View Full Version : Is the game in danger if being called off?

04-10-2014, 06:46 AM
It's been raining pretty much solidly for 24 hours now. Will the pitch cope?

04-10-2014, 06:51 AM
Thinking that myself, it could well be called off, still p!ss!ng it down, hopefully ERs drainage system is fully operational.

04-10-2014, 07:01 AM
I think it'll be ok. Its forecast to ease by 1pm and there should be some sunny spells mixed in with occasional light showers between 3 and 5. I'll be surprised if it's called off.

04-10-2014, 07:07 AM
I think it'll be ok. Its forecast to ease by 1pm and there should be some sunny spells mixed in with occasional light showers between 3 and 5. I'll be surprised if it's called off.

What would you know you are a chemistry teacher not a meteorologist

04-10-2014, 07:16 AM
What would you know you are a chemistry teacher not a meteorologist

Aye but I've got a high ranking met office dude chained up in my shed.

04-10-2014, 07:22 AM
Aye but I've got a high ranking met office dude chained up in my shed.

No chance of being off IMO.

Calum68
04-10-2014, 07:51 AM
My son's school game going ahead despite puddles on the pitch. I'm sure ER surface is better and will cope. I certainly hope so, looking forward to seeing the team continue to play good football and secure 3pts.

04-10-2014, 07:53 AM
No chance of being off IMO.
But will have an impact on game as conditions will be tricky underfoot and more likely to be mistakes .Might influenced selection ie iare these good conditions for the pace and trickery of Kennedy or not. .Is Mcgeoch available again today ?

04-10-2014, 08:02 AM
easter road drains pretty well.Can see a few smaller Scottish matches going though so check before you stick them on your coupon.

04-10-2014, 08:06 AM
Pitch looks great! The electronic score boards are being connected up and there are currently two guys in the east stand drying off the seats in the front few rows with towels. Game on

04-10-2014, 08:15 AM
Pitch looks great! The electronic score boards are being connected up and there are currently two guys in the east stand drying off the seats in the front few rows with towels. Game on

:confused: Do you mean advertising boards or have we invested in new hi tech score boards?

04-10-2014, 08:24 AM
:confused: Do you mean advertising boards or have we invested in new hi tech score boards?

Lol good spot Scouse. Nah sadly we've not got any fancy new score boards. I meant advertising boards. Can you tell I had woken up a whole 30 seconds before typing that?

04-10-2014, 08:31 AM
Lol good spot Scouse. Nah sadly we've not got any fancy new score boards. I meant advertising boards. Can you tell I had woken up a whole 30 seconds before typing that?

:greengrin I was thinking screens in the corners, all singing and dancing scoreboard, what a let down. :wink:

04-10-2014, 08:35 AM
We have this thread every time it rains. Welcome to Scotland in the autumn!

07BigD
04-10-2014, 08:35 AM
In situations like this should we not have some type of cover for the pitch or is that impractical?

04-10-2014, 08:39 AM
:greengrin I was thinking screens in the corners, all singing and dancing scoreboard, what a let down. :wink:

Sorry for the let down. However, with our home form over the past 5 years we are maybe better to stick to one small, discrete scoreboard lol

04-10-2014, 08:42 AM
easter road drains pretty.

Particularly when we're two down with ten minutes to go.

07BigD
04-10-2014, 08:48 AM
Particularly when we're two down with ten minutes to go.
Boom boom

04-10-2014, 09:16 AM
This Autumn fitba' is absolutely hopeless.

Roll on the Winter - that's when real fitba' should be played.

:devil:

04-10-2014, 11:05 AM
Dundee v Dons off - waterlogged pitch...

Not true - a daft Twitter prank

04-10-2014, 11:21 AM
when is our pitch inspection? rain been off for an hour or more, but the end near the ff was always a bit wet if we get heavy rain.

04-10-2014, 11:24 AM
Was heavy overnight but been dry for a while- absolutely no chance of game being in doubt.

04-10-2014, 11:47 AM
This Autumn fitba' is absolutely hopeless.

Roll on the Winter - that's when real fitba' should be played.

:devil:

Nonsense. We should have played the whole season during June ,July and August , then we could spend the next 9 months at the fireside with our feet up.

bournehibby
04-10-2014, 11:53 AM
when is our pitch inspection? rain been off for an hour or more, but the end near the ff was always a bit wet if we get heavy rain.

That's on account of the rainwater draining doon the slope :wink:

bh

04-10-2014, 11:59 AM
That's on account of the rainwater draining doon the slope :wink:

bh

Should never of got rid of the slope. It rarely flooded in the auld days!

04-10-2014, 12:27 PM
Should never of got rid of the slope. It rarely flooded in the auld days!

Yep, never used to have to give it a second thought. I mind a Monday night cup game against Celtc in '97 that was awfy lucky to go ahead - was amazed it was on.