Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar

Bowls - Hibs.Net v Northern?

Ok lads (and Lassies). Having spoken to the committee, there appears to be no problems with organising a wee game of bowls between .netters and the Northern Hibbies, there's plenty of us down there.

Could you give me an idea of who would want to play and what DAY suits everyone best i.e. Saturday or Sunday.

Due to the many friendlies etc that are played, dates available are limited but if I know most prefer one to the other, it will make it easier to organise.
    Also if can let me know when you are unavailable, that would help.

Maybe just add your name below and we can see where it goes from there.

M.B.

Is this a bowls match against the Northern bowling Club in Wariston?

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    Is this a bowls match against the Northern bowling Club in Wariston?
    It certainly is Davy, depending on how many show an interest.
    My first thought is to keep it to Northern Hibbies (although I don't know if I would get away with that) but if you fancy it, get your name down.

My suggested date would be

Saturday 28th June with a 2.30pm kick off.

This though might end up clashing with a Hibs game, but we can make that provisional and see who is interested.

Quote Originally Posted by Burnsie07 View Post
    My suggested date would be

Saturday 28th June with a 2.30pm kick off.

This though might end up clashing with a Hibs game, but we can make that provisional and see who is interested.
    I will stick that in my diary mate ..just to make sure i dont organise any club ties...

How many rinks we looking at or is that dependant on interest ?

Quote Originally Posted by HNA6 View Post
    I will stick that in my diary mate ..just to make sure i dont organise any club ties...

How many rinks we looking at or is that dependant on interest ?
    All depending on interest. I would hope to maybe have a couple of rinks at least but I don't know how many bowlers there are on Hibs.net and who would actually be interested.
    We have a bit of time, we could always have a singles game

Sounds good to me, it's in the diary under "provisional"

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Sounds good to me, it's in the diary under "provisional"
    Brilliant, I will get a partner and we can have a game of pairs now

Any more?

Brilliant, I will get a partner and we can have a game of pairs now

Any more?
    Lets get a triple ...come on folks ..

Where's TANFIELD when you him?
    C'Mon Andrew, it was you that reminded me about this

Yahoo, we have a Triple. Just had a P.M. from FatStu and he is up for it too.

One more and we have a rink, then who knows, maybe snowball to TWO TRIPLES.

C'Mon bowlers, don't be so 'tight' and get your names up for the challange.

Yahoo, we have a Triple. Just had a P.M. from FatStu and he is up for it too.

One more and we have a rink, then who knows, maybe snowball to TWO TRIPLES.

C'Mon bowlers, don't be so 'tight' and get your names up for the challange.
    Good stuff, we are getting there....

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    I'll play next year if you do it again.

I'll give it a go - the day suits me fine

Is bowling not an old-folks sport

@hibs.net private member tanfield's Avatar
    Where's TANFIELD when you him?
    C'Mon Andrew, it was you that reminded me about this

Aye Aye Mike. Just noticed this thread just now so count me provisionally in. Just have to convince the missus to take a days holiday to look after the kids.

What's that we're up to now?

Quote Originally Posted by tanfield View Post
    Aye Aye Mike. Just noticed this thread just now so count me provisionally in. Just have to convince the missus to take a days holiday to look after the kids.

What's that we're up to now?
    We now have a rink, with hopefully more to follow.

To clear things up slightly. This is intended to be for those who can actually play the game a wee bit, a 'serious' challange match between Hibs.net bowlers and Hibee Northern members.

Apologies to those who just thought about turning up for a laugh and a mess about but that might not go down too well with NBC Committee

We now have a rink, with hopefully more to follow.

To clear things up slightly. This is intended to be for those who can actually play the game a wee bit, a 'serious' challange match between Hibs.net bowlers and Hibee Northern members.

Apologies to those who just thought about turning up for a laugh and a mess about but that might not go down too well with NBC Committee
    Or 2 pairs

Must be more interested bowlers out there. What about those who contributed to the first thread?

I was on the first thread, but I'm a refugee from the bounce - so I don't really count as a .netter

Quote Originally Posted by sg7nil View Post
    I was on the first thread, but I'm a refugee from the bounce - so I don't really count as a .netter
    You use both though, your more than welcome ...

I'll second that

I'll turd that, oops, sorry third that, can I do that?

A pair and a Triple now, pressure on the Northern lads to come good then!

Id be interested in this,

i currently play down at carrick knowe.

Sundays are a no go for me due to E&L U25 games but sat 28th June sounds fine.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee_Craig7062 View Post

Great Craig, now two triples, my favourite game

Good to hear Craig.

Hope you are not working too hard

Good to hear Craig.

Hope you are not working too hard
    Impossible in this job! unbelievably mind-nummingly boring at the moment.

We could do with a couple more people coming out the woodwork on this thread to get us up to 2 full rinks!

och,
    would have loved to be able to play

Still looking for more names if any bowlers are interested ...

Impossible in this job! unbelievably mind-nummingly boring at the moment.

We could do with a couple more people coming out the woodwork on this thread to get us up to 2 full rinks!
    I thought bowling was played on a green or is it ice bowling you oldies are playing

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    I thought bowling was played on a green or is it ice bowling you oldies are playing
    Less of the oldies!!! and dinnae show yer ignorance!

Ice rinks were first artificially produced in the late 19th century (prior to that if people wanted to use an ice surface for skating/curling they had to wait for a body of water to freeze naturally. (not that I was around to attest to this personally)

Bowling existed long before this time, so the use of the word "rink" in this case is entirely correct.