View Full Version : Stubbs denies celebrations went too far

12-02-2016, 07:45 PM
as the heading suggests, I have just read this snippet in the National. (herald group). he insists there was nothing untoward about Hibernian's celebrations.a packed away end went wild! and the scenes continued in the away dressing room with sunshine on Leith at full volume. we all know that, and would expect those scenes(both).but it's being perceived as over-celebrating and mocked by the gorgie mob (the paper's quote) while their manager had a dig:It shows us that a team coming to Tynecastle are ecstatic. Stubbs said: I will say, glass houses.we had no problem with them celebrating when they got a draw at ER,in the last minute. Our players celebrated on the pitch but not too close to the fans, and they deserved something from the game. Robbie mentioned how they did it at ER, and I have no problem with that. This may have been posted already, but............thoughts?

12-02-2016, 07:49 PM
We have problems with celebrating success in this country. Some can turn their nose up at us for celebrating, ***** them, that was a good result. We saw not only a draw but a shift in attitude from our team towards a derby. Every right to celebrate.

12-02-2016, 07:52 PM
If they think thats celebrating wait till Tuesday night!!!!! In fact wait till May!!!!!

12-02-2016, 07:58 PM
We have problems with celebrating success in this country. Some can turn their nose up at us for celebrating, ***** them, that was a good result. We saw not only a draw but a shift in attitude from our team towards a derby. Every right to celebrate.Hey HIBSNUTTER I'm Sparticus!:aok:

12-02-2016, 08:00 PM
The media clearly forgot Ian Black's tshirt, Skacel making 'L' signs, Zakiukas continually goading Hibs fans during a game eh......to be totally honest football is far to 'precious' and I like teams having banter with each other and the fans - spices up a game and there's not enough panto villains in the game here. If I scored against Hearts I'd have been going crazy in front of our fans and theirs. I get that there'll be Robbo and Deek 'Casper' type fan issues but you can easy have banter without causing a riot.

Hopefully it'll be 16,000 Hibs fans serenading the team on Tuesday night after a victory and it's not just confined to the dressing room ! The Hearts fans I socialise with have been complimentary about the way we've played derbies under Stubbs and know that they'll be close games more often than not with anyone capable of winning.

12-02-2016, 08:05 PM
We have problems with celebrating success in this country. Some can turn their nose up at us for celebrating, ***** them, that was a good result. We saw not only a draw but a shift in attitude from our team towards a derby. Every right to celebrate.

Absolutely. Funny bunch those lot over the road. I have witnessed numerous wildly celebrated draws in a League match - particularly if the equalising goal comes late in the game. Even when Hearts came into a match thinking they were soooo much better than us they would celebrate these games.

Now in our match we are away from home vs a club doing well in a higher league, and we are minutes away from going out the Cup, and then all of the sudden its game on. There is plenty to celebrate. Neilson is turning more Yamboid and twisted by the day. His features are becoming haggard and filled with fear and anger. In short he is succumbing to the dark side.

I hope we can finish the job, and then Neilson can say how it will make them winning the League all the more sweet, or some such trumpetry.

12-02-2016, 08:10 PM
I cant even be beside any of my gorgie type drinking mates, if I am forced to watch it on tv. I get too worked up about lashing out if they go in front. I know I am 62 years old but better not to listen to one or two that comment a bit too much if they hit the front. sometimes(most days :greengrin] wish I was 18 again.:wink:

12-02-2016, 08:12 PM
Absolutely. Funny bunch those lot over the road. I have witnessed numerous wildly celebrated draws in a League match - particularly if the equalising goal comes late in the game. Even when Hearts came into a match thinking they were soooo much better than us they would celebrate these games.

Now in our match we are away from home vs a club doing well in a higher league, and we are minutes away from going out the Cup, and then all of the sudden its game on. There is plenty to celebrate. Neilson is turning more Yamboid and twisted by the day. His features are becoming haggard and filled with fear and anger. In short he is succumbing to the dark side.

I hope we can finish the job, and then Neilson can say how it will make them winning the League all the more sweet, or some such trumpetry.

:flag:Dead man Walking, if the result goes our way

Stax
12-02-2016, 08:16 PM
as the heading suggests, I have just read this snippet in the National. (herald group). he insists there was nothing untoward about Hibernian's celebrations.a packed away end went wild! and the scenes continued in the away dressing room with sunshine on Leith at full volume. we all know that, and would expect those scenes(both).but it's being perceived as over-celebrating and mocked by the gorgie mob (the paper's quote) while their manager had a dig:It shows us that a team coming to Tynecastle are ecstatic. Stubbs said: I will say, glass houses.we had no problem with them celebrating when they got a draw at ER,in the last minute. Our players celebrated on the pitch but not too close to the fans, and they deserved something from the game. Robbie mentioned how they did it at ER, and I have no problem with that. This may have been posted already, but............thoughts?
Read this today and had a wee chuckle. How the F*** can the merricks keep a straight face saying celebrating a draw is ott. The last time they did in an ultimately meaningless game with a last minute "wonder strike" we got the usual pitch invasion & banter.. I actually pity them. Stubbs called it perfectly IMO.

12-02-2016, 08:22 PM
Dead man Walking, if the result goes our way

What I am hoping for is that we trounce them. They have been on a roller coaster of good vibes ever since they squirmed out from under their debt. A bit of bad news wouldn't go amiss!

12-02-2016, 08:26 PM
With 80 minutes gone we were on our way out the cup at the hands of our biggest rivals, after 94 we had another bite at the cherry.

The day I stop celebrating that like a ****ing nutter is the day I'll know football isn't for me anymore.

12-02-2016, 08:29 PM
Good on Stubbs

The establishment team are obviously not still over having all them Hibbies jumping about in the gaps left by long departed yams on New Years Day 1973.

12-02-2016, 08:30 PM
2-0 down, last 10 mins of a Scottish cup game against your rivals how we meant to act?

That horrible ****ing smelly Tramp can go **** himself along with the rest of his Adam Johnson loving peado pricks.

I hate everything that comes out that club along with the old goat Budge and the dullest man alive Potter.

Hearts and every single person involved with them can go **** themselves and when we put them out on Tuesday I'll be giving big licks until they are sick to the back teeth of hearing the word HIBS!

12-02-2016, 08:31 PM
They'll see what a real celebration looks like on Tuesday night.

We haven't even started yet.

12-02-2016, 08:58 PM
Agree we had every right to get carried away with the emotion of the last ten minutes.They will no doubt try and say we have celebrated prematurely as we haven't beaten them and aren't through to the next round yet .
They will try and use this to motivate themselves and Ann sure a few of their fans will be on the pitch if they win so let's not give them that satisfaction and use it to make sure it motivates us to not want to hear them
Let's drown them out by making as much noise as we can and hopefully they will be leaving in thier droves before the end of the game

12-02-2016, 09:02 PM
Bitter man.

Stubbs is a hero. A true gent. Calls it as it is.
For some reason they hate him. And I mean really really hate him.
We are in another league from these guys and they hate our manager with a passion.

He's winding them up I'd say. Cause he's a good manager.

stuart-farquhar
12-02-2016, 09:26 PM

"Trumpetry" just perfect lol!

12-02-2016, 09:57 PM
2-0 down, last 10 mins of a Scottish cup game against your rivals how we meant to act?

That horrible ****ing smelly Tramp can go **** himself along with the rest of his Adam Johnson loving peado pricks.

I hate everything that comes out that club along with the old goat Budge and the dullest man alive Potter.

Hearts and every single person involved with them can go **** themselves and when we put them out on Tuesday I'll be giving big licks until they are sick to the back teeth of hearing the word HIBS!
Get off that fence :greengrin

12-02-2016, 10:09 PM
In what other country could you be accused of over celebrating after scoring a last minute equaliser in a cup tie at the home of your local rivals? Perhaps the author of this article would prefer stadiums full of restrained Robbie Neilson type characters? Is the author suggesting that it would be a more entertaining spectacle if winning goals were celebrated by thousands of manic depressives with broken faces mumbling in a monotone grumble their displeasure at other people smiling too much. What have we become that we now treat fans celebrating the ecstasy of ramming it up their greatest rivals as a blot on their character? We pay grossly over inflated admission charges to follow our teams, through all the travelling, time off work, family sacrifice, cold uncomfortable conditions we endure mostly turgid, disappointing football, we keep going in anticipation of days like last Sunday, days when the stars align and circumstances offer us moments of utter euphoria and then we are judged by people who never have to pay to get in, people who travel to matches in luxury, people who sit in the best seats, always under cover, never exposed to the elements as we were at Morton last Tuesday, people who get payed to comment on football or work within the game and are handsomely paid for the privilege, are we to amend our behaviour to appease these people? **** them, the day I don't celebrate sticking it up those Gorgie Tramps is the day I'm dead

12-02-2016, 10:10 PM
Get off that fence :greengrin

I know I really should open up more 😁

12-02-2016, 10:16 PM
For me, Alan Stubbs is just a class above in many respects. he has wound up a couple of our recent rivals, but in a subtle yet good mannered way. him and his fellow coaches are absolute gents, not in any way just telling Hibs fans what they want to hear but able to speak to any football fan, as I have seen them do it in the pub while in their company. great guys.

12-02-2016, 10:19 PM
In what other country could you be accused of over celebrating after scoring a last minute equaliser in a cup tie at the home of your local rivals? Perhaps the author of this article would prefer stadiums full of restrained Robbie Neilson type characters? Is the author suggesting that it would be a more entertaining spectacle if winning goals were celebrated by thousands of manic depressives with broken faces mumbling in a monotone grumble their displeasure at other people smiling too much. What have we become that we now treat fans celebrating the ecstasy of ramming it up their greatest rivals as a blot on their character? We pay grossly over inflated admission charges to follow our teams, through all the travelling, time off work, family sacrifice, cold uncomfortable conditions we endure mostly turgid, disappointing football, we keep going in anticipation of days like last Sunday, days when the stars align and circumstances offer us moments of utter euphoria and then we are judged by people who never have to pay to get in, people who travel to matches in luxury, people who sit in the best seats, always under cover, never exposed to the elements as we were at Morton last Tuesday, people who get payed to comment on football or work within the game and are handsomely paid for the privilege, are we to amend our behaviour to appease these people? **** them, the day I don't celebrate sticking it up those Gorgie Tramps is the day I'm dead:aok:may your god be with you, and may he align your stars correctly on Tuesday amigo:flag::flag:

12-02-2016, 10:24 PM
Ozturks goal that got a draw prompted mad celebrations and a local pub to brew a beer in his name.
Stevie Fail managed a draw and led the team hand in hand to do a 3 cheers in front of their rapturous fans.
Neilson and the rest of them can get stuffed. They are extremely bitter and cannot handle the fact that they didn't walk all over us as they all expected.
Nicholson & Neilsons puss at the end made the result even more enjoyable.

12-02-2016, 10:28 PM
Ozturks goal that got a draw prompted mad celebrations and a local pub to brew a beer in his name.
Stevie Fail managed a draw and led the team hand in hand to do a 3 cheers in front of their rapturous fans.
Neilson and the rest of them can get stuffed. They are extremely bitter and cannot handle the fact that they didn't walk all over us as they all expected.
Nicholson & Neilsons puss at the end made the result even more enjoyable.

**** H*arts

12-02-2016, 10:31 PM
We get accused of over celebrating yet every week i still have to put up with some 5-1 jibe. Aye ok then.

swindonhibs
12-02-2016, 10:31 PM
rcarter, PB, the cat & fat freddy have nailed it on this thread. 🎯
Never a need to justify any celebration against them, just like no need to justify any reason to slander the c***s at any, and every, opportunity.

Lomondhibs
12-02-2016, 10:45 PM
Neilson was jumping up and doon like a loony when they scored

12-02-2016, 10:46 PM
Must remember to greet our last minute winner on Tuesday night with a polite ripple of applause and a chorus of "Jolly well played chaps".

13-02-2016, 05:53 AM
Let he without sin, cast the first stone

13-02-2016, 07:03 AM
Personally I don't give a flying **** what that bunch of Gorgie roasters say.

Nelson is just a bitter ****witt of a man and shows utterly no class.

They show and have shown no respect but that's up to them and if that's the so called 'big team' attitude.

Grade a yam roasters!

13-02-2016, 07:14 AM
**** hearts. The caveman has won 1 in 5 against Stubbs and 0 in the last 4. His team have been outplayed, out thought and outclassed, the hearts fans know it and no amount of slavering from him will change that. He's scared that his team is about to have their season ended on Tuesday night. They won't catch the teams above them and they're 11 ahead of the team below, lose on Tuesday and it's a dreary meaningless end to the season for them.

13-02-2016, 07:27 AM
Bitter man.

Stubbs is a hero. A true gent. Calls it as it is.
For some reason they hate him. And I mean really really hate him.
We are in another league from these guys and they hate our manager with a passion.

He's winding them up I'd say. Cause he's a good manager.

They hate him because he's got the measure of them

13-02-2016, 07:37 AM
I'm lost for words at the stupidity of that club. Are they not able to remember them going mental when they got a 4-4 draw with us at their ground or ozturks goal. Neilson is a prize plumb but this nonsense really takes the biscuit. Sadly their moronic fans don't do irony and they know how good our team is and they are going to have to play very well to get something out of any game against us. They really are a joke club.

13-02-2016, 08:01 AM
That lot have celebrated league draws at ER like they had just won the Champions League.

Getting excited about a 92nd minute equalizer in a cup match is perfectly understandable, much more so than the above.

13-02-2016, 08:31 AM
Guys like mcginn,henderson and Bartley don't know that much about derbies and we're more celebrating coming back from looking out. They celebrated just as much the previous week when mcginn scored the winner. What's irks Neilson even more is that the Derby was the least important game for us in the context of the season and their biggest game of the season. That says more about the relevant standings of the teams than us equalising in extra time.

13-02-2016, 08:59 AM
Guys like mcginn,henderson and Bartley don't know that much about derbies and we're more celebrating coming back from looking out. They celebrated just as much the previous week when mcginn scored the winner. What's irks Neilson even more is that the Derby was the least important game for us in the context of the season and their biggest game of the season. That says more about the relevant standings of the teams than us equalising in extra time.

They're just jokers mate.

They pretend that we are owned by them and they don't care about us and whatnot. BUT there are countless examples of how that is not the case.

I have never once seen a guy with a Hibs top with 0-7 or 6-2 on the back of it, not saying there aren't any, just I've never seen any.

I've seen countless hearts tops in the Midlothian area with "1902" "19th of May" "5-1" and references to the "wee team".

They're obsessed, or some of them, and we are making a nuisance of ourselves nowadays and its winding them up.
As has been said, ozturks goal was like they had won the league there and then.

Stubbs never came out and said "this bad hearts fans celebrated too much for my liking. They really are just showing how much it means to them to equalise against Hibs"

Bore off caveman

13-02-2016, 09:06 AM
I said it before the first game and I'll say it again now, this is their biggest game of the season...it isn't even our biggest of the month.

Stubbs is brilliant in the press at telling it how it is and it really winds up the opposition fans, absolutely brilliant from him and long may it continue.

13-02-2016, 09:35 AM

Come on, Johnson might be a nonce of the highest order, but what has he done to be mentioned in the same breath as these vile creatures?

13-02-2016, 09:54 AM
If you are going to draw a game you don't want to be the team who were 2-0 up with ten to go. you want to be the team that pulls it back from the death. One team feels like a loss and one team feels like a win. That's a football thing, and not a Hearts and Hibs thing. If Neilson doesn't get that then that's his opportunity to learn. Fair play to him for publicly admitting he hasn't got to grips with the basics that you would see in amateur or even bairns football.

13-02-2016, 10:05 AM
I was getting this crap from some Hearts supporting acquaintances last night. Spouting the same rubbish as their tramp of a manager. Like other Hibs supporters in the company I never took the bait and just said we'll see what happens on Tuesday. They have such a high opinion of themselves it's beyond belief and if we win it will be " not fussy, poor game , 5-1, 1902" if they win we will be subjected to the usual stream of snide comments and verbal garbage.

13-02-2016, 10:36 AM
I said it before the first game and I'll say it again now, this is their biggest game of the season...it isn't even our biggest of the month.

Stubbs is brilliant in the press at telling it how it is and it really winds up the opposition fans, absolutely brilliant from him and long may it continue.

I can't believe AS is even asked about this.

'Your players celebrated a last minute equaliser with the fans - can you explain why?'

WTF??

But, as you say, AS is good at dealing with the media - even where there appears to be an agenda against us.

13-02-2016, 10:44 AM
Must remember to greet our last minute winner on Tuesday night with a polite ripple of applause and a chorus of "Jolly well played chaps".

**** that! I want the game done and dusted by half time! Don't think my ticker could handle having to wait till injury time!

Flynn
13-02-2016, 01:24 PM
I have never once seen a guy with a Hibs top with 0-7 or 6-2 on the back of it, not saying there aren't any, just I've never seen any.

I've seen countless hearts tops in the Midlothian area with "1902" "19th of May" "5-1" and references to the "wee team".

They're definitely out there mate.

F*** Hearts!

13-02-2016, 01:35 PM
Come on, Johnson might be a nonce of the highest order, but what has he done to be mentioned in the same breath as these vile creatures?

😁👍🏼

Northern Hibby
13-02-2016, 01:46 PM
I cant even be beside any of my gorgie type drinking mates, if I am forced to watch it on tv. I get too worked up about lashing out if they go in front. I know I am 62 years old but better not to listen to one or two that comment a bit too much if they hit the front. sometimes(most days :greengrin] wish I was 18 again.:wink:

6 2 what a wonderful age ;-)

14-02-2016, 01:58 PM
Neilson coming out and giving it "hibs celebrations just show how far ahead hearts are" etc etc. absolutely reeks of bitterness. Doesn't take a genius to tell that he is absolutely spewing about last Sunday. 2-0 up with 10 minutes to go thinking that was them cruising into the next round and they ****ed it up.

They have celebrated draws at ER before like they've won the league. After the Ozturd goal last year the mutants were even trying to run on the pitch etc. Any jambo who says that they wouldn't have celebrated the same if it was the other way round is kidding themselves, pure and simple.

Dry yer eyes Neilson and stop embarrassing yourself with such bitter, pathetic and down right cringeworthy statements. Classless yam fud :bye:

14-02-2016, 02:09 PM
I was getting this crap from some Hearts supporting acquaintances last night. Spouting the same rubbish as their tramp of a manager. Like other Hibs supporters in the company I never took the bait and just said we'll see what happens on Tuesday. They have such a high opinion of themselves it's beyond belief and if we win it will be " not fussy, poor game , 5-1, 1902" if they win we will be subjected to the usual stream of snide comments and verbal garbage.

They really think they're something special eh. Sadly for them though, they're the only ones that think it. Calling themselves "the famous" and other such cringeworthy nonsense sums up how utterly delusional and arrogant they are. I cringe with embarrassment when they call themselves "the famous", its completely laughable.:faf:

If theres a set of supporters more utterly obsessed with their own importance and arrogant then i'm yet to see it. The club has become absolutely obsessed with being a "big team". They are the only set of supporters that refer to the scottish cup as "the big cup" and they even went as far as to rob charities/small businesses/football club etc etc to fufill this little fantasy of theirs that they are some sort of mega super power club. REAL big clubs don't have to constantly shout "BIG TEAM THIS AND BIG TEAM THAT" at every opportunity as their football speaks for itself. Sadly for hearts they seem to believe that the more they shout it the more it becomes true.

Your right malcolm-bogie if they win it'll be all "big team wee team" etc, if they lose the usual "oh but but 5-1, 1902" comfort blankets will come out.

14-02-2016, 06:34 PM
They really think they're something special eh. Sadly for them though, they're the only ones that think it. Calling themselves "the famous" and other such cringeworthy nonsense sums up how utterly delusional and arrogant they are. I cringe with embarrassment when they call themselves "the famous", its completely laughable.:faf:

If theres a set of supporters more utterly obsessed with their own importance and arrogant then i'm yet to see it. The club has become absolutely obsessed with being a "big team". They are the only set of supporters that refer to the scottish cup as "the big cup" and they even went as far as to rob charities/small businesses/football club etc etc to fufill this little fantasy of theirs that they are some sort of mega super power club. REAL big clubs don't have to constantly shout "BIG TEAM THIS AND BIG TEAM THAT" at every opportunity as their football speaks for itself. Sadly for hearts they seem to believe that the more they shout it the more it becomes true.

Your right malcolm-bogie if they win it'll be all "big team wee team" etc, if they lose the usual "oh but but 5-1, 1902" comfort blankets will come out.

I really don't think they realise how stupid the self anointed "famous" badge sounds and I hope they continue with it.

As for the use of "big" well the pretence of bigness can help compensate for, or deflect a number of actual size related issues, but for me surely their creditor list must count for something? it's at least tangible evidence of something very big that is certainly very much their own.

14-02-2016, 06:41 PM
This is the same bunch of fans that lapped up a beer called "40 yard screamer" in honour of a goal that got them one point.

Maggots.

14-02-2016, 06:52 PM
This is the same bunch of fans that lapped up a beer called "40 yard screamer" in honour of a goal that got them one point.

Maggots.

Was the pint pulled by Rudi 'where's my expenses form' Skacel?

Helped save 'his club' by asking for thousands back for flights, hotels and expenses.

14-02-2016, 06:57 PM
Gotta laugh at the 'Charity Thieves FC' having a dig at us for 'over celebrating a draw' - before they started using 'Other People's Money' to become more successful (pre Wallace Mercer, 70's) , they used to have supporter's buses/clubs named after CORNERS they'd won !!

hibbymick
14-02-2016, 07:05 PM
I reckon Robbie will be chuckling away in his cave at the amount of folk he's winding up on here.

fulshie
14-02-2016, 09:14 PM
A championship side down 2-0 at half time against a spfl team "not to mention our biggest rivals" and we came back and got a deserved draw so...........whats not to celebrate? Cant wait till Tuesday. :flag:GGTTH

14-02-2016, 10:13 PM
Hey that Arsenal mob celebrated a bit too much today no ?.....Jesus, fancy piling in with the fans after scoring a injury time goal....don't understand it myself :wink:

14-02-2016, 10:15 PM
A championship side down 2-0 at half time against a spfl team "not to mention our biggest rivals" and we came back and got a deserved draw so...........whats not to celebrate? Cant wait till Tuesday. :flag:GGTTH

I really don't mean to pick on you specifically but it really winds me up when I see people refer to the top league in Scotland as the SPFL.

The SPFL refers to the entire league structure as a whole and the organisation in charge of that structure. The top league itself is called the Premiership.

*And breathe...* :greengrin

14-02-2016, 11:20 PM
He likes his little digs at Hibs. He simply can't resist it. No class.

A class A walloper.

15-02-2016, 03:26 AM
In a game where a Jambo grabbed his goolies and leapt about like Zebedee in front of the Hibs fans all they can do is yammer on about us celebrating a late equalizer in a cup game. Herald group journalism at it's finest.

16-02-2016, 07:53 PM
Yam fan ejected from the ground for invading the pitch to celebrate their disallowed offside goal, they don't do Irony or, seemingly, over celebrations down Gorgie way.

Looking forward to hearing what Neilson has to say about it.:greengrin

16-02-2016, 09:36 PM
Stubbs and McGinn run naked round Leith the Gorgie tramp claims they went too far :greengrin