View Full Version : Paul Gascoigne SFA Hall Of Fame

05-10-2018, 07:07 AM
I assumed this was an April fools joke when i heard Gascoigne was being inducted then remembered it was October. A wife beating alcoholic whos most famous goal was against Scotland. He only played 70 odd games for Rangers. Great way to end a calamitous few weeks for the governing bodies in this country. Embarrassing.

05-10-2018, 07:13 AM
But he played for ra Gers!! Pretty shocking if you ask me. There are more deserving people than him I would suggest

05-10-2018, 07:16 AM
What a ****ing joke! A total waster.

05-10-2018, 07:19 AM
I was going to say that I have no issue with this whatsoever.

The precedent for non Scots was set with the inclusion of Brian Laudrup.

Then I presumed this was exclusively about the individual's (or collective's) contribution to Scottish Football but I saw that McCrae's Battallion are also in there and I'm not sure I can see what their contribution to football was. Contribution to heroism or self-sacrifice and brotherhood perhaps - but football? So if the McCrae's inclusion means that lives outside of football are taken into account then Gascoigne is, shall we say, a blurrier picture. Maybe I'm missing something there.

However if it's only about his contribution in those 70 odd games then he strolls into the Hall of Fame. The booking the referee incident alone takes him a fair way down the path never mind his actual football gifts. Every time I saw him play against us I hated it because he was so, so good. And at least, unlike Laudrup, he wasn't a cheating diving *******.

Heckys Wheel
05-10-2018, 07:22 AM
Easily in the top 5 best players I’ve seen in Scotland. Probably in the top 3.

05-10-2018, 07:25 AM
Easily in the top 5 best players I’ve seen in Scotland. Probably in the top 3.

The top five players you've seen playing in Scotland - of any nationality, but playing for Scottish teams only? That's a pretty tough one.

05-10-2018, 07:28 AM
I was going to say that I have no issue with this whatsoever.

The precedent for non Scots was set with the inclusion of Brian Laudrup.

Then I presumed this was exclusively about the individual's (or collective's) contribution to Scottish Football but I saw that McCrae's Battallion are also in there and I'm not sure I can see what their contribution to football was. Contribution to heroism or self-sacrifice and brotherhood perhaps - but football? So if the McCrae's inclusion means that lives outside of football are taken into account then Gascoigne is, shall we say, a blurrier picture. Maybe I'm missing something there.

However if it's only about his contribution in those 70 odd games then he strolls into the Hall of Fame. The booking the referee incident alone takes him a fair way down the path never mind his actual football gifts. Every time I saw him play against us I hated it because he was so, so good. And at least, unlike Laudrup, he wasn't a cheating diving *******.

I get what you're saying. He was a magnificent footballer but surely morality needs to come in to it. I think it's really poor from the SFA

05-10-2018, 07:28 AM
He played some magnificent games for Rangers against us, and is one of a handful of players in my time watching Scottish football who has genuinely stood out from the rest.

He copped quite a lot of abuse for coming North when he was still capable of doing a job in England but he seemed to relish playing in Scotland and enhanced the reputation of our game elsewhere as a result.

Well-deserved imo.

And yes, he has done several things off the park that I very much disapprove of.

05-10-2018, 07:30 AM
He was a fantastic player. Hated him when he was doing it against us but he was the type of entertainer fans should want to see.

His off field antics have been debated many times and I'm not getting into that as no one is ever going to change their opinion.

05-10-2018, 07:32 AM
Having a look at the entrants to this hall of fame, like everything else at the SFA it looks very ‘rangerscentric’ and so no surprise he is getting in. Personally can think of hundreds of players who desrve in before this deadbeat but in truth couldn’t give a **** about anything involving the discredited SFA.

05-10-2018, 07:35 AM
Maybe got it as an apology from the SFA for having the vision foresight and sense of humour to show a Referee the yellow card and getting booked for having the sheer audacity in a match against HIBS at Ibroke.

I forget the score :greengrin

https://youtu.be/dZN_Sx9SU-0

05-10-2018, 07:38 AM
I assumed this was an April fools joke when i heard Gascoigne was being inducted then remembered it was October. A wife beating alcoholic whos most famous goal was against Scotland. He only played 70 odd games for Rangers. Great way to end a calamitous few weeks for the governing bodies in this country. Embarrassing.

George Best alcoholic.

Marvin Bartley found guilty of threatening to ruin a females life after spilling the beans on his affair with her.

Martin Boyle found guilty of drink driving.

Take a look at your own club 1st, that's if you are a Hi bby, before slating others.

Whether or not you agree with the hall of fame on talent alone since I started watching football he is in the top 5.

05-10-2018, 07:39 AM
I get what you're saying. He was a magnificent footballer but surely morality needs to come in to it. I think it's really poor from the SFA

If you're going down the morality path you would remove quite a number of very significant figures already in that Hall of Fame, some of them for reasons which you wouldn't put in writing for legal reasons. What pops into my head here is 'he who is without sin'.

That's why I am making the point that this is either about just football or it's not. If it is just football then he's straight in, but there are others who shouldn't be. If it isn't then he's out but so are a ****load of others too.

Really poor from the SFA is just a given generally, it should be their formal motto.

05-10-2018, 07:41 AM
George Best alcoholic.

Marvin Bartley found guilty of threatening to ruin a females life after spilling the beans on his affair with her.

Take a look at your own club 1st, that's if you are a Hi bby, before slating others.

Whether or not you agree with the hall of fame on talent alone since I started watching football he is in the top 5.

I love a LTYF as much as the next person but not quite sure what he posted to deserve that?

05-10-2018, 07:58 AM
Gazza is a bit of an idiot but what a player.

05-10-2018, 08:22 AM
George Best alcoholic.

Thats if I'm a Hibby? George best isn't in the SFA hall of fame. Either is Bartley or Boyle. I know my own club thanks.

05-10-2018, 08:22 AM
George Best alcoholic.

Projecting, are we? :hmmm:

05-10-2018, 08:30 AM
Paul Gascoine probably played his best football during his spell in Scotland, and when he was at his best he could be unplayable. Hugely entertaining to watch and made a big impact up here. I can’t really argue against his induction to be honest.

05-10-2018, 08:32 AM
Does he get an award with this honour?

Magnum of champagne, perhaps.

Chic Murray
05-10-2018, 09:21 AM

Are Hughie Gallacher, and Jim Baxter in this hall? It's their football that's being celebrated not their life away from it.

People can usually tell the difference, so I am comfy enough with some reprehensible characters off the pitch, to be remembered for what they did on it.

05-10-2018, 09:33 AM
YearNameRef
2004Jim Baxter[5]
2004Billy Bremner[5]
2004Matt Busby[5]
2004Kenny Dalglish[5]
2004Alex Ferguson[5]
2004Hughie Gallacher[5]
2004John Greig[5]
2004Jimmy Johnstone[5]
2004Denis Law[5]
2004Dave Mackay[5]
2004Danny McGrain[5]
2004Jimmy McGrory[5]
2004Billy McNeill[5]
2004Willie Miller[5]
2004Bobby Murdoch[5]
2004Bill Shankly[5]
2004Gordon Smith[5]
2004Graeme Souness[5]
2004Jock Stein[5]
2004Willie Woodburn[5]
2005Charles Campbell[6]
2005Alex James[6]
2005Joe Jordan[6]
2005Bobby Lennox[6]
2005Jim McLean[6]
2005Alex McLeish[6]
2005Alan Morton[6]
2005Lawrie Reilly[6]
2005William Waddell[6]
2005John White[6]
2005George Young[6]
2006Davie Cooper[2]
2006Tommy Gemmell[2]
2006Richard Gough[2]
2006Willie Henderson[2]
2006Sandy Jardine[2]
2006Henrik Larsson[2]
2006Brian Laudrup[2]
2006Willie Ormond[2]
2006John Robertson[2]
2006Billy Steel[2]
2006Tommy Walker[2]
2007Willie Bauld[3]
2007Eric Caldow[3]
2007Jimmy Cowan[3]
2007Alan Hansen[3]
2007Ally McCoist[3]
2007Rose Reilly[3]
2007Walter Smith[3]
2007Gordon Strachan[3]
2007Eddie Turnbull[3]
2008Bobby Evans[1]
2008Archie Gemmill[1]
2008Derek Johnstone[1]
2008Jim Leighton[1]
2008Billy Liddell[1]
2008Ian St. John[1]
2008Bill Struth[1]
2008John Thomson[1]
2009Steve Archibald[7]
2009Bertie Auld[7]
2009Jimmy Delaney[7]
2009Alan Gilzean[7]
2009Mo Johnston[7]
2009Paul Lambert[7]
2009Willie Maley[7]
2009David Meiklejohn[7]
2010Craig Brown[8]
2010Andy Goram[8]
2010Bobby Johnstone[8]
2010Paul McStay[8]
2010David Narey[8]
2010Tiny Wharton[8]
2011Terry Butcher[9]
2011Pat Crerand[9]
2011Robert Smyth McColl[9]
2011Ronnie Simpson[9]
2012Pat Stanton[10]
2012Bob McPhail[10]
2012Gordon McQueen[10]
2012Frank McLintock[10]
2012Andrew Watson[10]
2013Bobby Walker[11]
2013Eddie Gray[11]
2013Alan Rough[11]
2013Scot Symon[11]
2013Martin Buchan[11]
2013Tommy Docherty[11]
2014Bill Brown[4]
2014Peter Lorimer[4]
2014McCrae's Battalion[4]
2014Davie Wilson[4]
2014Charlie Nicholas[4]
2015Bobby Brown[12]
2015George Graham[12]
2015Stewart Hillis[12]
2015Ally MacLeod[12]
2015Maurice Malpas[12]
2016Stevie Chalmers[13]
2016John Wark[13]
2016Gary McAllister[13]
2016Jock Wallace, Jr.[13]
2016Alex Smith[13]
2017John Clark[14]
2017Willie Wallace[14]
2017Jim Craig[14]
2017John McGovern[14]
2017Allan McGraw[14]
2017Archie Macpherson[14]
2017Queen's Park[14]
2017Lisbon Lions

Hall of Fame rather than Scottish Greats. Suspect that part of it will be a nod to the commercial side

05-10-2018, 09:44 AM
Can’t see the issue on this one.

Barman Stanton
05-10-2018, 09:50 AM
Along with Laudrup and Larsson he is a player I am glad I got to see in the flesh regularly. Definitely a flawed personality but then many genius's. Have no problem at all him being in the hall of fame.

Barman Stanton
05-10-2018, 09:52 AM
George Best alcoholic.

Certainly doesn't sound like you are a "Hi bby"!?

05-10-2018, 09:58 AM
George Best alcoholic.

Whether or not you agree with the hall of fame on talent alone since I started watching football he is in the top 5.See your point but none of the above are inducted into the hall of fame so the comparison is irrelevant

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Gloucester Hibs
05-10-2018, 10:03 AM
Looking in terms of notable Hibs absentees from that list - No Joe Baker?

05-10-2018, 10:04 AM
The huns signed him just after i started to get into fitbaw , i cant honestly think of anyone thats lit up the league like he did since then . Nobody could get near him

05-10-2018, 10:12 AM
Gascoigne’s best moment in Scottish football was his ‘yellow carding’ on the referee in a match against Hibs.

05-10-2018, 10:17 AM
Who’s this embarrassing for?

What a weird opening post. If Gazza had played for anyone other than an old firm team you wouldn’t have had a problem with it.

Still, it gave you another chance to have a pop at the SFA so all is good eh.

05-10-2018, 10:18 AM
I just feel uneasy about it to be honest. I'm definitely no angel and have made mistakes in my life but i feel it's sending out the wrong message. The only one on the list i know of who had a "colourful past" similar to Gascoigne is Jimmy Johnstone. Absolutely don't condone his past either. It's maybe one of these things i should keep to myself instead of sharing it on here as everyone will have a different opinion which i completely respect.

InchHibby
05-10-2018, 10:20 AM
Having a look at the entrants to this hall of fame, like everything else at the SFA it looks very ‘rangerscentric’ and so no surprise he is getting in. Personally can think of hundreds of players who desrve in before this deadbeat but in truth couldn’t give a **** about anything involving the discredited SFA.

You took the words right out of my mouth.

05-10-2018, 10:20 AM
I just feel uneasy about it to be honest. I'm definitely no angel and have made mistakes in my life but i feel it's sending out the wrong message. The only one on the list i know of who had a "colourful past" similar to Gascoigne is Jimmy Johnstone. Absolutely don't condone his past but either. It's maybe one of these things i should keep to myself instead of sharing it on here as everyone will have a different opinion which i completely respect.

It's a perfectly reasonable opinion and it has stimulated discussion. Nothing wrong with that.

Just don't be too surprised when a number of people disagree with you.

05-10-2018, 10:21 AM
Why Gascoigne and not Sauzee?

05-10-2018, 10:25 AM
Don't see the problem. As others have said, he was one of the most sensational players to grace Scottish football.

His illness and off-field antics as a result shouldn't factor into his achievements as part of what was a pretty accomplished Rangers side at the time.

But carry on with the insults, name-calling and jokes about his alcoholism if that's better fare - personally, I find it all a bit low brow.

05-10-2018, 10:26 AM
This is an absolute joke. What has he done for the betterment of our game? Really?

I think of great past Hibernians who didn't get such an accolade and can only think it's because of his name. Boozing, wife-beater who had his twilight days at Gers.... total disgrace imo. Shameful in fact!

05-10-2018, 10:27 AM

Indeed!

05-10-2018, 10:49 AM
Apologies if you don't agree, but I think the SFA Hall of Fame should recognise Scottish players. I'm not denying that some of the imports have done lots of great things for Scottish Football, such as Larsson, Laudrup etc but I don't think they should recognise imports in this way.

Barman Stanton
05-10-2018, 10:53 AM
Indeed!

As much as I love Sauzee, and he is my favourite Hibs player player of all time he doesn't have anywhere near the iconic status of Gazza. Also Gazza was instrumental in Rangers winning a treble, did he not score a hat trick to win the league. That's not saying Sauzee couldn't be included as well.

I think people forget how good Gazza was. He was one of the best players at Italia 90.

OsloHibs
05-10-2018, 11:11 AM
One of the best players I've seen play live. Like others, I don't have a problem with this.

05-10-2018, 11:16 AM

Gascoigne played in Scotland at the peak of his powers.
Came to Scotland when 27 or 28

Sauzee came to Hibs when he was 33 or 34, great but well past his best

05-10-2018, 11:20 AM
Surely just a matter of time till Sir David Gray is added 😜
No problem with Gazza but fin Terry Butcher 😡
Joe Baker must be on this list ,, no ?
Also Le God and George Best should also be on it . Imo.

patlowe
05-10-2018, 11:25 AM
I personally think if you are giving this accolade to non-Scots then there are many more deserving recipients than someone who only played 74 games here and did not contribute anything positive outside of his own performances. You could even argue that a guy like Russell Latapy has contributed far more to Scottish football.

05-10-2018, 11:32 AM
i dislike the SFA more as each week passes

05-10-2018, 11:33 AM
George Best alcoholic.

Are any of the above in the hall fame :wink:

05-10-2018, 11:35 AM

I love Sauzee as much as the next man but Sauzee not being in the Hall of Fame doesn’t make Gascoigne’s entry invalid.

05-10-2018, 11:43 AM
This is an absolute joke. What has he done for the betterment of our game? Really?

I think of great past Hibernians who didn't get such an accolade and can only think it's because of his name. Boozing, wife-beater who had his twilight days at Gers.... total disgrace imo. Shameful in fact!

Twilight days? He signed for Rangers at 28 and played in the English Premier league for 4 more seasons after leaving Rangers .

hhibs
05-10-2018, 11:43 AM
Looking in terms of notable Hibs absentees from that list - No Joe Baker?

Aye,really beyond belief that .ffffffffffffffffffffffffing..................GFA

05-10-2018, 11:44 AM

If he had the brains to match his talent he would have given Stephen Hawkins a run for his money.

05-10-2018, 11:47 AM
Gascoigne’s best moment in Scottish football was his ‘yellow carding’ on the referee in a match against Hibs.
Agree to a certain extent.

See my earlier post

Just put it out there tongue in cheek but the more you look at it the more ridiculous it looks.

Even the HIBS players are telling the ref not to be a prick!

I read somewhere it was the Refs first grade one game so was probably being observed by an SFA observer and was looking to be seen to be doing everything by the book but even though common sense flies straight out the window

Nothing has changed

delbert
05-10-2018, 11:50 AM

They should just go all the way and when listing his achievements, be sure to mention his humanitarian work in turning up with a packed lunch for Raol Moat !!

05-10-2018, 12:24 PM
jimmy five bellies is wanting added as well

05-10-2018, 12:29 PM
Wonder how his life would have turned out if he's signed for Man U instead of Spurs.

Barman Stanton
05-10-2018, 12:32 PM
Wonder how his life would have turned out if he's signed for Man U instead of Spurs.

Totally different I would have thought. Moving to London was a really stupid decision for Gazza. And Fergie tended to get the best out of troubled players, Cantona being a good example.

southfieldhibby
05-10-2018, 12:37 PM
Considering his most famous goal is probably the one at Wembley against Scotland, he's beaten up his wife, been caught singing sectarian songs and enjoys playing an imaginary flute, I'm a wee bit surprised by this.

Tremendous footballer, not such a great human.

Laudrup and Larsson both worthy entrants.

Personally always thought Laudrup was the better player.

05-10-2018, 01:16 PM
I think they need to publish what the entry criteria are for a Hall of Famer.

Removing the requirement to actually be Scottish (a truly stupid decision) must open the floodgates for a lot of deserving footballers who just happened to play in Scotland,

e.g. was Gascoine really better than George Best? Or Frank Sauzee?

05-10-2018, 01:23 PM
Gascoigne's a total welt but if the SFA want this I couldn't care less

In fact, anything the SFA does nowadays doesn't surprise me

Barman Stanton
05-10-2018, 01:33 PM
I think they need to publish what the entry criteria are for a Hall of Famer.

Removing the requirement to actually be Scottish (a truly stupid decision) must open the floodgates for a lot of deserving footballers who just happened to play in Scotland,

e.g. was Gascoine really better than George Best? Or Frank Sauzee?

George Best Im not so sure. But unfortunately I think he was probably a fair bit better than Sauzee. Gazza was probably one of the best midfielders in the World for a couple of years.

05-10-2018, 01:49 PM
Thats if I'm a Hibby? George best isn't in the SFA hall of fame. Either is Bartley or Boyle. I know my own club thanks.

I never said they were.
My point is you were going on about him being a wife beater, when we have a few colourful characters ourselves.

05-10-2018, 02:10 PM
I never said they were.
My point is you were going on about him being a wife beater, when we have a few colourful characters ourselves.
There's colourful & there's a woman coming out of a hotel with a black eye & an arm in a sling, hardly the same.

05-10-2018, 02:12 PM
There's colourful & there's a woman coming out of a hotel with a black eye & an arm in a sling, hardly the same.

Also arrested recently for sexual assault. He just doesn't help himself. Never has.

Chic Murray
05-10-2018, 02:16 PM
I just feel uneasy about it to be honest. I'm definitely no angel and have made mistakes in my life but i feel it's sending out the wrong message. The only one on the list i know of who had a "colourful past" similar to Gascoigne is Jimmy Johnstone. Absolutely don't condone his past either. It's maybe one of these things i should keep to myself instead of sharing it on here as everyone will have a different opinion which i completely respect.

Think you're being a bit harsh, there are much worse things.

05-10-2018, 02:27 PM
Gazza is probably up there in the top 20 players of all time and deserves to be mentioned alongside the likes of Best.

Sorry, but Sauzee doesn’t even come close and if he’d never played for us no one would even remember him.

Everyone in Britain, if not Europe, who likes football will have heard of Gazza.

05-10-2018, 02:48 PM
Is Pat Stanton on it?

05-10-2018, 02:54 PM
Is Pat Stanton on it?

Think he got in a few years ago

heidtheba
05-10-2018, 02:58 PM
I suppose it's like the way some of us think about George Best. I didn't see him play - 'twas before my time - but the excitement about him was about his profile rather than what he actually did. Best came when he was well past his prime, Gascoigne wasn't at his prime, but wasn't close to being past it. He was probably one of the top five highest profile players at the time and still has a name which means a lot.
Private life? Yeah, that's an issue.
I wonder if the SFA are doing this to remind the World that we did have some days when we were a much bigger proposition than we are now?

05-10-2018, 03:07 PM

What about Marvin Bartley.
Mental abuse is just as bad as physical abuse.

05-10-2018, 03:35 PM
Nomination for a Club or Associations Hall of Fame should be because of services above and beyond for that organisation.

They've turned this into a popularity contest and it stinks of Commercialism - The SFA/Hampden selling an event to their target market. Fans of that former Club they used to call Glasgow Rangers.

southfieldhibby
05-10-2018, 03:36 PM
Gazza is probably up there in the top 20 players of all time and deserves to be mentioned alongside the likes of Best.

Of all time? Like, in the history of world football? You're kidding, right?

Jackh
05-10-2018, 03:55 PM

Sorry, but Sauzee doesn’t even come close and if he’d never played for us no one would even remember him.

Everyone in Britain, if not Europe, who likes football will have heard of Gazza.

Finally some sense on this thread.

05-10-2018, 04:25 PM
Of all time? Like, in the history of world football? You're kidding, right?

Nope, not at all.

Did you ever watch him play?

Pele, Maradonna, Puskas, Best. Add a few more and that’s the company that Gazza could keep.

Barman Stanton
05-10-2018, 04:28 PM
Nope, not at all.

Pele, Maradonna, Puskas, Best. Add a few more and that’s the company that Gazza could keep.

During the World Cup I watched a lot of World Cup docs. The Italia 90 one showed just how good Gazza was. Def one of the best in the world at that stage.

Fuzzywuzzy
05-10-2018, 04:29 PM
Possibly top 20 English players but not world.

05-10-2018, 04:32 PM
You can name 19 English players better than Gazza?

I’d be struggling to think of 1 or 2!

Guess you’re going back to the likes of Stanley Matthews or similar?

He was a phenomenal player.

Platini, Beckenbaur, Dalglish - all great players but still not at his level.

05-10-2018, 04:37 PM
You can name 19 English players better than Gazza?

I’d be struggling to think of 1 or 2!

Guess you’re going back to the likes of Stanley Matthews or similar?

He was a phenomenal player.

You surely jest? All three you named were world class and had amazing careers. Gazza was a talented player, but his achievements pale into insignificance compared to these guys, particularly the latter two.

05-10-2018, 04:46 PM

Not a chance.

southfieldhibby
05-10-2018, 04:54 PM
Nope, not at all.

I’m 44 so I saw his entire career. Saw him play for Newcastle, Spurs and Rangers, he was pretty good.

But top 20 of all time is heady company, and I disagree. But equally I get that those lists are very personal.

05-10-2018, 04:56 PM

Anyone who knows football and saw Sauzee play, likes Franck Sauzee...think you are doing him a disservice there ....

05-10-2018, 05:01 PM
Not a chance.

Just an opinion, not stating it as a FACT :greengrin

My favourite of all time is Cantona.

At his peak I think he’s the best I’ve ever seen play. Appreciate that not many would agree.

05-10-2018, 05:10 PM
Top 20 of all time is a pretty big claim.

I suppose the difference with Gascoigne is that many of us have seen him play in the flesh. All of these other stars we saw less of with there being less football on tv.

We've not had many better or higher profile players come to ply their trade in Scotland, and a decent argument could be made that Rangers got the best football out of him.

And for all there are the undesirable aspects of what went on off the park, he was certainly a character who is spoken of very fondly by former team mates.

05-10-2018, 05:33 PM
I’ve nominated Joe Baker anumber of times both on the website and at Hampden at the museum.It’s disappointing that he has not made it when you see some of the players on the list.

TelaStella
05-10-2018, 05:33 PM
The same man who said Scotland didn’t have any footballers, just sheep***. Great work by the SFA yet again.

05-10-2018, 05:49 PM
I don't like the SFA, disapprove of Gascoigne and loath Huns RIP.

But I also saw Gascoigne play against us and he deserves to be in for the talent he showed up here.

05-10-2018, 06:05 PM
What about Marvin Bartley.
Mental abuse is just as bad as physical abuse.
Totally agree

Tom Hart RIP
05-10-2018, 06:07 PM
I’ve nominated Joe Baker anumber of times both on the website and at Hampden at the museum.It’s disappointing that he has not made it when you see some of the players on the list.

Me too. Not sure how many nominations are required but might be worth organising something next year

05-10-2018, 06:31 PM
Paul Gascoine probably played his best football during his spell in Scotland, and when he was at his best he could be unplayable. Hugely entertaining to watch and made a big impact up here. I can’t really argue against his induction to be honest.

He really was unplayable in almost all the games I saw him in, against us. I think, though it might be dodgy memory, that while he tormented Chris Jackson in at least one game, there was another (maybe the 1-0 win at Ibrox in 95), where Jackson had the complete measure of him.

As far as his nomination goes, in football terms he lit up the game at the time. His inclusion and the absence of others doesn't negate his inclusion, just means that maybe those others are also due a shot.

The comments about wife-beating and alcoholism - both are and have been so prevalent in Scottish society for as long as ever, that I would be astonished if every club didn't have a hero or heroes, let alone former or current players, who were guilty of the former and/or victims of the latter.

That says something a bit sad about society rather than football. Creating moral thresholds when judging football talent seems dangerous and very subjective - where do you draw the line?

05-10-2018, 07:37 PM
Can’t see the issue on this one.

Me neither. Guy was a fabulous talent when he played up here and a great entertainer.

05-10-2018, 07:40 PM

What about Willie Woodburn? A guy who was “sine-died” due to the number of times he was sent off.

05-10-2018, 07:45 PM
The governing bodies are against the huns apparently https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/3154169/rangers-paul-gascoigne-pope-ira-alloa/

05-10-2018, 08:16 PM
The governing bodies are against the huns apparently https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/3154169/rangers-paul-gascoigne-pope-ira-alloa/

The man’s a prick.

05-10-2018, 08:49 PM
What about Willie Woodburn? A guy who was “sine-died” due to the number of times he was sent off.
Yeh 4 times in a very long career.Changed days.

05-10-2018, 08:55 PM
Platini Beckenbaur and Dalglish all better than Gazza imo!

05-10-2018, 09:12 PM

I think it was the nature of some of the offences though. I used to speak to Lawrie Reilly a lot and he always said Woodburn was the best centre half he ever faced. They were also great pals.

05-10-2018, 10:07 PM
I think it was the nature of some of the offences though. I used to speak to Lawrie Reilly a lot and he always said Woodburn was the best centre half he ever faced. They were also great pals.
Yes his last sending off was for butting a young Stirling player.He became a football reporter and also had the garage at Longstone.Footballers in those days were very friendly off the park.Willie Waddell was Gordon Smith’s stockbroker.Hibs and Hearts players used to congregate in Mackies tearoom in Princes Street after training most mornings and were a magnet for kids with autograph books during school holidays.The doorman used to try and throw you out so the trick was to walk in close to a woman who might be your mother. Innocent days.

wpj
05-10-2018, 11:25 PM
George Best alcoholic.

Being an alcoholic is not a crime

05-10-2018, 11:34 PM
I never said they were.
My point is you were going on about him being a wife beater, when we have a few colourful characters ourselves.Are they in the hall of fame?

06-10-2018, 12:03 AM
Massive fail to have a non Scot in the hall.

06-10-2018, 12:04 AM
The top five players you've seen playing in Scotland - of any nationality, but playing for Scottish teams only? That's a pretty tough one.think he meant ……..long term friend of Jimmy five bellies.

06-10-2018, 07:49 AM

His very long career was with the huns, though. For a hun to be sent off four times is most certainly an extraordinary state of affairs.

06-10-2018, 10:51 AM
Are they in the hall of fame?

Nope. I never said they were.

06-10-2018, 10:54 AM
Massive fail to have a non Scot in the hall.

That will be at least 2 then.
As Butcher the FUD is also there.

06-10-2018, 10:58 AM
Being an alcoholic is not a crime

I also never said it was a crime. It was the OP who stated about Gazza being a wife beating alcoholic as per post below.

assumed this was an April fools joke when i heard Gascoigne was being inducted then remembered it was October. A wife beating alcoholic whos most famous goal was against Scotland. He only played 70 odd games for Rangers. Great way to end a calamitous few weeks for the governing bodies in this country. Embarrassing.

06-10-2018, 11:19 AM

You jest, surely.