View Full Version : Signings that turned out much better than first expected.

27-09-2018, 01:24 PM
Signings that exceeded expectation? Most recently, Kamberi for me.

27-09-2018, 01:30 PM
Martin Boyle. Went from a no-risk "seems ok, offers us something different" loan from Dundee to our best winger in ten years.

27-09-2018, 01:32 PM
David Gray.

27-09-2018, 01:33 PM
Gary Smith.

Signed temporarily as a stop-gap measure before going to on to establish himself as a very important player for us for the next few years.

You could say that around that time Didier Agathe did a bit better than expected as well........

27-09-2018, 01:34 PM
Kamberi. I definitely wrote him off before he kicked a ball.

1875M
27-09-2018, 01:39 PM
Bogdan - Looked a nervous wreck at Liverpool, and then Wigan at times but has proved me wrong. Rocky has a real fight to get the gloves back
Kamberi - His goal scoring record wasn't great before us but is a class player and will definitely go onto bigger things after us

Austinho
27-09-2018, 01:44 PM
Ivan Sproule immediately springs to mind. Paid 5k for a semi pro in Ireland. Went on to score at Celtic Park and a hat trick at Ibrox not long after, and then became a Cup winner with us. Fantastic gamble.

27-09-2018, 01:50 PM
Pat McGinlay who, although not bad, wasn't that impressive during his early days at ER.

27-09-2018, 01:52 PM
Paul Fenwick....classy defender who did us a good turn...

TheHarpy76
27-09-2018, 01:57 PM
Franck Sauzee.

Yes, I’m serious.

Thought he’d have been way past his best and while I thought he’d “do a job” I had no idea that he would be as brilliant as he was.

27-09-2018, 02:02 PM
From the current squad:

Flo - his record before us was pish

Boyle - a Dundee fan said he was the worst player he’d ever seen play professional football when he signed for us

Gray - I actually expected him to be average so I wasn’t totally writing him off but I didn’t expect him to be such a good player or to turn into the legend he now is.

Also:
Bamba - didn’t think a lot of him at Dunfermline but he’s had a superb career

McGinn - when he signed I actually didn’t really know anything about him other than he was coming from St Mirren. I just presumed he was a run of the mill player for them since he was dropping down a League when he signed.

hughio
27-09-2018, 02:03 PM
"Da da da da da da da da da .....EFE AMBROSE"

27-09-2018, 02:24 PM
David Murphy springs to mind.

I remember Mowbray coming in and adding what appeared to me to be a bunch of unknown kids to our already very youthful squad. WE NEED BETTER THAN THIS I remember ranting as we made an early exit from the inter-tonto cup. But I could not have been further off the mark as most of those signings were a big success with Murphy in particular turning out to be an excellent left back with a first touch that could only be described as sublime.

OsloHibs
27-09-2018, 02:26 PM
Liam Fontaine.

27-09-2018, 02:30 PM
I'm always open minded enough to know that high profile signings can be a big disappointment and vice versa, so haven't really been surprised by anyone for a long time due to that.

However, I didn't appreciate Mixu at all until we signed him. Thought he looked like a fat huddy when he was at Dundee Utd and Aberdeen (though I was very young and had a limited understanding of football at the time), and was pretty exasperated when we signed him as it looked like we were doomed to spend more than one season in the First Division after the horrible start that we had. However, he was probably the most important signing of that season, was the bullying target man (with no little skill) that we desperately needed.

Superb value for £75K as well.

Ryan69
27-09-2018, 02:32 PM
Jim Leighton.

Came from Dundees reserves....and manaaged to get more Scotland caps.

27-09-2018, 02:33 PM
David Murphy springs to mind.

I remember Mowbray coming in and adding what appeared to me to be a bunch of unknown kids to our already very youthful squad. WE NEED BETTER THAN THIS I remember ranting as we made an early exit from the inter-tonto cup. But I could not have been further off the mark as most of those signings were a big success with Murphy in particular turning out to be an excellent left back with a first touch that could only be described as sublime.

Saw Murphy play in the friendly against Leeds. Oozed class and stuck out like a sore thumb.

27-09-2018, 02:34 PM
Jackie MacNamara. Joined us in the deal that sent King Pat to Celtic. Obviously he was never as good as Pat but was an excellent player and great servant to the club.

27-09-2018, 02:36 PM
Liam Fontaine.

Watched him play in his first game for Hibs at Alloa, didn't think much of him, but he turned out to be a solid defender.

27-09-2018, 02:40 PM
I remember getting a text of a Falkirk-supporting mate of mine when we signed Kevin McBride that said "hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha - Kevin McBride!!"

He formed a good midfield partnership with Liam Miller at a time when we were playing some nice stuff, and he certainly exceeded the expectations I had when I read that text.

27-09-2018, 03:39 PM
Jackie Macnamara ,a run of the mill midfielder at Celtic transformed into a top notch defender.

27-09-2018, 03:49 PM
Justin Skinner

27-09-2018, 03:57 PM
Martin Boyle. Went from a no-risk "seems ok, offers us something different" loan from Dundee to our best winger in ten years.

More than 10 years IMO - would take boyle over sproule every time.

EDIT: except that one time, obviously!

27-09-2018, 03:59 PM
Des Bremner did no bad for a young laddie signed from Highland League side Deveronvale

:not worth

27-09-2018, 04:00 PM
I remember getting a text of a Falkirk-supporting mate of mine when we signed Kevin McBride that said "hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha - Kevin McBride!!"

He formed a good midfield partnership with Liam Miller at a time when we were playing some nice stuff, and he certainly exceeded the expectations I had when I read that text.

McBride was great until his injury, never reached his previous performance levels after that.

27-09-2018, 04:12 PM
Conrad Logan

Hibs1969
27-09-2018, 04:36 PM
Russell Latapy

John McGinn

Darren McGregor

27-09-2018, 05:08 PM
Conrad Logan

Oh aye, that guy!

27-09-2018, 05:16 PM
Gray. Stubbs first signing and thought he would be a ***** journeyman and here we go again. He hasn't done much for us mind..

Barman Stanton
27-09-2018, 05:22 PM
Big Mixu. Don’t remember many being impressed with him signing. Ended up being a great player for us, and of course that Hattrick.

27-09-2018, 05:46 PM
Chris Hogg and Rob Jones

TelaStella
27-09-2018, 07:01 PM
Russell Latapy

John McGinn

Darren McGregor

I seem to remember us having to battle off quite a few decent suitors including an MLS outfit for Mcginn’s signature after he had already built up quite an impressive name for himself at ST Mirren. Daz had also already proved just what he was about prior to joining us including finishing the huns player of the year in 14/15. Strange shouts tbh

Leith's finest
27-09-2018, 07:02 PM
George beastie Mcluskey

27-09-2018, 07:28 PM
Cumdog.

What good will come from signing a crocked teenager released by Hearts eh?

27-09-2018, 07:32 PM
I seem to remember us having to battle off quite a few decent suitors including an MLS outfit for Mcginn’s signature after he had already built up quite an impressive name for himself at ST Mirren. Daz had also already proved just what he was about prior to joining us including finishing the huns player of the year in 14/15. Strange shouts tbh

I suppose the comment would be less about expecting little of Daz and SJM but instead acknowledging the massive contribution made by the pair of them.

Did we honestly expect any of the 2015-2016 team to be the ones to lift the Scottish Cup?

Aim Here
27-09-2018, 07:41 PM
Bogdan - Looked a nervous wreck at Liverpool, and then Wigan at times but has proved me wrong. Rocky has a real fight to get the gloves back
Kamberi - His goal scoring record wasn't great before us but is a class player and will definitely go onto bigger things after us

His pre-Hibs record wasn't as bad as it looked at first glance. He was used as a sub and only got a few minutes per game, so his 4 goals in 40 games or whatever it was was was really more like 1 goal every 270 minutes or so, or 1 goal in 3 games worth of football.

Of course, not getting to start games is perhaps a sign in itself.

Tornadoes70
27-09-2018, 08:05 PM
'Jukebox' Gordon Durie signed from East Fife iirc who formed a fearsome front two partnership with Steve Cowan.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

27-09-2018, 08:23 PM
Craig Brewster. Left too soon.

villahibs
27-09-2018, 08:32 PM
Matty Jack

whereswallace?
27-09-2018, 09:02 PM
Chic Charnley

27-09-2018, 09:05 PM
Conrad Logan

Big Marv

28-09-2018, 12:02 AM
Conrad …..who?:greengrin

28-09-2018, 04:46 AM
Conrad Logan

“Holy ****, look at the size of him, this isn’t going to end well...”

28-09-2018, 11:02 AM

Exactly, had the Sunday league look about him, mouth dropped open when i saw the nick of him

thebausburst
28-09-2018, 11:35 AM
Chick Charnley

28-09-2018, 11:50 AM
Russel Latapy. I mind going to Somerset Park for what i think may have been his debut? and seeing him in the warm up and thinking he's far to small to make an impact in this division, 90 minutes later and I don't think he lost the ball or got tackled. What a player he was.

TheHarpy76
28-09-2018, 11:56 AM

I mind thinking that he was either going to be a hero or an utter nightmare. There was not going to be any in between with him.

28-09-2018, 01:35 PM
Mixu. Tremendous signing in both spells

JackHibs
28-09-2018, 02:02 PM
Malonaga for me, unplayable on his day

And McGinn, thought he would be very average - how wrong...

28-09-2018, 02:07 PM
Miquel Nelom. :greengrin

Mango Man
28-09-2018, 02:19 PM
Sol Bamba.

28-09-2018, 02:21 PM
Efe Ambrose.

Hibernian32
28-09-2018, 03:49 PM
If loans count Claros he was unreal against Celtic when griffiths scored at ER had wanyama in his pocket gutted we never got the pitbul back

28-09-2018, 04:00 PM
Liam Henderson
David Murphy
James Keatings
Grant Holt

eezyrider
28-09-2018, 04:29 PM
Ivan Sproule - was a fabrication engineer and part time footballer until he signed for us.

Jim Leighton - he was struggling to get game in Dundee Reserves before he came here - I believe the intention was that he would go into coaching and only be cover for the goalkeeping position.

Conrad Logan - I thought he would be a disaster but how he proved me wrong.

EZ

28-09-2018, 04:58 PM
Efe Ambrose.

Jury’s out....

😉😂

29-09-2018, 05:52 AM
Neil Lennon

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

29-09-2018, 06:25 AM
Graham Mitchell 10 years loyal service must be one of the best pound for years signings good reliable player cup winner tae :cup:

29-09-2018, 07:37 AM
Efe Ambrose, Martin Boyle and Florian Kamberi all spring immediately to mind.

I remember a couple of years ago not being bothered if Martin Boyle left us. How wrong I now am. The guy's been transformed under Lennon.

29-09-2018, 09:31 AM
Gotta be Conrad.

Close the thread, I don't think anyone saw that coming I remember the stick he got on here before kick off. Not one person saw that performance coming. Nobody, Nada!!!

29-09-2018, 09:36 AM
Gotta be Conrad.

Close the thread, I don't think anyone saw that coming I remember the stick he got on here before kick off. Not one person saw that performance coming. Nobody, Nada!!!

Certainly the quickest turnaround from "who is that fat unfit git waddling out?" to "hero of the hour" in just 120 minutes plus penalties.

29-09-2018, 12:36 PM
Adam Eckersley

Never put a foot wrong

29-09-2018, 12:42 PM
Adam Eckersley

Never put a foot wrong

Yup. Very consistent

Tornadoes70
29-09-2018, 12:56 PM
John Burridge 'Budgie'

A larger than life character. Who could possibly forget his outstanding performance in the famous midweek Skol Cup semi final win at Hampden against the Rangers. An unbelievable night that I was privileged to witness among the other 16 or 17 thousand Hi bees who made the trip through. A brilliant team performance with Budgie on top form.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

29-09-2018, 01:01 PM
John Burridge 'Budgie'

A larger than life character. Who could possibly forget his outstanding performance in the famous midweek Skol Cup semi final win at Hampden against the Rangers. An unbelievable night that I was privileged to witness among the other 16 or 17 thousand Hi bees who made the trip through. A brilliant team performance with Budgie on top form.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

He was the only HIBS player ever to do a lap of honour after every match for the fans just for turning up a true one off but took his trade extremely seriously and kept himself in tip top condition :greengrin

29-09-2018, 01:13 PM
John Burridge 'Budgie'

Mon the Cabbage!!!

fantastic game, Keith Keith Keith jumping up tae heider, that heider moment is one that will live with me forever. Just the thought of that game gives me goose bumps.

May I add Jim leighton to the list, alot had written him off, only for him to become one of the best again.

02-10-2018, 06:44 AM
Stevie Archibald

Hibs Class !

02-10-2018, 09:51 AM
The wife.

Thought I was getting a promising young prospect with lots of potential, turned out she was all that and more with a seasoned head on her shoulders way beyond what I deserved. Basically her Sauzee to my Hibs.

On the Hibs front, Stevie Archibald. Thought he was gash in the first few games I watched him and then realised that he was the one who was outstanding and three steps ahead of everyone else on the park in green.

03-10-2018, 03:12 PM
Was seriously underwhelmed when we signed Mixu. Got that badly wrong and loved him as a Hibs player. Was absolutely immense for us.

03-10-2018, 05:31 PM
Jim Leighton - washed up goalie that couldn’t get a game anywhere.

Leanne Dempster - bit of a blah, backroom signing.

sorrow sorrow
03-10-2018, 05:46 PM
Michael O’Neill
Kevin Mcallister
We got a great couple of seasons from the two of them

12-10-2018, 07:59 AM
Shaun Dennis. Would have ran through a brick wall for Hibs and wasn't even a Hibby....the wall would have come off far worse

Tom Hart RIP
13-10-2018, 08:54 AM
Willie Irvine the first

Hibs1969
13-10-2018, 09:32 AM
Big Mixu. What a f.....g signing.

I thought his best days were behind him when he signed but he gave us a couple of very decent seasons, helping us get out of the old first division or whatever it was called in 1999. His hat-trick against the Jumbos the following season was the standout performance in a magical game. Absolutely outstanding.

Barman Stanton
15-08-2019, 12:35 PM
After seeing countless threads writing off our new players, I thought I would would bump up this old post. Shows just how wrong many have been about signings before. Lets at least give the new guys a bit of a chance eh.

15-08-2019, 12:58 PM
Leanne Dempster.

15-08-2019, 01:00 PM
Christian Doidge

15-08-2019, 01:48 PM
Martin Boyle
Kamberi
Simon Murray

15-08-2019, 02:11 PM
Ambrose.

Barman Stanton
15-08-2019, 02:19 PM
Ambrose.

Yeah, Im with you on that one. Far far better footballer than I expected.

15-08-2019, 02:34 PM
Marciano. Best keeper since Leighton (and he's arguably better than him). Don't think many folk thought he'd be as good as he is.

15-08-2019, 02:40 PM
Christian Doidge

15-08-2019, 02:46 PM
Ambrose.

This should be a lot of Hibs fans answer. So many people reckoned he was going to be atrocious. Mental.

TheHarpy76
15-08-2019, 03:29 PM
Conrad …..who?:greengrin

I remember thinking that he was either going to be an absolute nightmare or a hero. There was never going to be any middle ground with him😂

15-08-2019, 03:30 PM
This should be a lot of Hibs fans answer. So many people reckoned he was going to be atrocious. Mental.

Definitely. I got caught up in his lowlight montage for Celtic. He was a hero by the time he left us.

15-08-2019, 03:47 PM
Gotta be Conrad.

Definitely. Have to mention Efe also. I thought he'd be a bomb scare every week.

15-08-2019, 04:03 PM
Heckingbottom! Newell, Doidge and Vela,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, given the chance:greengrin

15-08-2019, 10:24 PM
John Burridge 'Budgie'

Mon the Cabbage!!!

Remember standing outside waiting to get in [after the game had started] and the mounted policeman said "watching my f#ckin horse" as we swayed into it. There was only going to be one winner and it wasn't me/us. Once inside the ground I always remember this older guy describing how "Keith Wright rose like an angel" to anyone that would listen. If you are a poster, thanks for an unbeatable, unforgettable description of the goal 🙂

15-08-2019, 10:51 PM
Joe McBride Snr

HIBS broke a wee laddies heart when they sold Colin Stein to the Huns for the princely sum of £100000 back in 1968 but what a player hatricks galore
different class

Proof that players come and players go but the next superstar is just around the corner

His laddie wisnae bad either I was at Tiny the night his two late goals denied Hearts a win fellow Hibbies in the boozer thought I was at the wynd up when I walked in with a big smile on my pus as they had left at 0-2

15-08-2019, 10:53 PM
In his first season for us I was less than impressed with Stuart Lovell. He went on to prove me wrong to the point that I believe had we kept him we’d have won the the 04 LCF with Archie in green as opposed to him lifting it as captain of Livvy

Hibs Fraggle
16-08-2019, 08:44 AM
Conrad / Boyle and Big Marv for me.

franks
16-08-2019, 08:59 AM
First time I saw Eric Schaedler play was I think at Starks Park and I was not impressed. Turned out to be one of the best left backs I've seen play for Hibs.

16-08-2019, 09:02 AM
First time I saw Eric Schaedler play was I think at Starks Park and I was not impressed. Turned out to be one of the best left backs I've seen play for Hibs.

:not worth

sean04
16-08-2019, 09:05 AM
There's been a few over the years but Gary smith and Paul fenwick were good signings

16-08-2019, 09:10 AM
Goram. Not tall enough to be a real goalie was the initial feeling.

16-08-2019, 10:33 AM
None of our current manager’s so far

16-08-2019, 05:42 PM
Always liked Graham Mitchell as a player very underrated

darwenhibby
16-08-2019, 11:07 PM
Always liked Graham Mitchell as a player very underrated

Still think Mitchell was one of the best £ for) value signings we ever made
£25k from Hamilton??

DickieDastardly
16-08-2019, 11:22 PM
Saw Murphy play in the friendly against Leeds. Oozed class and stuck out like a sore thumb.

He was murder the first time I saw him play, the festival cup against Hearts; was so far off the pace it was embarrassing.

Went on to become one of my favourite players in the 40yrs I’ve watched hibs; a true professional, never feigned injury or tried to get opposing players booked, concentrated on the game and played football the right way.

17-08-2019, 05:48 AM
Didier Agathe

What happened there?

The guy was quality

How did he slip through our fingers?

Should have been on a long term contract from day one

MagicSwirlingShip
17-08-2019, 06:26 AM
Benji.

Debuted at Hampden and looked totally inept.

Went on to score some brilliant goals for the Hibs.

17-08-2019, 07:00 AM
Didier Agathe

What happened there?

The guy was quality

The most ludicrous bit of business Hibs have ever done. It was Raith Rovers, we should have just paid up and got him on a long term deal. Few weeks after Celtic pinched him he was running riot against Ajax in Amsterdam. Was a gutter for us but brilliant opportunism from Celtic.

17-08-2019, 07:06 AM
Chick Charnley. Remember thinking WTF when we signed him. What an unbelievably talented player he was. Naturally gifted. Remember him scoring from the half way line. You wonder if if it would have been different if he was a player today with the right diet and people around him. He'd have been priceless.

17-08-2019, 07:16 AM
This isn't Hibs related but it's well worth a mention. In 2003 I was at a Barcelona game. They brought a young lad off the bench who looked quite neat and tidy but looked a wee bit out his depth.

I asked a guy next to me who he was. 'Es Jove' was his reply which means he's young. He then said 'pintamonas'. Literally translated that means 'one who draws female monkeys' but it's a fairly common Spanish insult for someone who is deluded in believing they are talented.

The player in question? Andres Iniesta.

17-08-2019, 07:17 AM
The most ludicrous bit of business Hibs have ever done. It was Raith Rovers, we should have just paid up and got him on a long term deal. Few weeks after Celtic pinched him he was running riot against Ajax in Amsterdam. Was a gutter for us but brilliant opportunism from Celtic.

He was a free agent when we signed him, think it was only a 3 month deal initially as no one really knew how he would turn out. But yes a bad piece of business as he would have been worth a fair bit of money

TheHarpy76
17-08-2019, 07:18 AM
Didier Agathe

What happened there?

The guy was quality

Don’t!

That still annoys me when I think about it 🤬

thebausburst
17-08-2019, 07:18 AM
Chick Charnley. Remember thinking WTF when we signed him. What an unbelievably talented player he was. Naturally gifted. Remember him scoring from the half way line. You wonder if if it would have been different if he was a player today with the right diet and people around him. He'd have been priceless.

This 100%, was raging when we signed him then saw him play for us :hibees

17-08-2019, 07:30 AM
Still think Mitchell was one of the best £ for) value signings we ever made
£25k from Hamilton??

He's one of my favourite players.

Model of consistency, good with the ball, physical.

Played for us to a very high standard for what seemed like ages.

TheHarpy76
17-08-2019, 07:54 AM
Ivan Sproule?

Only 5k iirc

Weegreenman
17-08-2019, 08:50 AM
Horgan. Starting to show what a player he could potentially be.

MagicSwirlingShip
17-08-2019, 08:52 AM
This isn't Hibs related but it's well worth a mention. In 2003 I was at a Barcelona game. They brought a young lad off the bench who looked quite neat and tidy but looked a wee bit out his depth.

I asked a guy next to me who he was. 'Es Jove' was his reply which means he's young. He then said 'pintamonas'. Literally translated that means 'one who draws female monkeys' but it's a fairly common Spanish insult for someone who is deluded in believing they are talented.

The player in question? Andres Iniesta.

On a similar vibe, I remember being absolutely dumbfounded as to why Barcelona were playing some unknown called Busquets against us at Murrayfield.

17-08-2019, 09:42 AM
On a similar vibe, I remember being absolutely dumbfounded as to why Barcelona were playing some unknown called Busquets against us at Murrayfield.

Aye and at the time, I wondered what the hype of that guy Messi was all about.

MagicSwirlingShip
17-08-2019, 09:45 AM
Aye and at the time, I wondered what the hype of that guy Messi was all about.

I soon got the message when he turned Paul Hanlon inside out about 3 times with the one movement 😂