View Full Version : Names from the past

13-12-2013, 08:18 PM
Here's a few players I witnessed wearing Hibs' colours.

I remember them all but wondered what memories 'older' Hibees might have of them?

Goalkeeper Thomson Allan Signed from Edina Hibs 65/66 sold to Dundee 69/70 106 appearances

Midfielder John Baxter signed from Benburb 57/58 sold to Falkirk 65/66 307 appearances/32 goals

Left back Joe Davis signed 64/65 from Third Lanark sold to Carlisle 69/70 244 appearances/46 goals including 39 pens

Right back Bobby Duncan signed 63/64 from Bonnyrigg Rose sold 70/71 to East Fife 120 appearances/2 goals including one against Napoli

Midfielder John Fraser signed 54/55 from Edinburgh Thistle sold 67/68 to Stenhousemuir 275appearances/37 goals

Defender John Madsen signed 66/67 from Morton sold 69/70 to Esbjerg 105 appearances

Defender Joe McClelland signed 54/55 from Armadale Thistle sold 63/64 to Wrexham 256 appearances/2 goals

Forward Willie Murray signed 73/74 from Salvesen Boys Club sold 80/81 to Cowdenbeath 99 appearances/7 goals

Forward Pat Quinn signed 63/64 from Blackpool sold 68/69 to East Fife 201 appearances/26 goals

Defender Derek Spalding signed 72/73 on ‘S’ Form sold 76/77 to Chicago Sting 100 appearances/3 goals

Goalkeeper Willie Wilson signed 59/60 from Musselburgh Windsor sold 68/69 to Berwick Rangers 181 appearances

13-12-2013, 08:22 PM
Joe Davis - referred to as "the penalty king" iirc in 100 Years of Hibs. Question though - is it possible to obtain his conversion rate - musta been pretty high!

13-12-2013, 08:25 PM
Joe Davis - referred to as "the penalty king" iirc in 100 Years of Hibs. Question though - is it possible to obtain his conversion rate - musta been pretty high!

Strictly from memory I'd say he had about a 90% success rate. Missing was a rarity for Joe :agree:

sidjames
13-12-2013, 08:30 PM
John Baxter! I remember him blootering the ball in to the Eastern cemetery. Did he play in the game when we got beat 0 4 from Morton or was that later? I remember the whole crowd was behind the goal. And what about the game, maybe Airdrie when a gadge caught the ball steamed all the way up and over the old terrace and out with it. And where have all the pitch invading dugs gone?:confused:

13-12-2013, 08:40 PM
John Madsen and his baseball boots which he wore to good effect in the days when the pitch was declared playable even when the surface was rock hard because of frost.
He was your original no nonsense centre half - or pivot in these days.

13-12-2013, 08:43 PM

Joe was part of the deadly duo - Eric Stevenson won the penalties and Joe converted them.

13-12-2013, 08:45 PM
John Baxter! I remember him blootering the ball in to the Eastern cemetery. Did he play in the game when we got beat 0 4 from Morton or was that later? I remember the whole crowd was behind the goal. And what about the game, maybe Airdrie when a gadge caught the ball steamed all the way up and over the old terrace and out with it. And where have all the pitch invading dugs gone?:confused:

Must have been later. No record of him in a losing side 4-0 to Morton

John Madsen and his baseball boots which he wore to good effect in the days when the pitch was declared playable even when the surface was rock hard because of frost.

Loved him as a player although he had a hard act to follow in John McNamee :agree:

13-12-2013, 08:46 PM
Joe was part of the deadly duo - Eric Stevenson won the penalties and Joe converted them.

Indeed. Eric won a good few in his day :greengrin

13-12-2013, 08:47 PM
Willie Murray - I've seen mair fat on a greasy chip! Willie always threatened to be good player but never quite got there.

13-12-2013, 08:50 PM
Strictly from memory I'd say he had about a 90% success rate. Missing was a rarity for Joe :agree:

He did miss one though if I recall, and a late equaliser from Uwe Seeler put us out of Europe.

I think it was Hamburg

13-12-2013, 08:50 PM

Thx Jb. If only we could be enough of a threat in the box to get the chance to convert!

13-12-2013, 08:54 PM
I remember Joe getting carried off......think it was when he tried to take out Gordon Smith, who was then playing with Dundee.

An under rated gutsy left back

13-12-2013, 08:54 PM

I remember them all but wondered what memories 'older' Hibees might have of them?

Goalkeeper Thomson Allan Signed from Edina Hibs 65/66 sold to Dundee 69/70 106 appearances

Midfielder John Baxter signed from Benburb 57/58 sold to Falkirk 65/66 307 appearances/32 goals

Left back Joe Davis signed 64/65 from Third Lanark sold to Carlisle 69/70 244 appearances/46 goals including 39 pens

Right back Bobby Duncan signed 63/64 from Bonnyrigg Rose sold 70/71 to East Fife 120 appearances/2 goals including one against Napoli

Midfielder John Fraser signed 54/55 from Edinburgh Thistle sold 67/68 to Stenhousemuir 275appearances/37 goals

Defender John Madsen signed 66/67 from Morton sold 69/70 to Esbjerg 105 appearances

Defender Joe McClelland signed 54/55 from Armadale Thistle sold 63/64 to Wrexham 256 appearances/2 goals

Forward Willie Murray signed 73/74 from Salvesen Boys Club sold 80/81 to Cowdenbeath 99 appearances/7 goals

Forward Pat Quinn signed 63/64 from Blackpool sold 68/69 to East Fife 201 appearances/26 goals

Defender Derek Spalding signed 72/73 on ‘S’ Form sold 76/77 to Chicago Sting 100 appearances/3 goals

Goalkeeper Willie Wilson signed 59/60 from Musselburgh Windsor sold 68/69 to Berwick Rangers 181 appearances

Seen them all apart from Joe McClelland

13-12-2013, 08:55 PM
Bobby Duncan - scorer of one of the most memorable Hibernian goals ever in the classic match v Napoli.

13-12-2013, 08:56 PM

Seen 'em all....Madsen was as tough as teak and I remember what must have been close to a fifty yard free kick going just wide at the Pbs

13-12-2013, 08:58 PM
He did miss one though if I recall, and a late equaliser from Uwe Seeler put us out of Europe.

I think it was Hamburg

Aye that was a sair yin Fred. Thinking about that game brings back a degree of anger. Hamburg goalie allowed to wear a green top at ER and umpteen 'offsides' against us as a result

13-12-2013, 08:58 PM

I've seen them all. Simpson, Fraser & Mclelland were often the first 3 names on the teamsheet.

13-12-2013, 08:59 PM
Surprised to see John Fraser classified as a midfielder.

My memory is that he was a class right back, who was in times of desperation thrown up front at centre forward.

13-12-2013, 08:59 PM

Any memories to share?

13-12-2013, 09:02 PM

New Years Day 1969 at swiney I think.

13-12-2013, 09:03 PM

My memory is that he was a class right back, who was in times of desperation thrown up front at centre forward.

Yip - I always remember John Fraser as a full back.

Remember Pat Quinn sending us home happy from Tynecastle after he scored a hat trick in a 4-1 win.

He was about 5 foot three and as slow as a cart horse but a wonderful player,

Remember he scored with a header against Partick, and he may even have the distinction of being Hibs first substitute.

[QUOTE=Forza Fred;3835555]

My memory is that he was a class right back, who was in times of desperation thrown up front at centre forward.[/QUOTE

And equally adept at all three :aok: Think he signed as a midfielder originally.

Interestingly, Bobby Duncan signed as a forward and Colin Stein as a defender!

13-12-2013, 09:04 PM

that was my uncle who steamed out the ground with the ball, sure we got beat 2=0 , mind seeing his picture in the sunday express running up the old terrace.he is still with us but to old to go to the games.

johncrobertson@
13-12-2013, 09:07 PM
Joe Davis was bought as a replacement for the superb John Parke - really quick and of course his penalty record was great!

13-12-2013, 09:08 PM

Decent centre half, stuck in as defensive mid now and again. I remember 2 of his 3 goals, both in the Cup - away to Motherwell, screamer from the edge of the box and away to Dundee Utd, must have been about 45 yards out, bit of a squiggler! http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6219

13-12-2013, 09:09 PM

A few observations from me;

Joe Davis - recall his fine penalty record and was the first penalty taker I saw for Hibs. Met him a few years ago at the Fenwick Hotel on the way to a Killie match

John Fraser - Never actually saw him playing for Hibs but know of him from him being a bowler from Craigentinny. Still very recognisible from his playing days. Still see him at home games.

Willie Wilson - Probably most famous for breaching the four step rule against Leeds United which allowed Jackie Charlton to knock us out of Europe from the resultant free kick. Came from Wallyford and IIRC was taken from us far too early in life.

13-12-2013, 09:11 PM
Willie Wilson - we'll make no mention of "steps" or Leeds United!

13-12-2013, 09:14 PM

Thomson Allan was a decent enough keeper, he first competed with Willie Wison for the No one spot, before Willie moved to Berwick in 1969 and then it was with Roy Baines, however when Gordon Marshall came in and kept a clean sheet against Hearts at the start of 1970, when we saw Peter Cormack red carded for kicking out at Peter Oliver, then that was that. He went on to do well at Dundee and as highlighted on another thread, he made it to Germany in the 1974 Scotland squad.

13-12-2013, 09:14 PM
Decent centre half, stuck in as defensive mid now and again. I remember 2 of his 3 goals, both in the Cup - away to Motherwell, screamer from the edge of the box and away to Dundee Utd, must have been about 45 yards out, bit of a squiggler! http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6219

If I shut my eyes I can still see that goal :aok:

13-12-2013, 09:15 PM
The "mighty" Pat Quinn formed a formidable midfield partnership with the late great Willie Hamilton.

13-12-2013, 09:15 PM
A few observations from me;

Joe Davis - recall his fine penalty record and was the first penalty taker I saw for Hibs. Met him a few years ago at the Fenwick Hotel on the way to a Killie match

John Fraser - Never actually saw him playing for Hibs but know of him from him being a bowler from Craigentinny. Still very recognisible from his playing days. Still see him at home games.

Willie Wilson - Probably most famous for breaching the four step rule against Leeds United which allowed Jackie Charlton to knock us out of Europe from the resultant free kick. Came from Wallyford and IIRC was taken from us far too early in life.

Willie Wilson - we'll make no mention of "steps" or Leeds United!

Poor Willie was stitched up that night by the 'neutral' referee from Wales. Pretty sure Doddie will be along soon to talk us through that one :agree:

13-12-2013, 09:16 PM
Thomson Allan was a decent enough keeper, he first competed with Willie Wison for the No one spot, before Willie moved to Berwick in 1969 and then it was with Roy Baines, however when Gordon Marshall came in and kept a clean sheet against Hearts at the start of 1970, when we saw Peter Cormack red carded for kicking out at Peter Oliver, then that was that. He went on to do well at Dundee and as highlighted on another thread, he made it to Germany in the 1974 Scotland squad.

Always thought we should have stuck with TA

13-12-2013, 09:17 PM

that was my uncle who steamed out the ground with the ball, sure we got beat 2=0 , mind seeing his picture in the sunday express running up the old terrace.he is still with us but to old to go to the games.

I was at that game.

He actually grabbed the ball when it landed near him and to everyone's amazement ran up to the top of the old terracing and threw the ball down out the ground in disgust.

He was roundly applauded and cheered by every Hibs supporter in the ground as we were from memory fighting off relegation and our performance had been pash.

Glad Iwas there in one of those 'where we're you when...' moments

13-12-2013, 09:18 PM
The "mighty" Pat Quinn formed a formidable midfield partnership with the late great Willie Hamilton.

Who could ever forget this game :greengrin

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=17570

13-12-2013, 09:18 PM

Pat Quinn was more or less finished when I first saw him play for Hibs where, as you say he moved on and joined East Fife, where he later became their manager and was indeed in charge for that imfamous game on the first Saturday in 1973, where his ultra defensive team kicked Hibs off the park.

13-12-2013, 09:19 PM
Pat Quinn was more or less finished when I first saw him play for Hibs where, as you say he moved on and joined East Fife, where he later became their manager and was indeed in charge for that imfamous game on the first Saturday in 1973, where his ultra defensive team kicked Hibs off the park.

Two words

John Love

Dirty *******

Feed McGraw
13-12-2013, 09:20 PM
I remember Joe getting carried off......think it was when he tried to take out Gordon Smith, who was then playing with Dundee.

An under rated gutsy left back Not Joe Davis, Fred. He never played against GS for Hibs, or are you talking about Joe McLelland ?

andudare2
13-12-2013, 09:21 PM

I think it was Hamburgthink he missed a pen v the vermin as well,may have been at tynie in the cup?also thought hibs beat hamburg2- 1, went out on away goals?,mcbride had a couple chalked off for offside ,hamburg keeper wearing green top did not help !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

13-12-2013, 09:22 PM
If I shut my eyes I can still see that goal :aok:

Remember it so well, that steep terrace they used to have at Tannadice, we were kicking down the slope and he just belted it from 45 yards, must have caught the wind and took Hamish McAlpine (?) by surprise!

13-12-2013, 09:23 PM
Not Joe Davis, Fred. He never played against GS for Hibs, or are you talking about Joe McLelland ?

That's who I was talking about, not Davis but McLelland

sidjames
13-12-2013, 09:24 PM
I was at that game.

He actually grabbed the ball when it landed near him and to everyone's amazement ran up to the top of the old terracing and threw the ball down out the ground in disgust.

He was roundly applauded and cheered by every Hibs supporter in the ground as we were from memory fighting off relegation and our performance had been pash.

Glad Iwas there in one of those 'where we're you when...' moments

well I am glad i didnt make it up and also there are folks online who know about it:thumbsup:

13-12-2013, 09:25 PM
Two words

John Love

Dirty *******

Was that the guy who broke John Brownlie's leg? I still shudder at the tackle.

13-12-2013, 09:25 PM

Interesting to note that the referee in this game was Davidson.

Old 'scarface' as we used to call him was never kind to the Hibs from my recollection

CapitalHibs
13-12-2013, 09:26 PM

Yes Airdrie. Just a dire,dire game despite the score. Think it ended 3-3. "Chinney" Baxter scored two terrific free kicks against Killie and we thought we had found a dead ball specialist....unfortunately every subsequent free kick including a penalty sailed out of the ground:greengrin

sidjames
13-12-2013, 09:27 PM
Not quite on topic i know, but... there was an old guy who went to the games, he had on a fifties style mac, old hibs scarf and his nose was always dripping. I remember him particularly at the relegation game v Raith in Kirkcaldy many many moons ago.

13-12-2013, 09:28 PM

i thought it was him as well who broke brownlies leg but it wasnt him but i cant remember the guys name, hopefully someone will remind me.

13-12-2013, 09:29 PM
Not quite on topic i know, but... there was an old guy who went to the games, he had on a fifties style mac, old hibs scarf and his nose was always dripping. I remember him particularly at the relegation game v Raith in Kirkcaldy many many moons ago.

Yip - baldy heid and thick rimmed glasses? Used to see him everywhere.

Feed McGraw
13-12-2013, 09:29 PM
Decent centre half, stuck in as defensive mid now and again. I remember 2 of his 3 goals, both in the Cup - away to Motherwell, screamer from the edge of the box and away to Dundee Utd, must have been about 45 yards out, bit of a squiggler! http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6219 I agree he was a decent CH, but I`m a bit surprised he had 100 appearances.

13-12-2013, 09:30 PM
Yes Airdrie. Just a dire,dire game despite the score. Think it ended 3-3. "Chinney" Baxter scored two terrific free kicks against Killie and we thought we had found a dead ball specialist....unfortunately every subsequent free kick including a penalty sailed out of the ground:greengrin

no we definitely got beat 2-0 against airdrie.

andudare2
13-12-2013, 09:31 PM
Was that the guy who broke John Brownlie's leg? I still shudder at the tackle.was a guy called ian printy that done this m8,good hibby to,was totally gutted when it happened,think his son posts on here &has had to explain this before,as for love he was guilty of getting edwards sent off &booked a few times,lost right hand side of park through east fife,still sure that stopped us wining title that season!:tbgwa:

13-12-2013, 09:31 PM
i thought it was him as well who broke brownlies leg but it wasnt him but i cant remember the guys name, hopefully someone will remind me.

Ian Printy?

13-12-2013, 09:32 PM

Was Ian Printy who was in that tackle with Brownlie. Totally accidental. John Love was too busy kicking Alex Edwards up and down the park

andudare2
13-12-2013, 09:34 PM
no we definitely got beat 2-0 against airdrie.spot on m8,was there as well 9 years old &can still remember it hahaha. think 3-3 game mentioned was v hertz at tynie that season!

13-12-2013, 09:37 PM
was a guy called ian printy that done this m8,good hibby to,was totally gutted when it happened,think his son posts on here &has had to explain this before,as for love he was guilty of getting edwards sent off &booked a few times,lost right hand side of park through east fife,still sure that stopped us wining title that season!:tbgwa:
yes that was him but somehow john love kept in my brain all these years but your right he was to busy booting edwards up and down the park

Feed McGraw
13-12-2013, 09:37 PM
think he missed a pen v the vermin as well,may have been at tynie in the cup?also thought hibs beat hamburg2- 1, went out on away goals?,mcbride had a couple chalked off for offside ,hamburg keeper wearing green top did not help !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yip, 2-1 Hibs, out on away goals.

CapitalHibs
13-12-2013, 09:38 PM
It was Ian Printy of East Fife that broke Brownlie"s leg. Joe McClelland was a no nonsense stodgy left back until Willie Henderson and Jimmy Johnstone came on the scene...tore Joe a new one and shattered his confidence.

13-12-2013, 09:38 PM
spot on m8,was there as well 9 years old &can still remember it hahaha. think 3-3 game mentioned was v hertz at tynie that season!

i looked back scores against airdrie and we did draw with them 3-3 but was in season 60/61 and it was later than that think it was 66/67 season

13-12-2013, 09:40 PM
And equally adept at all three :aok: Think he signed as a midfielder originally.

Interestingly, Bobby Duncan signed as a forward and Colin Stein as a defender!

Can that be true? Very shortly before he signed for Hibs he played at ER in a junior cup final, and scored a barrowload of goals as a swashbuckling CF. Simply sliced through the opposition time after time in a stunning performance. I always assumed that that game was when someone at Hibs noticed him.

Also thought for some reason that John Fraser might have originally been a right winger!

13-12-2013, 09:41 PM
I remember more than a few friendly "scuffles" when we used to visit Broomfield.

The natives were a welcoming bunch I don't think!

13-12-2013, 09:42 PM
[QUOTE=Jonnyboy;3835562]

Can that be true? Very shortly before he signed for Hibs he played at ER in a junior cup final, and scored a barrowload of goals as a swashbuckling CF. Simply sliced through the opposition time after time in a stunning performance. I always assumed that that game was when someone at Hibs noticed him.

Going on something I read when researching. Said he played a few games at the back in the reserves but was moved forward when needs arose. Might be tosh though :greengrin

CapitalHibs
13-12-2013, 09:42 PM
spot on m8,was there as well 9 years old &can still remember it hahaha. think 3-3 game mentioned was v hertz at tynie that season!

Maybe not the stolen ball game but can definetly remember 3-3 against Airdrie. Johnny?

13-12-2013, 09:43 PM

Also thought for some reason that John Fraser might have originally been a right winger!

Did Colin Grant feature in the same team?

sidjames
13-12-2013, 09:44 PM
tell you what, so many memories flooding back. I dont remember ever being cold at a game. Funny that. Did Wille Hamilton have a kid at Craigentinny school when he played!? Seem to recall him being there.

andudare2
13-12-2013, 09:44 PM
[QUOTE=eastterrace;3835611]i looked back scores against airdrie and we did draw with them 3-3 but was in season 60/61 and it was later than that think it was 66/67 season[/QUOTE sure season ball went for a walk was the near relegated one,won last 2 games 4-1? &also beat dundee at dens(big shock at time) was it 62/63 season? as stated was 9/10 years of age,just seems to have stuck with me all these years.like thehibs have hahahahaha

13-12-2013, 09:48 PM
Going on something I read when researching. Said he played a few games at the back in the reserves but was moved forward when needs arose. Might be tosh though :greengrin

Tosh I'm afraid. Here's the right story. (http://www.scottishleague.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1228)

Maybe not the stolen ball game but can definetly remember 3-3 against Airdrie. Johnny?

This the one? http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=78138

I went, with my parents, on our first foreign holiday, to Benidorm in 1966. Willie Wilson was on our flight and stayed at the same hotel. I had the 'pleasure' of watching England win the W.C. with him.

CapitalHibs
13-12-2013, 09:50 PM
Remember John Fraser getting in front of Peter Cormack to sweep in the cross that Willie Hamilton got a touch on (allegedly:greengrin) to steer past Billy Ritchie as Hibs beat the Hun for the third time in the season in the SC quarter final 2-1

13-12-2013, 09:51 PM
Tosh I'm afraid. Here's the right story. (http://www.scottishleague.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1228)

My bad. He was a defender at Armadale before switching to striker before he joined Hibs :aok:

13-12-2013, 09:56 PM

"The Beast" as he was known at ER :agree:

13-12-2013, 09:58 PM
Did Colin Grant feature in the same team?

Stein played for Armadale, but Grant seems to have come from Linlithgow Rose, so probably not.

13-12-2013, 09:59 PM
Remember John Fraser getting in front of Peter Cormack to sweep in the cross that Willie Hamilton got a touch on (allegedly:greengrin) to steer past Billy Ritchie as Hibs beat the Hun for the third time in the season in the SC quarter final 2-1

Was right behind the goal at the wall freezing my gonads off and me and my mate getting dogs from scary looking drunk huns, older men not youths.

Right up them that day :not worth

13-12-2013, 10:02 PM
think he missed a pen v the vermin as well,may have been at tynie in the cup?also thought hibs beat hamburg2- 1, went out on away goals?,mcbride had a couple chalked off for offside ,hamburg keeper wearing green top did not help !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Think I remember seeing a photo of Cruickshank saving a Joe pen with his legs but thought it was at ER in the league on NYD. Maybe that's another pen, or maybe I've just imagined the whole thing (quite possible).

CapitalHibs
13-12-2013, 10:07 PM
Willie Wilson had a rough start with Hibs. He wisnae physically strong and was always bullied by the hertz pair Tommy White and Norrie Davidson. That's when goalies were allowed to be challenged:greengrin. He spent some time in the reserves and it was only when Stein gave Ronnie Simpson his marching orders to celtc (aye, right) that a much more bulkier and muscular more experienced Wilson took over in the first team.

13-12-2013, 10:10 PM
Willie Murray - I've seen mair fat on a greasy chip! Willie always threatened to be good player but never quite got there.

Stayed in Telford when we were wee :greengrin

CapitalHibs
13-12-2013, 10:11 PM
Think I remember seeing a photo of Cruickshank saving a Joe pen with his legs but thought it was at ER in the league on NYD. Maybe that's another pen, or maybe I've just imagined the whole thing (quite possible).

You're right Cruikshank did save Joe's penalty and we got beat 2-1 Scottish Cup

killie-hibby
13-12-2013, 10:19 PM

Scored in the last minute. JF was a deceptively fast full back. From a standing start he could outsprint any other Hibs player in the early sixties.

CapitalHibs
13-12-2013, 10:20 PM

That's when we were down 0-2 at HT and the hertz defenders stood aside as we pulled back to 3-2 in our favour only for Norrie davidson to equalise for them. Funny enough don't think he ever played another game for them. Vital relegation point and hertz definetely didnae want us to go down.:wink:

13-12-2013, 10:21 PM
Derek Spalding - I remember the guy as a utility central defender and I'm surprised that he made 100 first team appearances.

13-12-2013, 10:22 PM
Derek Spalding - I remember the guy as a utility central defender and I'm surprised that he made 100 first team appearances.

Surprised me too GB. Full details here http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6219

13-12-2013, 10:23 PM

This is the one I was thinking of though (from Cruickshank's Scotsman obituary):

Two in particular which are readily recalled were a save from a penalty by Joe Davis of Hibs in the Ne'erday Derby game in 1967, made memorable by the fact that Cruickshank promptly saved two shots on the rebound; and another penalty save later at Tynecastle from Celtic's Tommy Gemmell, at that time proven to possess the hardest shot in British football.

13-12-2013, 10:40 PM
This the one? http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=78138

I was one of the 7000 at this game.

In fact, although I know I had been to Easter Road before this game, this is the first game all those years ago that Ican recall clearly enough today it was my 'first' game.

My suffering officially started with game, and continues unabated today,albeit from further away than
Craigentinny:thumbsup:

Roxyhibee
13-12-2013, 11:13 PM
My first ever game was a night game against St Mirren in 1963 (I think), could have been '64. I was only 4. Willie Wilson was in goals and got a kick in the head in the first half. Had to go off and with no subs allowed back then, Peter Cormack had to go in goals.

Second half, Willie was allowed back on as an outfield player and remember the floodlights hitting our dazzling white sleeves - and Willie's bandaged heid.! Dad and uncles all laughing but I think Willie put a shift in on the right wing.

We scored a goal in the second half to win the game and I'm sure Willie was involved in the build up to it. Don't know if anyone can verify that part.?

13-12-2013, 11:15 PM
Too young to have seen Baxter , McClelland , Fraser or Quinn , remember folk describe sound of Duncan`s leg break ( the other John Hughes ? ) despite big crowd at match v Celtic . May have seen Madsen ( in same defence as Chris Shevlane ? ) and Davis ( remember stories of great penalties but of him missing 2 against Hamburg ) but definitely saw Thomson Allan ( great goalie ) and maybe Willie Wilson ( always wore all black like Yashin ? ) . I saw Spalding quite a lot ( Dundonian who went to USA ? ) - good defender but main memory of him is being in Cave ( seated so mid 70s or later ) on very windy night and Spalding shot from own half against Celtic and nearly scored . Willie Murray was an excellent right winger - remember him in an attack of wee forwards with Alex McGhee and Willie Paterson ( and big Tony Higgins perhaps ? ) which didn`t do much except for one month at end of one season . Seem to remember Murray being popular as he was a Hibs fan . Don`t remember him going to Cowdenbeath , thought he`d gone to Australia .

jae
14-12-2013, 03:54 AM

That's the first time ive heard "pivot" used to describe a centre half, and it got me wondering if that is why Alan Anderson, that played for the yams years ago, pub was called The Pivot. Think it was on Infirmary Street. :confused:

14-12-2013, 08:43 AM
That's the first time ive heard "pivot" used to describe a centre half, and it got me wondering if that is why Alan Anderson, that played for the yams years ago, pub was called The Pivot. Think it was on Infirmary Street. :confused:

Times change!

The pivot position these days is more associated with a defensive/holding midfield role. In fact the master tacticians sometimes play a double pivot formation just to complicate things.

14-12-2013, 08:55 AM
Only saw spading and Murray but cannae remember a lot .Any one remember Vic Davidson another skinny winger who looked to have potential Used to pretend I was him when playing down the local park at football with my mates Before they invented X box and when your marble collection was determined by how many Luxor s you had and how big your Steeley s were

14-12-2013, 09:00 AM
Only saw spading and Murray but cannae remember a lot .Any one remember Vic Davidson another skinny winger who looked to have potential Used to pretend I was him when playing down the local park at football with my mates Before they invented X box and when your marble collection was determined by how many Luxor s you had and how big your Steeley s were

Kenny Davidson?

14-12-2013, 09:02 AM

I think it was Hamburg

That was the tie when Pat Stanton scored a great goal but the ball came right back off the net station and the referee waved play on as if it had come off the bar. We won 3 - 2 but went out on the toss of a coin IIRC

14-12-2013, 09:11 AM
Just missed Thomson Allan. Joe D was still at the club my first game but away soon after. So Spalding and Murray and have no memories on the pitch of either....

TA's son works with me now and I ran into Willie M nearly every week at Craiglochart indoor tennis centre when I was still fit enough to play.

TA was at the Falkirk Semi in the Falkirk end.....

Tom Hart RIP
14-12-2013, 09:13 AM
I remember Joe scoring a penalty against Hearts at Easter Road on New Year's Day 1968?
10 mins to go, Hibs shooting down the slope and it had just started to snow. He side footed the ball high to the keepers left into the corner and we won 1-0.
Great memory

14-12-2013, 09:16 AM
Kenny Davidson?
No definitely Victor Davidson as I recall it.

14-12-2013, 09:23 AM
Anyone remember Stan Vincent ?, i think he was a centre forward in one of our "transitional" periods . I don't remember him scoring many goals but i seem to remember him being highly thought of but his career just sort of fizzled out.

14-12-2013, 09:29 AM
No definitely Victor Davidson as I recall it.

There was a Vic Davidson who came through at Celtic in the era that was known as the quality street kids [aptly named I might add], but Hibs had Kenny Davidson, who was the skinny winger, scored two in the 4-1 win at central Park in Cowdenbeath's solitary top flight campaign around 1970.

Kenny, who scored about six goals for Hibs came in to the team when Peter Marinello moved on and he gained some European action in the 1970/71 campaign. Kenny and Eric Stevenson run riot in a five a side tournament held in Murryfield ice rink, I think we put nine past the yams in the semi and beat Dunfermline 5-0 in the final of that relatively local tournament. [first tourney I saw Hibs win, with the exception of the annual EOSS against herts].

14-12-2013, 09:34 AM
Anyone remember Stan Vincent ?, i think he was a centre forward in one of our "transitional" periods . I don't remember him scoring many goals but i seem to remember him being highly thought of but his career just sort of fizzled out.

He was in charge of Hibs colts in the early seventies.

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?218053-Stan-Vincent

14-12-2013, 07:59 PM

Arguably the best all round C/H this club has had since 1970
Plus he was a great person to spend time with !!

14-12-2013, 08:30 PM

IIRC that was Pat Quins only hat-trick in senior football

14-12-2013, 08:35 PM

Printy was the guy that broke Onions leg
Johnny Love was the guy that got Alec Edwards sent off at least twice.

14-12-2013, 08:45 PM
Printy was the guy that broke Onions leg
Johnny Love was the guy that got Alec Edwards sent off at least twice.

To put this into perspective. However much anyone thinks Ian Black is a dirty wee detestable scrote, times it by 100 for Johnny Love

14-12-2013, 08:48 PM

Always remember Stan as a centre forward who would run through a brick wall for the team. Got to know him better later when he worked for Jimmy O'Rourke in the Corstorphine Inn , he was a great laugh but never going to win mastermind.

EVENTUALLY
14-12-2013, 08:58 PM

There seems to be a fair regard for Joe Davis on here and although I saw him play plenty times I was probably too young to properly rate him however my old man thought he was murder! He was at Tynie the night he missed that Pen and that was the last straw. I can still see my old man impersonating JD's penalty tick technique which was sort of bowed over and head looking straight down, not actually at the ball as he approached it but straight down at the turf. My old man was a hard man to please when it came to fitba players and JD probably suffered from the fact that he followed John Parke who the old boy loved, said he was the best full back Hibs had till Brownlie came along. He liked Chris Shevland as well though.

Who remembers Bobby Flavel? Skillful with flair and energy. One minute he was flying about the midfield then he was gone....were did he go?

14-12-2013, 09:15 PM
There seems to be a fair regard for Joe Davis on here and although I saw him play plenty times I was probably too young to properly rate him however my old man thought he was murder! He was at Tynie the night he missed that Pen and that was the last straw. I can still see my old man impersonating JD's penalty tick technique which was sort of bowed over and head looking straight down, not actually at the ball as he approached it but straight down at the turf. My old man was a hard man to please when it came to fitba players and JD probably suffered from the fact that he followed John Parke who the old boy loved, said he was the best full back Hibs had till Brownlie came along. He liked Chris Shevland as well though.

Who remembers Bobby Flavel? Skillful with flair and energy. One minute he was flying about the midfield then he was gone....were did he go?

Yer auld fella was indeed hard to please :greengrin JD was a solid defender and despite his style when taking spot kicks he scored loads of them :greengrin

As to Bobby Flavell .............. http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6280

14-12-2013, 09:27 PM
In earlier days some may remember it was Jim Scott who took the pens and he liked to roll the ball into the corner. Uncannily the goalies would go the wrong way until one fateful day against I think Killie when the goalie calmly bent down and picked up Jim's soft shot. The spell had been broken. Scott was no oil painting but what a tricky player.

14-12-2013, 09:35 PM
Jims penalty against Eric Sorensen, he miss kicked the ball and the keeper saved the mud !, it was the first penalty that Sorensen had lost in two years or so.

CapitalHibs
14-12-2013, 10:17 PM
In earlier days some may remember it was Jim Scott who took the pens and he liked to roll the ball into the corner. Uncannily the goalies would go the wrong way until one fateful day against I think Killie when the goalie calmly bent down and picked up Jim's soft shot. The spell had been broken. Scott was no oil painting but what a tricky player.
I remember that... Jim did a wee shuffle just before he'd softly place the ball in the corner of the net. I tried to emulate that penalty style once that when I played at U15 Boys Club fitbaw..................... with totally disastrous results (ball got stuck in the mud! and never made it to the goaline!)

RIP Bestie
14-12-2013, 11:53 PM
Probably 99 too many from what I remember of him. Always liked Willie Murray but he never showed what he probably could do. Very frustrating. Anyone remember his namesake Gary?

14-12-2013, 11:59 PM
Probably 99 too many from what I remember of him. Always liked Willie Murray but he never showed what he probably could do. Very frustrating. Anyone remember his namesake Gary?

Willie, oh Willie Murray, Willie Murray on the wing...:greengrin

RIP Bestie
15-12-2013, 12:19 AM
Willie, oh Willie Murray, Willie Murray on the wing...:greengrin
Sure I remember him having a great game against Dundee one night. Him and Georgie scored IIRC.

15-12-2013, 12:34 AM

Came from Montrose was it not? Didn't exactly end up like Gordon Durie.

RIP Bestie
15-12-2013, 12:47 AM
Came from Montrose was it not? Didn't exactly end up like Gordon Durie.
He did indeed come from Montrose but was a few years before The Jukebox. A lot was expected of him but the step up was too much for him. Still got the chance to play in the same team as George Best. Had a face like a well skeled erse.

15-12-2013, 01:02 AM

One of those names rings a bell with me:wink:

15-12-2013, 11:14 AM
Don't remember John Fraser ever playing wing half.When he came to Hibs he was a forward and usually replaced Smith or Reilly if they were injured which invariably led to groans if it was announced just before kick off.When he moved to full back he was transformed because he had a good football brain and could look after himself on the park.

Tom Hart RIP
15-12-2013, 11:35 AM
Didn't we swap Bobby Flavell for Willie Irvine from Motherwell? Irvine scored plenty for us is we probably got the better of the deal.

15-12-2013, 11:39 AM
[QUOTE=eastterrace;3835611]i looked back scores against airdrie and we did draw with them 3-3 but was in season 60/61 and it was later than that think it was 66/67 season[/QUOTE sure season ball went for a walk was the near relegated one,won last 2 games 4-1? &also beat dundee at dens(big shock at time) was it 62/63 season? as stated was 9/10 years of age,just seems to have stuck with me all these years.like thehibs have hahahahaha

yes there was a2-0 defeat back in 62/63 so you are probably correct that was the game where he took the ball for a walk.

15-12-2013, 12:44 PM
A bunch of miscellaneous thoughts on various comments;
1. Definitely Ian Printy who broke JB's leg. Total accident caused by JB taking a heavy touch. Ian was distraught, he was a good Hibby & his aunt was the legendary Maud Mac!
2. I just got my Xmas card from Stan Vincent. Stan still hasn't forgiven Neil Martin for stealing a 4th goal against Falkirk from him! Stan was on a hat trick, the day after Willie H beat Yams at PBS on 1/1/65.
3. I was at the infamous 2-0 Airdrie game but I remember the guy blootering the ball out the park towards Lochend Pond. IIRC Harry Swan gave him a free season ticket!
4. Two memories of Joe McLelland, Joe colliding with Bobby Shearer of Oldco. Both were about 5ft 6 & 14 stone, the ball was incidental, they were like 2 rhinos fighting, wonderful! Joe scoring against Killie, we were 3-0 up with seconds to go, Joe hit a 20 yard screamer after a corner straight at the bald Killie FB on the line, Matt someone? The FB went to head clear, thought better of it & ducked!
Great thread John, thanks!

15-12-2013, 06:28 PM
It was during Bobby Johnstone's first game back at Hibs-against Kilmarnock -that we discovered John Baxter had a terrific shot.It was a free kick and Jimmy Brown the Killie goalie was lining up a wall expecting Johnstone to take it-Baxter had started running at the half way line and belted it past Brown from over 20 yards-he was still waving at his defence but luckily for him was not in the way.

CapitalHibs
16-12-2013, 01:20 AM
It was during Bobby Johnstone's first game back at Hibs-against Kilmarnock -that we discovered John Baxter had a terrific shot.It was a free kick and Jimmy Brown the Killie goalie was lining up a wall expecting Johnstone to take it-Baxter had started running at the half way line and belted it past Brown from over 20 yards-he was still waving at his defence but luckily for him was not in the way.

Yes I remember that! Baxter did it twice as well!!! We beat killie 4-2. Jimmy Brown was ex-hertz and must have weighed around 15 stone. Unfortunately Baxter was never able to repeat his wonder strikes as far as I can recall..

16-12-2013, 06:52 PM
Yes I remember that! Baxter did it twice as well!!! We beat killie 4-2. Jimmy Brown was ex-hertz and must have weighed around 15 stone. Unfortunately Baxter was never able to repeat his wonder strikes as far as I can recall..

Not for the want of trying.His chin sometimes got in the road.

16-12-2013, 07:58 PM
A startling statistic is that the Tornadoes only played 22 competitive games as a team!

16-12-2013, 11:07 PM
Enjoying this thread and the chance to stumble down memory lane.:wink: Good to see Johnny Grant get a mention. Still remember him tormenting big Doug Baillie in a game at Brockville - what a place that was to visit back then (in the 60's). Baillie was trying to play keepie uppie wi' wee Johnny instead of the ball - but Johnny ran him ragged that day.
Another name from '62/'63 which sticks in the old grey matter is Harvey McCreadie. He wasn't with us for long but I recall a headed goal he scored at Fir Park.
Anyone remember in '63 we had 3 Stevensons on the playing staff? - Eric, Morris and Jimmy. Pretty sure Jimmy was Jimmy O'Rourke's cousin.

CapitalHibs
17-12-2013, 12:49 PM
Enjoying this thread and the chance to stumble down memory lane.:wink: Good to see Johnny Grant get a mention. Still remember him tormenting big Doug Baillie in a game at Brockville - what a place that was to visit back then (in the 60's). Baillie was trying to play keepie uppie wi' wee Johnny instead of the ball - but Johnny ran him ragged that day.
Another name from '62/'63 which sticks in the old grey matter is Harvey McCreadie. He wasn't with us for long but I recall a headed goal he scored at Fir Park.
Anyone remember in '63 we had 3 Stevensons on the playing staff? - Eric, Morris and Jimmy. Pretty sure Jimmy was Jimmy O'Rourke's cousin.

Wisnae wee Johnny Grant a winger who always ran with his arms out like a pair of wings? Morris Stevenson skillful player. Think we signed him from Motherwell