View Full Version : What do you hear?

16-05-2018, 08:55 PM
It's incredible how this has caused so much disagreement. A bit like the Gold/White or Blue/Black dress.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-trending-44136799

It's incredible. Without telling my wife what I hear, I played the clip to her.

She hears the opposite to me.

16-05-2018, 11:44 PM
It's incredible how this has caused so much disagreement. A bit like the Gold/White or Blue/Black dress.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-trending-44136799

It's incredible. Without telling my wife what I hear, I played the clip to her.

She hears the opposite to me.

"Laurel" for me. Can't understand how anyone can hear that as being "Yanny" :confused:

17-05-2018, 12:44 AM
Just some guy saying Laurel twice.

Is it not the case that the older you get, the worse your hearing gets and the higher frequencies can't be heard any more? Anyone remember the sonic teenager deterrents?

17-05-2018, 05:30 AM
Laurel for me, but I can make out Yanny (the 'y' s anyway} if I listen for it

17-05-2018, 05:38 AM
Yanny. How can anyone hear Laurel?

17-05-2018, 05:45 AM

You're at it right?

Clearly Laurel.

17-05-2018, 06:42 AM

Is this a wind-up???? If it is then I can't be bothered debating it any further.

17-05-2018, 06:48 AM
Closer to yanny i suppose if it a choice between the two. But i hear yellay

17-05-2018, 07:27 AM
A muffled Yanny for me.

17-05-2018, 07:38 AM
I can hear both - Laurel is a really deep register behind a higher pitched Yanny :greengrin

17-05-2018, 07:43 AM
God help any kid who's called Laurel or Yanny. :rolleyes:

17-05-2018, 07:46 AM
God help any kid who's called Laurel or Yanny. :rolleyes:

Too right. They're just ridiculous names aren't they... Snooky :greengrin

17-05-2018, 07:53 AM
Too right. They're just ridiculous names aren't they... Snooky :greengrin

Why are you calling me Danny? :confused:
:stirrer: :wink:

17-05-2018, 08:00 AM
Why are you calling me Danny? :confused:
:stirrer: :wink:

17-05-2018, 09:07 AM

Exactly. I can only hear Yanny.

My wife hears Laurel.

Mental.

:wtf:

17-05-2018, 09:08 AM

Is this a wind-up???? If it is then I can't be bothered debating it any further.

It's hard to believe, I agree, but it's not a wind-up.

It really is like the dress. Folk were getting quite aggressive thinking people were taking the pish, but they weren't.

Gold/White and Yanny rule, ya bass. :greengrin

17-05-2018, 09:23 AM
It's Laurel ffs

My youngest to be different, though... he hears Lauren.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

17-05-2018, 09:25 AM
Just some guy saying Laurel twice.

Is it not the case that the older you get, the worse your hearing gets and the higher frequencies can't be heard any more? Anyone remember the sonic teenager deterrents?That's exactly the reason.

My oldest, who has used earphones for most of his life, hears the same as me. I suspect that he is not alone in his generation.

17-05-2018, 10:04 AM
It is actually "Laurel" - they took the clip off this page:

https://www.vocabulary.com/dictionary/laurel

Happily, I hear "laurel", so the Yannys are just weirdos. :greengrin

17-05-2018, 10:06 AM
It is actually "Laurel" - they took the clip off this page:

https://www.vocabulary.com/dictionary/laurel

Happily, I hear "laurel", so the Yannys are just weirdos. :greengrin

Resting on one's Yanny has a ring to it.....

pun not intended. :greengrin

Caversham Green
17-05-2018, 10:14 AM
Definitely yanny as far as I'm concerned.

Don't know if it makes a difference but I often get tinnitus and it's quite strong today - maybe it's blocking the 'laurel' frequencies or something.

17-05-2018, 10:16 AM
Definitely yanny as far as I'm concerned.

Don't know if it makes a difference but I often get tinnitus and it's quite strong today - maybe it's blocking the 'laurel' frequencies or something.

I have tinnitus, too. So yer just a deefie :greengrin

Caversham Green
17-05-2018, 10:17 AM
I have tinnitus, too. So yer just a deefie :greengrin

Anything but - I hear voices that no-one else can hear.

17-05-2018, 10:18 AM
Anything but - I hear voices that no-one else can hear.

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

17-05-2018, 11:17 AM
I don't think it's got anything to do with how good our hearing is. Or very little.

https://www.vox.com/2018/5/16/17358774/yanny-laurel-explained

17-05-2018, 11:39 AM
I don't think it's got anything to do with how good our hearing is. Or very little.

https://www.vox.com/2018/5/16/17358774/yanny-laurel-explained

I think that as you age you lose the ability to hear higher pitched tones. I think that's what's happening here and those who hear lower tones better than higher ones will hear one thing and vice versa.

17-05-2018, 12:37 PM
I think that as you age you lose the ability to hear higher pitched tones. I think that's what's happening here and those who hear lower tones better than higher ones will hear one thing and vice versa.

What do High Frequency folk hear when someone says the tongue-twister "Red leather, yellow leather, etc....."?
"Ned yethen, leyow yethen"? :dunno:

17-05-2018, 12:46 PM
I think that as you age you lose the ability to hear higher pitched tones. I think that's what's happening here and those who hear lower tones better than higher ones will hear one thing and vice versa.Cav has just blown that theory.... he's older than me [emoji16]

17-05-2018, 12:47 PM
After playing 100+ decibel bagpipes for 40 odd years I was concerned but not surprised to notice signs that my hearing might be failing. From 10yds or so I could always hear my car doors locking/unlocking, then recently I found myself pressing the button a few times and listening hard to hear the click. Turned out the key thingy needed a new battery. :greengrin

17-05-2018, 01:00 PM
Cav has just blown that theory.... he's older than me [emoji16]

He's obviously looked after himself better though :duck:

17-05-2018, 01:24 PM
After playing 100+ decibel bagpipes for 40 odd years I was concerned but not surprised to notice signs that my hearing might be failing. From 10yds or so I could always hear my car doors locking/unlocking, then recently I found myself pressing the button a few times and listening hard to hear the click. Turned out the key thingy needed a new battery. :greengrin

Are you sure it wasn't your hearing aid that needed one? :greengrin

17-05-2018, 01:31 PM
Are you sure it wasn't your hearing aid that needed one? :greengrin

Pardon?

Caversham Green
17-05-2018, 02:46 PM
He's obviously looked after himself better though :duck:

I think it's just that my ears are less worn out because apparently I never listen.

17-05-2018, 03:07 PM
He's obviously looked after himself better though :duck:30 odd posts and no-one has mentioned self-abuse.

17-05-2018, 03:50 PM

I just listened to it on this BBC page and it now sounds like Laurel. I can't imagine how I thought it was Yanny.

It can't be because my hearing is deteriorating.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/world-44151302/yanny-or-laurel-the-sound-dividing-the-internet

17-05-2018, 04:25 PM
It was Yanny yesterday and today I hear Laurel

17-05-2018, 04:58 PM
It was Yanny yesterday and today I hear LaurelDid you not hear Yanny Laverne this morning?

17-05-2018, 06:00 PM
I only hear laurel I don't know how it's possible to hear anything other than that.

My mum said she heard yanny last night but said it sounded like cherry tonight!

It's quite amazing how different people hear different sounds.

17-05-2018, 06:09 PM
I always hear myself saying that I am going out for a quiet pint but missus always hears something else.

17-05-2018, 06:44 PM
Did you not hear Yanny Laverne this morning?

Very good. I did.

17-05-2018, 06:49 PM
Still Yanny here and my wife is the same.

17-05-2018, 08:28 PM
My wife and I both hear yanny buy all my kids hear laurel.
Mental

17-05-2018, 08:44 PM
I now hear yoni.

But maybe that's just wishful thinking

17-05-2018, 10:13 PM
Anybody who says it's not Laurel is just a Faurel.

18-05-2018, 09:29 AM
Anybody who says it's not Laurel is just a Faurel.

pollution
18-05-2018, 11:30 AM
You have all been used. I bet this was a test to see how people could be taken in so easily.

As youngster me and my friends would point to nothing in the sky to see how many people would look too.

Don't even bother looking at these stupid questions.

18-05-2018, 01:19 PM
You have all been used. I bet this was a test to see how people could be taken in so easily.

As youngster me and my friends would point to nothing in the sky to see how many people would look too.

Don't even bother looking at these stupid questions.So how do you explain why so many intelligent people have differing reactions?

18-05-2018, 01:24 PM

Who would be setting this test? Luciferians? :greengrin

18-05-2018, 01:54 PM

18-05-2018, 01:55 PM
Who would be setting this test? Luciferians? :greengrinLaurelferians or Yaniferians, Shirley.

18-05-2018, 03:38 PM
I heard "Yammy"

:panic:

18-05-2018, 03:44 PM
I heard "Yammy"

:panic:

That's what I hear (only once they've taken out the low frequencies).

18-05-2018, 03:48 PM
Here is another one, you here whichever one you are thinking about:

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/video/2018/may/18/the-new-yannylaurel-do-you-hear-brainstorm-or-green-needle-video?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Copy_to_clipboard

It worked for me initially, but then I wasn't able to ever hear green needle again after so many goes and it was always brainstorm.

18-05-2018, 04:09 PM
Here is another one, you here whichever one you are thinking about:

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/video/2018/may/18/the-new-yannylaurel-do-you-hear-brainstorm-or-green-needle-video?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Copy_to_clipboard

It worked for me initially, but then I wasn't able to ever hear green needle again after so many goes and it was always brainstorm.

I hear Greenstorm which is a hybrid of the two so I'm only half daft. :na na:

Meantime .... https://twitter.com/standardnews/status/997495678908731393?s=03

pollution
18-05-2018, 06:09 PM
So how do you explain why so many intelligent people have differing reactions?

Too much on their hands. I don't know and care even less.

18-05-2018, 10:21 PM
Too much on their hands. I don't know and care even less.

Why bother posting on this thread at all, then?

Do you just need to let everyone know how much better you are than them? :dunno:

19-05-2018, 07:39 AM
I hear Yannay are we signing him?

19-05-2018, 07:44 AM
I hear Yannay are we signing him?Mair chance of signing Yanny and Hardy.

pollution
19-05-2018, 06:20 PM
Why bother posting on this thread at all, then?

Do you just need to let everyone know how much better you are than them? :dunno:

I was merely curious. I am no better than you or anyone.

Caversham Green
20-05-2018, 07:27 AM
I was merely curious. I am no better than you or anyone.

But not curious enough to test your theory that we've all been used. Not very scientific is it?

Anyway, for the patsies that tried the green needles/brainstorm one, a mate was trying it on his tablet last night - I could hear it but couldn't see the screen and wasn't particularly thinking of either word - and it sounded like two different recordings being played in a random order. Not sure if that tells us anything or not.

20-05-2018, 07:14 PM
Hearing Yemmay.

21-05-2018, 11:41 AM
Yearly or yearny for me, the wife hears laurel, all too friggin weird.

Galahibby
27-05-2018, 02:13 PM
I hear yanny, but give this a go. It ends up being laurel for me about 3 notches from the left hand side.

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2018/05/16/upshot/audio-clip-yanny-laurel-debate.html

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk