Photo Gallery
POTY
Prediction Competition
Season Tickets
Quiz Team

Adobe Acrobat ® Needed for some forms

Well worth a visit!

Hibs on TV!

londonhibs latest... All meetings now at Quinn's in Camden !!!!

From Mike Prior - published 14/12/09

Dear All

Apologies for my tardiness in getting these notes out but here they are now.

There was a great turnout at Quinns on the 7th Nov, the pub was heaving with Hibbies of all different categories, and 16 new members signed up to LHSC on the day.

I’m sure a good day was had by all...despite the game.

I’ve got to say, early doors, that I cannae really understand that when you offer somebody to join up for a tenner giving them A) their first drink free on the club B) a free buffet and C) an opportunity to hook up regularly with like-minded folk to watch/ discuss and debate all things Hibs in our mutually adopted area of London, that some would decline.....
There you are though..... eh ? There’s naebody as queer as folk.....

In saying that a BIG THANKS to all of you that signed up on the day, and of course, all of you who’ve signed up before.
THANK YOU and welcome to all the new members.
A lot of existing members were there as well of course, and THANKS to them for making the effort as I know you all come from scattered areas around London and further afar and getting to London is sometimes not easy.

In saying that Camden still seems to be the favourite and ‘easiest’ place to get to for most members, and Mr & Mrs Quinn, Vincent and Dominic in the bar look after us well so we’ll stay at Quinns for future meetings.
We had 15 apologies from members who couldn’t make it (most of them were at Tynecastle)...I’m not going to list them, I trust you’ll forgive me.

There was a short meeting after the game, and the circumstances were not ideal, but here are the main points discussed on the day....if I’ve missed any just shout at me.

1)Membership Update
---------------------------------
Our membership continues to grow which is good news.
Thanks to Stuart Dickson and Graeme Walker for spreading the word via Hibs.net and other avenues.
Stuart and Graeme, can you forward details to everyone listed on this e mail the connections that you’ve both forged ?....you both know I’m hopeless on the internet front. Thank you.
As I said above, 16 members signed up at the Hibs v Yams game alone..... Happy days.
Thanks to Andrew for sorting out the membership cards.

2)Meeting Dates
---------------------------
I know there are people who still go to Quinns on the 2nd Tuesday of each month which was the traditional date/ place for our meetings......that’ s great and long may it continue.
However, we will carry on holding meets circa every 2 months built around a Hibs or Scotland game on the box at Quinns as we get at least one big telly to watch the game on.
Trouble is, I personally don’t know when the next Hibs game is on the box, and as for Scotland games, frankly I’d rather unplug the TV until things improve on the park.
Can anyone advise me of the next Hibs game scheduled for TV coverage ?
By the “2 month rule” our next meet would be in January but as we have the Burns Night in January (more on that a little later) it seems the consensus is that a meet in January is not necessary....so lets look to February for the next meeting. OK ?
In saying that, any time Hibs are on TV there will be a group at Quinns, myself included, to watch the game and have a few cold drinks, so always show up.

3) Website
------------------
I am delighted to say that Mike Inglis has resolved the issue with the website and we can now update it.
THANK YOU Mike, I know its no’ been easy ma Pal.
Over the next week or so the website will be brought back up to speed.

4) Social Events
----------------------
First one of 2010 is the Burns Night.
All details and bookings are confirmed now.
I am delighted to say that ALEX CROPLEY and PAUL KANE have accepted our invitation to be joint Guests of Honour on the night.
Having spoken to Kano and Willie McEwan earlier this week, they advise me that there will be a big crowd of former players coming down from the Hibs Former Players Association which they both help run in Edinburgh.
On a sadder note, in the same conversation I was informed that Bobby Smith is not very well at all at the moment...which many of you may already know.
Willie is hoping to convince Bobby to come down to the ‘Do which would be great but still too early to say.
I’ve passed on all our best wishes to Bobby on behalf of London Hibs via Kano and Willie who visited Bobby in hospital earlier this week.

The details for the Burns Night are as follows ;
The numbers are limited to 100 people, so please e mail me your firm intentions as early as possible.
I’ll collate numbers and issue tickets by post in advance, OR if you tell me you are coming FOR SURE you can pick up the tickets on the night.
This night out is a very open social evening so please invite your other halves along..... a good wee night oot.

Details :

LHSC Burns Night Supper

30th Jan 2010
The Penderels Oak, High Holborn
Kick off 7.00-7.30 with late bar until 1am.
£15 per head as always.

Haggis/tatties/neeps dinner + wee dram to toast the hoary beast.... thats the haggis, not Kano...(I’ll probably get battered now)
Piper and live music.
Raffle

On the raffle front, if anyone has anything they want to contribute in terms of prizes please let me know.
Stuart Dickson has already made a generous contribution....Thanks Stuart.

For those who have not been before, the Penderels Oak is a Wetherspoons establishment ( so good priced drink) and we have a completely separate private good sized function room which is ours for the night in the Cellar Bar, it’s a closed door night only for LHSC.
The pub is 3 minutes walk from High Holborn tube station.

B) Golf Day.

Alex Lindsay has not set the date for this yet but it will fall, as always in mid June.
I will update you on details later when I get them from Alex......plenty time at the moment.

C) Thames Boat Trip.

Scheduled for a Saturday night in late June / early July.
This will not clash with the Golf Day.
However, on the boat trip we will need a FIRM commitment + cash from each member who will attend simply because the club have to pay a hefty deposit to the boat company in advance which is non recoupable and then make the balance payment 2 weeks before the trip.

The boat, which is ours for the night for 4 hours as a private hire, leaves Westminster Pier at 7.00 pm and returns at 11.00 pm having gone up the Thames as far as Fulham and then all the way back down the Thames to the Millenium Dome(or whatever they’re calling it this week).
There’s a bar on the upper deck and a sit down bar down below.
There’s a pointed bit at the front of the boat and a rounded bit at the back as well.......(don’t know the nautical terminology )
Its a good night out.

Let me know as early as you can if you’re wanting to attend.
Numbers are limited to only 90 people so let me know early doors please if you’re coming.
Cost is going to be £18 - £20 per head depending on final numbers.
( as a wee aside, these boats normally charge £11 JUST to take you from Westminster Pier to Tower of London, a 20 minutes journey....I know because I’ve just done it. The 4 hour trip is very good value methinks)

5) Season Tickets at E.R.
--------------------------------
I understand that these continue to be in demand with many games being booked.
There are still seats for games though.
If you want the season tickets email me and I’ll speak to Tony Connor and Gordon Drummond to organise them.
We have 2 seats at Easter Rd in the North Stand lower tier and the cost is £15 per ticket /per game.
I will make sure the availability is kept up to date once the website is functioning again later this week.

6) Football Team
-----------------------
Delighted to see Ollie Scott and some of the guys from the football team at the last meeting. WELCOME !!!
I made a mistake in the notes after the last meeting in September with the football team website, so to make amends, here it is again. http://londonhibs.goalrun.com/ (hope I’ve got it right this time Ollie )
Fixtures and reports are on there and, as I’ve said before to our members, it’d be a good thing to go along and see the team on a Sunday afternoon.
Let me know if any of you fancy it and we can hook up and go along.

7) AOB
------------
It was absolutely brilliant to see Rose McEwan back among us again at Quinns for the Hibs v Jambo’s game.
You’ve been sorely missed Rose but take your time getting back to full match fitness..... OK sweetheart ?

Well, Ladies and Gentlemen, thats about it for now.

All the very best and hope to see you soon.

Mike Prior

this month...

STOP PRESS!

Meeting Details

Quinns Map

London Hibs Direct...

Click below to get an email when this site is updated.

Click to subscribe to londonhibs