Wrestlemania XXIV

The time has almost arrived people and Mania is almost upon us!

The good news for me is that the sports bar here in Wellington is showing it live on the big screens on Monday!!! Watching mania in the boozer, it can't get much better than that!
    Last edited by Steve-O; 27-03-2008 at 12:17 PM.

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post

The good news for me is that the sports bar here in Wellington is showing it live on the big screens on Monday!!! Watching mania in the boozer, it can't get much better than that!
    got it set to be sky +'d in HD and a fridge full of lager to watch it on Monday night. cannae wait!

HHH to win
    Undertaker to win
    HBK to win
    Big Show to win
    jericho to win

@hibs.net private member Hibbie_Cameron's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post

Hope you enjoy it mate.

Must be honest though, the lead up to this years event has been the worst for years. Last year i could not wait for mania but this year has just been substandard.

HHH-Orton-Cena lead up has been decent but no more than that.
    Show v Mayweather will be a train wreck
    Taker v Edge, lead up has been the same old pish we get every year for taker matches.

Probably the best lead ups have been Finlay/JBL and Flair/HBK.

Flair's retirement is the only thing making me purchase the event right now, will be special

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbie_Cameron View Post
    Hope you enjoy it mate.

Must be honest though, the lead up to this years event has been the worst for years. Last year i could not wait for mania but this year has just been substandard.

HHH-Orton-Cena lead up has been decent but no more than that.
    Show v Mayweather will be a train wreck
    Taker v Edge, lead up has been the same old pish we get every year for taker matches.

Probably the best lead ups have been Finlay/JBL and Flair/HBK.

Flair's retirement is the only thing making me purchase the event right now, will be special

i agree that the build up has not been the usual standard but looking at the matches it should be a great ppv. drop the diva match and pretty much every other match could be great.

Gamertag: EdinburghDan
    I have the day off on Monday

The card looks decent enough. I take less interest in Raw and Smackdown these days and just watch the big PPV's. Wrestlemania is always the best of the year.

First Team Regular Lebron James's Avatar

PSN ID: shamo9
    Quote Originally Posted by hwuhibby View Post
    i agree that the build up has not been the usual standard but looking at the matches it should be a great ppv. drop the diva match and pretty much every other match could be great.
    The build up for Orton-Hardy owns anything on this card

@hibs.net private member the_ginger_hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by shamo9 View Post
    The build up for Orton-Hardy owns anything on this card
    Coming from a total Hardy mark that doesn't mean a lot

But yeah apart from Flair/HBK there isn't too much I'm looking forward to. Money in the bank would have been good had Hardy not got suspended. I'm quite curious about the Big Show/Mayweather match, but its got all the potential to be a car crash

Quote Originally Posted by the_ginger_hibee View Post
    Coming from a total Hardy mark that doesn't mean a lot

But yeah apart from Flair/HBK there isn't too much I'm looking forward to. Money in the bank would have been good had Hardy not got suspended. I'm quite curious about the Big Show/Mayweather match, but its got all the potential to be a car crash
    When Triple H won the elimination chamber, the crowd died...Don't even get me started on Cena.

Come on Randal Orton

When Triple H won the elimination chamber, the crowd died...Don't even get me started on Cena.

Come on Randal Orton
    Yeah the Orton/Hardy and the Elimination Chamber I was shouting for old Jeffy, was quite dissapointed about the Elimination Chamber because for some stupid reason (HHH ,doing the boss's daughter, was always going to main event WM) I believed he had a chance at the win.

Dont get me started on Cena lol..... I couldn't care about the main event at mania, as long as Cena gets injured. Sounds harsh but he's only there to please the kiddies and the screaming girls. Sums up everything wrong with the WWE and why its doing so poorly in mainstream entertainment. CUCK FENA.

Oh Hall of fame starting soon, you can watch it on WWE.com but it wont show Flair or The Rock's speech still worth a watch
    http://media.wwe.com/wwelive/press_conference_300.wvx

Gamertag: TamHibs PSN ID: tamhibs22
    Quote Originally Posted by Lebron James View Post

is this working for any1?

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    I detest wrestling but as a big boxing fan I really want to see Floyd v Big Show.

Much better than expected so far

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    I think it's been excellent so far. The money in the bank was tremendous!! Findlay v JBL was a pure slugfest - HBK v Flair was tremendous also. Triple threat just about to start. Should be excellent.

And its always good to see Santino get a smack in the puss

And Kelly Kelly

What a PPV best in a long time. Suprised at Orton though but great event anyhoo. Mon the Snoop Dogg. Shizzle Ma Pizzle

Michaels took some bump on that table

Quote Originally Posted by thekaratekid View Post
    Michaels took some bump on that table
    Yeah, didnt think he'd make it through going over Flair, but he did. Great show, best WM since 2000 or 2001

Quote Originally Posted by the_ginger_hibee View Post
    Yeah, didnt think he'd make it through going over Flair, but he did. Great show, best WM since 2000 or 2001
    Agreed

And no Vince McMahon in sight. Which was rather refreshing.

He was probably in the back trying to sort the lights

HBK had defo broke ribs, he looked sick as hell. Only 3 things disappointed me last night:

1) Flair shoulda been given more time in the ring at the end instead of giving the womens match 15 minutes entrances. After Flairs match i was not really bothered as such about the rest of the show but still enjoyed it. The best thign about the Divas match was when the lights went off

2) Get Cole and Coach to hell, they are utterly awful and spoiled a good match between Taker and Edge, with their constant squeeling and repatition of the same two lines.

3) Show v Mayweather was better than i thought but spoiled by Mayweathers lack of selling moves

Come on Randal Orton
    YES

RAW tonight will have a 4 Horseman reunion, the first time the original group (Flair, Arn Anderson, Tully Blanchard and J.J Dillon) have been in the same ring since 1988
    Last edited by Hibbie_Cameron; 31-03-2008 at 11:18 PM.

Overall it was a decent event I thought -

1) Finlay - JBL was a good match, some stiff work was going on there! And Finlay jumping through the ropes was pretty incredible!
    2) Money in the Bank - pretty good stuff. Only thing I would say is that while I am happy CM Punk won it, I was disappointed that he didn't actually do that much in the match IIRC?
    3) Batista - Umaga - I took a toilet break at this point!
    4) Flair - Michaels - Quality match, a crazy bump from HBK. Emotional stuff. Flair should have stayed longer at the end I reckon, although copying the end of Rocky Balboa was a decent way to go about it!
    5) Divas - as usual the match was gash but Snoop Dogg was quite funny, and quite an amazing clothesline as well!!
    6) Triple Threat - biggest disappointment for me. Too short, hardly any big spots and one of the poorer triple threat matches I have seen.
    7) Mayweather - Big Show - disappointed Mayweather didn't take a chokeslam, but surprised the match went as well as it did. Kudos to Big Show for taking a sair yin with the brass knucks to finish him off!!
    8) Edge - Taker - had reservations about this being the main event, but turned out a fairly decent match and the pub I was in had major 'pops' going on at all the false finishes. Would have preferred Edge to win though.

Overall about a 7/10 for me but still nothing can defeat Wrestlemania 17 in my book

oh this is a tough pill for me to swallow.

JEFF'S PLANS SPOILED

It was reported earlier this week that the original plans for the MITB ladder match were for Jeff Hardy to win the match and cash in his title opportunity later in the night to defeat Randy Orton for the WWE Championship. The triple threat match for the WWE Championship would have been a lot more brutal so that Orton didn't come off looking weak. The plan was for Jeff Hardy to hold the title up until Vengeance so that he could drop it to either Orton, John Cena or Triple H so that a major WWE Championship match with two of those three superstars could occur at SummerSlam.

Source: PWC

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Can anyone give me the jist of how the big show vs mayweather fight went?

cheers,
    Mon the Hibs.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    oh this is a tough pill for me to swallow.

JEFF'S PLANS SPOILED

It was reported earlier this week that the original plans for the MITB ladder match were for Jeff Hardy to win the match and cash in his title opportunity later in the night to defeat Randy Orton for the WWE Championship. The triple threat match for the WWE Championship would have been a lot more brutal so that Orton didn't come off looking weak. The plan was for Jeff Hardy to hold the title up until Vengeance so that he could drop it to either Orton, John Cena or Triple H so that a major WWE Championship match with two of those three superstars could occur at SummerSlam.

Source: PWC

Sounds plausible and probably the reason why the triple threat match was not scheduled as the main event.

I imagine the return of Matt Hardy would have been planned as an attack on Orton to assist Jeff lifting the title rather than just interfering with the MITB match.

Jeff Hardy has only himself to blame IMO

Big crowd pops for him forced WWE to seriously consider giving him a decent feud and a title belt.

But he went and ******ed that up all by himself.

Apparently they wanted the Edge/Taker match on last as that belt was actually changing hands.

Jeff Hardy has only himself to blame IMO

Big crowd pops for him forced WWE to seriously consider giving him a decent feud and a title belt.

But he went and ******ed that up all by himself.

Apparently they wanted the Edge/Taker match on last as that belt was actually changing hands.
    The simple explanation is that a heel won in the raw match. For the last two years a face Cena has retained, WWE where afraid to let a heel win end wrestlemania. Yes, I know it's happened before but now the product is directed at children to a greater extent than before.

To an extent.....

But a belt changing hands is more exciting than someone retaining.

To an extent.....

But a belt changing hands is more exciting than someone retaining.
    Why did they ignore this at the previous two Wrestlemania's then?

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    I ended up paying the £14.95 on Tuesday for the boy to watch it on sky.
    Must say , thought it was brill
    Choking back the tears for Flair was i.
    Did you see him burst into tears as soon as he was pinned

Liked the Big show match too. Not believing they were real brass nuckles though
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn