View Full Version : Hibernian vs Montrose

01-08-2015, 11:43 AM
Time to put last week behind us and get a positive result today.

Mon the Cabbage! :flag:

Off the bar
01-08-2015, 01:28 PM
Mon the hibs!

Any team news yet?

01-08-2015, 01:28 PM
Can I be the first to say how disinterested Allan looks in the warm up? :duck:

01-08-2015, 01:29 PM
Can I be the first to say how disinterested Allan looks in the warm up? :duck:

Looks totally isolated, the fitness coach had to call all the rest of the subs over so they could do something together

01-08-2015, 01:30 PM
Mon the hibs!

Any team news yet?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CLU15x4WIAAkqUA.jpg:large

Off the bar
01-08-2015, 01:31 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CLU15x4WIAAkqUA.jpg:large

Thank you kindly

01-08-2015, 01:32 PM
Good to see the boy Shaw on the bench.

01-08-2015, 01:32 PM
So Allan on the bench and Stanton gets a start up front.

01-08-2015, 01:34 PM
Fancy Jason for a couple of goals today on his birthday.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CLUmm4mWUAAc087.jpg:large

Hibernian FC ‏@HibsOfficial 1h1 hour ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/627450173661298688)
Happy birthday to #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) striker @Jasoncummings35 (https://twitter.com/Jasoncummings35) who is 20 today. Keep on zinging them in Cummy!

bill the hibby
01-08-2015, 01:36 PM
Stanton seems a bit lightweight to be playing upfront. Won't be able to hold up any balls which was our biggest downfall last weekend after malonga went off.

01-08-2015, 01:40 PM
Can't make it, any radio except BBC OAM nonsense?

01-08-2015, 01:47 PM
Stanton seems a bit lightweight to be playing upfront. Won't be able to hold up any balls which was our biggest downfall last weekend after malonga went off.

Maybe more likely Cummings up front with Harris?

01-08-2015, 01:50 PM

That's what I thought too

bill the hibby
01-08-2015, 01:53 PM

Yea you could be right, even still...but it will be interesting to see how Harris gets on, really hope the wee man can find his form again.

01-08-2015, 01:59 PM
Blowing a gale and driving rain. Hopefully puts talk of summer football to bed.

01-08-2015, 02:05 PM

Is there anything about Hibs that enthuses you?

01-08-2015, 02:09 PM
There are more seagulls here than montrose fans!

01-08-2015, 02:13 PM
Any chances yet?

01-08-2015, 02:14 PM
Montrose have dug in for the day. Game of patience.

Ryan69
01-08-2015, 02:22 PM
Any updates?

01-08-2015, 02:27 PM
Hibs all over them but not playing well. Passes going straight out. Looks like one of these games where Montrose could score with one chance. JC had a couple of good shots.

01-08-2015, 02:28 PM
This is the worst match update thread I've ever seen

Muted reaction when allan came out to warm up.

Few boos, bit more clapping.

Cummings zipped a shot wide from 18 ysrds and probably should have hit the target. Some other scuffed shots but no tea tempo to the game and not tested their keeper yet.

01-08-2015, 02:29 PM
This is the worst match update thread I've ever seen

01-08-2015, 02:29 PM
Big Marv playing.well.

Harris trying.to get involved.

Cummings jad a great effort just wide, bit pedestrian and no real chances. As I type that keeper makes a decent save from Cummings.

01-08-2015, 02:30 PM
Bartley looking good.

SJNB Hibby
01-08-2015, 02:30 PM
Beeb says we've had 5 shots, none on target, and Montrose have had 50% possession---seems a bit startling

01-08-2015, 02:31 PM
Keeper great save from Cummings

01-08-2015, 02:33 PM
Are Harris and Stanton out wide or is Harris up front?

1-0 Martin

Goal - Martin.

01-08-2015, 02:34 PM
Well done scott martin!

Well worked goal from Hibs and one that is long overdue.

Scotty Martin!!!!!!! Goal

Are Harris and Stanton out wide or is Harris up front?

Wide but almost like wingers with Cummings through the middle.

Is this on radio anywhere?

Also is it 442 diamond or have we gone 433 with stanton/harris on the wings?

If it's the latter then I'm slightly disappointed as this clearly didn't work when we tried it at the beginning of last season

01-08-2015, 02:36 PM
Ball in from "Lewis Hamilton" #wereUwatchingCharlieMann?!

01-08-2015, 02:37 PM
Is this on radio anywhere?

Also is it 442 diamond or have we gone 433 with stanton/harris on the wings?

If it's the latter then I'm slightly disappointed as this clearly didn't work when we tried it at the beginning of last season

What else would you play with the players we currently have available?

I'd rather that than Harris and Cummings up front together

01-08-2015, 02:39 PM
Bartley looking like Patrick Viera

01-08-2015, 02:39 PM
Bollocks. Went for a pie and missed it 😢

01-08-2015, 02:40 PM
Our problem thus far is we have looked a bit lost when we get within 30 yards of Montrose goal, the on time we found a bit penetration we scored.

They are making it tough with 11 men behind the ball but we better get used to playing against that.

Off the bar
01-08-2015, 02:41 PM
Bollocks. Went for a pie and missed it 😢

Was the pie any good?

01-08-2015, 02:42 PM
Hanlon stroking long balls about like Glen Hoddle's auntie

macd123
01-08-2015, 02:42 PM
Bollocks. Went for a pie and missed it 

How are the pies this year?

01-08-2015, 02:43 PM
Hanlon stroking long balls about like Glen Hoddle's auntie

He's a joy to watch.

01-08-2015, 02:47 PM
Half time.

I can honestly say this goes straight into my top 5 most bored at a match list. Roll on the league season.

The seagulls descending like a scene from The Bird was mildly entertaining.

01-08-2015, 02:48 PM
Half time.

I can honestly say this goes straight into my top 5 most bored at a match list. Roll on the league season.

Looked like they were attacking someone in the ff lower!

💤💤💤💤💤💤

That's was awful. But we are winning. Where the **** have all the seagulls came from ?

dmc1875
01-08-2015, 02:49 PM
Boring first half, not playing brilliantly. Bartley strolling it. Need to create some more chances in the second half but nothing so far to be excited about a boy near me was having a snooze during the first half!

01-08-2015, 02:50 PM
Halftime. Hanlon and Stanton look rusty. Bartley and Martin look great.

Promising first half from the lads, in complete control of the game. A few players clearly a bit rusty, however it's exciting to think that to add to this team we have - Keatings, Farid, Carmichael, Boyle, Mcginn!

Bartley in particular is really looking the part, puts himself around the pitch and has great muscle about him. Appears to be the signing we've been crying out for!

Promising stuff

Half time.

Struggling to see the game for the gulls. Pretty dire stuff so far. Shocking amount of misplaced passes under no pressure. Stantons that went straight out was pick of the bunch.

Montrose will have to open up a bit in the 2nd half. Should see more chance for Hibs 3-0

McGinn being presented at half time.

Can't hear a word he's saying though!

macd123
01-08-2015, 02:53 PM
Our problem thus far is we have looked a bit lost when we get within 30 yards of Montrose goal, the on time we found a bit penetration we scored.

They are making it tough with 11 men behind the ball but we better get used to playing against that.

Yup, wish we could get a good 6'2 striker. Not to change our style of play but to give us another way to score goals if needed.

Stuarty27
01-08-2015, 02:54 PM
Soaking wet and bored to tears.

That was awful

01-08-2015, 02:55 PM
Ball in from "Lewis Hamilton" #wereUwatchingCharlieMann?!

Heard that, studio didn't pick up on it!

01-08-2015, 02:57 PM

I did hear him say loud and clear "We're going to win the league"

Like him already! Seems to be the confident type we need with a wee bit swagger :)

01-08-2015, 02:57 PM

Only bit I heard was him saying we're going to win the title.

01-08-2015, 03:02 PM
This is boring 😴😴

01-08-2015, 03:02 PM
Scott Allan on for 2nd half would liven things up.

01-08-2015, 03:04 PM
Say what you like about Sam Stanton but he takes a cracking corner.

01-08-2015, 03:09 PM
Cummings screws a shot wide, really should have hit the target.

He's played well again though considering he's not had much service.

ionahibby
01-08-2015, 03:10 PM
Hibs dominating but pretty much a snore fest. We could be a bit more clinical up front.

Then Stanton has a good run and shoots over. Bit more urgency here and the improvement is obvious.

Was the pie any good?

Not too bad. A bit dry.

01-08-2015, 03:11 PM
Stanton beats 3 men and rifles it close.

01-08-2015, 03:12 PM
Bartley looks a player though 👍

ionahibby
01-08-2015, 03:13 PM
Seagulls are out in force!

01-08-2015, 03:16 PM
Nifty footwork by Stanton, shoots a yard or so wide.

01-08-2015, 03:17 PM
Stanton again close

01-08-2015, 03:18 PM
We are essntially playing with 5 across the front line just now when we have the ball.

01-08-2015, 03:21 PM
I wonder if Montrose will be more attack minded if Hibs score a second.

I can understand them playing defensively and hitting on the break at 0-0 or 0-1 but hopefully they'll come out of their shells a bit if Hibs score another.

Video guy doing a fine job with the pitch half in sunlight, half in shade. HibsTV stream looking good.

Beaton with a bizarre decision against Cummings as keeper tries to kick it out

01-08-2015, 03:22 PM
Mixture of boos and claps as Scott Allan comes on for Bartleu

01-08-2015, 03:22 PM
Allan on, Bartley off.

Few boos when he gets his.1st touch. Don't get that but don't get the several rounds of applause he's had either.

01-08-2015, 03:24 PM
Allan on, Bartley off.

Few boos when he gets his.1st touch. Don't get that but don't get the several rounds of applause he's had either.

Give him silence is best approach IMO

Scott Allan gets a reception. Hope he accepts his fate.

Allan on, Bartley off.

Exactly, I won't boo him but I'm not gonna cheer him like he's a legend either!

01-08-2015, 03:25 PM

Yep that's exactly where I am. Won't boo any current Hibs player but not going to give him a sycophantic cheer either.

01-08-2015, 03:25 PM
He was always going to get a reaction of some sort, emotions have been stoked..it will all settle after a few great games ;-)

The Leith Dutch
01-08-2015, 03:26 PM

Best option is respond as his play deserves.
If he starts pulling the stings and inspires us to more goals then some cheers are merited.

01-08-2015, 03:27 PM
Goal Allan, you couldn't make.it up.

lugz
01-08-2015, 03:27 PM
2-0

01-08-2015, 03:28 PM
Scott Allan looks like he is professional about playing today.

I cheered his goal :greengrin

2-0

Some game

Scott Allan goal

01-08-2015, 03:29 PM
Nice, very nice.

01-08-2015, 03:29 PM
Alex Harris needs a confidence transplant. He's looked sharp today but picked the wrong option so many times.

01-08-2015, 03:30 PM
There's only one Scott Allan!

01-08-2015, 03:30 PM
:singing:

"He's one of our own,
He's one of our own,
Scott Al-lan,
He's one of our own"

:duck:

01-08-2015, 03:31 PM
Did he celebrate?

Harris off, Shaw on.

Hibernian FC ‏@HibsOfficial 34s35 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/627501660894556160) 72: Allan's strike was a cracker, right into the corner. A fine finish from our number 10 #HFCvMFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvMFC?src=hash)

01-08-2015, 03:32 PM
Have Hibs really given a player the squad number 51?

01-08-2015, 03:33 PM
Alex Harris needs a confidence transplant. He's looked sharp today but picked the wrong option so many times.

He just doesn't have it I think.

Great to see Shaw on... I know people are concerned with the new signings not playing but the upside is these excellent young players are getting game time.

Did he celebrate?

Richard Gordon asked the same question? It's irrelevant.

magpie1892
Hibernian FC ‏@HibsOfficial34s35 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/627501660894556160)72: Allan's strike was a cracker, right into the corner. A fine finish from our number 10 #HFCvMFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvMFC?src=hash)

Good second sentence there to wind up the Sevconian hordes.

01-08-2015, 03:34 PM
Did he kiss badge?

fishybeaver

He set up the first?

Richard Gordon asked the same question? It's irrelevant.

Can't stand him.......Gordon that is

01-08-2015, 03:35 PM

You could well be right, he just never seems to want to grab a game by the scruff of the neck and try his own thing.

01-08-2015, 03:38 PM
3-0 Cummings.

Lovely finish and well deserved today.

01-08-2015, 03:39 PM
Bit of a cracker from Jason Cummings

Stevenson seems to be involved in a lot of the play?

5933 attendance. 153 from Montrose.

01-08-2015, 03:40 PM
Stanton off, Sinclair on.

01-08-2015, 03:42 PM

Yup, he's too cautious and scared of making a mistake. Maybe he has the skill, maybe he doesn't...but it's irrelevant if he doesn't have the right mindset.

01-08-2015, 03:42 PM
Bartley announced as MotM, impressed Me today

01-08-2015, 03:47 PM
Full time, not one that will love long in the memory but job done.

01-08-2015, 03:48 PM
Business-like win.

dmc1875
01-08-2015, 03:48 PM
Job done. Crap game though. Scott Allan a cut above everyone as shown again today.

Berwickhibby
01-08-2015, 03:52 PM
Job done, in the next round but sadly I thought we were woeful in the final third. A big improvement required, hopefully Dom, Farid, James provide the goals we deserve from our play.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

01-08-2015, 03:55 PM
5933 attendance. 153 from Montrose.

The 'Big Team' had an attendance of 6,240, with a couple of hundred from Arbroath.

01-08-2015, 04:16 PM
Just like too many games last season. Loads of possession but no width and pace. Best were Bartley, Cummings and Harris although as PB said he needs to believe in himself more. Allan showed why other clubs want him.

We need Boyle and Carmichael fit asap.

01-08-2015, 04:29 PM
Just like too many games last season. Loads of possession but no width and pace. Best were Bartley, Cummings and Harris although as PB said he needs to believe in himself more. Allan showed why other clubs want him.

We need Boyle and Carmichael fit asap.

Good to get a comfortable win and improve fitness levels before the league starts.

Looking at our squad I still don't think we have enough goals from midfield and from our wide players. We need a couple of midfielders that are going to get double figures or thereabouts if we are to win the league IMO. Hopefully we can address that before the end of the transfer window.

01-08-2015, 04:31 PM
What's the story with Keatings?

01-08-2015, 04:36 PM

We need Boyle and Carmichael fit asap.Watching on Hibs TV I thought Harris and Bartley ( first 2 to be substituted ) were our two best players . Harris maybe still lacking confidence but only player who`s comfortable with both feet , needs more games to establish himself in team but not sure he`ll be given chance . New left back or at least for cover must be a priority .

01-08-2015, 04:39 PM
What's the story with Keatings?

he had some time in the dev game i think

01-08-2015, 04:45 PM
Did he celebrate?

His celebration was a bit sheepish but every player in the team went to him - which was good to see.

01-08-2015, 04:47 PM
he had some time in the dev game i think

Not yesterday mate (if that's what you mean).

01-08-2015, 05:04 PM
Good win for Hibs against a very poor Montrose side. First half was utterly honking. The game changed soon as Allan came on and we then had a bit more pace.

Few players looking rusty, Hanlon didn't look to great with the passing and I'm now convinced Harris isn't good enough for Hibs. I fully expect him to leave if we can get two more in! Rumours of QOS taking him on loan but I'd sell him myself because if he can't shine in theses games there is something wrong.

Stanton showed a few nice touches today and was trying to get involved which was good to see. Still a long way to go but he did seem to be getting stuck in.

Bartley looks a player and strolled through that game with ease. The big test will come against The Huns but he looks like he can hold his own.

Look forward to seeing the new signings all playing as I think that's when we will see what we are all about this season. Keatings for me I think could be the one that shines. Knows where the goals are and I'd play him in front of Malonga!

Anyway over all, the game had a pre season feel to it but good to see us keep a clean sheet. Onwards and upwards to next week, fancy Hibs to win 0-2.

inglisavhibs
01-08-2015, 05:06 PM
Watching on Hibs TV I thought Harris and Bartley ( first 2 to be substituted ) were our two best players . Harris maybe still lacking confidence but only player who`s comfortable with both feet , needs more games to establish himself in team but not sure he`ll be given chance . New left back or at least for cover must be a priority .
Harris didn,t get to the byeline once which is what the team needs. Not hungry enough for me. We need better at left back, I know Lewis is a great club man but we can do better.

01-08-2015, 05:11 PM
Just back...

Very comfortable win but we really do need to work on a few basic things..

1 - passing in front of players
2 - shooting from distance
3 - how to beat teams who park the bus
4 - corners
5 - final ball from wide areas
6 - players checking shoulder - so many safe sideways passes....possession for the sake of possession.
7 - when 1v0 up - please finish teams off before the final part of the game.

Harris for me didn't do it - sad to see compared to the player that 1st broke through.

Stanton at least has a shot on goal every so often and adds more creativity.

Bartley looks like a the player we have been missing - if he stays injury free. Though don't think he's great in the air.

Tactics - playing that formation really didn't suit us - 4-1-4-1 with Cummings up top on own - once we changed it to 2 up front and when Allan came on we looked more dangerous.

Like it or not Allan is our most direct, creative and a goal threat - he did more in 20 mins than others over 90 mins. He needs to play and I don't think he's injured - Stubbs is just benching him for his antics.

Finally...those seagulls....can we get an eagle or something to sort them out!!!

01-08-2015, 05:26 PM
Just back...

Very comfortable win but we really do need to work on a few basic things..

1 - passing in front of players
2 - shooting from distance
3 - how to beat teams who park the bus
4 - corners
5 - final ball from wide areas
6 - players checking shoulder - so many safe sideways passes....possession for the sake of possession.
7 - when 1v0 up - please finish teams off before the final part of the game.

Harris for me didn't do it - sad to see compared to the player that 1st broke through.

Stanton at least has a shot on goal every so often and adds more creativity.

Bartley looks like a the player we have been missing - if he stays injury free. Though don't think he's great in the air.

Tactics - playing that formation really didn't suit us - 4-1-4-1 with Cummings up top on own - once we changed it to 2 up front and when Allan came on we looked more dangerous.

Like it or not Allan is our most direct, creative and a goal threat - he did more in 20 mins than others over 90 mins. He needs to play and I don't think he's injured - Stubbs is just benching him for his antics.

Finally...those seagulls....can we get an eagle or something to sort them out!!!

Agree with all of that, though it has to be said Allan had the benefit of space and a tiring opposition so slightly easier for him to impress when he came on. I do agree, however, that he is easily the most creative player we have currently.

We were also very, very slack in possession today, giving it away far too easily. That said, I didn't actually realise how windy it was until I got outside after the game, so that may have had a bearing on it. Summer fitba, my erse - It was bleedin' baltic today!

01-08-2015, 05:26 PM
Watching on Hibs TV I thought Harris and Bartley ( first 2 to be substituted ) were our two best players . Harris maybe still lacking confidence but only player who`s comfortable with both feet , needs more games to establish himself in team but not sure he`ll be given chance . New left back or at least for cover must be a priority .

Very surprised to read someone thinks Harris was up there as Hibs best player. I was there and he was no where near being the best player! Suppose it's all about opinions!

01-08-2015, 05:37 PM
i thought young harris was pretty poor, and his crossing...well...

berwickhibee
01-08-2015, 05:55 PM
Harris was poor,still lacking confidence.

01-08-2015, 05:58 PM

My worry he has been lacking confidence for close to 12 months.

We rarely see him beat players with his speed.

I want him to succeed as when he started playing for us and the semi final etc he was immense but just not contributing enough.

01-08-2015, 05:59 PM
Very surprised to read someone thinks Harris was up there as Hibs best player. I was there and he was no where near being the best player! Suppose it's all about opinions!

I thought Harris looked much more like the player who first broke through a couple of years ago. I certainly think he looked a better bet for the season ahead than Sam Stanton. As you say though - opinions!

01-08-2015, 06:03 PM
We won at a canter, but Stanton and Harris are not good enough to be regarded as starters. The other youngsters are getting good game time but look a long way off 1st team football. But overall a very easy win

01-08-2015, 06:10 PM
I thought Harris looked much more like the player who first broke through a couple of years ago. I certainly think he looked a better bet for the season ahead than Sam Stanton. As you say though - opinions!

Harris or Stanton wouldn't be near the first 11 IMO once all players are fit! If we were to go up they certainty wouldn't cut it at that level. Harris after starting ok with Dundee apparently fell away!

01-08-2015, 06:12 PM

Yes, that's the way I saw it. If he can't shine against Montrose then it doesn't bode well for the future.

And I really don't like saying that but there we have it.

01-08-2015, 06:12 PM
We won at a canter, but Stanton and Harris are not good enough to be regarded as starters. The other youngsters are getting good game time but look a long way off 1st team football. But overall a very easy win

Was going to post similar. Much like last season they started in the first team but slowly dropped out when others became available. The same will happen again now when the likes of Carmichael and Boyle are back and fit.

01-08-2015, 06:15 PM
His celebration was a bit sheepish but every player in the team went to him - which was good to see.

Yea but tbh he had only scored against montrose, what was he gonna do, run about daft taking his top off lol? He celebrated like the other two did.

01-08-2015, 06:18 PM
oh aye and as for they damn seagulls, they can flock right off :grr: it was like scenes out of an alfred hitchcock movie, i think that's possibly the worst i've saw them at ER (the seagulls, not the team)

01-08-2015, 06:19 PM

There was a lot of boys in that team today, including Stanton and Harris that are there because the injury list is as long as your arm. I can definatly see potential in Stanton, he's got a lot of developing to do but theres definatly a player in there. Harris unfortunatly though just does not cut it for me anymore. Plenty pace but lost the ball to many times today and still looks to timid IMO. When he first broke into the first team a few seasons ago I was very excited by him but hes not really built on that and i feel his long term injury has damaged him mentally a bit.

01-08-2015, 06:33 PM
I thought Harris had a decent first half myself. He fell out of it 2nd half.

There's no way he's going to turn up and give an 8/10. Long way back to repair his confidence.

01-08-2015, 06:35 PM
I thought Harris was one of our best players today. Very comfortable win today. It wasn't the most exciting game but we won and got a few goals.
Quite impressed with Bartley, also thought Cummings looked sharper than normal.