View Full Version : Brands that items have become known as.

26-01-2017, 09:28 PM
Hoover is probably the biggest one, lots of folk refer to their vacuum cleaner as the Hoover regardless of what make it is.

Stanley knife is another

What else?

26-01-2017, 09:53 PM
Tannoy
Astroturf

26-01-2017, 09:58 PM
Tannoy
Astroturf

Good one, I never knew tannoy was a brand.

26-01-2017, 10:03 PM
I had to endure an extremely convoluted court case for using the term Jet Ski some 30 years ago. It resulted in moi winning a £15k payout and Kawasaki having to patent the term.

The generic term is now known as 'Personal Watercraft'.

26-01-2017, 10:09 PM
Dolbro guitars

Also Acrow props.
From Wiki ...
The props were invented by Swiss-born William de Vigier, who came to London in 1935 ....... Vigier's company was named the Acrow Group, after his solicitor Mr A Crowe.

26-01-2017, 10:15 PM
Brillo Pads
Tampax :blushie:

SuperAllyMcleod
26-01-2017, 10:20 PM
Sellotape

Blu Tac?

26-01-2017, 10:26 PM
Walkman
Scotch tape
Tarmac
Cat's Eyes

26-01-2017, 10:39 PM
Coke

27-01-2017, 07:00 AM
The Matty Jack role.

27-01-2017, 07:04 AM
Biro

27-01-2017, 07:05 AM
Stihl saw

27-01-2017, 07:34 AM
FeNO.
Fractional exhaled nitric oxide testing.

Really does my head in.
2 companies I know have just been to court to try to trade mark the name of that test.
It's like trying to trademark the term "BP(blood pressure) or ECG.

Madness

27-01-2017, 09:17 AM
FeNO.
Fractional exhaled nitric oxide testing.

Really does my head in.
2 companies I know have just been to court to try to trade mark the name of that test.
It's like trying to trademark the term "BP(blood pressure) or ECG.

Madness

It was a much believed urban myth for many years that the Heimlich maneuver was patented.

It wasn't but it's not impossible to actually patent a medical technique.

27-01-2017, 09:41 AM
Less so now, but most 4x4s used to be referred to as Jeeps.

27-01-2017, 03:16 PM
JCB
Kleenex
Frisbee
Spam
Babygro
Crocs

27-01-2017, 03:22 PM
Google

27-01-2017, 05:45 PM
There are plenty in the building game, with Velux probably being the most common.

28-01-2017, 02:41 AM
Tupperware.

A Pyrex measurer.

28-01-2017, 08:12 PM
The Famous

Tippex

29-01-2017, 11:46 AM
GHDs

29-01-2017, 12:35 PM
Jacuzzi.

30-01-2017, 07:57 AM
Marmite

30-01-2017, 09:17 AM
Butter (even when it's not)

pogo
18-02-2017, 02:07 PM
Good one, I never knew tannoy was a brand.

They're one of the oldest loudspeaker manufacturers in the world, hence why the name became synonymous with the system.
I once installed a system of their PA speakers into a 2500 seat venue here in Ireland, and when one of the local sound engineers heard I was putting a 'Tannoy' system in, he exclaimed that he didn't want to use a system that would sound like a train station!
They are also based in Scotland!

19-02-2017, 02:57 AM
Post-its.

19-02-2017, 07:05 AM
Li-lo
Xerox

ColinNish
19-02-2017, 08:27 AM
GHDs

?

19-02-2017, 02:28 PM
?
straighteners

19-02-2017, 03:31 PM
dotnet

ColinNish
20-02-2017, 07:37 AM
straighteners

I know that but I dinnae call hair straighteners GHDs, I call them hair straighteners, as do most folk I know.

20-02-2017, 08:52 AM
I know that but I dinnae call hair straighteners GHDs, I call them hair straighteners, as do most folk I know.

Buy her some GHD'so then you tight git :-)

ColinNish
20-02-2017, 12:08 PM
Buy her some GHD'so then you tight git :-)

Ha Ha. :)
FYI GHDs aren't the be all and end all when it comes to hair straighteners. You are just paying for the name.

Xerox is another one someone came up with. That's no an item that has become known as . Its a photocopier.
"I need to Xerox that". Dinnae think so.

20-02-2017, 01:50 PM
FYI GHDs aren't the be all and end all when it comes to hair straighteners. You are just paying for the name.

Xerox is another one someone came up with. That's no an item that has become known as . Its a photocopier.
Ah well, maybe I'm the only one who's Xeroxed stuff in the office. :greengrin

Godsahibby
20-02-2017, 01:52 PM
The amount of people who still say they are going to "Switch" it when they are paying by card.

20-02-2017, 02:07 PM

Rolodex, Pritt Stick, Gaffer and Duck (original name) tape, Phillips screws/screwdrivers, Durex.

ColinNish
20-02-2017, 08:04 PM
The amount of people who still say they are going to "Switch" it when they are paying by card.

I still say that. Along with "taping" stuff off the TV. :greengrin

ColinNish
20-02-2017, 08:04 PM

Ha ha! You american? 😲

20-02-2017, 11:45 PM
Ha ha! You american? ��

Naw, but I did spend some time in North America. :cb 's & :redindian:'s

ColinNish
21-02-2017, 05:32 AM
Naw, but I did spend some time in North America. :cb 's & :redindian:'s

There you go then. Nae doubt you call lifts elevators and trainers sneakers. 😉

21-02-2017, 01:16 PM
There you go then. Nae doubt you call lifts elevators and trainers sneakers. 😉
Correct, correct. (Not now though :wink:)

21-02-2017, 01:23 PM
Correct, correct. (Not now though :wink:)

But do you wear lifts in your sneakers?

21-02-2017, 01:44 PM
But do you wear lifts in your sneakers?
Naw, but, gas is back in my belly instead of at the filling station. :greengrin

24-02-2017, 09:47 AM

GHD's are sooooo yesterday.

It's the Loreal steam pod that is the muts nuts (seemingly) :-)

ColinNish
24-02-2017, 12:54 PM
GHD's are sooooo yesterday.

It's the Loreal steam pod that is the muts nuts (seemingly) :-)

I'm assuming your wife told you that as you have nae hair! ;)

Austinho
26-02-2017, 02:17 AM
Any video call is now a 'FaceTime' or a 'Skype'.
Every search on the internet is a 'Google'.
Any image that's been edited is now 'Photoshopped', even if it's just been cropped in Microsoft Paint.
When MP3 players were still relevant, most of them were referred to as 'iPods'.

Rollerblade was a brand name for roller skates. Velcro, Taser, Superglue, Biro, Portaloo, YoYo and AirMiles all started off as brand names too.

ColinNish
26-02-2017, 06:55 AM
Any image that's been edited is now 'Photoshopped', even if it's just been cropped in Microsoft Paint.

Rollerblade was a brand name for roller skates. Velcro, Taser, Superglue, Biro, Portaloo, YoYo and AirMiles all started off as brand names too.

sorry to be pedantic but roller blades and roller skates are completely different from each other

26-02-2017, 07:56 AM

Not used by everyone but Cashline (in Scotland) and Bank Machine (in Northern Ireland) are pretty commonly used regardless of the ATM supplier.

26-02-2017, 08:39 AM
sorry to be pedantic but roller blades and roller skates are completely different from each other

Roller blade is a brand name though for inline skates.

26-02-2017, 09:37 AM

Is it? I've never heard of a Roller Blade brand.

If anything, when I was younger, they were probably known as Bauer's.

26-02-2017, 09:41 AM
Is it? I've never heard of a Roller Blade brand.

If anything, when I was younger, they were probably known as Bauer's.

Yeah definitely is.

ColinNish
26-02-2017, 01:31 PM

I never said it wasn't. His post should have said "rollerblades for inline skates", no rollerskates. :greengrin

As i said i was being pedantic. As a child of the 70's, it was rollerskates.

27-02-2017, 08:27 PM
Thermos Flask

27-02-2017, 09:33 PM
Thermos Flask

Dewer will be turning in his grave.

27-02-2017, 09:43 PM
Dewer will be turning in his grave.

But will his buried temperature have been maintained?