View Full Version : Tonight’s Games

09-10-2017, 06:30 PM
Wales v Republic of Ireland on S4C channel 166 on Virgin.

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 06:31 PM
Come on Wales!!

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 06:31 PM
Thanks for the heads up too.

18Hibee75
09-10-2017, 06:32 PM
Was looking forward to the Scotland and Ireland/Wales game on Saturday. Now it pains me to watch the Wales game as I know Scotland wont be involved. Ho hum.

Sent from my F3211 using Tapatalk

09-10-2017, 06:33 PM
hope they both get beat, stupid competition anyway, and who would want to go to russia anyway

:boo hoo:

09-10-2017, 06:34 PM
I hope ROI get the win. Come on ye boys in green

09-10-2017, 06:45 PM
welsh humming that daft ******** tune, mon the oirish now

:)

yonder1875
09-10-2017, 06:59 PM
Wales are a decent side. Aaron Ramsey moves up a level when playing for them.

09-10-2017, 07:04 PM
Mon the Welsh

09-10-2017, 07:10 PM
Daryl Murphy up front for Ireland. He was rubbish when at Celtc. Wales looking the stronger with Ledley and Ramsay in midfield.

09-10-2017, 07:12 PM
C'mon the Greens.

Anything to stop the Welsh singing for 2 ****ing minutes!

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 07:12 PM
Daryl Murphy up front for Ireland. He was rubbish when at Celtc. Wales looking the stronger with Ledley and Ramsay in midfield.

And Allen, very underrated. Ireland look pap and they need a win.

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 07:13 PM
C'mon the Greens.

Anything to stop the Welsh singing for 2 ****ing minutes!

Ken, ***** support singing all game 😂

09-10-2017, 07:13 PM
My missus is Irish and I have a large family of in laws over there. C'mon Wales..

09-10-2017, 07:16 PM
Ken, ***** support singing all game [emoji23]Get them in a group and they all become Tom Jones in their own heads.

(I am joking btw before anyone accuses me of xenophobia or similar...)

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

09-10-2017, 07:17 PM
It's a goal fest tonight.

09-10-2017, 07:23 PM
craig thomson refereeing israel v spain

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 07:24 PM
Get them in a group and they all become Tom Jones in their own heads.

(I am joking btw before anyone accuses me of xenophobia or similar...)

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

😂😂

I didn’t realise Darren McGregor was playing for Wales ;)

Firestarter
It's a goal fest tonight.

Macedonia just scored!

09-10-2017, 07:25 PM
Wonder what the odds were on 9 0-0s at half time.

Edit: On 8 0-0s at half time. :-)

09-10-2017, 07:26 PM
and the first goal of tonights 9 games is Macedonia 1 Liechtenstein 0

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 07:29 PM
Goals flying in now. 2-0 and 1-0 Iceland to win their group and go right to Russia.

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 07:31 PM
Luxembourg under 21s beat France 2-0 earlier and are second in their group.

09-10-2017, 07:32 PM
Dire 1st half, turning over to watch Superfoods with Kate Quilton now😄

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 07:35 PM
How come the Welsh get their matches on sky and the Welsh channel and we get zip apart from STV when we played England? Talk about neglecting the support.

09-10-2017, 07:39 PM

Not long after the first team drew away to France as well. Good times for them.

yonder1875
09-10-2017, 07:49 PM
Not long after the first team drew away to France as well. Good times for them.

And their 4th best club side beat the huns.

09-10-2017, 07:55 PM
How can Iceland be going to the World Cup when they have a population of 300,000 ?

09-10-2017, 07:58 PM
How can Iceland be going to the World Cup when they have a population of 300,000 ?

Better physicality and genetics

09-10-2017, 07:58 PM

Genetics.

09-10-2017, 08:00 PM
yass

09-10-2017, 08:01 PM
Get in.

Chorley Hibee
09-10-2017, 08:02 PM

Schematics.

09-10-2017, 08:04 PM
Our old mucker Tudur Jones offering some incomprehensible insights apparently.

It would be quite mental if Wales went out after going the full campaign unbeaten until tonight.

They're huge and don't have to try hard to jump high!! Or maybe they have totally changed their set up, invested in infrastructure across the whole country, don't have SFA types running the game there, don't have the OF hoovering up then wasting young talent, probably don't have the press biased towards two clubs. Nah, it's probably genetics!!!

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 08:06 PM
Some turnaround from the Paddys.

09-10-2017, 08:17 PM
croatia 2 up in ukraine, wales need to win now

serbia 1 georgia 0

09-10-2017, 08:17 PM
It would be quite mental if Wales went out after going the full campaign unbeaten until tonight.

Wales will go out even if they draw as Croatia are winning 2 0

09-10-2017, 08:18 PM
Have Wales stopped playing at Millennium Stadium?

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 08:18 PM
Have Wales stopped playing at Millennium Stadium?

Years ago.

09-10-2017, 08:21 PM
So who misses out of things stay like this? :confused:

09-10-2017, 08:22 PM

wales

09-10-2017, 08:22 PM
Our old mucker Tudur Jones offering some incomprehensible insights apparently.

Enough to make me sway towards Ireland. Wage thief who was more interested in golf than keeping Hibs up.

09-10-2017, 08:23 PM
wales

Sorry, what second place team?

09-10-2017, 08:23 PM

Hopefully Wales

09-10-2017, 08:24 PM

Slovakia. Croatia and roi will go above them.

09-10-2017, 08:24 PM
Years ago.

Thought they still played huge games there?

09-10-2017, 08:25 PM
Glad the welsh are on their way out. They are a tight fisted bunch....

09-10-2017, 08:26 PM
The chat is a bit iffy.

09-10-2017, 08:33 PM
Wales are pish.

09-10-2017, 08:34 PM
Chris Coleman should go.

09-10-2017, 08:34 PM
Hate every single song that the Welsh sing. Soooooo boring.

09-10-2017, 08:35 PM

They are playing tonight mate, its currently 2-2 after 78 minutes.

09-10-2017, 08:36 PM
Slovakia. Croatia and roi will go above them.
Does that mean Scotland would have missed out if they had won yesterday?

Sorry, what second place team?

Slovakia.

There are less tricolours in the Ireland end than there are at your average Glasgow Celtic match.

09-10-2017, 08:37 PM

Nope we were guaranteed a play off place if we had won yesterday.

Slovakia only have 18 points, we would have had 20 points with a win yesterday.

09-10-2017, 08:39 PM
Nope we were guaranteed a play off place if we had won yesterday.

Slovakia only have 18 points, we would have had 20 points with a win yesterday.
Got it. Ta

09-10-2017, 08:40 PM
the oirish are a ermmm 'industrial' side

09-10-2017, 08:41 PM

They are. With luck they will get put out in the play offs, they'd add nothing to the finals.

09-10-2017, 08:42 PM
Glad the irish went through, just to annoy that little sheite Craig Bellamy.

Well I guess you would say job done from an Irish POV. Not pretty on the eye but I dont suppose anyone in the Emerald Isle could careless about that tonight.

Pleasing result. :greengrin Well done the Oirish. Industrial football that gets results.

09-10-2017, 08:43 PM
They are. With luck they will get put out in the play offs, they'd add nothing to the finals.

They've just done what we'd have been celebrating wildly last night: won a must-win away match anyway they could. They'd bring to the finals the same as any other small nation would. Hope and a ****ing good party.

09-10-2017, 08:44 PM
Northern Ireland v Republic of Ireland in the play-offs wold be a great watch.

09-10-2017, 08:45 PM
French under 21 completed their comeback against Luxembourg, 2-3.

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 08:47 PM
Thought they still played huge games there?

You may be right I just can't mind them playing there for ages, certainly not against Scotland.

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 08:48 PM
French under 21 completed their comeback against Luxembourg, 2-3.

Whoops thought it was full time 2-0 😂

Well done Ireland, anything that makes Mr Stokes happy is good enough for me.

JOD
09-10-2017, 08:49 PM
Slovakia have missed out after all !!!

If we had won we would have got through with 14 points and the Irish would
have missed out.

09-10-2017, 08:50 PM
Whoops thought it was full time 2-0 😂

Well done Ireland, anything that makes Mr Stokes happy is good enough for me.

Conrad will have someone on his shoulders and a pint in his hand right now. Guaranteed :greengrin

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 08:50 PM

Like watching celtic in Europe without Larsson back in the day.

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 08:51 PM
Conrad will have someone on his shoulders and a pint in his hand right now. Guaranteed :greengrin

Oh aye, how could I forget him? Least I have a country to follow if they make it now 😂

09-10-2017, 08:51 PM

If they get put out in the playoffs the SFA should get straight on the phone to O'Neill.

09-10-2017, 08:53 PM

after the norn oirish slagging strachan and our team last night i hope they get ******** upside down in their next game....and every game afterwards until the end of time

09-10-2017, 08:57 PM
after the norn oirish slagging strachan and our team last night i hope they get ******** upside down in their next game....and every game afterwards until the end of time

If Strachan slaggers get you that uptight then presumably your hibs.net ignore list is bulging at the seams after the last 24 hours :greengrin

CorrieHibs
09-10-2017, 09:00 PM

What were they saying?

I was praying we would get them in the play off if we had won last night.
Hope they get hammered whoever they play.

09-10-2017, 09:00 PM

For the same reason that Sevco vs Celtc isn't a great watch, no it wouldn't...it would descend into a sectarian ****-show very quickly indeed.

09-10-2017, 09:05 PM
If Strachan slaggers get you that uptight then presumably your hibs.net ignore list is bulging at the seams after the last 24 hours :greengrin

i've not even looked at the strachan thread to be fair, all the slagging of a Scottish football legend is just a tad too distasteful for moi :wink: my point was more to do with the real reasons northern irish fans would find it easy to slander a scottish football legend, and scotland itself, they can ram their rule britania p@sh up their posteriors

09-10-2017, 09:08 PM
What were they saying?

I was praying we would get them in the play off if we had won last night.
Hope they get hammered whoever they play.

cheer up gordon strachan, sommit sommit sommit
and a ***** football team :greengrin

now it could have of course just sounded liked gordon strachan etc etc and might have been the latvian manager...but, well

09-10-2017, 09:11 PM
i've not even looked at the strachan thread to be fair, all the slagging of a Scottish football legend is just a tad too distasteful for moi :wink: my point was more to do with the real reasons northern irish fans would find it easy to slander a scottish football legend, and scotland itself, they can ram their rule britania p@sh up their posteriors

I think you might be surprised at how many of them identify strongly with Scotland tbh, particularly amongst their bawbag element that can't separate politics or religion from sport. Ulster Scots is their cultural claim to counter Irish Gaelic in NI and Scottish flags are seen flying in amongst Union flags and red hands pretty much everywhere in marching season.

09-10-2017, 09:13 PM

That is a potential match up as the rankings stand at the moment.

mayo hibee
09-10-2017, 09:16 PM

If Scotland had won Ireland would have been the second place team that missed out. Also, strangely, if Scotland hadn't scored the late goal against Slovakia to win Ireland would again have missed out. The Scotland win/draw combination saved Ireland.

09-10-2017, 09:17 PM
I think you might be surprised at how many of them identify strongly with Scotland tbh, particularly amongst their bawbag element that can't separate politics or religion from sport. Ulster Scots is their cultural claim to counter Irish Gaelic in NI and Scottish flags are seen flying in amongst Union flags and red hands pretty much everywhere in marching season.

oh aye, i can see those that fly their scottish flags also being tartan army well-wishers :greengrin especially if any tartan army members happen to be kafflik

09-10-2017, 09:18 PM
Interesting match up tomorrow night, Portugal v Switzerland in group B, a win for Portugal makes them group winners, anything else and the Swiss win the group.

celthedd1
09-10-2017, 09:19 PM
We were crap for too long in the first half, Ireland were obviously going too have a go later on but no excuses, we were crap after we conceded as well where's I was confident we would create proper chances.. not good enough, Bale must be sick too miss out on a potential World Cup

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 09:20 PM
If Scotland had won Ireland would have been the second place team that missed out. Also, strangely, if Scotland hadn't scored the late goal against Slovakia to win Ireland would again have missed out. The Scotland win/draw combination saved Ireland.

Ireland gave us Conrad and Stokes, we repay with that combination. We're very thankful.

09-10-2017, 09:21 PM
oh aye, i can see those that fly their scottish flags also being tartan army well-wishers :greengrin especially if any tartan army members happen to be kafflik

Different people see Scotland and the Saltire in different ways I suppose.

With regards to your "real reason" suggestion I think any chant about Strachan from the Nordies was far more to do with football than politics tbh.

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 09:21 PM
Interesting match up tomorrow night, Portugal v Switzerland in group B, a win for Portugal makes them group winners, anything else and the Swiss win the group.

Is this **** on for another day? Make it stop (now were out) :greengrin

09-10-2017, 09:24 PM
We were crap for too long in the first half, Ireland were obviously going too have a go later on but no excuses, we were crap after we conceded as well where's I was confident we would create proper chances.. not good enough, Bale must be sick too miss out on a potential World Cup

Allen going off was the key moment of the match for me, he was running the game till his sandwich. After that Wales didnt have anyone on the park that could make something happen, no creative spark. Thought Ramsey was pretty poor tonight, he needed to step up after Allen went off but the Irish stopped him very effectively.

Firestarter
09-10-2017, 09:28 PM
Allen going off was the key moment of the match for me, he was running the game till his sandwich. After that Wales didnt have anyone on the park that could make something happen, no creative spark. Thought Ramsey was pretty poor tonight, he needed to step up after Allen went off but the Irish stopped him very effectively.

100% agree apart from Ramsay was good until Allen went off too. Went flat after that.

celthedd1
09-10-2017, 09:28 PM
[QUOTE=Lancs Harp;5188869]Allen going off was the key moment of the match for me, he was running the game till his sandwich. After that Wales didnt have anyone on the park that could make something happen, no creative spark. Thought Ramsey was pretty poor tonight, he needed to step up after Allen went off but the Irish stopped him very effectively.[/QUOTE

celthedd1
09-10-2017, 09:32 PM
[QUOTE=Lancs Harp;5188869]Allen going off was the key moment of the match for me, he was running the game till his sandwich. After that Wales didnt have anyone on the park that could make something happen, no creative spark. Thought Ramsey was pretty poor tonight, he needed to step up after Allen went off but the Irish stopped him very effectively.[/QUOTE

I was pleased too see him going off as he was on a yellow but Ramsey has hidden too much for a top class pro in a top class club!

10-10-2017, 02:09 AM
How come the Welsh get their matches on sky and the Welsh channel and we get zip apart from STV when we played England? Talk about neglecting the support.

Because you voted No.

Firestarter
10-10-2017, 08:49 AM
Because you voted No.

Naw I didnae! Did the Welsh win independence? Must have missed that.