View Full Version : Jambo Style

02-03-2018, 11:20 PM
Once saw one wearing a blue kagool with a Hearts scarf on a very hot summers day. This was several years ago but the image has stuck in my mind as indicative of high Jambo style.

02-03-2018, 11:37 PM
Jambo - style ......... the best example of an oxymoron you will ever find.

03-03-2018, 12:10 AM
A type who consider themselves as gentlemen of the establishment, keen lovers of the armed forces (because they actually won WW1 singlehandedly don't you know), possess delusions of grandeur, have a win at any cost attitude but seldom win, consider that kicking everything that moves is fine, are diet huns some of whom pretend they're not, and have pishy breeks.

03-03-2018, 12:12 AM
I once saw one of them in Majorca wearing a pair of safari shorts and a top that didn’t quite cover his tummy. Worst still on his arm was a woman that had teeth that only a joiner could have fitted. The sight was that bad that the hearts top wasn’t the first thing I noticed.

03-03-2018, 12:18 AM
A type who consider themselves as gentlemen of the establishment, keen lovers of the armed forces (because they actually won WW1 singlehandedly don't you know), possess delusions of grandeur, have a win at any cost attitude but seldom win, consider that kicking everything that moves is fine, are diet huns some of whom pretend they're not, and have pishy breeks.

To the extent that they have actually recreated Somme like conditions on their "playing" surface and developed high intensity shelling as a football tactic.

03-03-2018, 12:23 AM
Once saw one wearing a blue kagool with a Hearts scarf on a very hot summers day. This was several years ago but the image has stuck in my mind as indicative of high Jambo style.

Tank top and moustache. Bungalow in Cortorphine with caravan on the drive.

ehf
03-03-2018, 12:34 AM

Dire Straits on the CD.

03-03-2018, 12:36 AM
That schemie bird you see wearing pyjamas to nip to the shops because she can’t be arsed wearing outside clothes: Jambo.

The lesser spotted male equivalent wear dressing gowns in public places like football matches.

03-03-2018, 12:58 AM
Can you tell what it is yet?

Anti-hoofbaw
03-03-2018, 07:56 AM
To ZZ Top 'Sharp Dressed Man'

"Pringle gear, Donnay shoes
And Tyncastle's where he's goin' to
Club foot, squint yaks
He don't need a reason why
Hertz love hoofin' just as high as they can
'And every Hibee's laughin 'bout a hertz dressed man
Fake watch, sare ring,
He ain't missin' not a single thing
Pink seats, smug grin,
When he step out he gonna look a f***g ding-a-ling
Stained coat, ***** chat,
And he don't worry 'cause his birds fat
Gimpy specs, leather gloves,
Reekin o shartz needin a wash wi dove
'And every Hibee's laughin 'bout a hertz dressed man"

hibbydog
03-03-2018, 08:05 AM
The quintessential jambo:

Tank top
Brown chords
White socks
Yellow teeth
Dandruff
Mid 90’s rave music
Manky BO
Constantly shouting ‘never mind that p!sh, get the baw up the park’

03-03-2018, 08:19 AM
don't forget he drives a rover.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

03-03-2018, 08:24 AM
To the extent that they have actually recreated Somme like conditions on their "playing" surface and developed high intensity shelling as a football tactic.

Very good, made me laugh

03-03-2018, 08:25 AM
john mcglynn wearing trackie bottoms, managers jacket, shirt and hearts tie lives long in the memory.

I assume he had dress shoes on too however I think the photo had cut that part of the photo off.

Roxyhibee
03-03-2018, 09:06 AM
Shows off his Springsteen’s Greatest Hits cd and calls him “The Boss”.

Shiney shoes and regular fit denims.

Dad dances singing Mustang Sally on the karaoke.

Says things like “aye but it takes two to tango” and “nae point in havin a dug and barkin yersel, eh.?”

Heavy on the Blue Stratos.

Waiting on the second series of Kilroy-Silk’s Shafted.

Says “it a’ goes doon the same way” whilst ramming a pot noodle down his fat neck at his desk.

Thinks his daughters pals love him with his creepy innuendo jokes when they visit.

we could go on..

03-03-2018, 09:10 AM
There's a lassie where I live that routinely passes my window wearing a onesie and Ugg boots - now that is Jambo style.

With the inclement weather she's been teaming this with a rather fetching blue Stone Island jaiket.

03-03-2018, 10:15 AM
Shows off his Springsteen’s Greatest Hits cd and calls him “The Boss”.

Shiney shoes and regular fit denims.

Dad dances singing Mustang Sally on the karaoke.

Says things like “aye but it takes two to tango” and “nae point in havin a dug and barkin yersel, eh.?”

Heavy on the Blue Stratos.

Waiting on the second series of Kilroy-Silk’s Shafted.

Says “it a’ goes doon the same way” whilst ramming a pot noodle down his fat neck at his desk.

Thinks his daughters pals love him with his creepy innuendo jokes when they visit.

we could go on..[emoji23] did have a laugh at that, but what's wrong with Blue Stratos? Used to drink it all the time[emoji6]

For the average senior yam anything corduroy is acceptable in the trouser department so long as they have relaxed fit waistbands. All upper garments tend to be a jobby brown and pink tinged colour and must be knitted by an elderly relative.

The more fashionable young team (anywhere between 25 and 40) are happy with any trousers so long as they are nylon/polyester or any other material that can generate static electricity and costs up to £10 a pair. Upper body garments tend to be decaying short sleeved hearts away tops but gillet's from charity shops are starting to feature.

A few believers still have Russian hats.

As the good doctor develops even more ideas to spend their savings on as an alternative to fan ownership footwear tends to be only for the very rich superyam as the rest are having to make their uggs, crocs and leather look brown brogues last even longer

Roxyhibee
03-03-2018, 11:43 AM
[emoji23] did have a laugh at that, but what's wrong with Blue Stratos? Used to drink it all the time[emoji6]

For the average senior yam anything corduroy is acceptable in the trouser department so long as they have relaxed fit waistbands. All upper garments tend to be a jobby brown and pink tinged colour and must be knitted by an elderly relative.

The more fashionable young team (anywhere between 25 and 40) are happy with any trousers so long as they are nylon/polyester or any other material that can generate static electricity and costs up to £10 a pair. Upper body garments tend to be decaying short sleeved hearts away tops but gillet's from charity shops are starting to feature.

A few believers still have Russian hats.

As the good doctor develops even more ideas to spend their savings on as an alternative to fan ownership footwear tends to be only for the very rich superyam as the rest are having to make their uggs, crocs and leather look brown brogues last even longer

😂👍

You had the class to see the true potential of Blue Stratos whilst those buffoons put it on their unwashed skin..

03-03-2018, 11:44 AM
https://www.comedy.co.uk/images/library/comedies/900x450/k/keeping_up_appearances.jpg

03-03-2018, 11:48 AM
....and of course, the vehicle of choice.

https://vignette.wikia.nocookie.net/keepingupappearances/images/2/2f/Rover-216-Keeping-Up-Appearances.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20150916212325

03-03-2018, 11:52 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180303/92775f14bbf120cd5ec314ca11d095e3.jpg

03-03-2018, 12:03 PM
The mustard tie and maroon cardigan is probably a bit of an outdated image now.

Young Hearts fans will likely be the guy on holiday in the brightly coloured Primark short short swimming shorts, Puma flip flops, sunglasses with ridiculously oversized frames in a primary colour and an ill fitting polo shirt by Hackett or similar. Essentially a cut price 'Chelsea lad'.

Your more mature gentleman will be in the regular cut jeans, burgundy jacket by Lyle & Scott or similar because it's 'trendy', almost certain to be sporting a pair of entry level Nike trainers and the polo shirt will remain largely unchanged.

03-03-2018, 12:10 PM
Say nae mair......

:sick:

It looks as if she's been run over by a Land Rover - both ways.

03-03-2018, 12:12 PM

https://vignette.wikia.nocookie.net/keepingupappearances/images/2/2f/Rover-216-Keeping-Up-Appearances.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20150916212325
And a pair of tan faux leather driving gloves taking pride of place in the glove box, because Miriam thinks he looks authoritative in them.

03-03-2018, 12:36 PM
Say nae mair......

:sick:

Per wumman. Looks like they recycled the curtains from the John Robertson Lounge. Whoever told her that was a good idea was having a right laugh (or has horrendous taste).

I've noticed that the younger **** goes for a huge forelock hairstyle whilst the older jambo has no forelock left from all the tuggin'.

Anti-hoofbaw
03-03-2018, 12:58 PM

03-03-2018, 01:12 PM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQLpCm-Frx3D47FP1aL9PeZOJbWcAegacMzUKmP3XsOCk2Ftjn8

madsen5
03-03-2018, 01:23 PM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQLpCm-Frx3D47FP1aL9PeZOJbWcAegacMzUKmP3XsOCk2Ftjn8

Don't forget the sheepskin jacket .

03-03-2018, 01:53 PM
Saw a Jamboess walking down Gorgie Road in 2006 with her Hertz top on. It said Hackett on the back and thought well at least she's honest.

03-03-2018, 01:56 PM

Off to the Toby Carvery.

03-03-2018, 02:12 PM
https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.WdHz0lflUxKa12QkMazqQAAAAA&w=156&h=144&c=7&o=5&pid=1.7

03-03-2018, 02:13 PM
Saw a Jamboess walking down Gorgie Road in 2006 with her Hertz top on. It said Hackett on the back and thought well at least she's honest.

03-03-2018, 02:17 PM
Jambo - style ......... the best example of an oxymoron you will ever find.

Oxymaroon

03-03-2018, 02:20 PM
Other strips are available

03-03-2018, 02:26 PM

Am I the only one that still finds that ‘strip’ hilarious?

vuefrom1875
03-03-2018, 02:28 PM

1970s male model 😀

03-03-2018, 02:34 PM
Am I the only one that still finds that ‘strip’ hilarious?

Here's a Rosebery returning the compliment by dressing up yamland style.:wink:

03-03-2018, 02:48 PM

03-03-2018, 02:51 PM

I'm inclined to agree - but have you seen the Lochend Vice image?

03-03-2018, 02:53 PM
That schemie bird you see wearing pyjamas to nip to the shops because she can’t be arsed wearing outside clothes: Jambo.

The lesser spotted male equivalent wear dressing gowns in public places like football matches.

Saw the very same on Tuesday. I'm a bit worried because she went into Greggs. Puts a question mark against her. :worried:

03-03-2018, 03:18 PM
I once saw one of them in Majorca wearing a pair of safari shorts and a top that didn’t quite cover his tummy. Worst still on his arm was a woman that had teeth that only a joiner could have fitted. The sight was that bad that the hearts top wasn’t the first thing I noticed.

I have to concede that the last line of that post is most beautifully damning one ever constructed.

huggie1875
03-03-2018, 03:19 PM

Dan Sarf
03-03-2018, 03:21 PM
Off to the Toby Carvery.

With an extra large plate in his briefcase

03-03-2018, 04:06 PM
http://i64.tinypic.com/v75d1u.jpg

Hearts

http://i67.tinypic.com/6f9q2r.jpg

Hearts

http://i65.tinypic.com/2sacevs.jpg

Hearts

http://i68.tinypic.com/2vbwr6g.jpg

Hearts

http://i67.tinypic.com/25s8ndj.jpg

Hearts

http://i64.tinypic.com/35iro9c.jpg

Hearts

03-03-2018, 04:14 PM

What can surely be defined as "Savile Row"

03-03-2018, 04:21 PM

Criminal we allowed this thread to get to page 2 without this image.

03-03-2018, 04:26 PM
I thought this was the latest K-pop release from Korea.

03-03-2018, 04:29 PM
Ex middle management banker type who lost it all during the financial crisis, dreams of the good old days of splashing the cash while taking all his insecurities out on Neilson because that **** let Hibs win the cup.

Voted Ruth Davidson.

03-03-2018, 04:33 PM
The Rover is a bit dated now I think. Your average yam now drives a maroon Mazda 6. Ugly with ideas far beyond its station.

03-03-2018, 06:58 PM
The Rover is a bit dated now I think. Your average yam now drives a maroon Mazda 6. Ugly with ideas far beyond its station.

Wishes he has a blue badge but will do with a maroon one

03-03-2018, 07:02 PM
Here's a Rosebery returning the compliment by dressing up yamland style.:wink:
If one makes me laugh, that makes me boak!

03-03-2018, 07:16 PM
If one makes me laugh, that makes me boak!Know what you mean, but this is what they are all cap doffing deferential to.

03-03-2018, 07:18 PM

It's not in my nature to say a tsunami would be a welcome sight but ........

03-03-2018, 07:30 PM
It's not in my nature to say a tsunami would be a welcome sight but ........

There is so many things wrong with that picture one being it would be her that’s got the crabs

Green Badger
03-03-2018, 07:55 PM

Is that actually a real flyer or some creative work on photoshop?

03-03-2018, 07:59 PM

It was
Look at the date on the bottom right

03-03-2018, 08:28 PM
john mcglynn wearing trackie bottoms, managers jacket, shirt and hearts tie lives long in the memory.

I assume he had dress shoes on too however I think the photo had cut that part of the photo off.

http://files.stv.tv/imagebase/173/623x349/173805-hearts-manager-john-mcglynn-seems-unhappy-as-todays-game-is-postponed.jpg

03-03-2018, 08:29 PM
From Trainspotting:

'Ugh...a spotty f***er in a Hearts scarf...yes, the c***s are at home today. Look at him, the ultimate anti-style statement. Ah'd rather see ma sister in a brothel than ma brother in a Hearts scarf n that's f***in true.'

That sums it up for me. A Hearts scarf alone is enough to scream 'anti-style'. I've realised that no matter how old I get, the sight of somebody in a Hearts scarf will forever be a source of disgust. In fact it can momentarily dent my mood and have me muttering all sorts of profanities under my breath.

03-03-2018, 08:46 PM
From Trainspotting:

'Ugh...a spotty f***er in a Hearts scarf...yes, the c***s are at home today. Look at him, the ultimate anti-style statement. Ah'd rather see ma sister in a brothel than ma brother in a Hearts scarf n that's f***in true.'

That sums it up for me. A Hearts scarf alone is enough to scream 'anti-style'. I've realised that no matter how old I get, the sight of somebody in a Hearts scarf will forever be a source of disgust. In fact it can momentarily dent my mood and have me muttering all sorts of profanities under my breath.

My partner just smiles and shakes her head when we pass anyone wearing a Hearts scarf or other club merchandise because she knows exactly what is coming.

03-03-2018, 09:48 PM

Depending on how you look at it, unfortunately or fortunately, it is 100% real.

During the Romanov years, sums up perfectly why money doesn't buy class.

Austinho
03-03-2018, 10:58 PM

Typical Hearts supporting family, circa 2018.

04-03-2018, 12:23 AM
Black slacks, black shoes, white socks. Fat. Moustache.

vuefrom1875
04-03-2018, 01:27 AM

The tramp sitting on the deck chair is now a backroom employee.. Check the dugout for him next time hertz are on telly 😀

04-03-2018, 01:30 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180304/6c653b39f759a4827590543f0b0cb2a7.jpg Bitter, petty and twisted because of peculiar sequence of tragi-comic historic events that endlessly repeat with hilarious consequences.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180304/56f4639dab4ee0af88152b36ad29eeb0.jpg Status Quo

04-03-2018, 08:22 AM
http://i63.tinypic.com/28wdqp0.png

04-03-2018, 09:48 AM

Asshole 🤣🤣🤣

04-03-2018, 02:33 PM
Depending on how you look at it, unfortunately or fortunately, it is 100% real.

During the Romanov years, sums up perfectly why money doesn't buy class.

And in their case, other people's money doesn't buy class.

proud_and_green
04-03-2018, 03:20 PM

and pampas grass in the front garden....!

04-03-2018, 03:43 PM
http://i63.tinypic.com/28wdqp0.pngWhat 2 - 4 got to do with anything?

Or is this about how to dress as a security guard for under a tenner?

04-03-2018, 03:49 PM

Fake news lighting / shadows all wrong.

04-03-2018, 03:55 PM
What 2 - 4 got to do with anything?

Or is this about how to dress as a security guard for under a tenner?

When you have 8 fingers on each hand coordination can be quite tricky.

GreenOnions
04-03-2018, 04:44 PM
To ZZ Top 'Sharp Dressed Man'

"Pringle gear, Donnay shoes
And Tyncastle's where he's goin' to
Club foot, squint yaks
He don't need a reason why
Fake watch, sare ring,
He ain't missin' not a single thing
Pink seats, smug grin,
When he step out he gonna look a f***g ding-a-ling
Stained coat, ***** chat,
And he don't worry 'cause his birds fat
Gimpy specs, leather gloves,
Reekin o shartz needin a wash wi dove
'And every Hibee's laughin 'bout a hertz dressed man"
:-D Love it!

04-03-2018, 05:28 PM
http://i68.tinypic.com/300wirk.jpg

04-03-2018, 05:44 PM

There's definitely a pattern emerging... and it's not pretty

:jamboak:

04-03-2018, 05:45 PM
http://i68.tinypic.com/300wirk.jpgThis is what happens when your rush out in the morning and put your heid on upside down by mistake

04-03-2018, 05:47 PM

That feeling when you wish you could un-invent the "selfie".

04-03-2018, 05:50 PM
That feeling when you wish you could un-invent the "selfie".Yep, what's the point in taking a selfie of your own reflection in the toilet bowl?

05-03-2018, 02:25 AM

Found the full length image of John McGlynn modelling the classic Jambo look - classy!