View Full Version : So what is everyone doing in the close season?

07-05-2017, 10:05 AM
Been a long time since we had a long close season. Last few years cup finals, play offs and euro or World Cup. So how are you going to fill your Saturdays?

07-05-2017, 10:09 AM
Saturday competitive golf for me and a few visits to the 19th hole afterwards.

HFCdeb
07-05-2017, 10:27 AM
I'm worried I'm gonna have to get a girlfriend to keep myself entertained during it ☹

07-05-2017, 10:28 AM
Playing bagpipes (same as the last 40 years).

07-05-2017, 10:31 AM
A ropey back has sidelined me as I need surgery. That's 7 months now. Don't play in the winter so I've not missed it till the last 4/5 weeks. Scunnered. With no football I really am gonna be lost.

07-05-2017, 10:32 AM
Is this the first time since 2011 that we haven't been involved in a final/play offs?

Slavers
07-05-2017, 10:33 AM
Telling any Jambo who i talk to that the derbies will be great next season and watching their reaction knowing that inside they are ****ting it from a constant pumping!

07-05-2017, 10:37 AM
HATE the close season, counting down the days until new season begins,- only 73 sleeps to go.

07-05-2017, 10:40 AM
Is this the first time since 2011 that we haven't been involved in a final/play offs?

HFCdeb
07-05-2017, 10:45 AM
Telling any Jambo who i talk to that the derbies will be great next season and watching their reaction knowing that inside they are ****ting it from a constant pumping!

😂👌

07-05-2017, 10:48 AM
Bowls

Tenerife

Saturday afternoon pub lunches with the missus.

07-05-2017, 10:57 AM
Watch football on tv for the next few weeks then start looking forward to the pre season friendlies

07-05-2017, 10:59 AM
Golf and posting Greggs rumours on hibs.net.

07-05-2017, 11:01 AM
Watch football on tv for the next few weeks then start looking forward to the pre season friendlies

Looking forward to fixtures coming out, week in Majorca at end of June then try to attend any friendlies we arrange before league cup games start on 15 July

07-05-2017, 11:03 AM
Two week holiday in Portugal at the end of June and Wimbledon. Nothing at all for the next 5 or 6 weeks though.

Roll on the new season!

07-05-2017, 11:09 AM
I'm depressed already. Scotland vs England in June. Wimbledon with Andy. Hope to be back from Asia for 2 weeks in Edinburgh with my son and his girlfriend in August. Trying to convince my Filipino partner to come who is big football fan and loves our sunshine on Leith.

07-05-2017, 11:09 AM
Going to the Southampton v Stoke game on the 21st.

Scotland v England - Not going, but will have a few "ex pats" round for the game and a BBQ.

Holiday to France is not until mid August, so season will be started by then.

Pre season friendlies in England (hopefully).

Looking forward to the season ahead.

07-05-2017, 11:11 AM
Play offs, cup finals and Scotland game keeps us going until early June

2.5 weeks in Florida from end of June

Back for start of pre season/league cup games and then into next season.

07-05-2017, 11:21 AM
Bit of a cricket fan so that satifies my sporting hunger during the summer.

Off to Thailand (got friends there) and Vietnam at the end of June and into July, which Im very much looking forward to.

Then its next season!

07-05-2017, 11:23 AM
Training for a half marthon in September. Currently on the couch eating wagon wheels

07-05-2017, 11:24 AM
Golf and posting Greggs rumours on hibs.net.

Religiously following these Greggs rumours ^

OsloHibs
07-05-2017, 11:45 AM
Season is underway here in Norway- my team is forever near the bottom, so another long summer for me then.. although a decent cup run would be nice!!!

07-05-2017, 11:58 AM
Following the British and Irish Lions whilst keeping an eye on the informed information, reasonable rumours and silly-season speculation of the Greggs threads.

07-05-2017, 12:00 PM
Following the British and Irish Lions whilst keeping an eye on the informed information, reasonable rumours and silly-season speculation of the Greggs threads.

Forgot about the Lions tour. Look forward to that too.

07-05-2017, 12:17 PM
What date does premiership kick off??

07-05-2017, 12:33 PM
Getting married in June at ER then off to Thailand on our honeymoon.

07-05-2017, 12:39 PM
I thought the Ladies played through the summer? :cb

07-05-2017, 12:56 PM
Religiously following these Greggs rumours ^

07-05-2017, 01:19 PM
Been a long time since we had a long close season. Last few years cup finals, play offs and euro or World Cup. So how are you going to fill your Saturdays?
Watching to see who leaves & who joins Hibs for start of new season.

07-05-2017, 01:47 PM

They play until the end of June then have a break in July then back in August until November. They have the cup final on May 21st at broadwood.

http://www.womenspremierleague.co.uk/fixtures/

SuperAllyMcleod
07-05-2017, 01:54 PM
I'm going to try and get out on my bike more often as well as return to the golf course - just hope we have some decent weather.

07-05-2017, 03:53 PM
What date does premiership kick off??

5th August IIRC

07-05-2017, 03:54 PM
5th August IIRC
Cheers I see the league cup starts on 15th July

07-05-2017, 04:15 PM
Watching my cup final DVD

07-05-2017, 04:19 PM
Wee break down to Lego land and saving up for a Fender Mustang (don't tell the wife).

07-05-2017, 04:20 PM
Forgot about the Lions tour. Look forward to that too.

Likewise. I see Laidlaw has been called up to replace Ben Youngster.

A travesty he wasn't in the squad to start with.

07-05-2017, 11:29 PM
Hibs last game and the Citrus club closing night on the same day. No idea what to do at weekends now. 🤔 The golf handicap (which has been me of late) could do with coming down for once.

07-05-2017, 11:58 PM
Just going to spend the summer on here moaning about the lack of signings. Might change to moaning about the quality of the signings towards the end of summer.

08-05-2017, 12:02 AM
Chasing wine, drinking fillys - much the same old for El Roberto. Should actually do some work and avoid the racetrack. Trip to China on biz planned, might extend it and enjoy more of the east.

There will be the ongoing war with my Jambo neighbor Alan over noise and behavior- which I shall undoubtedly win.

08-05-2017, 12:47 AM
Playing walking football ..... and realising that you cant give of your best in a tournament on the Sunday after about 8 pints and a McDonalds celebrating the Hibees going up the day before :greengrin

Oh and doing the garden I suppose :boo hoo:

NYHibby
08-05-2017, 08:59 AM
I'm going to Macau.

08-05-2017, 11:14 AM
Ice hockey world champs, Wimbledon and remainder of Czech league games will see May and June alright sport wise.
Socks n sandals and beer gardens otherwise.

08-05-2017, 11:19 AM
Ice hockey world champs, Wimbledon and remainder of Czech league games will see May and June alright sport wise.
Socks n sandals and beer gardens otherwise.

Where's the Hibs.Net fashion police when you need them :greengrin

KdyHby
08-05-2017, 11:35 AM
Going to the Hibs event in Kirkcaldy in a couple of weeks; then moving into a new home a month later.

rodhibs55
08-05-2017, 11:45 AM
Dryin Oot

Don't know if its after all the partying for winning the championship or after what has been just one big party since last May.

Jay
08-05-2017, 11:54 AM
A ropey back has sidelined me as I need surgery. That's 7 months now. Don't play in the winter so I've not missed it till the last 4/5 weeks. Scunnered. With no football I really am gonna be lost.

That doesnt sound good! I can recommend a good surgeon though 😎

08-05-2017, 12:08 PM
Moving to a new house this week located 5 minutes from a golf course. Sooooooo............:thumbsup:

08-05-2017, 01:13 PM
It's the bowling season, a great way to fill in the summer months.

GGTTN (Northern) :greengrin

08-05-2017, 01:16 PM
Watching time for heroes...

08-05-2017, 02:04 PM
The LA Galaxy have games for me to go to until HibsTV starts showing next season. We fly to London in a weeks time then Rome a week later and I bought great seats for Lazio vs Inter Milan. The wife flies off to China from Rome and I head back to the 'sports and entertainment capital of the world'.

Somebody needs to add our league to the sports season calendar below.

08-05-2017, 02:33 PM
I'm going to Macau.

I was there in February.

Sweet n sour Vegas :greengrin

The Pointer
08-05-2017, 03:57 PM
Celebrate on the 21st with some nice beers (Stewarts, Fyne Ales. Ayr Brewing Co etc), (Jambo) brother's wedding in July, hopefully a Trainspotting double-header in Glasgow next month and two weeks off somewhere currently unbooked. Lions tour looking a bit more interesting now that wee Laidlaw's going, but I don't have Sky so it'll probably be S4C in Welsh.

rotherhamrob
08-05-2017, 08:06 PM
I know what I'll not be doing.
Going to a presentation by laptop the wonder coach
Baking cakes
Raffles
Sailing in an oversized dinghy
Worrying about next season
Buying bricks or asbestos sheets
Praying our manager leaves
Praying most of our players leave

08-05-2017, 08:30 PM
Will be reading my new cathesaurus i purchased the other day, so i can finally understand what the hell that man is on about, if he's still hopefully in a job next season. :pray:

PapillonVert
08-05-2017, 09:27 PM
Wimbledon. 06 July. No.1 Court. Doubt Andy will be there (although we did see him on No. 1 Court in 2013, the year he won for the first time at Wimbers, so you never know).

After that, off to Helsinki/Tallin for six days in mid-July.

09-05-2017, 09:16 AM
Going to Cuba for our honeymoon in July, 1 wedding and whole lot of farm work whilst keeping an eye on the rugby and counting down the days till kick off!

Hopefully the new kits will be ready by the time we go away!

Flanny boy
09-05-2017, 04:25 PM
Going to Cuba for our honeymoon in July, 1 wedding and whole lot of farm work whilst keeping an eye on the rugby and counting down the days till kick off!

Hopefully the new kits will be ready by the time we go away!
Congratulations and enjoy.we will be coming home on the 2nd of July looking forward to it.GGTTH

biscuitersed75
09-05-2017, 04:54 PM
Hibs IX v Selkirk, 27th July for anyone who fancies a Sunday trip to the Borders.
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1315814285139181&id=403149349739017

biscuitersed75
09-05-2017, 04:55 PM
Edit that, 23rd July!

Rosevillehibby
09-05-2017, 05:01 PM

This for me. Going to my first game this sunday against Spartans. May and June taken care of:flag:

09-05-2017, 06:45 PM
I quite like to switch off from
Football during the summer - quite enjoy the speculation on who's coming and going - but like to do other things at weekend and then look forward as the new season approaches...

Stonewall
09-05-2017, 06:51 PM
Cricket season underway, Lions tour coming up.

I'll cope.

09-05-2017, 09:15 PM
Getting bored already. How long until our first game

09-05-2017, 10:17 PM
Getting bored already. How long until our first game
9 weeks on Sat mate till Betfred Cup kicks off

09-05-2017, 11:48 PM
Waiting for football to begin again. That's the problem with ending a season on a high, you miss it! I used to dread going back purely out of duty not so long ago.

13-05-2017, 04:08 PM
Spent the day in the garden. Friggin knackered. Got to say it looks good though. Still have the front to do as well. Boring as hell though. Miss a couple of pints and a match like ****.

13-05-2017, 04:20 PM
Hopefully record-breaking sun-levels so I can make the most of my not long-installed decking, watch Sir Andy winning Wimbledon, and then a FREE 2-week holiday (well, 'Free' but I have to pay for my flights) staying with my fellow Hibee-mate Donnie in Torrevieja. It's the first summer I've really looked forward to in ages - think the 'Feel-good factor' is making sure all Hibees have a great summer !

13-05-2017, 04:22 PM

Petrie!!!!😤

13-05-2017, 04:35 PM
A week up at the Baltic, a week in London (partially work related) and 2 weeks in Cyprus. In between lots of golf and finally getting the garden in my new house sorted.

13-05-2017, 08:24 PM
There's beach volleyball on at portobello beach this weekend if anyone is bored :wink:

13-05-2017, 08:41 PM
Played in a Texas scramble at my local golf club today. Standard of golf was abysmal and we slagged each other off for 4 hours. Thoroughly enjoyed it really! 😆

14-05-2017, 11:13 AM
Logging on here every 5 mins for news of new signings lol

Ell_Chrisso
14-05-2017, 11:29 AM
Marbella Stagger
Cancun Honeymoon
Lots of quality signings by Hibs

14-05-2017, 12:06 PM
Very depressing reading this thread. Hurry up football!!

14-05-2017, 12:17 PM
Sitting quietly in a darkened room until the new season begins.

14-05-2017, 12:47 PM
Sitting on my new garden bench with a coffee wondering if I should go to the pub and watch the Liverpool game or watch it at home.

celthedd1
14-05-2017, 07:22 PM
Sitting on my new garden bench with a coffee wondering if I should go to the pub and watch the Liverpool game or watch it at home.

Mountain walking in Snowdonia
Crown Green Bowls
Euro tour with Bangor City

14-05-2017, 07:39 PM
It's only been a week and I'm already struggling to cope.

I absolutely hate the summer break.

I've calculated that it's probably 9 weeks until our next competitive match, which will be in the League Cup and it can't come quickly enough, I'm so bored.

14-05-2017, 08:02 PM
Mountain walking in Snowdonia
Crown Green Bowls
Euro tour with Bangor City

I wish I could play crown green bowls in Scotland,I don't half miss it.

14-05-2017, 08:06 PM
Well I was quite looking forward to the break and doing something different with my time.

Having experienced some of the alternatives this weekend it's s***e. Bring back the football.

eezyrider
14-05-2017, 09:01 PM
Well yesterday I went to see the shinty - Newtonmore v Glenurquart. Newtonmore won 3-1.

EZ

celthedd1
14-05-2017, 09:23 PM
I wish I could play crown green bowls in Scotland,I don't half miss it.

Great game,a little more challanging than flat I would imagine

at last 61
14-05-2017, 09:53 PM
Will try to get to the hibs woman's games not been for years and what's the hibs thing in Kirkcaldy?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

14-05-2017, 11:06 PM
Great game,a little more challanging than flat I would imagine

Completely different game, flat is a more tactical game with so many bowls in the head and league games are rinks with 4 players against 4. I much preferred the crown green game of just you and your opponent the with two bowls each, no one else can have an influence. Having played crown from a 13 year old up until 25 and flat from about my late thirties I can't really say which is more challenging to be honest.

One thing is sure I was a far better crown green bowler than I will ever be on the flat.

celthedd1
15-05-2017, 09:00 AM
Completely different game, flat is a more tactical game with so many bowls in the head and league games are rinks with 4 players against 4. I much preferred the crown green game of just you and your opponent the with two bowls each, no one else can have an influence. Having played crown from a 13 year old up until 25 and flat from about my late thirties I can't really say which is more challenging to be honest.

One thing is sure I was a far better crown green bowler than I will ever be on the flat.

I meet a lot of scousers in the Isle of Man Festival,good crack as always, I work shifts so cant play much but I get some good scalps and beat top bowlers on occasions.....then ill play crap!

15-05-2017, 09:52 AM
Will be taking in a few amateur games just to shorten the close season a bit.
Fife amateur cup final on Friday at Kelty for starters - Leven play Greig Park Rangers (a proper derby match :greengrin)

15-05-2017, 11:00 AM
Hibs IX v Selkirk, 27th July for anyone who fancies a Sunday trip to the Borders.
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1315814285139181&id=403149349739017

Might be quite close if Hibs are only fielding 9 players.

NYHibby
15-05-2017, 11:44 AM
I'm going to Macau.

I was there in February.

Sweet n sour Vegas :greengrin

Where did you stay? I'm spending the first night at the old Lisboa and then several nights at Wynn Palace in a fountain suite, which I am really looking forward to

Ardenttwo
15-05-2017, 11:57 AM

Ditto

biscuitersed75
15-05-2017, 12:51 PM
Might be quite close if Hibs are only fielding 9 players.
You're on the ball HH! Makes it a bit more interesting!