View Full Version : Emerson Hyndman

08-08-2018, 04:55 PM
Thought it deserved it's own thread
Sky reporting hibs are in talks with Bournemouth about a loan deal. Was at the huns. Midfielder
Can't really recall him tbh

hibee
08-08-2018, 04:57 PM
Never heard of him either.

08-08-2018, 04:58 PM
I thought he was decent for them. Would be a good addition to the squad

08-08-2018, 04:59 PM
He was good at rangers

Goalscoring midfielder, comfortable in the ball from memory

08-08-2018, 04:59 PM
I'm a wee bit concerned that all these loans are just going to put us back to square one at the start of next season re rebuilding the squad. Are there no affordable permanent transfers out there that would improve the team?

08-08-2018, 05:00 PM
I'm a wee bit concerned that all these loans are just going to put us back to square one at the start of next season re rebuilding the squad. Are there no affordable permanent transfers out there that would improve the team?

My thinking as well

08-08-2018, 05:01 PM
What i remember of him, was he was a skilful guy who could score and lay them on, classy type but not the hardest worker if my memory is right?

08-08-2018, 05:02 PM

I just want to see Hibs put out the best XI possible. If we can use loans to do that then so be it.

08-08-2018, 05:03 PM
What i remember of him, was he was a skilful guy who could score and lay them on, classy type but not the hardest worker if my memory is right?

G. Similar to Allan perhaps ???
B

08-08-2018, 05:04 PM
We've used the loan system well. It's responsible for us bringing in Efe, Rocky, Boyle and Dylan permanently and you can't downplay the contribution of a few others on top of that.

As long as these guys come and give their all for us I really don't care if they are on loan or permanent. The loan system is in place to be utilised.

He was selected as Rangers (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rangers_F.C.)
Young Player of the Year for 2016–17 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016%E2%80%9317_Rangers_F.C._season)
, despite only joining the club in January

I remember him being a decent player. Certainly not going to charge about all over the place like McGinn. But we’re not going to replace him like for like so I think we could do worse.

B

Perhaps matey, although i did think Scott Allan upped his effort last season, and worked a lot harder than i remembered him.

Maybe the Lennon factor?

hibee316
08-08-2018, 05:05 PM

Way of the world these days.

Better get used to it.

Some info here.

http://www.topdrawersoccer.com/the91stminute/2017/06/emerson-hyndman-is-entering-a-fairly-critical-2017-18-season/

But if they add quality this season like Allan and Barker did last year then what’s the problem?

Enjoy them whilst they’re here then replace next summer.

We then get to enjoy another awesome transfer window!

08-08-2018, 05:06 PM
Didn't realise he was a Sherman Tank, hopefully the wonderful city of Edinburgh appeals to him.

B

Possibly. Fair chance sjm not being sold to Celtc will scupper Allan coming to us. Thems the breaks.

Perhaps matey, although i did think Scott Allan upped his effort last season, and worked a lot harder than i remembered him.

Maybe the Lennon factor?

No doubt about it. He was shattered after 70 odd minutes a few times last season which wasn't always the case 1st time around. I daresay his medical condition plays a part in that but his work rate was also noticeably better.

id rather have a good loan player for a year (that we probably couldnt afford to buy) than an average player bought for 2-3 years

08-08-2018, 05:07 PM
Possibly. Fair chance sjm not being sold to Celtc will scupper Allan coming to us. Thems the breaks.

I'm not so sure, he's pretty much surplus there and we have the money to offer him deal?

Way of the world these days.

Better get used to it.

Exactly. Loans are extremely common these days and they will only become more frequent as transfer fees increase.

Hyndman sounds kind of similar to Allan.

supermcginn
Classy player, quite happy with this.

We've used the loan system well. It's responsible for us bringing in Efe, Rocky, Boyle and Dylan permanently and you can't downplay the contribution of a few others on top of that.

As long as these guys come and give their all for us I really don't care if they are on loan or permanent. The loan system is in place to be utilised.

Changed days to when it was Thornhill, Doherty, Paulsson etc etc.

Ug, I feel sick.

Flo was a loan. Jamie Mac will likely be another loan that becomes a cut price permanent deal.

I'm fine with it if they add to the team and they bridge a gap. either til we sign them longer term or until we get our number one target.

I trust Lennon. what we're dealing with these days is a different level of transfer and it's miles above most other Scottish clubs too. including Aberdeen.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

08-08-2018, 05:08 PM
He was impressive at Rangers

08-08-2018, 05:08 PM
id rather have a good loan player for a year (that we probably couldnt afford to buy) than an average player bought for 2-3 years

Sounds like this old line "I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a ......"

hibbytam
08-08-2018, 05:09 PM
He was the American lad that was at Rangers for half a season. I seem to remember him being quite good there, but that was the year we didn't play Rangers, so didn't see him in the flesh. Quick look on wiki, he got 4 goals in 13 games, and won their young player of the year.

Every summer is going to be the same. We have a decent steady core of a team, but around that there's always going to be players out of contract, or returning to their parent clubs.

I'd be more worried if we had McGinn going, and there not being any sign of a replacement any time soon. Or a last minute 'surprise' signing.

I'm not so sure, he's pretty much surplus there and we have the money to offer him deal?

Hope so wouldnt rule out pettiness from celtic though.

This is what folk said in January as well, and now we have Kamberi here permanently and Jamie Mac back for another year, we also have a like for like replacement for barker.

The market we are in, the best players aren't always ones you can sign permanently. I'd rather we got a better player on loan for a year than signed someone duff on a 3 year deal.

08-08-2018, 05:12 PM

Totally disagree, i think it makes certain players available to us that wouldn't be otherwise and in the case of Flo and (hopefully) Jamie Mac, it's like try before you buy! I think this lad looked pretty good for The Rangers and he's a bit older now so hopefully fitter and stronger.

08-08-2018, 05:13 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-eye-up-move-for-bournemouth-midfielder-emerson-hyndman-1-4780934

08-08-2018, 05:16 PM
https://youtu.be/-NNs-MKb8pM

Tug Wilson
08-08-2018, 05:20 PM

Currently on loan we have Bogdan and MacLaren with Agyepong to come in and potentially Hyndman.

Bogdan is covering Rocky who is injured. Difficult to justify bringing in a goalkeeper of Bogdan's quality permanently.

MacLaren we have a buyout clause

Agyepong is the next in a hopefully continuing relationship with Man City.

Who knows what deal we will do for Hyndman. Might be another buyout option.

And as pointed out numerous loans have become permanent.

I have no problems with loan players coming in.

08-08-2018, 05:21 PM
Hope so wouldnt rule out pettiness from celtic though.

SA could attempt to force a move with a transfer request though.

08-08-2018, 05:22 PM
Seen on SSN that we are trying to get this deal wrapped up before the wildcard deadline tonight.

08-08-2018, 05:23 PM
Hibs want it done by Euro deadline tonight apparently

08-08-2018, 05:25 PM
Would much sooner have loan players chosen by Lennon than 80% of the permanents that most recent Hibs managers have invested heavily in recent years. Gives us access to players we probably cannot afford (fee and wages), who would not have considered coming to Hibs on a perm deal, and a chance to see them in action in the SPFL.

08-08-2018, 05:27 PM
Where were the ITK posters on this one, completely out of nowhere 🙄 would be a good signing. Not a patch on Mcginn at what he does but still good.

08-08-2018, 05:27 PM
Hibs want it done by Euro deadline tonight apparently

Better hurry up then - is the deadline not 19:45 (i.e. 24 hours before KO)?

08-08-2018, 05:32 PM
Muppets on FF reckon he will be our best player. Fine. :greengrin

08-08-2018, 05:32 PM
Where were the ITK posters on this one, completely out of nowhere 🙄 would be a good signing. Not a patch on Mcginn at what he does but still good.

If you ignore the boy who called it.

08-08-2018, 05:34 PM

That’s assuming we’re not setting it up as a “try before you buy” arrangement ?

08-08-2018, 05:37 PM
Didn't realise he was a Sherman Tank, hopefully the wonderful city of Edinburgh appeals to him.

That's a bit harsh, but I suppose he was at Sevco.

08-08-2018, 05:40 PM
If we sign Hyndman can we have a proper American supporter style chant for him?

Hyndman
Hyndman will
Hyndman will score
Hyndman will score more than you

08-08-2018, 05:41 PM
Hope the American is awesome at that soccerball game......

08-08-2018, 05:42 PM
Text message from a hun . Done deal

Togs91
08-08-2018, 05:42 PM

Just the way it is nowadays, however the 'get them on loan with option to buy'seems a good way to go now. Not that we would be able to buy him from the PL i fear, you never know though as long as he does a job 'll be happy to see him at ER. Looked a player for sevco

08-08-2018, 05:43 PM
if we sign hyndman can we have a proper american supporter style chant for him?

Hyndman
hyndman will
hyndman will score
hyndman will score more than you

fight, and win!

Togs91
08-08-2018, 05:44 PM
If we sign Hyndman can we have a proper American supporter style chant for him?

Hyndman
Hyndman will
Hyndman will score

And we all eat barbeque.....

08-08-2018, 05:45 PM
It’ll be like the AEK game in the East with everyone chanting USA, USA, USA!

08-08-2018, 05:46 PM
Could he be the McGeouch replacement?

08-08-2018, 05:46 PM
How would a Sevco fan know? He doesn't play for them now does he?

08-08-2018, 05:51 PM

I would suspect so.

Tug Wilson
08-08-2018, 05:53 PM
Another attack minded midfielder. Guess we are going for the fabulous 5-4 wins and not the gritty 1-0 ones.

08-08-2018, 05:53 PM

I would doubt it, much more attacking midfielder.

Remember him as like a frank lamoard type - forward runs, getting in the box and scoring goals

08-08-2018, 05:55 PM
I would doubt it, much more attacking midfielder.

Remember him as like a frank lamoard type - forward runs, getting in the box and scoring goals

Likes to control tempo as well though

08-08-2018, 05:56 PM
He was impressive at Rangers

No sense in going Tonto over a loan Ranger

08-08-2018, 05:56 PM

Hun deal

08-08-2018, 05:59 PM

🙈 very good.

Aim Here
08-08-2018, 05:59 PM
Another attack minded midfielder. Guess we are going for the fabulous 5-4 wins and not the gritty 1-0 ones.

If we wanted to grind out low-scoring games, we wouldn't put Efe on the pitch every week!

08-08-2018, 06:01 PM
Deal done

ForeverHibs93
08-08-2018, 06:01 PM
That’s it official that’s he’s on loan with us! decent move I think!

Ell_Chrisso
08-08-2018, 06:02 PM
CONFIRMED, done deal

ForeverHibs93
https://twitter.com/hibsofficial/status/1027253201790230528?s=21

I have a feeling this will be instead of Allan. If it isn’t we will have such a weak midfield in terms of putting a tackle in and tracking back...McGinn’s graft needs replaced and Hyndman isn’t the answer to that.

Hyndman looked like a decent player at Rangers and was quite good with free kicks as well, no?

Definitely a year loan to wait for Allan I think.

Ell_Chrisso
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/9063

Well that was rapid...

Only 6 months, then Allan comes in😄

How would a Sevco fan know? He doesn't play for them now does he?

Well he was right eh

08-08-2018, 06:03 PM
His dress sense is s***e but he's welcome anyway since he's from Texas......

08-08-2018, 06:04 PM
Only 6 months, then Allan comes in😄

Strange length. Hope this isn’t a “tide us over after McGinn” type of loan...we’ve had similar before...

Sign Kamara next!

08-08-2018, 06:04 PM
Doenst say how long the loan is?

08-08-2018, 06:05 PM
Pleased with this news.

08-08-2018, 06:05 PM
Doenst say how long the loan is?

It does. 6 months

08-08-2018, 06:06 PM
It does. 6 months
Cover for Scott Allan until we get him on a pre-contract? :greengrin

08-08-2018, 06:06 PM
Anyone think he’ll be a regular starter or is he just for back up?

Gut feeling is he’s here as cover for injuries.

08-08-2018, 06:07 PM
So, will he be a Darryl Duffy or a Dylan McGeouch?

08-08-2018, 06:09 PM
Strange length. Hope this isn’t a “tide us over after McGinn” type of loan...we’ve had similar before...

Sign Kamara next!

Nae need to get personal. Just as long as he's a good player.

Cheshire Hibby
Just announced on Sky Sports on a 6 month loan deal. Welcome.

So, will he be a Darryl Duffy or a Dylan McGeouch?

Darran Mcduffy.

08-08-2018, 06:11 PM
I find the 6 months a bit strange and that also another attacking midfielder

sauzee=legend
08-08-2018, 06:13 PM
On sky sports breaking news - 6 month loan deal completed

08-08-2018, 06:14 PM

I’ve got a fantasy vision of John McGinn, riding over the Queen’s Park towards Easter Road, shouting Hi Ho, Silver, I’m no away!!! :greengrin

08-08-2018, 06:15 PM
On sky sports breaking news - 6 month loan deal completed

Reported on Sportsound too. Trying to get him registered in time for tomorrow.

Welcome to Hibs Emerson.

Curried
08-08-2018, 06:16 PM
I fix broken Hearts baby……I’m your Hyndyman.

houstonhibbee
His dress sense is s***e but he's welcome anyway since he's from Texas......

Yee Haw...............

Night out in the Woodlands to celebrate......

Have you taken the wife to Refuge wine bar yet?

This is what folk said in January as well, and now we have Kamberi here permanently and Jamie Mac back for another year, we also have a like for like replacement for barker.

The market we are in, the best players aren't always ones you can sign permanently. I'd rather we got a better player on loan for a year than signed someone duff on a 3 year deal.

Tug Wilson
If we wanted to grind out low-scoring games, we wouldn't put Efe on the pitch every week!

👍

08-08-2018, 06:17 PM
Reported on Sportsound too. Trying to get him registered in time for tomorrow.

How can international clearance take hours for Hyndman but weeks for Agyepong? strange stuff tbh. I mean Agyepong is contracted to Man City...he’s not coming from abroad...

08-08-2018, 06:18 PM
How can international clearance take hours for Hyndman but weeks for Agyepong? strange stuff tbh. I mean Agyepong is contracted to Man City...he’s not coming from abroad...

Ones international clearance the others a visa, two different things

08-08-2018, 06:19 PM

But has he not spent 100% of his time at MC abroad? :dunno:

08-08-2018, 06:20 PM
Ones international clearance the others a visa, two different things

Surely he has a visa though, no? How did he sign for Man City?

08-08-2018, 06:20 PM
I fix broken Hearts baby……I’m your Hyndyman.

Me too i see handyman every time if he’s crap he can put up shelves or whatever

08-08-2018, 06:22 PM

I'm not entirely sure, I know he hasn't featured for Man City and been in holland the past three seasons. Not sure if he's to actually play in the UK that he needs a visa

08-08-2018, 06:23 PM

You don’t need a visa to work for a British company, you need a visa to work in Britain. He has spent his whole 3 years with City on loan in the Netherlands.

08-08-2018, 06:24 PM
But has he not spent 100% of his time at MC abroad? :dunno:

Yes but surely if we need to get him a visa that means Man City haven’t recently went through that process. I’m not sure how he can be registered with them without a Uk Visa...

Not a dig at Hibs btw, just something a bit strange with the whole system.

Curried
08-08-2018, 06:25 PM
Me too i see handyman every time if he’s crap he can put up shelves or whatever

K.O. :greengrin

08-08-2018, 06:25 PM
Yes but surely if we need to get him a visa that means Man City haven’t recently went through that process. I’m not sure how he can be registered with them without a Uk Visa...

Not a dig at Hibs btw, just something a bit strange with the whole system.

Because he wasn't working in Britain.

08-08-2018, 06:28 PM
Because he wasn't working in Britain.

How can clubs sign and register a player who clearly can’t play for them due to lack of visa? That’s what I see as weird. Shouldn’t be allowed.

08-08-2018, 06:28 PM
Anyone think he’ll be a regular starter or is he just for back up?

Gut feeling is he’s here as cover for injuries.

Think he's too good for that. Impressed at this signing, looked good whenever I've seen him play which isn't much to be fair.

2 years left on his deal.

08-08-2018, 06:30 PM
How can clubs sign and register a player who clearly can’t play for them due to lack of visa? That’s what I see as weird. Shouldn’t be allowed.

That’s the whole reason clubs have these feeder teams. Chelsea have Vitesse, United have Antwerp and City have Breda.

A Nigerian oil worker can worker for a british company like BP in Lagos, doesn’t mean they have a visa to work in Britain.

08-08-2018, 06:31 PM
Hyndman has an eu passport so no visa worries.

08-08-2018, 06:33 PM
Their fans seem a bit disappointed to have let him leave.

https://bournemouth-forum.vitalfootball.co.uk/threads/hyndman-loan.6433/

08-08-2018, 06:37 PM
How can clubs sign and register a player who clearly can’t play for them due to lack of visa? That’s what I see as weird. Shouldn’t be allowed.He's on loan. So no visa is needed. If they wanted him to play for them, they would get him a visa.

It would be weirder to get a visa, and then punt him on loan.

08-08-2018, 06:42 PM
Why take a player for 6 months? Seems odd. We need a 1 year fix till Allan can come.

08-08-2018, 06:45 PM
Why a six month loan.

08-08-2018, 06:48 PM
Why take a player for 6 months? Seems odd. We need a 1 year fix till Allan can come.Islam Feruz [emoji23]

andybev1
08-08-2018, 06:48 PM
The shoe is on the other foot with the smug Celtic fans. just like Mcginn (or so they thought), if they do not sell Alan to us for a price we dictate then we can get him on a pre-contract in January. :greengrin

08-08-2018, 06:54 PM

A step down from the rangers! Obviously swallow everything Sky etc feed them

Cracker
08-08-2018, 06:55 PM
Why a six month loan.

Maybe they have someone else lined up for jan on pre contract and a cheeky offer , Dundee player maybe ! Just a thought 💭

08-08-2018, 06:58 PM

They really don't have a ****ing clue about Scottish football.

He's on loan. So no visa is needed. If they wanted him to play for them, they would get him a visa.

It would be weirder to get a visa, and then punt him on loan.

I understand that, my point of weird/poor rules is that this sort of thing should be blocked. I agree with teams having arrangements over loans and partnerships between clubs but I don't agree with clubs bankrolled by rich consortiums/individuals signing every talented player under the sun and then loaning them out. Something wrong with Chelsea having 38 players out on loan last season...

Should be a rule on the number of players you can loan and loan out as well. Nevermind looking at the visa situation.

Maybe they have someone else lined up for jan on pre contract and a cheeky offer , Dundee player maybe ! Just a thought 💭

Scottie Allan? :hmmm:

08-08-2018, 07:06 PM
I understand that, my point of weird/poor rules is that this sort of thing should be blocked. I agree with teams having arrangements over loans and partnerships between clubs but I don't agree with clubs bankrolled by rich consortiums/individuals signing every talented player under the sun and then loaning them out. Something wrong with Chelsea having 38 players out on loan last season...

Should be a rule on the number of players you can loan and loan out as well. Nevermind looking at the visa situation.I agree on the loan thing, but this is a separate issue. And it will become more complicated after March next year. [emoji849]

08-08-2018, 07:08 PM
Sounds like a good Fyndman.

Seriously though, I’m pretty excited by this one, although a year would’ve been nice.

08-08-2018, 07:14 PM
They really don't have a ****ing clue about Scottish football.

Bournemouth are a ****ing diddy club too. Everything about them is worse than Hibs apart from that wad of TV money they get. Shame that seems to be all that matters at the moment.

hibs#1

Few arrogant comments from their fans on that page considering we have more season ticket holders than their sraduim holds.Bournemouth gets built up as some lovely romantic story of achievement coming through the league's when in reality they are backed by a rich Russian and got fined for breaching fair play rules in league 1 and 2. Without big financial backing they aren't anything more than a league 1 team at best.

Would rather have allan back but hey ho

kentao
08-08-2018, 07:17 PM
6 month loan and Allan on a pre contract in Jan:)

08-08-2018, 07:22 PM
Poor lad is gonna get overlooked by the McGinn story!!

Hopefully he gets on tomorrow night and plays a blinder :thumbsup:

08-08-2018, 07:34 PM
Folk do know that a pre-contract means we wouldn’t get the player until the summer aye?

08-08-2018, 07:37 PM
Folk do know that a pre-contract means we wouldn’t get the player until the summer aye?
I imagine most of us do, yes......

GRA
08-08-2018, 07:38 PM
Can anyone enlighten me as to who the last American to play for Hibs was? I'm sure Paul Fenwick was Canadian...

08-08-2018, 07:38 PM
Can anyone enlighten me as to who the last American to play for Hibs was? I'm sure Paul Fenwick was Canadian...

Gerry Baker.

08-08-2018, 07:40 PM

Negotiate contract with Allan and then say to Celtic "he's coming to us in 6 months, how about we sort a deal for him to come to us now?". If they are then awkward due to McGinn saga then we wait, just as they said they'd wait for McGinn. Only difference is McGinn is a superstar. Allan is a benchwarmer or a decent player unless he is with Hibs.

08-08-2018, 07:42 PM
Micky (mouse) Edwards

houstonhibbee
08-08-2018, 07:44 PM
Negotiate contract with Allan and then say to Celtic "he's coming to us in 6 months, how about we sort a deal for him to come to us now?". If they are then awkward due to McGinn saga then we wait, just as they said they'd wait for McGinn. Only difference is McGinn is a superstar. Allan is a benchwarmer or a decent player unless he is with Hibs.

Is it not more likely he will go out on loan for the season rather than sit on the bench for 6 months - maybe not even on the bench
It would seem clear he is not in Celtic's plans.

08-08-2018, 07:45 PM
Gerry Baker.

Derek Spalding - played for Hibs, married an American and took out citizenship, ISTR.

OK - he wasn't American when he played for Hibs.:greengrin

08-08-2018, 07:48 PM
Derek Spalding - played for Hibs, married an American and took out citizenship, ISTR.

OK - he wasn't American when he played for Hibs.:greengrin

Does Paul Dalglish have American citizenship now?

(Again, he didn't when he was with us).

08-08-2018, 07:49 PM
I honestly think some people forget that signing a pre-contract in January still means they don't join until the next summer ...

08-08-2018, 07:50 PM
Does Paul Dalglish have American citizenship now?

(Again, he didn't when he was with us).

Could be - but really don't know.

GRA
08-08-2018, 08:16 PM
Gerry Baker.Cheers [emoji106]

08-08-2018, 08:21 PM
Scored against Hearts at Tynie before - albeit in a heavy loss...

Was impressive when I saw him at the currant buns.

08-08-2018, 08:24 PM

Clearly a bunch of arrogant ****s since their renaissance and promotion. Always quite liked them as well.

TelaStella
08-08-2018, 08:29 PM
Clearly a bunch of arrogant ****s since their renaissance and promotion. Always quite liked them as well.

Making out as if we’re the diddy club in this. ****** Bournemouth [emoji23][emoji23]

08-08-2018, 08:33 PM
Is it not more likely he will go out on loan for the season rather than sit on the bench for 6 months - maybe not even on the bench
It would seem clear he is not in Celtic's plans.

He's played approximately 50 games in the last 3 years, I think he's done a fair amount of sitting on benches even with the loan spells added in. I stand by the view that it's only ever clicked for Allan at Hibs and Celtic won't care too much about Allan's career unless it benefits them. Aberdeen may be interested but Aberdeen's current style of play won't suit Allan, they play Cosgrove up front, not many darting runs behind the defence there!

Hyndman is good enough for me after all he is now a player for Hibs! Hopefully we'll enjoy him for 6months and see what the situation is then.

gordie18
08-08-2018, 08:51 PM
Twats, stadium capacity of 11,000 and calling us mediocre!!! They will be back in the championship next season and still punching above their weight

08-08-2018, 09:01 PM
I'm a wee bit concerned that all these loans are just going to put us back to square one at the start of next season re rebuilding the squad. Are there no affordable permanent transfers out there that would improve the team?Yeah it's concerning me also...too many loans for my liking...I don't mind the likes of Kamberi and Jamie Mac where we have fees agreed but not sure about a 6 month loan tbh

Gordy M
08-08-2018, 09:07 PM
Yeah it's concerning me also...too many loans for my liking...I don't mind the likes of Kamberi and Jamie Mac where we have fees agreed but not sure about a 6 month loan tbh

Its hardly too many? A keeper who im quite sure is back up whilst Marciano was injured. Jamie Mac who apparently we have agreed a deal with after his loan.....so that leaves a young winger who prob wont play week in week out and a midfielder? Hardly too many. Once the season starts i would wager 3 at the most playing every week(one being mclaren).

Edit - we had Kamberi, mclaren, allan and barker for the 2nd half of the season.....same number as now.

08-08-2018, 09:08 PM
Its hardly too many? A keeper who im quite sure is back up whilst Marciano was injured. Jamie Mac who apparently we have agreed a deal with after his loan.....so that leaves a young winger who prob wont play week in week out and a midfielder? Hardly too many. Once the season starts i would wager 3 at the most playing every week(one being mclaren).Fair enough but a 6 month loan worries me mate...if he goes in Jan it means he's done well here but will need replacing in a notoriously difficult window...would have preferred at least a season long deal.

Gordy M
08-08-2018, 09:11 PM
Fair enough but a 6 month loan worries me mate...if he goes in Jan it means he's done well here but will need replacing in a notoriously difficult window...would have preferred at least a season long deal.

Yeh i get that but we might get him for another 6 after that? Or Allan might be available on a pre contract and we can offer Tic a token amount? Who knows? But as long as we are able to put a good team out then thats the main thing.

08-08-2018, 09:13 PM
Yeh i get that but we might get him for another 6 after that? Or Allan might be available on a pre contract and we can offer Tic a token amount? Who knows? But as long as we are able to put a good team out then thats the main thing.Very true mate...think am still hurting at SJMs departure...sad to see him go [emoji24]

08-08-2018, 09:14 PM
Fair enough but a 6 month loan worries me mate...if he goes in Jan it means he's done well here but will need replacing in a notoriously difficult window...would have preferred at least a season long deal.

Maybe 6 months was the best we could get?

Maybe he’ll extend the loan in Jan?

Maybe he’ll be crap and we will be glad it’s only 6 months?

Maybe we’ll get a replacement in Jan that’s as good as the replacement strike force we got last Jan?

Why stress about it too much? Sounds like we have picked up a handy player that will do us a job...we have a bit of a gap in the midfield now and it’s not gonna be possible to replace SJM like for like so we’ve quickly added another option.

Gordy M
08-08-2018, 09:18 PM
Very true mate...think am still hurting at SJMs departure...sad to see him go [emoji24]

Yep, gutted to see him leave. Hopefully another decent midfielder and a back up forward and il be happy. I think the squad is shaping up really well.

08-08-2018, 09:22 PM
Yep, gutted to see him leave. Hopefully another decent midfielder and a back up forward and il be happy. I think the squad is shaping up really well.It is...midfield needs strengthening even with Hyndman but we are deffo getting there...I agree another forward and combative midfielder and il be happy

08-08-2018, 09:24 PM

Wow …. just shows you what a wad of dodgy Russian cash and a massive TV deal can do for your ego eh? A club nobody in England, not to mention the town they come from, gave a rats ass about 7 years ago, and from a town more famous for arthritis, lumbago, false teeth, tartan rugs and deck chairs than football calling us a wee club. Apart from one poster their knowledge of Scottish football let alone Hibs and how we play is poor even for English EPL fanboys. They need to take a look at the Villa forum to see how fans of a big club conduct themselves, even though they didn't know a lot about John McGinn they seemed wiling to give him a chance on reports they had heard and at least a basic knowledge of what sort of a club Hibs are.

Absolutely pathetic. I wonder if after playing in front of 50,000 at Ibroke for a season and then 18,000 at Easter Road for 6 months young Emerson will look forward to playing in front of 9000 fans every week, especially ones who 90% of will crawl back into the holes the came out of the second things go tits up …. no disrespect to the few hundred who saved the club back in the day .. true fans to be respected for sure.

08-08-2018, 09:38 PM
Ignorant chat from the Bournemouth fan sorry i mean fans. No matter how much TV money they get they'll always be a small seaside town club that most people in Bournemouth probably dont know exsist.

08-08-2018, 09:39 PM
Bournemouth are a diddy club playing in a big league, hell their a diddy club in the championship. Relegated this season probably.

08-08-2018, 09:41 PM
Scored against Hearts at Tynie before - albeit in a heavy loss...

Was impressive when I saw him at the currant buns.

His goal celebration wasn't too bad either. Clearly a man that doesn't like the Hertz.

http://e0.365dm.com/17/02/16-9/20/skysports-emerson-hyndman-rangers_3882796.jpg

Jim Herriot
08-08-2018, 09:44 PM
He's now registered as part of our Europa League squad, so can play tomorrow.
https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2019/clubs/club=52821/squad/

(Incidentally, so is our number 5 keeper Patrick Martin, who for some unknown reason wasn't until today.)

08-08-2018, 09:45 PM
He's now registered as part of our Europa League squad, so can play tomorrow.
https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2019/clubs/club=52821/squad/

(Incidentally, so is our number 5 keeper Patrick Martin, who for some unknown reason wasn't until today.)Bogdan is probably out with a hip injury from Sunday

08-08-2018, 09:48 PM
SA could attempt to force a move with a transfer request though.

#handitin

08-08-2018, 09:48 PM
Ignorant chat from the Bournemouth fan sorry i mean fans. No matter how much TV money they get they'll always be a small seaside town club that most people in Bournemouth probably dont know exsist.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2018/jun/06/premier-league-finances-club-guide-2016-17

This is an interesting article from the Guardian. If you look at clubs like Bournemouth, Brighton and a few others, their turnover from ticket sales and non TV money isn't that much different from Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen, given they will charge premium prices for seats and hospitality. The real difference is the TV money, which for Bournemouth is £124 million and the other smaller clubs around £100 million.

They would also only be the 6th best supported club in the SPFL. Celtic, The Rangers, Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen all get bigger crowds than them. Despite this, they've just signed a player for £50+ million. It goes to show how the TV money has distorted competition, not just in the UK but across Europe.

08-08-2018, 09:52 PM
UEFA app has Hyndman as #20.

08-08-2018, 09:52 PM
I find the 6 months a bit strange and that also another attacking midfielder

Bournemouth might need him back. It's not strange at all.

If they don't, we might get him for a further 6 months.

If we want him.

08-08-2018, 09:53 PM
Few arrogant comments from their fans on that page considering we have more season ticket holders than their sraduim holds.Bournemouth gets built up as some lovely romantic story of achievement coming through the league's when in reality they are backed by a rich Russian and got fined for breaching fair play rules in league 1 and 2. Without big financial backing they aren't anything more than a league 1 team at best.

Harsh but fair. I certainly won’t take any lectures from Bournemouth fans.

Mind you, knowing the EPL, half the people on their forum will be blowhards from anywhere but Bournemouth. Sheep who have just adopted a top level club. Some of them probably used to support Portsmouth.

08-08-2018, 10:00 PM

Jeezo, when Bournemouth fans can patronise you.

Bournemouth!

They will never achieve a fraction of what Hibs have achieved.

TV money and billionaires. :grr:

08-08-2018, 10:03 PM
Jeezo, when Bournemouth fans can patronise you.

Bournemouth!

They will never achieve a fraction of what Hibs have achieved.

TV money and billionaires. :grr:

To be fair, they do have a very impressive collection of ZERO top-tier domestic trophies.

08-08-2018, 10:12 PM
Bournemouth might need him back. It's not strange at all.

If they don't, we might get him for a further 6 months.

If we want him.

Yeah, Bournemouth are covering their backs just in case they need him back in January.
If he does well we will ask to keep him for the season.
Hyndman has quality and knows what Scottish football is about.
He is a great signing for us. Delighted.
Another great example of us not signing crap players anymore, on the off chance they might do ok.

Just one more midfielder required to bring us back to parity with how we ended last season.
A box to box running , tackling, ball recovery guy required to replace McGinn.
Within our price range are Mulumbu and the guy at Dundee via Finland.

08-08-2018, 10:22 PM
Happy to be corrected, but quite sure he was only a 6 month loan deal when he was at Ibrox last year?

He's a decent acquisition - very comfortable on the ball - can find a pass, and has a pretty good shot on him. Only issue when he was at The Rangers' was how easily he could be muscled off of the ball.

AZhibee
09-08-2018, 01:10 AM
🇺🇸!

Inconsequential
09-08-2018, 01:44 AM
Maybe 6 months was the best we could get?

Maybe he’ll extend the loan in Jan?

Maybe he’ll be crap and we will be glad it’s only 6 months?

Maybe we’ll get a replacement in Jan that’s as good as the replacement strike force we got last Jan?

Why stress about it too much? Sounds like we have picked up a handy player that will do us a job...we have a bit of a gap in the midfield now and it’s not gonna be possible to replace SJM like for like so we’ve quickly added another option. Indeed... I think the club are now finally planning ahead. All signings are researched long before they join the club and no signings are just decided on the spur of the moment as far as I can see.

Austinho
09-08-2018, 02:41 AM
Feel sick for venturing onto a Rangers Forum, but needs must:

“Hibs [sic] in talks to sign Emmerson Hyndman on loan. A good signing for them if that goes through.”

“I would've taken him back, he would be brilliant in this team.”

“Very good signing for them tbf”

“I actually liked Hyndman, quite direct and chipped in with some good goals.”

“Was good until Pedro came in”

“I think he'll do quite well at hibs if he goes there tbh”

“Hyndman is some signing for Hibs tbh.

I wasn’t as big a fan of him as others were when he was here but it would have been interesting to have seen him back here and in a stronger team.

He would have been worth considering as an option for the attacking midfielder we are lacking IMO.”

09-08-2018, 04:45 AM
Feel sick for venturing onto a Rangers Forum, but needs must:

“Hibs [sic] in talks to sign Emmerson Hyndman on loan. A good signing for them if that goes through.”

“I would've taken him back, he would be brilliant in this team.”

“Very good signing for them tbf”

“I actually liked Hyndman, quite direct and chipped in with some good goals.”

“Was good until Pedro came in”

“I think he'll do quite well at hibs if he goes there tbh”

“Hyndman is some signing for Hibs tbh.

I wasn’t as big a fan of him as others were when he was here but it would have been interesting to have seen him back here and in a stronger team.

He would have been worth considering as an option for the attacking midfielder we are lacking IMO.”

Yes sounds like Allan deal dead till January. A pre-contract and possible loan then.

Ryan69
09-08-2018, 05:19 AM

He is American then. ;)

American wise...Jorge Claros.

09-08-2018, 05:44 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2018/jun/06/premier-league-finances-club-guide-2016-17

This is an interesting article from the Guardian. If you look at clubs like Bournemouth, Brighton and a few others, their turnover from ticket sales and non TV money isn't that much different from Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen, given they will charge premium prices for seats and hospitality. The real difference is the TV money, which for Bournemouth is £124 million and the other smaller clubs around £100 million.

They would also only be the 6th best supported club in the SPFL. Celtic, The Rangers, Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen all get bigger crowds than them. Despite this, they've just signed a player for £50+ million. It goes to show how the TV money has distorted competition, not just in the UK but across Europe.

Great post and just highlights how mental and far removed from reality it is down there.

09-08-2018, 06:09 AM

That’s about right. The TV money trickles through the Enlgish leagues and as always with ready cheap money, the impact is inflationary. We need to be developing and selling players into this inflated market while it lasts.

For anyone interested American economist Paul Krugman produced a nice explanation of the impact of money supply on behaviour and prices based on a baby sitting co-op in Washington.

http://www.slate.com/articles/business/the_dismal_science/1998/08/babysitting_the_economy.html

Souter96Mac
09-08-2018, 06:13 AM
Excited to see him play. Sounds like another midfielder capable of scoring.

09-08-2018, 06:34 AM
Bournemouth calling anyone diddies 😂😂😂😂 You could fit every single one of their season ticket holders in our two smallest stands.

09-08-2018, 06:37 AM
While their pig ignorant views on Scottish football are only to be expected, I'm pleased to see that they seem disappointed that he's going. I thought he looked pretty good when he was at Rangers

09-08-2018, 06:43 AM
Bournemouth calling anyone diddies 😂😂😂😂 You could fit every single one of their season ticket holders in our two smallest stands.

They have a ground capacity of sub 12k

We have 13.5k + season tickets

Yet they’re being linked with a £30m South American player. Who’s says tv money has fractured the dynamics of the game in the uk

It’s amazing when the rangers forum is being more balanced towards us and a player we’ve signed

09-08-2018, 06:49 AM
Just realised this was only a 6 month loan deal.

09-08-2018, 06:50 AM
Can’t remember him at all at rangers, probably because we never played them that year but I’m pleasantly surprised at how much the Bournemouth fans seem to wish he had stayed there. Looking forward to seeing him.

09-08-2018, 08:20 AM
Can’t remember him at all at rangers, probably because we never played them that year but I’m pleasantly surprised at how much the Bournemouth fans seem to wish he had stayed there. Looking forward to seeing him.

I have a few huns at the work .. theyre spewing that weve got him . They tell me he is top quality and they were gutted to see him go too

09-08-2018, 08:24 AM
The huns can say all the nicey nicey things about him they like, he's quite frankly got a ridiculous name and I'm therefore disappointed. Emerson Hyndman?? What's next? Ludovic Van der Tramp ? Goodluck Jonathan? Theopolis P Wildebeest III?

EricStoner
09-08-2018, 08:31 AM
Good edit to his Wikipedia entry. Might be mild enough to stay on there for a while😂.

EricStoner
09-08-2018, 08:34 AM
The huns can say all the nicey nicey things about him they like, he's quite frankly got a ridiculous name and I'm therefore disappointed. Emerson Hyndman?? What's next? Ludovic Van der Tramp ? Goodluck Jonathan? Theopolis P Wildebeest III?
Company I worked for had a guy named Everton Riviere working for them. Big firm, different building, so I never met him.

09-08-2018, 08:37 AM
Looking forward to seeing him play for Hibs. Watching footage of him he very much looks like a Hibs style of player. I think he could do very well here.

09-08-2018, 08:39 AM
What's next? Ludovic Van der Tramp ? Goodluck Jonathan? Theopolis P Wildebeest III?

Are you ITK? What have you heard about these guys?

hibbie02
09-08-2018, 08:54 AM
If Hyndman plays tonight is he cup tied in Europe for Bournemouth... oh wait..... :greengrin

09-08-2018, 09:00 AM
Company I worked for had a guy named Everton Riviere working for them. Big firm, different building, so I never met him.

My wife had some amusingly named American colleagues, Rocky T Bonecutter III was a particular standout, although my favourite was George George. They used to sing 'George George, George of the jungle' whenever he'd ping an email over. :faf:

Ah the fun.

grammyb111
09-08-2018, 09:36 AM
No doubt about it. He was shattered after 70 odd minutes a few times last season which wasn't always the case 1st time around. I daresay his medical condition plays a part in that but his work rate was also noticeably better.

He did look out on his feet late on in games for Rangers, no-one likes a burst Hyndman.

09-08-2018, 09:46 AM
My wife had some amusingly named American colleagues, Rocky T Bonecutter III was a particular standout, although my favourite was George George. They used to sing 'George George, George of the jungle' whenever he'd ping an email over. :faf:

Ah the fun.

What about George Foreman the boxer calling all his 5 sons George and his only daughter Georgette? :faf:

09-08-2018, 09:53 AM
two apologies

(1) apologies if this has been posted before (I couldn't see it)
(2) apologies this video features goals for The Rangers...but if you can see past that, here is a video of Hyndman's goals, assists, dribbles, efforts off the woodwork etc during his time with West of Scotland FC, posted by a Scottish Cup supporter.

The boy looks good...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xGyS9VyEBs

09-08-2018, 10:47 AM
two apologies

(2) apologies this video features goals for The Rangers...but if you can see past that, here is a video of Hyndman's goals, assists, dribbles, efforts off the woodwork etc during his time with West of Scotland FC, posted by a Scottish Cup supporter.

The boy looks good...

Some strike at the PBS . He looks a quality player .
More in the Scott Allan mould , than McGinn .

Baw187
09-08-2018, 11:04 AM
Some strike at the PBS . He looks a quality player .
More in the Scott Allan mould , than McGinn .

I don’t know. He looks like he wants to drive forward when he picks up the ball which was very much a McGinn trait.

09-08-2018, 11:07 AM
two apologies

The boy looks good...

He is a good player. Good addition IMO

09-08-2018, 11:11 AM
Didn't realise Celtic were linked to him.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-plot-sensational-swoop-loan-10142079.amp

09-08-2018, 11:44 AM
Looks like he is a right footer but the goal against Heats with his left was well taken.....

londonhibby
09-08-2018, 11:50 AM
Didn't realise Celtic were linked to him.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-plot-sensational-swoop-loan-10142079.amp

They're the only ones in Scotland who could afford him on a permanent.

09-08-2018, 11:51 AM
Good addition and player - a play maker who scores goals plus has already scored against the Jambos at the Tiny Library.

Pity not longer but would take any quality short term if it helps us.

Heedersnvolleys
09-08-2018, 12:00 PM
I don’t know. He looks like he wants to drive forward when he picks up the ball which was very much a McGinn trait.
Can he stick his erse oot though?

Baw187
09-08-2018, 12:48 PM
Can he stick his erse oot though?

[emoji23][emoji23] Fair point!

green with envy
09-08-2018, 12:57 PM
To be fair, they do have a very impressive collection of ZERO top-tier domestic trophies.

Add that to their ZERO top-tier stands.

09-08-2018, 01:39 PM
That's a bit harsh, but I suppose he was at Sevco.

If it is to be harsh because he was at Sevco, they would’ve said he was a Septic Tank.

10-08-2018, 11:26 AM
I was interested when we signed Hyndman given his parent club.

I have a very strong connection to a current first teamer at Bournemouth and it represents about the last 'in the know' source I have these days.

Anyway, I didn't get any advance notice of us signing him but I asked about him once he'd signed.

This is the response I got.

'Outstanding technical player but more important than that, superb attitude.

He's very highly rated here and if he applies himself at Hibs like he does here, he's destined for big things.

I expect him to be a revelation for you lot.'

...which was encouraging.

10-08-2018, 11:27 AM
I was interested when we signed Hyndman given his parent club.

I have a very strong connection to a current first teamer at Bournemouth and it represents about the last 'in the know' source I have these days.

Anyway, I didn't get any advance notice of us signing him but I asked about him once he'd signed.

This is the response I got.

'Outstanding technical player but more important than that, superb attitude.

He's very highly rated here and if he applies himself at Hibs like he does here, he's destined for big things.

I expect him to be a revelation for you lot.'

...which was encouraging.

Was really impressed with his wee cameo last night.

10-08-2018, 11:40 AM
Was really impressed with his wee cameo last night.

Me too, almost scored and a good through ball to Oli Shaw.

10-08-2018, 11:46 AM
Hyndman looked good when he came on yesterday.

Have a feeling he has been brought in as a stop-gap for us getting Scott Allan on a pre-contract in January, assuming Celtic play hardball this window :na na:

10-08-2018, 11:57 AM
Lit up the midfield as soon as he came on, wish it had been 5-10 minutes earlier. Can see him getting more time next Thursday.

10-08-2018, 11:59 AM
Lit up the midfield as soon as he came on, wish it had been 5-10 minutes earlier. Can see him getting more time next Thursday.

To be fair, he was on for about 10 minutes before he got a touch of the ball! But I'm looking forward to seeing much more after last night. Looked very dynamic.

AugustaHibs
10-08-2018, 12:02 PM
Is he left footed? Cos if he is he played a 50 yard pass with his right and hit a superb volley with it too

scooby
10-08-2018, 12:11 PM

Agreed, we should have made all our substitutions earlier. I felt that Molde were there for the taking if we'd really gone for it.

10-08-2018, 12:13 PM
Is he left footed? Cos if he is he played a 50 yard pass with his right and hit a superb volley with it too

Predominantly right. Left is decent though.

10-08-2018, 12:25 PM
Agreed, we should have made all our substitutions earlier. I felt that Molde were there for the taking if we'd really gone for it.

Maybe a bit cautious, perhaps rightly so. We restricted them to very few shots which were mostly blocked but they were very slick and clever in and around our box. Noticed Louie and Gray didn't bomb forward on certain occasions as they were quick and snappy in possession. In with a shout though as we will make chances over there. Would like to see Boyle test their left side a bit more as they toiled on the few occasions he went out there.

10-08-2018, 12:35 PM

I also thought we could have thrown away a valuable away goal by opening up a bit.

Lennon got it right imo. It was a close game, and will be a close game over there again. We carry a threat of our own on the break, and if we score over there then they will be in a world of trouble.

10-08-2018, 02:16 PM
Maybe a bit cautious, perhaps rightly so. We restricted them to very few shots which were mostly blocked but they were very slick and clever in and around our box. Noticed Louie and Gray didn't bomb forward on certain occasions as they were quick and snappy in possession. In with a shout though as we will make chances over there. Would like to see Boyle test their left side a bit more as they toiled on the few occasions he went out there.

Agree a very difficult balance to be set. Go for it in last ten and lose a goal and the tie would have possibly been over with a monumental turnaround required. As it is we are still in the tie and have a decent chance especially if we nick the first goal like we did in Greece. They look good and would assume will be very dangerous at home however we still definitely have a chance given the importance of an away goal.

10-08-2018, 02:16 PM
I also thought we could have thrown away a valuable away goal by opening up a bit.

Lennon got it right imo. It was a close game, and will be a close game over there again. We carry a threat of our own on the break, and if we score over there then they will be in a world of trouble.

Agree totally.

10-08-2018, 04:34 PM
Can’t beleive the amount of people moaning about a 0-0 draw at home to Molde.

Lennon is very experienced in Europe as a player and as a manager, I completely trust him.

Shows how far we have came I suppose.

10-08-2018, 04:57 PM
Can’t beleive the amount of people moaning about a 0-0 draw at home to Molde.

Lennon is very experienced in Europe as a player and as a manager, I completely trust him.

Shows how far we have came I suppose.

Is there lot of people moaning about it? Genuine question as I haven't seen that.

10-08-2018, 05:02 PM
Is there lot of people moaning about it? Genuine question as I haven't seen that.

Seen quite a few posts of folk moaning about the draw or that we never went for it last 30 minutes in the game.

Still a lot to play for over there and imo it will suit us

10-08-2018, 05:04 PM
Seen quite a few posts of folk moaning about the draw or that we never went for it last 30 minutes in the game.

Still a lot to play for over there and imo it will suit usAgreed 0 0 is a decent result to take over there and I'd guess they will need to come at us a bit more which should play into our hands hopefully

10-08-2018, 05:06 PM
We’ve 90 mins to go for it on Thursday. Good European performance and experienced gained last night. If we had went for it last night and got picked off it would have been poor. Cannot under play the clean sheet at home in these ties. Plastic pitch next week but all to play for.

10-08-2018, 05:26 PM
We’ve 90 mins to go for it on Thursday. Good European performance and experienced gained last night. If we had went for it last night and got picked off it would have been poor. Cannot under play the clean sheet at home in these ties. Plastic pitch next week but all to play for.

Admittedly they weren't what I thought they would be but you could see they had a bit of quality in that they moved the ball quickly and their movement off the ball was nice. If we opened up to go for it I definitely could have just as easily seen us conceding. But I think we can do it next week and the clean sheet increases our chances.

They'll no doubt come away from last night annoyed they didn't go back with at least an away goal

10-08-2018, 05:41 PM

Still a lot to play for over there and imo it will suit us

If we’d conceded a late away goal because we were all bombing forward I would have been raging.

Game plan spot on last night.

houstonhibbee
10-08-2018, 06:10 PM
If we’d conceded a late away goal because we were all bombing forward I would have been raging.

Game plan spot on last night.
It’s also why Neil didn’t make too many changes in the second half

10-08-2018, 06:23 PM
It’s also why Neil didn’t make too many changes in the second half

Did he say that. I thought Lennon was very late, not unusual for him, in making changes. Kamberi hardly did a thing all night and Shaw is a good player. Slivka was burst after an hour and Marv was dead on his feet after about 70 minutes. The 0-0 is a decent result but I thought we looked like we had a decent advantage in the second half and some more energy might have tipped the balance. I don't think there was much risk in changing Kamberi for Shaw far earlier and Slivka for Hyndman seemed a fairly easy swap too given how out of the game Slivka was after an hour.

We won't know until after the second leg if earlier changes would have been worthwhile and even then it is impossible to know if changes would have led to goals. I think everyone gets too caught up with away goals. A win is always better than a draw.

10-08-2018, 06:38 PM
Great time to be a hibby. One good performance away from a Europa league group stage shootout with D Minsk.Still think we could do with Mr Allan to fill the SJM void but we still have a chance of reaching the group stage. Never thought i’d see that.