View Full Version : Morton game in doubt?

Pages : [1] 2 3

Deek9
03-12-2015, 07:39 PM
Lots more rain forecast next couple of days. Strong winds too. Don't know what their ground is like for drainage, is a postponement on the agenda?

03-12-2015, 07:43 PM
Lots more rain forecast next couple of days. Strong winds too. Don't know what their ground is like for drainage, is a postponement on the agenda?

They're meant to have a cracking pitch, think Scotland train there sometimes so probably unlikely it'll be off.

03-12-2015, 07:46 PM
Lots more rain forecast next couple of days. Strong winds too. Don't know what their ground is like for drainage, is a postponement on the agenda?The main road gets flooded quite frequently.

I think it may be a possibility. The weather from about lunchtime tomorrow, right the way through until Sunday morning is supposed to be dreadful with storm force winds and torrential rain forecast.

To be honest, I wouldn't be too bothered if it was called off. I'm in two minds about going to the game if the weather turns out to be as bad as the forecasters are predicting, especially with the away end being uncovered. However I just hate missing a game.

Deek9
They're meant to have a cracking pitch, think Scotland train there sometimes so probably unlikely it'll be off.

Ahh, thought a postponement might be a blessing in disguise if the weather was a leveller.

Pinkie
03-12-2015, 07:48 PM

Reckon there will be a lot of postponements this weekend. The forecast from tomorrow afternoon onwards is pretty brutal. If the conditions at Greenock run with the BBC forecast, it will be heavy rain and gales at 3pm Saturday: http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2647948

Even if it goes ahead, it might be a bit of a lottery...

03-12-2015, 07:57 PM
Reckon there will be a lot of postponements this weekend. The forecast from tomorrow afternoon onwards is pretty brutal. If the conditions at Greenock run with the BBC forecast, it will be heavy rain and gales at 3pm Saturday: http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2647948

Gales and heavy rain when we are stuck on an exposed open terrace with wooden seats Great ,at least in summer the rain would be warm :rolleyes:

03-12-2015, 08:00 PM

That passes for normal weather over there.

03-12-2015, 08:21 PM
Summer football anyone? :stirrer:

03-12-2015, 09:07 PM
Think there's got to be some concern if the forecast is right though!
Disgraceful in this day and age that Morton don't give any cover to away fans. Remember at Cowdenbeath last season, they had practically 2 empty covered stands, but made Hibs fans stand in the rain. My dad has a ticket, but if it's raining he's said he's not going.
Shame on you Morton!

03-12-2015, 09:30 PM
[QUOTE=emerald green;4516201]Summer football anyone? :stirrer:[/QUit TE]
Yip thats the way to go, although the lastime I proposed it on here got absolutely lambasted.

03-12-2015, 09:34 PM
Think there's got to be some concern if the forecast is right though!
Disgraceful in this day and age that Morton don't give any cover to away fans. Remember at Cowdenbeath last season, they had practically 2 empty covered stands, but made Hibs fans stand in the rain. My dad has a ticket, but if it's raining he's said he's not going.
Shame on you Morton!

Normally they house the away fans in one of the covered sides.

Only games the away end will be open for is us and Rangers.

I thought they had bought one of the Love Street stands to put up on the Wee Dublin End but obviously not.

03-12-2015, 09:40 PM
Will be there, if it's on.
Don't care about the weather, to be honest. Plenty of layers will keep me warm.
Massive game on Saturday and we need a big support.
No excuses.

03-12-2015, 09:41 PM

I thought they had bought one of the Love Street stands to put up on the Wee Dublin End but obviously not.

They did according to Wiki, but done nowt with it...........

03-12-2015, 09:42 PM

St Mirren had the wee Dublin end as well. Remember we used to get a share of the old stand

03-12-2015, 09:43 PM
Be very surprised if it's on. Weather report looking pretty bad! Thing is we need to keep the momentum going so really hope the ground staff can keep the pitch playable.

03-12-2015, 09:45 PM
Hope its on already baught my train and match ticket which doubt will get a refund on?

03-12-2015, 09:47 PM
Be very surprised if it's on. Weather report looking pretty bad! Thing is we need to keep the momentum going so really hope the ground staff can keep the pitch playable.
Its not just rain there gale force winds expected for that part ofvthe country which could make the game a proverbial lottery.

03-12-2015, 09:53 PM
Its not just rain there gale force winds expected for that part ofvthe country which could make the game a proverbial lottery.

Yeah when it's like that it's anyone's game.

03-12-2015, 10:01 PM

Just check the forecast heavy rain tomomorrow and all day Saturday At kick off predicting gusts of wind up to 47 miles an hour looks like the Arran Ferry won't be sailing if that's the case and you would wonder if there won't be damage to thier old stand if there has been no investment
Having said that chick young said the Ayr Dunfermline game should of been stopped as you couldn't play football in that weather ,never looked for result but assume the game finished .
It's to be sunny on the Sunday but it would be asking too mutch of authorities to make a sensible decision tomorrow to move it to the Sunday based on severe weather warning
So if it is off ,it will be a midweek game ,and probably still pissing it down and cold and a reduced Hibs support but easy for me to Travel to
If we play it in horrendous condition and drop points we will all be moaning

03-12-2015, 10:13 PM
The thought of standing in the pouring rain, after experiencing Cowdenbeath last year, doesn't exactly appeal.

From a football point of view we just need to get the game played and won though.

03-12-2015, 10:33 PM

They sold it on to Hearts. Should be in place for the 2017 season.

anon1875
03-12-2015, 10:45 PM
I'm going to sit in the home end since my wee boy is only 10 months and there's no dangers he can sit in the wee dublin end if the rain / wind is on. It's been really high winds and pissing rain here for weeks so I expect Saturday will be the same.

03-12-2015, 10:51 PM
I'm going to sit in the home end since my wee boy is only 10 months and there's no dangers he can sit in the wee dublin end if the rain / wind is on. It's been really high winds and pissing rain here for weeks so I expect Saturday will be the same.

Game on in your opinion then anon?

03-12-2015, 11:10 PM
Better not leave it until a couple of hours before kick off to postpone the game if the weather conditions are as bad as forecast. Heavy rain and about 50mph winds forecast so it could be a difficult day for us and the players.

03-12-2015, 11:14 PM
Gales and heavy rain when we are stuck on an exposed open terrace with wooden seats Great ,at least in summer the rain would be warm :rolleyes:

Should have saved up for that coat Ronnie. :thumbsup:

03-12-2015, 11:32 PM
[QUOTE=silverhibee;4516362]Should have saved up for that coat Ronnie. :thumbsup:[

It's on my Xmass present list Silver .Funny enough I came across that link you sent me just the other week and was looking at the grey one Not normally my colour .:wink:

03-12-2015, 11:41 PM
[QUOTE=silverhibee;4516362]Should have saved up for that coat Ronnie. :thumbsup:[

It's on my Xmass present list Silver .Funny enough I came across that link you sent me just the other week and was looking at the grey one Not normally my colour .:wink:

Hope Santa delivers said coat, hope you have been a good man. Santa see's everything :thumbsup:

03-12-2015, 11:45 PM
Wee heads up for folk.

The Forth Road Bridge has been closed down both ways from 12 o'clock tonight for the next few days.

Rumours circulating that the bridge could be closed for up to 3 weeks for urgent repair.

Chaos in the morning.

03-12-2015, 11:45 PM
The nearest I have seen to an abandonment at Easter Road due to rain was the Inter-Toto match that was held in June or July.

03-12-2015, 11:47 PM
The nearest I have seen to an abandonment at Easter Road due to rain was the Inter-Toto match that was held in June or July.

Remember the Dundee game 12 years ago getting abandoned due to the snow.

03-12-2015, 11:50 PM

That makes me feel old. :greengrin

Really, 12 years ago, FFS

03-12-2015, 11:51 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;4516368]

Hope Santa delivers said coat, hope you have been a good man. Santa see's everything :thumbsup:

Well I will have to wait till the 25th to find out The magic of Chrismass .Am sure he will turn a blind eye to some of my minor indiscretions ,Life's for Living ,and you only get one chance at it ,unless you believe in yon afterlife stuff :rolleyes:

04-12-2015, 12:12 AM

That just happened to be on my 10th birthday too. Went to the rearranged game a few weeks later.

04-12-2015, 02:02 AM

In Dundee though.

SausageSurprise
04-12-2015, 07:14 AM

We were getting battered were we not? 1-0 down going on 3 or 4 from a Cabballero goal I think and Bobby Williamson still sent some of the Hibs back room staff out to help clear the snow. Bobby at his finest

Lost the rearranged game 3 scud iirc

04-12-2015, 08:37 AM
If the weather in Morton is as bad as it is in Edinburgh then the game will be off.

04-12-2015, 08:43 AM
Was there not a game at St Johnstone abandoned because of snow as well a fair few years back? Sure I remember it being called off at half time. Think we lost the replayed match 1-0.

AndyM_1875
04-12-2015, 08:47 AM
Was there not a game at St Johnstone abandoned because of snow as well a fair few years back? Sure I remember it being called off at half time. Think we lost the replayed match 1-0.

That was 1999/2000 I think. Remember the ref bringing out an orange ball. Made no difference. We were abysmal in the rescheduled game.

04-12-2015, 09:00 AM
Mowbray's first game in the inter tattie diddy cup was played in a monsoon. The water on the pitch was practically up to the players knees.

Play on [emoji23]

04-12-2015, 09:03 AM
http://youtu.be/ejU5YAHN3vQ
Mowbray's first game in the inter tattie diddy cup was played in a monsoon. The water on the pitch was practically up to the players knees.

Play on [emoji23]

"It's a monsoon!"

http://youtu.be/ejU5YAHN3vQ

franks
04-12-2015, 09:34 AM
Was at Morton late 60s or early 70s and the game was called off during the first half due to water logged pitch match was 0-0 at the time. Not sure if they have better drainage now but looking at the forecast wouldn't be too upset if the game was off as long as we have plenty of notice i.e. first thing tomorrow morning.

04-12-2015, 09:42 AM
Weather ok the noo. A wee bit blowy and occasional light drizzle.
😊

04-12-2015, 09:46 AM
What's the problem? We are too soft these days!

04-12-2015, 09:58 AM
I can remember a derby getting called off very late in the mid 80s . Water logged pitch . Sure it was at ER . [Might have been a new year one ] But as pre match drinks had been consumed , its a bit hazy :wink:

04-12-2015, 09:59 AM
What's the problem? We are too soft these days!

Perfect for Dom, he walks on water

04-12-2015, 11:09 AM
If they decide to call it off then they'd better do it when I'll still have time to turn round and get to the Macron instead, feel bad enough as it is for missing the Bolton game in our hour of need!

04-12-2015, 11:13 AM
Meant to be raining heavily from 2 this afternoon right through till tomorrow night in Greenock. Doubt very much it will be on. If it is it will be a lottery and we would be better to play it at a a later date. My wee boys game in Midlothian off already due to the pitches being sodden.

04-12-2015, 11:19 AM
Perfect for Dom, he walks on water

I thought JC walked on water :wink::greengrin

04-12-2015, 11:22 AM
Did we not have a game called off a few years ago because of freezing conditions?

The stadium and the pitch were fine but the police said that the travel to the ground and the surrounding areas were dangerous (too icy)

Can't remember who we were due to play

04-12-2015, 11:22 AM
I thought JC walked on water :wink::greengrin
No, but he liked flexing his muscles in his vest during training.

04-12-2015, 11:43 AM
I can remember a derby getting called off very late in the mid 80s . Water logged pitch . Sure it was at ER . [Might have been a new year one ] But as pre match drinks had been consumed , its a bit hazy :wink:

I was in the ground at the time it was called off, nightmare......

04-12-2015, 11:55 AM
Did we not have a game called off a few years ago because of freezing conditions?

The stadium and the pitch were fine but the police said that the travel to the ground and the surrounding areas were dangerous (too icy)

We did. Sure it was the year we had that horrendous winter.

04-12-2015, 01:12 PM
They better give us plenty notice if it is off. My journey from Fife could be a long one!

04-12-2015, 01:15 PM
They better give us plenty notice if it is off. My journey from Fife could be a long one!

What if they don't give plenty warning?:wink:

04-12-2015, 01:55 PM

It may have been the New Year derby about 1984. Me and my brother were on a bus at the top of Leith when we heard that the match was off. It was snowing that day. Got off the bus and we decided to pop into the Conan Doyle and grab a pint. Opened the door and it was full of Jambos inviting us in. Did a quick turnabout. We almost got into a fight on the North Bridge with a couple of Jambos looking for a fight.

04-12-2015, 02:56 PM
Cellic having pitch inspection tomorrow at 9.30.

No word on Morton though?

04-12-2015, 04:01 PM

Livingston I think. Sure the replay was the 7-0 game :greengrin

04-12-2015, 04:03 PM
Winds in the 50s with heavy rain all day. Should be a hoot. Can't wait!

04-12-2015, 04:04 PM
Somebody tweet Morton and ask them.

04-12-2015, 04:05 PM
Somebody tweet Morton and ask them.

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/04/355133e24f722438f6a5683668925319.jpg

04-12-2015, 04:06 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/04/916df0564b0b8ebdf916d913fb1849af.jpg

04-12-2015, 04:12 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/04/916df0564b0b8ebdf916d913fb1849af.jpg

Doesnt look good does it?

04-12-2015, 04:16 PM
Doesnt look good does it?

No it doesn't -

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/04/a0d90d5727a6f33aa04937ca652f1574.jpg
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/04/ef61373f4f5d32684c9e2d0c790bfd0a.jpg
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/04/124a6fd67a511be4074ff9f683d0bcce.jpg
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/04/b98b52e18ee82cdf6e879080435f584d.jpg

04-12-2015, 04:18 PM
Bit rain never hurt anyone :-)

04-12-2015, 04:52 PM
The pitch looks in good nick from his earlier tweet

Edson Arantes
04-12-2015, 06:00 PM

:bitchy: Nah, not the same at all.

MM19
04-12-2015, 06:10 PM
Was at Morton late 60s or early 70s and the game was called off during the first half due to water logged pitch match was 0-0 at the time. Not sure if they have better drainage now but looking at the forecast wouldn't be too upset if the game was off as long as we have plenty of notice i.e. first thing tomorrow morning.

I remember that game it was terrible going through to the match. I'm sure Arthur Duncan had a shot at goal and it was going in but it stuck in a puddle on the goal line and was cleared. It always seemed to rain when we went to Greenock.

04-12-2015, 06:16 PM
Winds in the 50s with heavy rain all day. Should be a hoot. Can't wait!

Queen B is unscrewing bolts at the best stand in the world now, hoping for a wee insurance claim.

Pitch inspection at uptown gorgie in the morning.

04-12-2015, 06:17 PM
Has the weather been bad in Edinburgh today? Not rained once down here and even the sun came out.

04-12-2015, 06:19 PM
Has the weather been bad in Edinburgh today? Not rained once down here and even the sun came out.

Wet and windy here in Edinburgh.

04-12-2015, 06:20 PM

Absoloutely howling at at the moment!!

04-12-2015, 06:21 PM
Absoloutely howling at at the moment!!

It's windy in Edinburgh, hardly say the rain is heavy though

04-12-2015, 06:24 PM
The club's angle seemed encouraging...less so the last bit to the groundsman's tweet!

04-12-2015, 06:26 PM
The club's angle seemed encouraging...less so the last bit to the groundsman's tweet!

What time are you leaving

04-12-2015, 06:28 PM
What time are you leaving
9.43 from Wigan. If it's called off any time before getting in to Lockerbie at 11:29 then I'll be able to hop on a train back south in time for the Bolton game.

04-12-2015, 06:31 PM
9.43 from Wigan. If it's called off any time before getting in to Lockerbie at 11:29 then I'll be able to hop on a train back south in time for the Bolton game.

Hope for your, and everyone else sake, they make an early decision

04-12-2015, 06:34 PM
Hope for your, and everyone else sake, they make an wealt decision

Is Craig Thomson the ref?

04-12-2015, 06:40 PM
Just been out a run. Weathers fine, wee bit fresh. Man up!

Seriously though the 2nd tweet doesn't read well and the rain is forecast to be relentless. I wouldn't really mind if it was off as the weather is often a leveller. Hope they make a decision as early as possible though.

04-12-2015, 06:41 PM

Glad i booked a later train from Preston gives more time for a decision but i still need to get to Preston so hopefully if in doubt its known early.

Dublin07
04-12-2015, 06:43 PM
Was 88 or 89 I think and Eddie may scored the winner when the game was played a few days later.

04-12-2015, 06:43 PM
Is Craig Thomson the ref?

Ha ha

04-12-2015, 06:48 PM
Seems to be a lot of mollycoddled whippersnappers on this thread, who would benefit from a spell in our armed forces. Weather? Pah! In my day we would have gone to Cappielow wearing only tight Speedos -had they been invented back then. As it was I had mother knit me a Hibs loincloth, and we would emerge from the train station fueled only by fortified wines and march in formation to the ground, scorning both the elements and any rival fans silly enough to cross our path.

Now they seem to want everything handed on a bloody plate.

04-12-2015, 07:04 PM
Am I right when I vaguely remember reading somewhere that Hibs played Manchester United on boxing day in the early 80s when Old Trafford was frozen and they asked if we could accomodate them at ER as we had undersoil heating?

MartinfaePorty
04-12-2015, 07:24 PM
Don't think this has been mentioned, but remember getting a lift through to Cappielow in around 1988/89 and listening to the radio thinking it would be cancelled as it was teeming down. Went ahead and we drew 1-1 with Paul McGovern equalising. Was bloody freezing!

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

04-12-2015, 07:26 PM
Am I right when I vaguely remember reading somewhere that Hibs played Manchester United on boxing day in the early 80s when Old Trafford was frozen and they asked if we could accomodate them at ER as we had undersoil heating?

Boxing Day 1981. A few of us were going to go but got drunk instead.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsUUwTELxnk

I vaguely remember that. I don't think it was the game Tortalano got sent of in as that was a "friendly" - no-one told Joe

Aye Boxing Day 1981. Terraces were solid ice! Pitch was fine. 1-1 draw which was a decent result for us.

04-12-2015, 07:29 PM

Yeah we played at christmas cant remember exactly when i think the score was 0-1 or 1-1 but am old and my memory is shot :greengrin

SausageSurprise
04-12-2015, 07:33 PM
The coldest I have ever been at a game was funnily enough Cappielow and believe it or not it was 17 years ago to the day tomorrow with a 3-1 win. Tony Rougier scored from the highest of angles

Spooky

04-12-2015, 07:35 PM
Yeah we played at christmas cant remember exactly when i think the score was 0-1 or 1-1 but am old and my memory is shot :greengrin

1-1

Willie Jamieson. Stapleton equalised for them. :aok:

04-12-2015, 07:36 PM
I vaguely remember that. I don't think it was the game Tortalano got sent of in as that was a "friendly" - no-one told Joe

Different game Joe was sent off ina testimonial

04-12-2015, 07:45 PM
Different game Joe was sent off ina testimonial

Yeah, Joe T's sending off was in Gordon Rae's testimonial against Man Utd in '88

04-12-2015, 08:37 PM
Yeah, Joe T's sending off was in Gordon Rae's testimonial against Man Utd in '88

Yeah ..... He took out Strachan 🙈

04-12-2015, 08:37 PM
Was 88 or 89 I think and Eddie may scored the winner when the game was played a few days later.

January 87. It was a 2-2 when it took place later.

04-12-2015, 08:43 PM
£17 to sit on benches in the pishing rain. But worth it to see the cabbage these days :)

04-12-2015, 08:45 PM
The predicted heavy rain hasn't arrived in Paisley yet but the gusts of wind have .
But if this is as bad as it gets the game should be on unless Greenock is getting it worse .Having said that I may need new Fencing tomorrow

04-12-2015, 08:48 PM
The predicted heavy rain hasn't arrived in Paisley yet but the gusts of wind have .
But if this is as bad as it gets the game should be on unless Greenock is getting it worse .Having said that I may need new Fencing tomorrow

That's good to hear Ronnie

04-12-2015, 08:54 PM
That's good to hear Ronnie

You obviously haven't had to buy a new fence recently extortionate :wink: The st mirren game it was predicting heavy rain all day and by kick off Nae rain and sunshine Pat Head went out and bought a new rain coat on basis of that forecast the good news for Him is that he will need it tomorrow :agree:

04-12-2015, 08:58 PM
You obviously haven't had to buy a new fence recently extortionate :wink: The st mirren game it was predicting heavy rain all day and by kick off Nae rain and sunshine Pat Head went out and bought a new rain coat on basis of that forecast the good news for Him is that he will need it tomorrow :agree:

I thought folk in Paisley just picked any blown away fences, and didn't buy new ones, that's what they used to do when I lived there.
Are you sure it isn't raining in Paisley just now? Says 100% precipitation on my phone app just now!

Pathead put his hand in his pocket, that's a new one on me😄

Hibs07p
04-12-2015, 09:08 PM
Aye Boxing Day 1981. Terraces were solid ice! Pitch was fine. 1-1 draw which was a decent result for us.

Remember it also, feet were frozen, I'm sure Bryan Robson had the misfortune of having a meaty challenge with Shades down at the corner of the Cowshed and the East, where he was out of the game for a while with a dislocated shoulder, Robson, not Shades. A decent crowd as well considering it was announced with 24 hrs notice and no internet.

04-12-2015, 09:15 PM
Date's been established. Worked all day in the Artisan. Franny Jablonski manager went out to Sinclairs and got totally pi55ed. Mate asked one of the United fans when they left. 9:30 just show up to bus and leave. Theyd no idea where they were going when they set out. Just knew there was a game...

Sent via the bushes @ EM

04-12-2015, 09:18 PM
I thought folk in Paisley just picked any blown away fences, and didn't buy new ones, that's what they used to do when I lived there.
Are you sure it isn't raining in Paisley just now? Says 100% precipitation on my phone app just now!

Pathead put his hand in his pocket, that's a new one on me

Yes it is raining but it's not pouring down so wouldn't say it's heavy rain

04-12-2015, 09:50 PM

Pathead put his hand in his pocket, that's a new one on me

I'm going out to find a pair of waterproof trousers to go with the jacket. Don't want to get piles sitting on a wet bench.

Either that or just go in my underpants and let my skin act as a waterproof barrier.

Should we have a vote?

04-12-2015, 10:02 PM
I'm going out to find a pair of waterproof trousers to go with the jacket. Don't want to get piles sitting on a wet bench.

Either that or just go in my underpants and let my skin act as a waterproof barrier.

Should we have a vote?

Neither, don't think anyone will be sitting if it's raining, that's unless Morton have installed heated bench seats

04-12-2015, 10:21 PM
Maybe not so bad a thing if the game is called off for Hibs. :cb

04-12-2015, 10:29 PM

Think we need the game Silver, if not go into the Falkirk game having not played for 3 weeks😄

04-12-2015, 11:14 PM
Morton head grounds man on Twitter again -

@mf6791_mark: 13mm since 4pm - Rain on & off. Pitch firm all over with no above water. Long nite ahead but so far so good. [emoji106]

9 am next update.

Hibeewilly
04-12-2015, 11:28 PM
I agree mate. Playing on a sodden pitch with 55mph gusts will be a great leveller. A real potential banana skin now if the forecast is correct of course. I think it will be though

04-12-2015, 11:30 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/04/234b523fd94cd1543a3be0808e34d2c7.jpg

This is the rain band heading from the west and is around 3500 miles long apparently.

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/04/ba79c860a686037e6bd725d153caa6ed.jpg

04-12-2015, 11:33 PM
So no speedo's for me tomorrow.

04-12-2015, 11:36 PM
hope it keeps it 's shape then. on your world view, it looks like a big Arra:wink: and Greenock is gonnae get a dry part of it. :greengrin

04-12-2015, 11:39 PM
btw, did not know there were any meteorologists living in Fife:wink:

05-12-2015, 12:21 AM
btw, did not know there were any meteorologists living in Fife:wink:

Now stuck in Fife.

05-12-2015, 02:04 AM
It's a pish thing though for those of us who have looked forward to it all week and are treating it as a day out on the peev and a chance to have a catch-up with pals you've no seen in weeks. I'll be raging if it's off

05-12-2015, 06:59 AM
The weather is awful as such I hope the game is called off. Standing in the pissing rain in gale force winds with no cover is not entertainment

05-12-2015, 07:02 AM
The weather is awful as such I hope the game is called off. Standing in the pissing rain in gale force winds with no cover is not entertainment

I hope it's on. Three points would be entertainment enough for me.

05-12-2015, 07:25 AM
Anyone know what the weather is like over there? Hard to judge if should set off from Windy Yorkshire :-)

Glad got an hour 45 to make a decision.

05-12-2015, 07:29 AM
I hope it's on. Three points would be entertainment enough for me.

Rain and winds did get worse during the night here in Paisley but abated early morning so would imagine that the grounds mans first update at 9'will still say game on
Just been out the back garden no major damage and was able to roll a ball about and pass it no problem .
Forecast is more heavy rain and those 50'mileper hour gusts of wind but I am predicting game on ,it wont be great conditions for playing and we will all get soaked ,but for those that endured Cowdenbeath and Alloa last season the good news is the wind may may help dry you out ,but I might just have my waterproof gear on right enough with the thermal layers below ,although it's actually not that cold

05-12-2015, 07:36 AM
This is from the groundsman at Morton at 11pm last night

13mm since 4pm - Rain on & off. Pitch firm all over with no above water. Long nite ahead but so far so good. 👍

9 am next update.

05-12-2015, 07:38 AM
Hearts game off. Not that's of any interest but not surprising

05-12-2015, 07:40 AM
Just been out the back garden no major damage and was able to roll a ball about and pass it no problem .

Brilliant. Love it. 👍

05-12-2015, 08:14 AM
This is from the groundsman at Morton at 11pm last night

13mm since 4pm - Rain on & off. Pitch firm all over with no above water. Long nite ahead but so far so good. [emoji106]

9 am next update.

Love the effort the boy is making.

Hibeewilly
05-12-2015, 08:22 AM
Rain and winds did get worse during the night here in Paisley but abated early morning so would imagine that the grounds mans first update at 9'will still say game on
Forecast is more heavy rain and those 50'mileper hour gusts of wind but I am predicting game on ,it wont be great conditions for playing and we will all get soaked ,but for those that endured Cowdenbeath and Alloa last season the good news is the wind may may help dry you out ,but I might just have my waterproof gear on right enough with the thermal layers below ,although it's actually not that cold
Did the ball stay still when you were taking free kicks and corners Ronnie??:wink:

05-12-2015, 08:27 AM
Love the effort the boy is making.

If he can keep the pitch playable the boy deserves a pay rise! This weather has been horrific all night.

05-12-2015, 08:29 AM

The games been called off due to the wind not the pitch apparently.

05-12-2015, 08:30 AM

Why is it off specifically?

05-12-2015, 08:31 AM

Imagine sitting in that stand with the wind like this.

05-12-2015, 08:32 AM

Answered my last question, probably scared a bit of the delapidated stand falls off and kills someone. Safety certificate anyone?

Hibeewilly
05-12-2015, 08:32 AM
The wind speed and gusts are the same in Greenock so on that basis our game is defo in danger

05-12-2015, 08:35 AM
Strong winds can throw up unexpected results at any level and to me can often be leveller between good and bad teams...I'd much rather have today's game off if there is strong winds through in Greenock than play and perhaps drop points due to poor weather conditions

05-12-2015, 08:36 AM

1970, abandoned in the 33rd minute, I'm sure it was September, we had played a European game in the blazing heat of Portugal midweek [Guimaraes]. We lost the rearranged game as well! I remember it so well because it was the only season I went to 35 Hibs league games, in a 34 game league.

Hibeewilly
05-12-2015, 08:44 AM
Strong winds can throw up unexpected results at any level and to me can often be leveller between good and bad teams...I'd much rather have today's game off if there is strong winds through in Greenock than play and perhaps drop points due to poor weather conditions
Agree 100% Libby I posted exactly that yesterday. Its a huge banana skin in these conditions

05-12-2015, 08:49 AM
Think I am going to give it a miss looking at trains 1 hour delay getting to Carlisle. Some trains cancelled too so not looking good.

Stay safe everyone if the game is on.

05-12-2015, 08:49 AM
M9 closed at Stirling due to flooding. That was my planned route [emoji30]

05-12-2015, 08:51 AM
This is crazy

05-12-2015, 08:52 AM
My train has been cancelled, just glad HH81 let me know before I left the house. Hoping I can get my £40 train tickets refunded, but I'd assume I've got no chance with the match tickets. Best of luck to those going today.

All games should be off as traveling isn't particularly safe on a day like this.
Should have been decided yesterday.

Ffs the bridge, M8 and M9 are closed, were trapped in Edinburgh. Bob Geldof will be organising a concert for us if this gets any worse.

My train has been cancelled, just glad HH81 let me know before I left the house. Hoping I can get my £40 train tickets refunded, but I'd assume I've got no chance with the match tickets. Best of luck to those going today.

Just keep your fingers crossed that it's postponed

05-12-2015, 08:53 AM
It should be off..dangerous asking fans to travel in this

05-12-2015, 08:54 AM
Wishing I hadn't got tickets now and had gone for PATG. Not going to be easy to get there.

05-12-2015, 08:54 AM
Some folk would actually like to see the game go ahead myself included, I'll no be hoping for any postponement.

05-12-2015, 08:56 AM

Just east bound I think.

05-12-2015, 08:58 AM
Some folk would actually like to see the game go ahead myself included, I'll no be hoping for any postponement.

same here, dalkeith crews day out:party:

05-12-2015, 08:59 AM
same here, dalkeith crews day out:party:
The boys are coming to mine for drinks at ten so here's hoping buddy

05-12-2015, 09:00 AM

Xmas away day. Excitement has been building for weeks.

05-12-2015, 09:03 AM
Game on

andyf5
Groundsman says

25mm since 11pm. Pitch firm with no Standing Water.

Can take more intense Rain if need be.

Game On! @Morton_FC

from twitter account Mark Farrell
@mf6791_mark

Imagine sitting in that stand with the wind like this.Imagine sitting anywhere in that **** hole of a place, their Lego land pink stands are prob no safer than the asbestos shed.

05-12-2015, 09:04 AM
Just boarded the Citylink bus at Haymarket, looks like an old folks home Xmas day out!

05-12-2015, 09:05 AM
Imagine sitting anywhere in that **** hole of a place, their Lego land pink stands are prob no safer than the asbestos shed.

Fair point, well made.

05-12-2015, 09:07 AM
25mm since 11pm. Pitch firm with no Standing Water.

Can take more intense Rain if need be.

Game On! @Morton_FC

Tweet from the boy that looks after the pitch at Morton

05-12-2015, 09:08 AM
If he can keep the pitch playable the boy deserves a pay rise! This weather has been horrific all night.

The cappielow pitch is meant to be superb. I love it when people take a pride in jobs the way this guy is doing. Top marks to the chap.

I'm not going to the game today - flew down to London last night and the plane was all over the shop.
I'm meant to be flying back tonight to get to my works night out but I'm thinking of canning it and getting a train or hiring a car. I'm not a great flyer at the best of times and all this talk of gusting winds is freaking me out.
Lovely morning in London btw.

05-12-2015, 09:08 AM
Time for me to get up and get my drinking boots on. **** the weather - mon the Hibees 😃

05-12-2015, 09:11 AM
The cappielow pitch is meant to be superb. I love it when people take a pride in jobs the way this guy is doing. Top marks to the chap.

I'm not going to the game today - flew down to London last night and the plane was all over the shop.
I'm meant to be flying back tonight to get to my works night out but I'm thinking of canning it and getting a train or hiring a car. I'm not a great flyer at the best of times and all this talk of gusting winds is freaking me out.
Trains are knackered, don't bother.

05-12-2015, 09:18 AM
Time for me to get up and get my drinking boots on. **** the weather - mon the Hibees 😃

Love this. **** the weather 😂😂

05-12-2015, 09:24 AM
Think it is a disgrace the match is on in these conditions. It will be farcical with that wind.

Not to mention the dangerous travelling conditions.

05-12-2015, 09:25 AM
Just stepped out the door. It's wet and windy but feels surprisingly mild.

Weather an issue or not we need 3 points today. Up for it.

05-12-2015, 09:26 AM
Think it is a disgrace the match is on in these conditions. It will be farcical with that wind.

Don't think the winds as bad in the West. I'm hoping Hibs directors are currently taking to Morton about trying to get out 700 fans under cover today somewhere

05-12-2015, 09:29 AM

I agree it's a disgrace asking fans to travel in weather like this..add stand in uncovered area as well. Only in Scotland

hibs4life
05-12-2015, 09:30 AM

If I hadn't already got my ticket,I think I'd have given this a miss today. It's going to be pretty unpleasant conditions in which to watch football. Won't be much fun playing in it either, I suspect...

05-12-2015, 09:31 AM
Bunch of softies. :greengrin

05-12-2015, 09:31 AM
I agree it's a disgrace asking fans to travel in weather like this..add stand in uncovered area as well. Only in Scotland

Rubbish, nobody,complained 20-30 years ago. What's changed?

05-12-2015, 09:32 AM
Celtic game off, Partick game off and the St Mirren game looks like it will get called off. Morton boy must be some groundsman.

05-12-2015, 09:34 AM

Just been on webchat with trainline they are waiving the refund fee and refunding me in full in 3 to 5 days.

dchibs

PT v Motherwell and celtic games called off.

Why is it off specifically?

Waterlogged pitch according to their Twitter page

05-12-2015, 09:36 AM
Just been on webchat with trainline they are waiving the refund fee and refunding me in full in 3 to 5 days.
Good man. I've been in negotiations with Virgin Trains for the past half an hour. They initially wanted me to just use a later train that hasn't been cancelled yet, even though I've had a text from a mate saying the lines flooded and won't be sorted until tomorrow night!

05-12-2015, 09:37 AM
Howling wind and it's chucking it down or balmy breeze with light drizzle , as we say in the West !!

Mon the Hibees !!

05-12-2015, 09:38 AM

I'm not good when flying in this weather so I feel your pain there.

05-12-2015, 09:39 AM
Good man. I've been in negotiations with Virgin Trains for the past half an hour. They initially wanted me to just use a later train that hasn't been cancelled yet, even though I've had a text from a mate saying the lines flooded and won't be sorted until tomorrow night!

Buses betwen carlisle/Glasgow and Edinburgh. Don't travel.

05-12-2015, 09:40 AM
Howling wind and it's chucking it down or balmy breeze with light drizzle , as we say in the West !!

Mon the Hibees !!

So you reckon it's game on?

05-12-2015, 09:40 AM
It really doesn't seem all that windy in Edinburgh where I currently am (West End). Can only assume it must be much worse in the west to be causing so much worry.

It's definitely breezy to put it mildly but I've watched and played football in far worse.

05-12-2015, 09:42 AM
I will be severely pissed off if this game gets called off later after supporters buses have departed.

Morton's groundsman is doing a terrific job but it just takes a ref to turn up and declare he doesn't like the conditions and it's off.

05-12-2015, 09:43 AM

Yes they tried that with me. I said can you put me onto someone who can help and his next line was I have sent you an email with details about your full refund ha.

Seems a bloody nightmare. Considered driving but dont think that will be much better 4 hours on road in this.

05-12-2015, 09:44 AM
It's currently gusts of wind in Edinburgh of 48 mph.

At 3pm gusts of winds in Greenock will be 28 mph.

It WILL be windy and a factor but it's not likely to be the worst we have played in.

05-12-2015, 09:45 AM
For me it's not just about the pitch but the conditions for the folk travelling to the game. Their safety is paramount.

The weather is to get worse as the day goes on as well so what might seem ok at this moment in time could deteriorate very quickly.

Argylehibby
05-12-2015, 09:48 AM
Celtic game off, Partick game off and the St Mirren game looks like it will get called off. Morton boy must be some groundsman.

Mark Farrell is the man...

http://www.gmfc.net/Club%20Info/Contacts%20List

05-12-2015, 09:50 AM
For me it's not just about the pitch but the conditions for the folk travelling to the game. Their safety is paramount.

The weather is to get worse as the day goes on as well so what might seem ok at this moment in time could deteriorate very quickly.

http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/05/1fd2854b435a4ea345d949c0c886eda1.jpg

Expect lots of incidents like this today

05-12-2015, 09:50 AM
Rubbish, nobody,complained 20-30 years ago. What's changed?
It's not the 1970s now tho...and 17 quid to stand and get soaked is a disgrace. It's 2015 not 1950

And my point was about the safety of fans travelling to the match. .is that rubbish too??

05-12-2015, 09:52 AM

It WILL be windy and a factor but it's not likely to be the worst we have played in.

According to BBC weather the wind speed at 3pm will be about 55mph.

Siralbertkidd
05-12-2015, 09:54 AM

Would expect The Ox to be on a hat trick with these conditions

05-12-2015, 09:56 AM
IF this game gets called off at 14:00, it will be further evidence if it is needed that the football authorities couldn't give a dam about football fans. On a day such as today, when there are plenty other reasons to stop watching football, to expect 1000 +/- football fans to travel from the east in miserable weather conditions, whilst public transport is creaking at the seams to then have the match called off within a hour off kick off would be a real switch off for some.

I hope this doesn't happen, but I'm fully expecting arriving at the ground to be told the game is off. Fingers crossed it doesn't, but.........

05-12-2015, 09:57 AM
I will be severely pissed off if this game gets called off later after supporters buses have departed.

Morton's groundsman is doing a terrific job but it just takes a ref to turn up and declare he doesn't like the conditions and it's off.

That is why a local ref should turn up and have a look at the ground asap and feedback to the ref. The groundsman can't make final decision so him saying all is good is not really its a defo on.

05-12-2015, 09:57 AM
I'd be happier if the game was postponed simply because the overhead and underfoot conditions are likely to prove a great leveller thus improving Morton's chances. I'm usually in the "we've turned into a muckle bunch of softies " camp but at the same time common sense dictates that we'll stand a better chance of winning given even half reasonable conditions.

05-12-2015, 10:01 AM
It's not the 1970s now tho...and 17 quid to stand and get soaked is a disgrace. It's 2015 not 1950

And my point was about the safety of fans travelling to the match. .is that rubbish too??

I was on the A1 and the A68 last night, roads are fine.

Lee Marvin
05-12-2015, 10:02 AM
That is why a local ref should turn up and have a look at the ground asap and feedback to the ref. The groundsman can't make final decision so him saying all is good is not really its a defo on.

Especially when said groundsman is protecting a self proclaimed 100% 'game on' record.

Game will definitely be cancelled, but it will be late. Ref doesn't have the same record to protect

rossevenil

Met office would suggest otherwise? Currently showing for 1500 31mph with gusts 52mph and increasing from then on......http://bit.do/Cappielow

Morton's groundsman is doing a terrific job but it just takes a ref to turn up and declare he doesn't like the conditions and it's off.wish someone at Morton fc would pick up a phone, instead of giving me an answer machine saying......our office is closed ,we open on mon,tues,thurs,frid after 10 am! what aboot Saturdays!

Not according to weather pro hourly app I have used for past couple of years and very accurate. Always find BBC weather inaccurate.

05-12-2015, 10:04 AM
Friend just phoned from Glasgow, very surprised that the game was still on, if conditions in Greenock are the same in Glasgow. Miserable driving conditions, lots of surface water on the road, jackknifed lorry on the M8 taking over two lanes westbound. It's grim out there!!!

05-12-2015, 10:06 AM
Not according to weather pro hourly app I have used for past couple of years and very accurate. Always find BBC weather inaccurate.

I've just phoned Michael Fish and he said it would be alright so game on. :greengrin

Lee Marvin
05-12-2015, 10:06 AM
Apparently a major road in greenock is flooded. Source, Morton forum.

It's utter lunacy to not call this off!

ano hibby
05-12-2015, 10:07 AM
Anyone heard an update on the M8 being closed westbound? (As per the other thread)

05-12-2015, 10:08 AM
Not according to weather pro hourly app I have used for past couple of years and very accurate. Always find BBC weather inaccurate.The Met Office is predicting gusts of 50 odd mph this afternoon. Gusts of 40 odds at the moment which is accurate.

05-12-2015, 10:12 AM
Nice Winter's morning here in Haddington. No rain, fairly dry, a bit blustery earlier on but its died right down. Let's do this

05-12-2015, 10:12 AM
Anyone heard an update on the M8 being closed westbound? (As per the other thread)

On the approach to the Kingston bridge westbound. Flooding.

accident at Jn3 as well. Road is not closed though.

05-12-2015, 10:13 AM
If the pansies could beat it with wanting postponements, majority of whom probably never had an intention of going anyway.Some of us have been looking forward to this all week.

05-12-2015, 10:14 AM

Was an accident at 3a as well. Don't know if that's fixed or no

05-12-2015, 10:14 AM

http://trafficscotland.org

Here is an update it says approach with caution carriageway partially blocked.

05-12-2015, 10:15 AM
St mirren v qos is off. A second inspection planned at Starks park.

05-12-2015, 10:15 AM

accident at Jn3 as well. Road is not closed though.

You can miss that by going M74

05-12-2015, 10:16 AM
You can miss that by going M74

05-12-2015, 10:17 AM
Did the ball stay still when you were taking free kicks and corners Ronnie??:wink:
IT was too dark then ,but the rain is now heavy and persistent and the wind picking up ,but the good news is the back garden is still playable .
Out and about in Paisley however thier is already severe localised flooding so take care out there folks ,can't say I am looking forward to this if game on But if it is then we need to rewarded with three points

05-12-2015, 10:17 AM
Amazed this is still on.

Horrondeous weather for fans to travel.

For anyone whose played in bad wind - Game will be a complete lottery also - hopefully we don't drop points which could define our season. Morton will want it on as they know it will affect us more than them.

05-12-2015, 10:19 AM
Nae delays on M8 for me, just arrived in Glasgow 5 mins ago.

05-12-2015, 10:19 AM
Amazed this is still on.

For anyone whose played in bad wind - Game will be a complete lottery also - hopefully we don't drop points which could define our season. Morton will want it on as they know it will affect us more than them.

Thing is rangers could also drop points st their game is still on at the moment.

05-12-2015, 10:21 AM
Amazed this is still on.

:agree: Spot on.

05-12-2015, 10:21 AM
10.15 train from Waverley to Queen Street cancelled.

IanFaeClerrie
05-12-2015, 10:24 AM
If the pansies could beat it with wanting postponements, majority of whom probably never had an intention of going anyway.Some of us have been looking forward to this all week.

Agree - I will be so hacked off if this is postponed. Leaving soon as have to get to Edinburgh from Fife to pick up daughter first! Where do you get a kugool (sp). Recently the wettest we've got was Cowdenbeath and Alloa last season.

Thing is rangers could also drop points st their game is still on at the moment.

Can see the The Rangers game being called off, it's horrendous in Fife at the moment, and Starks Park isn't the best at the best of times.

I'd be happier if the game was postponed simply because the overhead and underfoot conditions are likely to prove a great leveller thus improving Morton's chances. I'm usually in the "we've turned into a muckle bunch of softies " camp but at the same time common sense dictates that we'll stand a better chance of winning given even half reasonable conditions.

Agree, history dictates that for reasons only known to the footballing gods,we don't fare well in games played in farcical conditions.

10.15 train from Waverley to Queen Street cancelled.

Trains been a nightmare from down here too.

05-12-2015, 10:27 AM
[QUOTE=Aldo;4517190]For me it's not just about the pitch but the conditions for the folk travelling to the game. Their safety is paramount.

The weather is to get worse as the day goes on as well so what might seem ok at this moment in time could deteriorate very quicklyQUOTE]

Just coz your trapped in Fife as Silver put it , doesn't stop the rest of us thrill seekers getting our football fix .But having just got back in the door after an hour outside my latest water proof isn't that waterproof ,so won't be an enjoyable experience , that's for sure .
And yes it's deteriorating by the minute ,wasn't like this last night .

05-12-2015, 10:29 AM
Trains been a nightmare from down here too.

currently on the train now. Hopefully that's the last of the issues today.

05-12-2015, 10:31 AM
currently on the train now. Hopefully that's the last of the issues today.

You will be lucky mate. Maybe. Ha

05-12-2015, 10:32 AM
It would be nice to get some sort of update from Morton/Hibs. Along the lines of the pitch is fine,match in no danger, it pitch inspection at 12noon etc
How hard can it be for Morton to say this

05-12-2015, 10:32 AM
Morton fan just posted this on P&B

Good luck getting here Hibees, the M8 is fine between Glasgow and Greenock but as Schosha says the main road at Cappielow is flooded, it's currently still open but you might need to park a fair walk from the ground if that gets any worse and the road closes. The rain's off for now so you might be alright. Trains are still running but some are terminating at Port Glasgow, if they're not going to Cartsdyke at the time of the game you've got a bit of a walk.

05-12-2015, 10:34 AM
Checked the cameras on the traffic scotland website and traffic is light on the M8 st the moment.

05-12-2015, 10:35 AM
Trains last night were taking close to 10 hours to get from London to parts of Scotland. Long delays around Berwick. Complete shambles.

05-12-2015, 10:36 AM
Precautionary 11am inspection according to Morton Twitter account

05-12-2015, 10:37 AM
It would be nice to get some sort of update from Morton/Hibs. Along the lines of the pitch is fine,match in no danger, it pitch inspection at 12noon etc
How hard can it be for Morton to say this

Spot on. We're planning to hang around in Glasgow until there's conformation the game is on.

05-12-2015, 10:38 AM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/05/d897caa639a67ef9b7de059538109dd9.jpg

05-12-2015, 10:39 AM
Pitch inspection at 11am.

Morton fan just posted this on P&B

Good luck getting here Hibees, the M8 is fine between Glasgow and Greenock but as Schosha says the main road at Cappielow is flooded, it's currently still open but you might need to park a fair walk from the ground if that gets any worse and the road closes. The rain's off for now so you might be alright. Trains are still running but some are terminating at Port Glasgow, if they're not going to Cartsdyke at the time of the game you've got a bit of a walk.

I'm on the 1036 from Gla Cen - Gre Cen, nae problems to report so far.

Can a local ref inspect the pitch and make a decsion re water and wind?

Would seem daft if we had to wait until say half 1 for the match ref to arrive and do it when all Hibs fans would already be on our way.

Edit: Just read the above.

05-12-2015, 10:46 AM
Expect lots of incidents like this today

Indeed!

05-12-2015, 10:46 AM
I would expect the game to be on, groundsman seems confident anyway.

05-12-2015, 10:52 AM
There can be a pitch inspection at 11am say, and the pitch is judged to be playable (lets forget the wind speed for a moment).

Four hours of continual heavy rain later, by 3pm it's not playable.

05-12-2015, 10:54 AM
St Mirren game off. Raith confident their game will go ahead

05-12-2015, 10:58 AM
Can a local ref inspect the pitch and make a decsion re water and wind?

Would seem daft if we had to wait until say half 1 for the match ref to arrive and do it when all Hibs fans would already be on our way.

Edit: Just read the above.

I think local refs can only advise, not make the actual decision

05-12-2015, 10:59 AM
There can be a pitch inspection at 11am say, and the pitch is judged to be playable (lets forget the wind speed for a moment).

Four hours of continual heavy rain later, by 3pm it's not playable.

Well they know it will continue to rain and the grounds man sounds like he knows his pitches capability to absorb the rainfall so would think on this occasion the ref should factor the grounds mans judgement into the equation at least in relation to whether the pitch will be playable .

05-12-2015, 11:01 AM
Conditions worsening the further west we go, it looks like the middle of the night!

05-12-2015, 11:03 AM
Rangers game off

Argylehibby
05-12-2015, 11:03 AM
If reports that the streets around the ground are flooded the police would have a say in whether the game is on or not surely?

05-12-2015, 11:13 AM
On the 49 down to Leith Walk to catch our bus. Any news yet?

05-12-2015, 11:14 AM
On the 49 down to Leith Walk to catch our bus. Any news yet?

No, not yet

duffers
Game on

Pitch inspection passed.

05-12-2015, 11:15 AM
Good news, lets do this

05-12-2015, 11:15 AM
Game on.

05-12-2015, 11:16 AM
Good stuff 👍

Thank ****

Pitch inspection passed.

Where are you hearing this

Just passed the ground on the train, pitch looks decent enough from a distance.

05-12-2015, 11:17 AM
Where are you hearing this

Theres nothing on their twitter feed yet

05-12-2015, 11:17 AM
Just passed the ground on the train, pitch looks decent enough from a distance.

What's the weather like

05-12-2015, 11:18 AM

I can't see anything either

Argylehibby
05-12-2015, 11:18 AM

or on their website where they will update asap!