stu - Lead/Third
    HNA6 - Second

What about the others??
    Aye, but I can really be a bad tempered git at bowls. I've saw myself giving ties half way through cos I was in the huff at getting beat.

Im not at all fussy where i play Andrew.

anywhere will do me - just to confirm its still the 28th june yeah?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee_Craig7062 View Post
    just to confirm its still the 28th june yeah?
    It is DEFO Sat June 28th Craig, with a 2.00pm kick-off

Aye, but I can really be a bad tempered git at bowls. I've saw myself giving ties half way through cos I was in the huff at getting beat.
    Sounds exactly like a member of my own club, a big huffy bairn

It surely is Stu.

BTW, this is great, I'm getting an insight into your team and I will pick my team accordingly, although I don't suppose we will have much trouble winning this game :

It is DEFO Sat June 28th Craig, with a 2.00pm kick-off

Perfect - theres no hamilton trophy that weekend so definately in.

Sounds exactly like a member of my own club, a big huffy bairn

Hey ..im surrounded wi them down here at the Jewel ...saw a couple o bowls getting launched intae Bingham burn one day ...jeezo ..theres losers & theres losers ...
    I can admit to a few huffy moments particularly in my early days. After a devastating defeat in the semi final of the championship I volleyed one of my bowls into the locker room (hurt like hell!) and stormed out. Can smile about if now though.

What a shocking attitude to have

Nah im my opinion you have to be upset when defeated.

"Show me a good loser and ill show you a loser" i think the saying goes.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee_Craig7062 View Post
    Perfect - theres no hamilton trophy that weekend so definately in.
    I have already informed the selectors that I am unavailable that weekend because of this big challange game at the Northern, so don't even think about arranging anything as I just wont play.
    Last edited by MB62; 01-05-2008 at 12:00 PM.

I have already informed the selectors that I am unavailable thta weekend because of this big challange game at the Northern, so don't even think about arranging anything as I just wont play.
    Aye...i told my Captain a couple of weeks ago ...perhaps thats why im reserve now ...wrapping me up in cotton wool ...NOT !! ......

A good start tonight in the W of E, 22-12 for my rink, our other three rinks all won so 9-0 overall for the match