View Full Version : Good luck Scotland

07-10-2007, 06:32 PM
Let the feel good factor continue and get in about the Argies.

07-10-2007, 06:55 PM
what channel?

07-10-2007, 06:58 PM
what channel?

ITV now.

07-10-2007, 06:59 PM
ITV now.

thanks man. :thumbsup:

keyser Soze
07-10-2007, 07:17 PM
What a ****ing kick. :thumbsup:

07-10-2007, 07:17 PM
superb penalty from the half-way line by dan parks 3-0 :greengrin

woodythehibee
07-10-2007, 07:24 PM
how far did scotland get in the last world cup?

and what were the realistic expectations before this one?

i'm not up on the egg chasing..

07-10-2007, 07:25 PM
wish nathan hines wid stop his high tackles :brickwall

07-10-2007, 07:28 PM
This is riveting..... :yawn:

Hank Schrader
07-10-2007, 07:33 PM
This is riveting..... :yawn:

Thats why I am watching Top Gear:agree: Had bore written all over it

keyser Soze
07-10-2007, 07:34 PM
F-ing twat. :brickwall

07-10-2007, 07:34 PM
the scottish schoolboy errors are still there for all to see :agree::brickwall:brickwall

07-10-2007, 07:35 PM
Lamont is having a shocker, he has gifted them 10 points

07-10-2007, 07:35 PM
Try Argentina. 11-3.

Converted 13-3.

Scottish defence (if you can call Dan Parks Scottish) pretty pathetic.

Hank Schrader
07-10-2007, 07:40 PM
**** sake:bitchy:

07-10-2007, 07:40 PM
well done mr reliable :agree::greengrin 6-13

keyser Soze
07-10-2007, 07:56 PM
:brickwall

NaeTechnoHibby
07-10-2007, 07:56 PM
This is crap Scotland :bitchy:

Attack them now....

07-10-2007, 07:57 PM
yet another error 6-16 oh dear :boo hoo::brickwall:brickwall

07-10-2007, 07:58 PM
fs why was lamont not taken off at HT

07-10-2007, 07:59 PM
Wtf is Shaun Lamont up to, he is having a nightmare:bitchy:

07-10-2007, 08:01 PM
Shanked that one. :bitchy:

07-10-2007, 08:01 PM
jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeezus gawd parks :brickwall wtf

07-10-2007, 08:03 PM
Wtf is Shaun Lamont up to, he is having a nightmare:bitchy:

I was in the process of typing something along these lines but decided not to because it sounded like name dropping. I speak to him on a regular basis and he's a great bloke but he is on another planet tonight.

07-10-2007, 08:03 PM
jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeezus gawd parks :brickwall wtf

Commentators cursed him there, saying he was 6 from 6 which is amazing as he is only used for the long kicks

NaeTechnoHibby
07-10-2007, 08:04 PM
This as nervous an affair as the Italy game :bitchy:

Scotland have to throw caution to the wind :agree:

07-10-2007, 08:05 PM
Commentators cursed him there, saying he was 6 from 6 which is amazing as he is only used for the long kicks..... i think he only took that one because paterson was still a bit dizzy from the two tackles on him that got the penalty :agree:

07-10-2007, 08:06 PM
..... i think he only took that one because paterson was still a bit dizzy from the two tackles on him that got the penalty :agree:

Parks takes all the long ones, he scored 1 from a similar position in the 1st half

07-10-2007, 08:06 PM
This as nervous an affair as the Italy game :bitchy:

Scotland have to throw caution to the wind :agree:

If they do, they're sure to knock-on. :cool2:

07-10-2007, 08:07 PM
sheer luck by the argentenian kicker there:agree: just not gonna be our nite me thinks.

edit: game over :-(

but at least we are winning the handling errors 7-5 :boo hoo:

couple of subs :greengrin hope they are JC inspired

NaeTechnoHibby
07-10-2007, 08:11 PM
We need a more exspansive game.

We need to run at them and see if they can deal with that...

If we can get the ball, that is :bitchy:

07-10-2007, 08:12 PM
'Scottish' players look thick and muscle-bound, IMO. :cool2:

keyser Soze
07-10-2007, 08:17 PM
YOU ****ING DANCER :thumbsup:

about time

NaeTechnoHibby
07-10-2007, 08:18 PM
They are not the team I used to watch :bitchy:

Yess...

A try :thumbsup:

Referee checking :thumbsup:

07-10-2007, 08:18 PM
whoohooooooooooooooooooo at long last :thumbsup:and a bit o luck for the conversion :cool2:

07-10-2007, 08:19 PM
About time.

07-10-2007, 08:21 PM
C'mon, 1 converted try. just need to cut oot the stupid mistakes.

Edit: just as i type that we go and make another stupid error:brickwall

get both the lamonts off and just play wae 13 :agree::brickwall

AJWisme
C'mon, 1 converted try. just need to cut oot the stupid mistakes.

Who are these commentators? "Paris poodle"? :cool2:

Ivan Drago
07-10-2007, 08:23 PM
Come on Scotland :thumbsup:

AJWisme
07-10-2007, 08:32 PM
fantastic kick!

superb kick by paterson

At last we get into their half, 7 mins to go

07-10-2007, 08:34 PM
typical scotland, great kick then erse up the line out:bitchy:

07-10-2007, 08:35 PM
one last push come onnnnnnnnnnnn

AJWisme
another great kick

what a freaking kick from parks :thumbsup:

keyser Soze
Thank ****, thought he'd missed that.

Cmon good lineout this time please.

07-10-2007, 08:36 PM
typical scotland, great kick then erse up the line out:bitchy:

they have a second chance. 2 minutes to go.

keyser Soze
07-10-2007, 08:37 PM
Stupid idea. :brickwall

Ivan Drago
Game over :boo hoo:

made an erse o it

It appears they've screwed up again. :bitchy:

what a waste :brickwall:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall

keyser Soze
07-10-2007, 08:39 PM
Game over. :brickwall

Blew it big time.

aaaarrrrrrrrrggggggggghhhhhhhhh so frustrating:brickwall:brickwall

That team is a national embarrassment. :bitchy:

NaeTechnoHibby
07-10-2007, 08:41 PM
Well done to the Argies :agree:

Scotland have been pish in this WC:bitchy:

07-10-2007, 08:41 PM
not that it matters now but, who was it that kicked the ball over to the line to try get a try ? :asshole:

keyser Soze
07-10-2007, 08:42 PM
not that it matters now but, who was it that kicked the ball over to the line to try get a try ? :asshole:

Dan Parks.

07-10-2007, 08:43 PM
That team is a national embarrassment. :bitchy:

Hardly. A poor result tonight but a national embarrassment. Get a grip.:bye:

fife hfc
07-10-2007, 08:43 PM
****ing pish:brickwall

Far too conservative and wait till the last few minutes to have a go. very
p!ssed off if you are going out at least give it a go.

NaeTechnoHibby
07-10-2007, 08:45 PM

Think you missed the sarcascm :greengrin

fife hfc
07-10-2007, 08:46 PM
Christ i watched Edinburgh for a few seasons under Hadden and he had them throwing the ball wide at every opportunity. tonight we needed to do that and he plays a scared *****e rugby match. what a clown.

07-10-2007, 08:48 PM
Doubt they will ever have a better opporchancity:greengrin to get to a World Cup semi, Argentina were there for the taking and we blew it by making far too many mistakes and not playing for the 1st hour. :brickwall:brickwall

07-10-2007, 08:49 PM
Think you missed the sarcascm :greengrin

I hope so!

NaeTechnoHibby
07-10-2007, 08:50 PM
Doubt they will ever have a better opporchancity:greengrin to get to a World Cup semi, Argentina were there for the taking and we blew it by making far too many mistakes and not playing for the 1st hour. :brickwall:brickwall

Agree :agree:

We should have attacked them earlier IMO :agree:

keyser Soze
07-10-2007, 08:52 PM
Christ i watched Edinburgh for a few seasons under Hadden and he had them throwing the ball wide at every opportunity. tonight we needed to do that and he plays a scared *****e rugby match. what a clown.

Only time they did it all game and Cusiter got a try.

07-10-2007, 08:55 PM

Really? They managed to beat, let's see, Portugal, Italy (just) and Romania.

They chucked the game against New Zealand by picking a below-strength side, and they didn't turn up tonight until less than twenty minutes from time (Gregor Townsend's opinion, not mine).

I'd say that's pretty embarrassing.

07-10-2007, 08:57 PM
Dan Parks.

Which part of Scotland does he come from exactly? :cool2:

07-10-2007, 09:00 PM
Dan Parks....

cheers :aok: all-in-all pretty disappointing we didn't start showing some urgency until time was running out :agree: only upside is we didn't get clobbered by them(like some people thought we would) :agree: so many "IF only's" :boo hoo::brickwall

NaeTechnoHibby
07-10-2007, 09:02 PM

They chucked the game against New Zealand by picking a below-strength side, and they didn't turn up tonight until less than twenty minutes from time (Gregor Townsend's opinion, not mine).

I see where you coming from :agree:

Howevet Scotland lost it tonight by lacking any real threat up-front :agree:

We need to attack teams,...............that's our forte in Rugby :agree:

Pish poor WC this year :bitchy:

Far too defensive :bitchy:

07-10-2007, 09:05 PM

I'd say that's pretty embarrassing....

portugal= it was there first game in the WC and were out to prove they were no mugs good win for scotland

italy= no mugs at rugby by any stretch of the imagination another good win

romania= as portugal, thought they would have given us a right hard game but they didnt

all-blacks i concur :greengrin

07-10-2007, 09:09 PM

Regarding 1 & 3, well you can only beat what's in front of you.

Regarding New Zealand, I can understand the picking of that team ie avoidance of injuries/fatigue in a game we were unlikely to get anything from and little benefit of winning anyway (play France rather than Argentina. I know who i'd prefer if I had the choice before hand).

Regarding Italy. Granted Italy are not a great team but we did lose the last game we played against them so had to treat them with respect. We got our tactics right on the day and got through to play an Argentinian side who beat France in the first game.

Granted, Scotland in the past should have and would have waltzed past Italy and Argentina but you can only P*ss with the cock you've got and we don't have the best options available at the moment (see this years 6 nations).

Embarassment, I don't think so, but opinions eh.:cool:

07-10-2007, 09:11 PM
I was in the process of typing something along these lines but decided not to because it sounded like name dropping. I speak to him on a regular basis and he's a great bloke but he is on another planet tonight.

He had a bit of a mare against Romania as well. The tournament hasn't been his finest moment.

keyser Soze
07-10-2007, 09:14 PM
Which part of Scotland does he come from exactly? :cool2:

The same part as Nigel Quashie i think. :greengrin

07-10-2007, 09:14 PM
He had a bit of a mare against Romania as well. The tournament hasn't been his finest moment.

I know mate. I agree but I think I'll just leave it.:greengrin

07-10-2007, 09:17 PM

portugal= it was there first game in the WC and were out to prove they were no mugs good win for scotland

italy= no mugs at rugby by any stretch of the imagination another good win

romania= as portugal, thought they would have given us a right hard game but they didnt

all-blacks i concur :greengrin

Those were games we ought to have won anyway. Portugal aren't a serious Rugby power by any stretch of the imagination. Romania was probably the best performance, and against Italy they did just enough.

But when the coach openly chooses a second team against NZ, and the commentators openly rfer to the fact that 'Scotland' won't be trying (Douglas Nicol used the expression 'throwing the game') there's something wrong. Murrayfield was well-filled by people who had paid good money to watch the game. They deserved better.

Tonight they were embarrassing.

07-10-2007, 09:25 PM
Those were games we ought to have won anyway. Portugal aren't a serious Rugby power by any stretch of the imagination. Romania was probably the best performance, and against Italy they did just enough.

But when the coach openly chooses a second team against NZ, and the commentators openly rfer to the fact that 'Scotland' won't be trying (Douglas Nicol used the expression 'throwing the game') there's something wrong. Murrayfield was well-filled by people who had paid good money to watch the game. They deserved better.

Tonight they were embarrassing.

I know the paying public deserved a better performance but to be fair it was the worst kept secret that Scotland were going to do this.

What was the benefit of Scotland going all out for a victory?

To be honest I wanted to go along to the All Blacks game just to see them, really not caring what the score was as it was not important.

07-10-2007, 10:16 PM
I know the paying public deserved a better performance but to be fair it was the worst kept secret that Scotland were going to do this.

What was the benefit of Scotland going all out for a victory?

To be honest I wanted to go along to the All Blacks game just to see them, really not caring what the score was as it was not important.

The years of my youth were spent at a rugby-playing school where we were constantly lectured by the sadistic dwarf who taught the game that 'soccer' players were (I quote) 'nancy-boys and cheats'. Well, if Alec McLeish or any other Scotland 'soccer' manager had approached an international match in such a cynical spirit he would have been booed out of the stadium, and rightly so. A boxer approaching a bout in that spirit would lose his licence. A jockey would quite possibly have the heavy mob set on him by the bookies he'd cheated.

I've seen a few pretty cynical performances in the FIFA World Cup over the years, but I've never actually heard the team officials and the country's commentators confirming the fact that a team wouldn't be trying before.

That team no longer has any real connection with Scotland. Too many antipodean second-raters, too little contact with the (rapidly shrinking) rugby-playing community, and an over-riding attitude of money-grubbing greed that makes Blatter and UEFA look like angels.

Once upon a time I enjoyed watching rugby. Two Grand Slams in less than ten years, and teams that had a real pride in representing THEIR country. That's the first match I've watched in this World Cup, and I'm very glad I didn't waste any more of my time watching the others. the SRU ought to be ashamed of the way they've destroyed what was once a healthy spectator/participant sport at all levels in this country.

I say it again - they're a disgrace and an embarrassment to Scotland.

AndyP
10-10-2007, 06:02 PM
That team no longer has any real connection with Scotland. Too many antipodean second-raters, too little contact with the (rapidly shrinking) rugby-playing community, and an over-riding attitude of money-grubbing greed that makes Blatter and UEFA look like angels.

Just out of interest do you know how many of the Scotland World Cup Squad were Aus/NZ/Saffers :confused:

west_didsbury_hibee
10-10-2007, 07:48 PM
10 of the 31 man squad weren't born in Scotland. 2 in Australia, 1 in Hong Kong and the rest in England.

AndyP
10-10-2007, 08:13 PM
10 of the 31 man squad weren't born in Scotland. 2 in Australia, 1 in Hong Kong and the rest in England.

So not exactly the overwhelming numbers of Antipodeans that Doddie was insinuating had infested the team this WC :devil: