View Full Version : Pet Peeves III

14-11-2013, 06:22 PM
'Bout time for another pet peeves thread.

Pet peeve no. 1
Pensioners who go to the bank/Post Office when I get my half hour lunch break. FFS, they have all day.:grr:

Pet peeve no. 2
Pensioners who go to the barbers on a Saturday morning - FFS, they have all week:grr::grr:

Pet peeve no. 3
My annual & perennial moan about people who drive with 4 headlights. :grr::grr::grr:

Twa Cairpets
14-11-2013, 06:41 PM
'Bout time for another pet peeves thread.

Pet peeve no. 1
Pensioners who go to the bank/Post Office when I get my half hour lunch break. FFS, they have all day.:grr:

Pet peeve no. 2
Pensioners who go to the barbers on a Saturday morning - FFS, they have all week:grr::grr:

Pet peeve no. 3
My annual & perennial moan about people who drive with 4 headlights. :grr::grr::grr:

1) The existence of Cliff Richard
2) Requirements to be "wacky" at work for charity (thankfully work from home mostly so not so much of a problem nowadays)
3) The guy today who, when given the surname "Churchill" in a question about Nobel Prize Winners on "Pointless" gave the first name "John". "John!" FFS. How stupid are people?
4) The adverts for British Gas and Lenor and Lloyds TSB (as was) and others who use oh-so-******-clever puppets or animated cloth dolls in their adverts. Seriously. Just Eff off with that.
5) Cows on motorway overpasses
6) People at airports who are incapable of taking out toiletries through security
7) Rugby

14-11-2013, 07:31 PM
'Bout time for another pet peeves thread. Pet peeve no. 1 Pensioners who go to the bank/Post Office when I get my half hour lunch break. FFS, they have all day.:grr: Pet peeve no. 2 Pensioners who go to the barbers on a Saturday morning - FFS, they have all week:grr::grr: Pet peeve no. 3 My annual & perennial moan about people who drive with 4 headlights. :grr::grr::grr:

Never understood the four headlights thing...do you mean front fog lamps? If so why do they annoy so much? Not like they can dazzle anyone really.

Considering most new cars coming with running lights so will almost certainly have 'four headlights' on in the dark you must moan a hell of a lot!

14-11-2013, 07:31 PM
Drivers who, when turning right at a give way, position their car too far to the left and block the road when I want to turn left.

14-11-2013, 07:44 PM
Pensioners who turn up just as a bus arrives and march to the front of the queue ahead of those of us who have been waiting ages.

The way women seem to lose all manners between being about 6 months pregnant and their child turning 2.

People who leave a bag on the seat next to them on the bus when it's busy. I always make a point of sitting next to them.

People who don't cover their mouth when they cough or sneeze in Doctors waiting rooms. Or anywhere for that matter

14-11-2013, 07:50 PM
With Christmas upon us (though my gripe covers the whole year) the amount of excess packaging of goods.

14-11-2013, 08:07 PM
People who have been at the bus stop ages but don't count their change til they get on the bus

People who can't tear the bus ticket from the machine

people who treat stairs on a bus like Mount Everest

people who stand and look at revolving doors like its the devils work and take an age to go in them

I know that escelators are lazy mans stairs, but i walk up them for double quickness and it really winds me up when people don't

being on a bus that's busy and someone sitting beside me, fair enough, but if a double seat becomes free they should move to it

wee lassies on buses thinking it makes them big and clever to swear like they have been hanging about with sailors

the dick i held a door open for today who didn't say thanks but tried to be a hard man when i said your welcome

14-11-2013, 08:16 PM
Here goes:

Folk that post either religious, political or philisophical ***** on Facebook and then expect anyone to give a rat's ass. Piss off.

Drama queens, in any format whether online or real life. Wait till some real **** hits the fan in your life and then you'll know what "awful" "dreadful" and "terrible" actually mean.

Old people who somehow manage to position themselves on a relatively wide pavement yet still take up about 80% of the pavement, leaving you with the choice of dawdling along at a snail's pace or feeling like an eejit and squeezing past them.

Folk that bang on about the "good old days" when, in fact, in said good old days racism and sexism were utterly acceptable throughout business and public life, polio et al were still rampant and outdoor toilets/weekly baths were the norm for a good chunk of folk. "Good old days" my arse.

Anyone who decries the NHS as being *****, inefficient or - my personal bete noir - "3rd world".

Folk chronicling their holidays ON THEIR I-PADS. Use your ****ing eyes once every so often!! Did you travel from <insert faraway place here> so you could take a 40 minute video of the Matterhorn on your I-Pad?? Really??!!

The way that Apple stores leave their lights on all night so that ******** window lickers can ogle at pieces of tat they will never be able to afford at 3am.

I could go on..............

14-11-2013, 08:18 PM
People who have been at the bus stop ages but don't count their change til they get on the bus

People who can't tear the bus ticket from the machine

people who treat stairs on a bus like Mount Everest

people who stand and look at revolving doors like its the devils work and take an age to go in them

I know that escelators are lazy mans stairs, but i walk up them for double quickness and it really winds me up when people don't

being on a bus that's busy and someone sitting beside me, fair enough, but if a double seat becomes free they should move to it

wee lassies on buses thinking it makes them big and clever to swear like they have been hanging about with sailors

the dick i held a door open for today who didn't say thanks but tried to be a hard man when i said your welcome

You could reduce that list substantially by not getting on a bus you know :greengrin

14-11-2013, 08:26 PM
You could reduce that list substantially by not getting on a bus you know :greengrin

I often walk to work but...

People in Princes Street who stop dead in front of you

women with buggies going in a straight line

people appearing out of shop doorways infront of you

charity collectors, beggars, guranga people and mormons

starting to think the world is against me!!

14-11-2013, 08:29 PM
I often walk to work but...

People in Princes Street who stop dead in front of you

women with buggies going in a straight line

people appearing out of shop doorways infront of you

charity collectors, beggars, guranga people and mormons

starting to think the world is against me!!

14-11-2013, 08:53 PM
Never understood the four headlights thing...do you mean front fog lamps? If so why do they annoy so much? Not like they can dazzle anyone really.

Considering most new cars coming with running lights so will almost certainly have 'four headlights' on in the dark you must moan a hell of a lot!

:agree: I do - every 10th car driven by the Stevie Wonders of this world.

My auld man told me 50 years ago "Fog lights are for when it's FOGGY" (or snowing).
They are an alternative to headlights which reflect the weather conditions back on the driver.
These days even car manufacturers don't get it. Jeez. :rolleyes:
Rant over :wink:

14-11-2013, 09:43 PM
Dog owners who don't pick up after their animals (I've got a dog and always pick up)

People on buses who use the seat next to them for their bag and who, if you politely ask them to move it, stare at you like it's an unreasonable request.

People who park on pavements - the more of their car is on the pavement, the bigger the t**t they are!

People who end their posts with Fact or Endof.

LOL & OMG.

Folk that take their weekly shopping trolley through the "quick" self service checkout.

14-11-2013, 11:55 PM
Feet on seats on buses and trains pish me off no end. They'd be the first to complain if their clothes got covered in dug poop or dirt if they sat on a seat in which someone had their manky shoes on it previous

Women who put nail varnish on their nails on public transport. Don't they realise it stinks the place out.

Xmas adverts, especially the emotional blackmail ones to get you to shop at certain supermarkets.

Self service checkouts. More and more appearing now. Can't unions see they are doing away with jobs.

15-11-2013, 06:09 AM
Feet on seats on buses and trains pish me off no end. They'd be the first to complain if their clothes got covered in dug poop or dirt if they sat on a seat in which someone had their manky shoes on it previous

Women who put nail varnish on their nails on public transport. Don't they realise it stinks the place out.

Xmas adverts, especially the emotional blackmail ones to get you to shop at certain supermarkets.

Self service checkouts. More and more appearing now. Can't unions see they are doing away with jobs.

I'd extend the women and nail varnish to women who spend the whole journey putting all their make up on. 2 women on my bus do this daily.

Get up 15 minutes earlier and don't be so ****ing lazy!

bandylegs_jLeighton
15-11-2013, 06:59 AM
The Edinburgh City Bypass for its inability to carry rush hour traffic.

Lorries that try to pass other lorries on dual carriageway, and then spend an eternity doing it because the are only moving actually 0.001mph faster. Why?

Cyclists on the road that look like they need stabilisers because they wobble badly one way then the next! How is this allowed?!

Cyclists that still insist on using the road along areas where the pavements have been widen especially for them!

People that run the amber/red during rush hour block the entire road so nobody can move during the next light change.

hibby rae
15-11-2013, 07:48 AM
People who are too lazy to wash their hands after they've used the toilet!

********s that listen to *****y dance music on their mobile without headphones on the bus! Someone did it with classical music once and it was quite nice.

On a side note someone on a packed morning bus I was on a couple weeks back did a greener. ****ing disgusting.

15-11-2013, 07:59 AM
When you beep the horn at someone for nearly hitting you they go mental at you! Admit your mistake Moron.

The M8 is only 2 lanes when it should really be 3.

Paying for Parking at shopping centres - I'm here to use your facility and give you custom why should I have to pay for that?

Being called unsociable for not going to your christmas night out.

People who jump on bandwagons (Krispy Kreme fiasco etc)

Strictly come dancing/X Factor/ Britains got talent and what ever else they have thought of.

People who have a I can do/say what i want attitude without consideration for the people around them.

15-11-2013, 08:05 AM
When you beep the horn at someone for nearly hitting you they go mental at you! Admit your mistake Moron.

The M8 is only 2 lanes when it should really be 3.

Paying for Parking at shopping centres - I'm here to use your facility and give you custom why should I have to pay for that?

Being called unsociable for not going to your christmas night out.

People who jump on bandwagons (Krispy Kreme fiasco etc)

Strictly come dancing/X Factor/ Britains got talent and what ever else they have thought of.

People who have a I can do/say what i want attitude without consideration for the people around them.

X factor pish I totally agree. Same with the attitude point and the unsociable bit. There's many roasters at my work who I won't socialise with at a Xmas night out.

15-11-2013, 08:07 AM
I'd extend the women and nail varnish to women who spend the whole journey putting all their make up on. 2 women on my bus do this daily.

Get up 15 minutes earlier and don't be so ****ing lazy!

Agree. I see that regular on the train in the morning. I've always wondered how it doesn't go everywhere with the random lateral movement of the train.

15-11-2013, 08:47 AM
Facebook statuses in the style of:

'Young James has 30 brothers and 28 sisters. He lives on 1 cup of dirty water and half a rotten cabbage a year. Both his parents are dead and he has 3 seconds to live. 1 like = 1 respect. Let's see who just scrolls past this. I know who i think will care.'

**** off.

Twa Cairpets
15-11-2013, 08:52 AM

'Young James has 30 brothers and 28 sisters. He lives on 1 cup of dirty water and half a rotten cabbage a year. Both his parents are dead and he has 3 seconds to live. 1 like = 1 respect. Let's see who just scrolls past this. I know who i think will care.'

**** off.

Oh indeed. Very much indeed. Even your parody of it drives me to excessive peevedom.

hibby rae
15-11-2013, 08:56 AM

**** off.

Oh indeed. Very much indeed. Even your parody of it drives me to excessive peevedom.

There was as story recently, Kelloggs said for every retweet they got they would give a meal to a starving child or something along those lines. Caused a bit of an uproar.

Jay
15-11-2013, 08:59 AM
Cars and vans parked on pavements. As a non driver it sends me crazy! The amount of times I have had to walk toddlers onto a road to get round a van parked on the pavement is unbelievable.

Chain photos on Facebook like 'share to keep this candle burning or your legs will fall off' why o why do people share this stuff? I post some rubbish but it's usually all my own words :-)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

hibby rae
15-11-2013, 08:59 AM
On the matter of facebook, when people post a vague, ambiguous update, usually just looking for attention, which results in folk commenting along the lines "oh babe what's up? xx" or "You ok hun? xx".

Your and you're and their and there.

Jay
15-11-2013, 09:03 AM
On the matter of facebook, when people post a vague, ambiguous update, usually just looking for attention, which results in folk commenting along the lines "oh babe what's up? xx" or "You ok hun? xx".

Oh yes! Drives me mad! I usually end up binning these people.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

15-11-2013, 09:04 AM

And the inevitable response to the "You on hun? Xx" is "Doesn't matter x" or "Will PM you".

Attention seeking pish.

15-11-2013, 09:22 AM
And the inevitable response to the "You on hun? Xx" is "Doesn't matter x" or "Will PM you".

Attention seeking pish.

I unfriend folk that clog up my news feed with that pish.

15-11-2013, 09:30 AM
People with hundreds of facebook friends but not one in real life.............I hate facebook and no longer use it or any other media forum apart from .net.

Car drivers who think the bus lane on the Glasgow Road is out of bounds all day and give you abuse for using it.

Dicks who walk with a huge swagger, dress like tramps and think they're hard men in a group.

Shoplifters

So called joy riding car thieves, I rejoice when they crash and die

Bad manner more common in the older genration than they like to believe.

15-11-2013, 09:40 AM
People so full of their own self importance (usually students) that they feel the need to share every mundane moment of their lives with everyone else unlucky enough to be travelling on the same bus/carriage as they are. Lower your voice, the person you are talking to is sitting on the seat next to you.

hibby rae
15-11-2013, 09:40 AM
The neds you see walking around with their hands down their trousers! They must think they look like gang members in LA or something. In fact they look like twats who can't stop fondling themselves.

15-11-2013, 10:31 AM
Folks who get outraged at some crap on Facebook then share it before actually bothering to check if it's true. Modern day equivalent to hags exchanging gossip over the garden fence.

15-11-2013, 03:23 PM
I'll get back to you at some point :greengrin

15-11-2013, 05:18 PM
People texting in work meetings.

People following satnavs instead of the real road in front of them.

More...

15-11-2013, 05:23 PM
Grammar policemen who when they object to the wrong use of their and there don't mention they're.

15-11-2013, 05:37 PM
When someone texts you, you reply relatively quickly and then hear nothing for days. Why? You obviously have your phone!!

The price of tuna, in about 5 years it's gone from 35p a tin to 90p. That's incredible inflation!!

General bad manners as mentioned above e.g. queue jumping, not saying thank you.

When people don't properly finish a senten

15-11-2013, 05:56 PM
People who dont indicate at roundabouts.

People who slow down to almost a complete stop when approaching a roundabout despite being able to see clearly that there is nothing coming for miles.

People who dont say thank you when you hold a door / make way for them.

People who hold a door for you when your miles away from it.

At work, when i leave myself logged onto a computer so i can get on quickly the next day and keep the seat i like and someone else has been in before me and switched off the computer and logged themselves on instead!

15-11-2013, 06:36 PM
A good number of years ago I decided that I was just wasting energy, getting wound up about stuff, and I decided to stop it forthwith. And I was right! I generally exist now in a Buddah-like state of near constant serenity. However, this thread has got me going, and I particularly would like to agree with the following, with thanks:

5) Cows on motorway overpasses :agree: *******s

People who leave a bag on the seat next to them on the bus when it's busy. I always make a point of sitting next to them. Me too.

LOL & OMG. Hanging's too good.

Feet on seats on buses and trains pish me off no end. They'd be the first to complain if their clothes got covered in dug poop or dirt if they sat on a seat in which someone had their manky shoes on it previous Come the revolution, I'll be handing out on-the-spot fines for that.:aok:

People who have a I can do/say what i want attitude without consideration for the people around them. Selfish a*******s.:agree:

**** off. Indeed. In fact, Facebook in general.

Your and you're and their and there. Both of those.

Attention seeking pish. Aye. That too.

Bad manner more common in the older genration than they like to believe. :agree: Often to be heard moaning that young peope today have no respect anaw.

The neds you see walking around with their hands down their trousers! They must think they look like gang members in LA or something. In fact they look like twats who can't stop fondling themselves. Quite. Perverts.

PLUS:

See folk at the supermarket who stand scratching their ***** and staring into the middle distance while their week's mega-shop goes through the checkout, and then, when they've paid, realise they've got to pack it away, and proceed to do it at snail's pace.....
I'm not talking about the old, doddery and confused here, or young people and students who lack experience / a care in the world, but the selfish f****** who are demonstrating that they currently own the checkout and they intend to use whatever time it takes them, to pack their gear at their leisure.:grr:

Why are manufacturers fragrancing toiletries and household goods with vanilla, chocolate, fig, cranberry, marshmallow?
I DON'T WANT TO SMELL LIKE A ******* BISCUIT!!!!

When we had the epic snow a few years back, I went to Waitrose in Morningside and found that a number of my fellow shoppers had turned up on cross-country skis. And I'm still raging.
At least in part because I can't really justify my anger: skis were probably a more sensible way to get about at the time, and I was skiting about all over the place in my boots; Edinburgh is an international place, and these people are maybe from Tromso or suchlike and generally get about their business like this. I can't quite get rid of the suspicion, though, that they were just pretentious, look-at-me *****.

Combining the bus and snow themes, the massive snowfall put an awful lot of people on buses who don't normally go there. And they wanted everyone else on the bus to know that: "Oh - I give you money and put it in there?" "HOW much? In CHANGE???" "Can I sit anywhere [amongst these peasants?]":grr:

16-11-2013, 04:23 AM
I don't mean to sound like I'm holier than thou or getting at others who have previously posted but people who are intolerant of the elderly annoy me and need to have a word.

Big, bushy roundabouts where you can only see the car you are supposed to be giving way to far too late. If all the crap wasn't there obstructing people's view it would be a lot safer.

Holier than thou again but people behaving unacceptably in the company of their own children. If you have your children with you and you swear constantly, drink cans or smoke in their faces you are out of order as they don't have a choice but to be influenced and effected by you.

People who leave towels in cubicles at the baths to bagsy them. I remember being 21 in Ibiza and coming back to the hotel at six. There were German towels out already but we made sure that it was a free for all in the morning as all these towels were in the pool by the time we had finished. I feel like doing something very similar when my poor boy is freezing his erse off when he gets out the pool and can't find anywhere to change after his swimming lesson.

brian6-2
16-11-2013, 07:05 AM
Agree with the old people thing, think they should only be allowed out at certain times.

people who genuinley believe google is spying on them.

people wishing thier 1 year old bairn a happy birthday on facebook, does your 1 year old bairn have a facebook? can your 1 year old bairn read?

people who post a status on facebook asking for the number for the local doctors surgery.

people who sit on the outside seat on a busy bus and leave the window seat either empty or for thier bag. Does your bag pay 50 sheets a month for a bus pass? has your bag paid for a ticket?

smelly people on buses.

foreign people in airports, nae manners whatsoever.

people who live in this country but have zero interest in learning the language.

people who brand you racist for having an opinion like the one above.

people who post a completely pointless post on facebook every year after they have lost a loved one.

i have so many and could go on and on, im getting old haha :agree:

16-11-2013, 07:35 AM
people who post a status on facebook asking for the number for the local doctors surgery

That's a belter!! it gives me the rage when someone goes on a messageboard or Facebook asking a question that would be quicker to google, maybe its the people who are scared Google is spying on them!

brian6-2
16-11-2013, 07:42 AM
That's a belter!! it gives me the rage when someone goes on a messageboard or Facebook asking a question that would be quicker to google, maybe its the people who are scared Google is spying on them!

Its a belter and an instant delete for me haha!! more and more folk seem to be doing it, the doctors surgery on is my fave though. attention seeking at its best. :agree:

brian6-2
16-11-2013, 07:44 AM
another that gets on my goat is the kids/students taking part in the may day demo's/riots running around with nike air max on and adidas hoodies.

hibby rae
16-11-2013, 07:51 AM
Moon landing conspiracy theorists.

hibby rae
16-11-2013, 07:53 AM
People who have an opinion on everything and think that opinion is valid despite being ill-informed on the vast majority.

brian6-2
16-11-2013, 07:57 AM

couldnt agree more :agree:

9/11 theorists as well.

hibby rae
16-11-2013, 08:07 AM

9/11 theorists as well.

Yeah that one annoys me. I watched a documentary regarding 9/11 theorists and they came across as very arrogant. I got the impression the reason they refused to believe any counter argument and easily dismissed expert testimony was if they accepted they were wrong then they would also have to accept the last 10 years of their life was a waste.

brian6-2
16-11-2013, 08:18 AM
Yeah that one annoys me. I watched a documentary regarding 9/11 theorists and they came across as very arrogant. I got the impression the reason they refused to believe any counter argument and easily dismissed expert testimony was if they accepted they were wrong then they would also have to accept the last 10 years of their life was a waste.

The majority of them just want to stand out from the crowd and come across as controversial. they just sound absolutely bonkers if you ask me :agree::thumbsup:

16-11-2013, 09:06 AM
People who needlessly moan about the trivial little things in life. :wink:

16-11-2013, 09:17 AM
Intolerance.

16-11-2013, 10:12 AM
I don't mean to sound like I'm holier than thou or getting at others who have previously posted but people who are intolerant of the elderly annoy me and need to have a word.

Big, bushy roundabouts where you can only see the car you are supposed to be giving way to far too late. If all the crap wasn't there obstructing people's view it would be a lot safer.

Holier than thou again but people behaving unacceptably in the company of their own children. If you have your children with you and you swear constantly, drink cans or smoke in their faces you are out of order as they don't have a choice but to be influenced and effected by you.

People who leave towels in cubicles at the baths to bagsy them. I remember being 21 in Ibiza and coming back to the hotel at six. There were German towels out already but we made sure that it was a free for all in the morning as all these towels were in the pool by the time we had finished. I feel like doing something very similar when my poor boy is freezing his erse off when he gets out the pool and can't find anywhere to change after his swimming lesson.

Maybe they were elderly Germans' towels? :wink:

16-11-2013, 10:46 AM

9/11 theorists as well.

Never has you pegged as a CIA shill? ;-)

brian6-2
16-11-2013, 10:48 AM
Never has you pegged as a CIA shill? ;-)

never judge a book and all that mr bake :wink: :cb

16-11-2013, 12:35 PM
Facebook & Twitter, what's the point?

16-11-2013, 02:09 PM

To post or tweet pointless rubbish :greengrin

16-11-2013, 03:16 PM

Correct.

People who are on Facebook yet all they do is moan about Facebook. See multiple posts above ;-)

Facebook for having such a crap name.

People who go 20mph through the queens park because someone painted a 20 in a white circle on the road

Cyclists who insist on cycling on the same road even when there is a cycle path.

The lazy ******* at work who leave their stinking used porridge bowl in the sink even when there is a dish washer right next to it. (The occasional one has been known to find its way into the bin instead)

Slugs

Women drivers for always using their brakes even when they are on a straight road with nothing in sight, approaching anything, going down a hill, near a pedestrian crossing that has no one waiting and is green etc etc etc.

My partners complete lack of understanding of how to use lower gears to slow down....no You don't just use the brake pedal to stop them move the gear lever from 5th to 1st once stationary!

My partners inability to understand what the 6th gear is for and why that means reverse is not "where it should be"

Someone other than me driving my car :-)

Why the edit function on forumrunner loses all you new line returns when you edit! Grrrrr

16-11-2013, 05:16 PM
Blokes who go to get the Sunday papers, bacon and rolls in their shorts and flip flops in the middle of winter. I mean, come on, you know your bollox are being frozen off so why are you doing it? Cos you're hard? Or maybe to show folk that it's a Sunday and you're just not going to make the effort to wear proper clothes cos it's your day off?

16-11-2013, 05:22 PM
People at parties who try and make you dance.

I don't want to jig about like a tit, I want to sit here and get drunk.

16-11-2013, 05:31 PM
Places that serve scrambled egg as part of a cooked breakfast.

It should be fried with a runny yolk to dip your banger into - that's the rules.

16-11-2013, 05:49 PM
What really annoys me at the moment is when I put on a tv show like dragons den for example and it shows you a preview of what's coming up on the show. It gives far to much away, you can work out what's going to happen without actually watching the show. It gets right on my nerves.

16-11-2013, 06:17 PM

9/11 theorists as well.

Condescending attitudes like yours towards conspiracies, help hide the real ones. Do you believe everything that Governments tell the public and the media ?

16-11-2013, 06:37 PM
Drivers who don't indicate. I notice it more as a pedestrian, a lot seem not to bother when there are no other cars around.

16-11-2013, 06:41 PM
Condescending attitudes like yours towards conspiracies, help hide the real ones. Do you believe everything that Governments tell the public and the media ?

Does 'pot/kettle' have an inverse? :greengrin

Universities who accept foreign students based on their financial contributions, irrespective of their actual capabilities to read, write or speak in the English language.

People who drive in the middle lane regardless to how busy/quiet the inside or outside lanes are.

People who listen to music through their phones/mp3 players in public without headphones.

Zealots/fundamentalists of any religious/political belief system.

Grown men who walk around wearing football tops or even worse, football strips.

People who cannot admit they're wrong, or that they know the square root of FA about subjects they are particularly vocal on.

Being subjected to 'classical pop' such as Van Morrison (Brown Eyed Girl), The Foundations (Build Me Up Buttercup), Abba (Insert any song here), Dolly Parton (9 til 5) etc etc at ANY function/party.

People who attempt to rush onto the train/tube before people have disembarked.

People who use their phones, talk or behave like wee fannies at the cinema.

Snobbery.

16-11-2013, 08:45 PM
Does 'pot/kettle' have an inverse? :greengrin Universities who accept foreign students based on their financial contributions, irrespective of their actual capabilities to read, write or speak in the English language. People who drive in the middle lane regardless to how busy/quiet the inside or outside lanes are. People who listen to music through their phones/mp3 players in public without headphones. Zealots/fundamentalists of any religious/political belief system. Grown men who walk around wearing football tops or even worse, football strips. People who cannot admit they're wrong, or that they know the square root of FA about subjects they are particularly vocal on. Being subjected to 'classical pop' such as Van Morrison (Brown Eyed Girl), The Foundations (Build Me Up Buttercup), Abba (Insert any song here), Dolly Parton (9 til 5) etc etc at ANY function/party. People who attempt to rush onto the train/tube before people have disembarked. People who use their phones, talk or behave like wee fannies at the cinema. Snobbery.

Abba....good shout! So so so annoying I normally have to leave the room!

16-11-2013, 09:19 PM
1. People who join up the first part of one word with the last part of a second word to make up one single word.

E.G.

Do you want to take a guesstimate at how long it will take?

No, I would like to take a guess or I would like to estimate. I certainly would not like to guesstimate.

Or

Just chillax, mate.

No, I would either like to chill or I would like to relax.

2. Drivers who do not indicate - the people who designed cars could not have made indicating any simpler, the indicators are actually beside the steering wheel!

3. People who do not say please and thank you.

4. People who drop litter, especially those who actually pass by a bucket about two seconds after dropping said litter.

5. People who park in disabled parking bays when the person who is the badge holder clearly isn't in the car.

That will do for now. I'm sure I'll be back later.

16-11-2013, 09:22 PM

That puts me in that category. Whys that a pet peeve of yours?

16-11-2013, 10:44 PM
Facebook is a big one of mine great tool but morons shouldn't be aloud it.
in no particular order

people who say aw no one likes me just so people will be like aw I like you. I'll tell you something no one does like you away and pop ur head in front of the 26,

one already mentioned man walks 19 miles. everyday to pick up Razzle then has to buy tesco own brand tissues to clean up like or share if you think he should have handy Andys. or something to that effect.

baby photos. ok they're cute but unless your jimmy saville no one wants to see 100 photos a day of them.

dirty laundry being aired he said/she said.

tons more ore facebook ones but I leave it at that.

people that talk to me on the bus.

people that ask me to smile when I used to work in a bar.

people that tell me yeah it Friday when I worked in bar I know it's Friday hence you're here acting like a fanny.

one more bar one people not putting money in my hand when they buy a drink. putting it on the bar, what can't you touch flesh of someone behind a bar you ignorant welt.

brian6-2
17-11-2013, 05:45 AM

here we go, another deluded hippy.......................:wink:

17-11-2013, 08:44 AM
[QUOTE=TRC;3810301]Facebook is a big one of mine great tool but morons shouldn't be aloud it.[QUOTE]

:-)

hibby rae
17-11-2013, 09:39 AM

Mankind achieved something beautiful, why do you doubt it?

hibby rae
17-11-2013, 09:44 AM

Nope, I didn't believe them when they said Iraq still had WMDs. I would have thought a belief in all the theories helps hide the real ones.

17-11-2013, 11:51 AM

The fact that The Russians don't dispute that it took place surely tells you all you need to know.

17-11-2013, 11:55 AM
Lily Allen. I mind in a spat she had with some other pop singer who said that she was middle class replied "So what if my mum got off her fat arse to work for a living" (or words to that effect).

Easy enough to ignore the issues of social mobility when you're born with a silver spoon in your mouth.

Horrible person and all her songs are **** too.

hibby rae
17-11-2013, 12:50 PM
The fact that The Russians don't dispute that it took place surely tells you all you need to know.

Exactly, what would the Soviets gain from remaining silent?

17-11-2013, 01:00 PM
Mankind achieved something beautiful, why do you doubt it?

I believe it may have been staged. There have allegedly been six manned moon landings. Also during the supposed landings there is sketchy footage and pieces missing during the broadcasts and also the ufo sightings covered up. Do you believe nasa was warned off the moon by other intelligent life if they ever made it there?

17-11-2013, 01:19 PM
I believe it may have been staged. There have allegedly been six manned moon landings. Also during the supposed landings there is sketchy footage and pieces missing during the broadcasts and also the ufo sightings covered up. Do you believe nasa was warned off the moon by other intelligent life if they ever made it there?

1969...when video capture and multinational relay technology was still in its early phase with low resolution sensors, intermittent transmitter strength and no such thing as digital or optical signals...they hadn't perfected transmission of video signals on Earth, never mind from the bloody Moon.

Really? I'm really hoping I've just chomped on a huge fishing experiment...

hibby rae
17-11-2013, 01:30 PM

I don't think nasa were warned off the Moon at all. If the 'ufo sightings' were covered up then how do you know they occured? I thibk the story do far answers your other point fairly well. Am I being reeled in as well?

hibby rae
17-11-2013, 01:32 PM
I may be wrong, perhaps someone else can answer this? But I think nasa intend to go back as part of a manned mission to Mars.

17-11-2013, 02:37 PM
Yep, definitely Facebook.
People meeting someone they know and blocking the whole shopping aisle.
Edinburgh taxi drivers, the greenways is not enough road for them.
Shop assistants chatting on the phone whilst serving you.
Customers who sit on your shoulders watching your every move whilst you are working in their property.

17-11-2013, 02:39 PM
There are also several pictures allegedly from the moon with areas of the photo blanked out along with the 2 minutes of footage missing from the supposed first landing that NASA don't want you to see. Why would they blank out certain areas on pictures?

Were they really there and there was something they didn't want the public to see in the pictures or was it a man made structure back on earth they were blanking out?

17-11-2013, 02:55 PM
dunno about this one!

Lily Allen. I mind in a spat she had with some other pop singer who said that she was middle class replied "So what if my mum got off her fat arse to work for a living" (or words to that effect).

In The "scheme" I stay

Works = middle class
Works and married = posh!

Or so I've been told numerous times in the pub!

hibby rae
17-11-2013, 03:15 PM
There are also several pictures allegedly from the moon with areas of the photo blanked out along with the 2 minutes of footage missing from the supposed first landing that NASA don't want you to see. Why would they blank out certain areas on pictures?

Were they really there and there was something they didn't want the public to see in the pictures or was it a man made structure back on earth they were blanking out?

That'll be the Hitler at the Nazi moon base they're hiding.

17-11-2013, 03:42 PM
That'll be the Hitler at the Nazi moon base they're hiding.

Thanks for clearing that up. ;)

17-11-2013, 04:38 PM
that'll be the hitler at the nazi moon base they're hiding.

fact!

:-)

17-11-2013, 07:51 PM
1. People who join up the first part of one word with the last part of a second word to make up one single word.

E.G.

Do you want to take a guesstimate at how long it will take?

No, I would like to take a guess or I would like to estimate. I certainly would not like to guesstimate.

Or

Just chillax, mate.

No, I would either like to chill or I would like to relax.

Though those words are not what you've said they are. They are the whole of the first word and part of a second.

You'd shirley not object to "slithy", as in "slithy toves", a portmanteau of slimy and lithe? That's literature, that is!

17-11-2013, 08:04 PM
As someone mentioned earlier ,folk who get on a bus then fumble about for money. Did it come as a surprise that a monetary transaction would be needed ya spangle?

I'm a celebrity. Tv by the desperate for the hard of thinking.

News channels that send university educated reporters out to report on bad weather. I dinny need to watch some sad sack getting blown about by a hurricane to appreciate what wind and rain looks like

17-11-2013, 08:48 PM

It's Mo's hidey hole :wink:

17-11-2013, 08:51 PM
It's Mo's hidey hole :wink:

And here's me thinking the holy ground is the serious forum/sub forum. ;)

17-11-2013, 08:59 PM
And here's me thinking the holy ground is the serious forum/sub forum. ;)

Life's too serious to take it too seriously :greengrin

17-11-2013, 11:29 PM
Living in London it is people who cant use escalators correctly. You STAND on the RIGHT and WALK on the LEFT. Not ****ing hard is it?

Hipsters.

People who walk past a Costa, Nero, 2 independents and Morrisons cafe to order a coffee in my pub. ****. Off.

17-11-2013, 11:32 PM
Peeved at -
- Ditters on the road who go at 30mph and, once you pass them, accelerate to the speed you are going.
- Idle chat between the check out assistant and her pal who s-l-o-w-l-y bags & pays for her groceries
- Standing for ages at a check out. Then, when you are half way to the till, they open up another check out and all the people behind you rush to it & get served before you do.
- Bag-filling fund raisers at check outs who guilt-trip me into sponsoring their next European tournament in some exotic place that I can't afford to go to.
- Not being allowed to shoot seagulls ('s**thawks' as they are more accurately called).
- People who seem to enjoy being the only person to park on the opposite side of the road from all other parked vehicles

:grr: ....to be continued.

brian6-2
18-11-2013, 09:07 AM
A new one today, folk that say "hey ho" as in, "my bus was late but hey-ho"

really annoying.

18-11-2013, 12:11 PM
Fail, epic Fail and "... much?" are all ridiculous turns of phrase.

brian6-2
18-11-2013, 12:15 PM
Fail, epic Fail and "... much?" are all ridiculous turns of phrase.

the word "epic" annoys the **** out of me too.

18-11-2013, 12:29 PM
Add awesome, how's you? and touch base to my hate list

18-11-2013, 12:33 PM
My bad and oh my days can be added to the phrases list.

18-11-2013, 12:47 PM
"as it says on the tin" :grr: what tin ffs

"spilt my coffee over the monitor" fgs

18-11-2013, 12:49 PM
People who don't dress appropriately for the weather then spend hours moaning about being 'pure freezing'.

18-11-2013, 12:51 PM
Grammar policemen who when they object to the wrong use of their and there don't mention they're.

i have to admit i really do get stuck with them sometimes :blushie: but not as bad as the "me and my mates went to the game" instead of my mates and i....etc etc etc

18-11-2013, 12:51 PM
People who don't dress appropriately for the weather then spend hours moaning about being 'pure freezing'.

I have a mate like that, wears shorts on all weather then moans he is cold! Well put some bloody trousers on!

18-11-2013, 01:08 PM
i have to admit i really do get stuck with them sometimes :blushie: but not as bad as the "me and my mates went to the game" instead of my mates and i....etc etc etc

That's the old joke "Help, help... Me and my mate are getting mugged!!! Of course I'll help, it's my mate and I are getting mugged, now run along."

18-11-2013, 01:42 PM
Those cheap shiny grey suits Topmam sell and everyone that wears one thinks they are stylish and original.

18-11-2013, 05:44 PM
"as it says on the tin" :grr: what tin ffs

Ronseal of course!

18-11-2013, 05:55 PM
Peeved at -
- Ditters on the road who go at 30mph and, once you pass them, accelerate to the speed you are going.
- Idle chat between the check out assistant and her pal who s-l-o-w-l-y bags & pays for her groceries
- Standing for ages at a check out. Then, when you are half way to the till, they open up another check out and all the people behind you rush to it & get served before you do.
- Bag-filling fund raisers at check outs who guilt-trip me into sponsoring their next European tournament in some exotic place that I can't afford to go to.
- Not being allowed to shoot seagulls ('s**thawks' as they are more accurately called).
- People who seem to enjoy being the only car to park on the opposite side of the road from all other parked vehicles

:grr: ....to be continued.

That annoys me more than anything else.

18-11-2013, 06:26 PM
My bad and oh my days can be added to the phrases list.

"My bad" is one I particularly detest.

Another Americanism that has slowly crept its way into everyday language over here.

18-11-2013, 09:01 PM
Lazy gits with no kids who park in the parent & child spaces at supermarkets to save them walking an extra 20 yards or so.

People with Blue Badges who park in the parent & child spaces because its easier or closer to the building than the available disabled spaces.

Parents who take thier kids to Soft Play and then ignore them for 2 hours while they run wild.

People who press the button on the crossing but walk over before the lights change leaving me to stop at a red light for no reason.

People who stand beside Zebra crossings, looking like they might use it, but have no intention to.

When i make way while walking for someone and say "on you go" and they reply "after you" and you have the awkward stand-off trying to decide when to move and it always ends with both of you making a move at the same time.

18-11-2013, 09:28 PM
Mothers with young kids in cafe's. You're enjoying your coffee, the kids are running riot and yelling their heads off. Mothers hear nothing and calmly continue blethering with their mates

Twa Cairpets
19-11-2013, 08:48 AM
Those cheap shiny grey suits Topmam sell and everyone that wears one thinks they are stylish and original.

Is that when you've got a really, really good mother? :greengrin

But on the topic of clothes (and I write as someone who could never be described as a fashionista).

- Guys wearing black leather raincoats in the mistaken belief they look edgy, gothic and dangerous. in the summer they just look and smell sweaty. And why do so many of them have irritating beards?
- Wee lassies allowed to go out looking like apprentice hookers. Seriously, why would you allow your daughter out like that?
- Rugby shirts
- Youth football coaches wearing huge Fergie style puffa jackets

19-11-2013, 09:11 AM
The misuse of the word "myself"...

"Please email it to myself..."
"He spoke to Jimmy and myself about it..."

It's up there with "my bad", "epic fail" and other such nonsense.

19-11-2013, 11:01 AM
here we go, another deluded hippy.......................:wink:

Aye nae bother, I''ll crack the jokes ! :wink:

19-11-2013, 11:15 AM
Lazy gits with no kids who park in the parent & child spaces at supermarkets to save them walking an extra 20 yards or so.
Parent & Child spaces being close to the supermarket to suit lazy parents who can't walk another 20 yards.

People with Blue Badges who park in the parent & child spaces because its easier or closer to the building than the available disabled spaces.
Parents who show no sympathey to blue badge holders who park in the nearest available space close to the supermarket.

People who press the button on the crossing but walk over before the lights change leaving me to stop at a red light for no reason.
Drivers who get annoyed at this, do they really expect me to stand waiting at a completely clear road for the lights to change.

People who stand beside Zebra crossings, looking like they might use it, but have no intention to.
Drivers who completely ignore Zebra crossings

When i make way while walking for someone and say "on you go" and they reply "after you" and you have the awkward stand-off trying to decide when to move and it always ends with both of you making a move at the same time.
People being annoyed at other peoples good manners.

19-11-2013, 11:25 AM
Richard Littlejohn. Seeing he's reportedly paid £800k a year makes me sick, especially as he can't even spell basic words like 'health' and 'compensation'.

If you look at his track record - writing that the murders of five women were 'no great loss' or bullying someone through the Mail who was going gender reassignment surgery (she was found dead shortly after) - he's a vile, vile human being who seeks to dehumanize anyone who isn't a middle class white male.

Vile, vile man.

19-11-2013, 11:47 AM
Quite a few tbh

Standing in a checkout queue when you get tapped on shoulder by old or older person whose let another old/older person in that's only got a couple of things. I've stood just as long and don't let person in... I've got no manners Apparantly. That grips ma ******.

I've stood as bloody long they've obviously got all day and nowt better to do.

Folk that don't wash and smell and look dirty. They'restood next to you in shop etc. No need. Boaksville

Folk that park all sorts of vehicles on the pavement blocking the path.

Blue badge holders that drive in a supposed Pedestrian precinct area and then shout at you whilst waving their blue badges. (One of the twats bout ran ma 4 yo daughter down last week and did the waving, telling me to control my child) grrrrr

Better stop there.

19-11-2013, 11:56 AM
Richard Littlejohn. Seeing he's reportedly paid £800k a year makes me sick, especially as he can't even spell basic words like 'health' and 'compensation'.

If you look at his track record - writing that the murders of five women were 'no great loss' or bullying someone through the Mail who was going gender reassignment surgery (she was found dead shortly after) - he's a vile, vile human being who seeks to dehumanize anyone who isn't a middle class white male.

Vile, vile man.

You can add Piers Morgan and Jeremy Kyle. What are the talents that allow these people to infiltrate the airwaves?

19-11-2013, 04:25 PM

Vile, vile man.

Dick Littlejohn?
Bang on the money - even if you're dyslexic. :wink:

Twa Cairpets
21-11-2013, 11:15 AM
Just came off a call with a biz-talk muppet.

He used the following:

"When we take a helicopter view rather than considering the granularity we can understand the strategic implications".

I understand the meaning entirely, but was cringing at the pomposity of the phrase.

southfieldhibby
21-11-2013, 11:48 AM
Would be easier and quicker for me to list things that don't annoy me.Humanity in general is something to sneer at.People are morons, with the exception of the very few.

However, my number one object of hatred right now is drivers who drive too close to the kerb, not leaving sufficient space for cyclists.A perfect example is Salamander Street/Seafield Road during rush hour in the evening.I can cycle faster than you can drive your car at this particular point, and there is a couple of right turns meaning I'm on the inside, and until we reach the designated cycle path, I'm on the road, so move the **** over and show some consideration.

22-11-2013, 07:29 AM
"Who knew..."

Casey1875
22-11-2013, 10:18 AM
Would be easier and quicker for me to list things that don't annoy me.Humanity in general is something to sneer at.People are morons, with the exception of the very few.

However, my number one object of hatred right now is drivers who drive too close to the kerb, not leaving sufficient space for cyclists.A perfect example is Salamander Street/Seafield Road during rush hour in the evening.I can cycle faster than you can drive your car at this particular point, and there is a couple of right turns meaning I'm on the inside, and until we reach the designated cycle path, I'm on the road, so move the **** over and show some consideration.

If you read the Highway Code it states that you should not pass any vehicle on the left hand side unless they are signaling right. So you should in fact wait in the queue of traffic...

22-11-2013, 10:21 AM
If you read the Highway Code it states that you should not pass any vehicle on the left hand side unless they are signaling right. So you should in fact wait in the queue of traffic...

163Overtake only when it is safe and legal to do so. You should

not get too close to the vehicle you intend to overtake
use your mirrors, signal when it is safe to do so, take a quick sideways glance if necessary into the blind spot area and then start to move out
not assume that you can simply follow a vehicle ahead which is overtaking; there may only be enough room for one vehicle
move quickly past the vehicle you are overtaking, once you have started to overtake. Allow plenty of room. Move back to the left as soon as you can but do not cut in
take extra care at night and in poor visibility when it is harder to judge speed and distance
give way to oncoming vehicles before passing parked vehicles or other obstructions on your side of the road
only overtake on the left if the vehicle in front is signalling to turn right, and there is room to do so
stay in your lane if traffic is moving slowly in queues. If the queue on your right is moving more slowly than you are, you may pass on the left

22-11-2013, 04:18 PM

So, if you two sticklers were in the inside lane of a three-lane Mway such as the M8 in Glasgow and you were going to exit at the next sliproad one hundred yards ahead, you would take care not to be travelling faster than anyone in the middle lane (who would not be signalling to turn right)? I dinna hink so!

22-11-2013, 05:10 PM
So, if you two sticklers were in the inside lane of a three-lane Mway such as the M8 in Glasgow and you were going to exit at the next sliproad one hundred yards ahead, you would take care not to be travelling faster than anyone in the middle lane (who would not be signalling to turn right)? I dinna hink so!

I can't think of any right turn slip roads on the M8. They're all left turn. If you had a right turn one then by definition you'd be in the overtaking lane anyway?

speedy_gonzales
22-11-2013, 05:14 PM
Highway code rule 268 allows the left hand lane to pass slower moving right hand lanes.

22-11-2013, 05:27 PM
Just came off a call with a biz-talk muppet.

He used the following:

"When we take a helicopter view rather than considering the granularity we can understand the strategic implications".

I understand the meaning entirely, but was cringing at the pomposity of the phrase.

Thing is the more time you spend in such environs the more you speak like that when in them. Never used helicopter although I will admit to using granular once this week! ;-)

To help me avoid becoming a biz-talk muppet (like that phrase and will be using it to describe an particular proponent of said offence in my world from now on) how do you suggest he should have constructed his sentence?

22-11-2013, 05:31 PM
Thing is the more time you spend in such environs the more you speak like that when in them. Never used helicopter although I will admit to using granular once this week! ;-)

To help me avoid becoming a biz-talk muppet (like that phrase and will be using it to describe an particular proponent of said offence in my world from now on) how do you suggest he should have constructed his sentence?

That's some blue sky thinking right there. We should horizon scan for alternatives and really drill down from the top level.

22-11-2013, 05:42 PM
Highway code rule 268 allows the left hand lane to pass slower moving right hand lanes.

So does it not make complete sense that a cyclist be allowed to pass a motorist on his right even though the motorist is not signalling to turn right?

22-11-2013, 05:45 PM
I can't think of any right turn slip roads on the M8. They're all left turn. If you had a right turn one then by definition you'd be in the overtaking lane anyway?

I was meaning exiting left from the inside lane, and in doing so passing traffic on the right, as often happens at busy periods. But for info there are right-exits on the M8 (eg at Junction 18 Charing Cross when heading west).

22-11-2013, 07:02 PM
I was meaning exiting left from the inside lane, and in doing so passing traffic on the right, as often happens at busy periods. But for info there are right-exits on the M8 (eg at Junction 18 Charing Cross when heading west).

Mr Pedantic might say "Charing Cross on A8 not M8".
Please check rules for classification of 'motorway'. :nerd: :wink:

22-11-2013, 07:35 PM

Not sure what you're meaning here. This (http://m8motorway.tripod.com/m8_glasgow_j17_pt1.htm) is more than anyone could want to know about Junction 18 and surrounds and all the indications - photaes and text - are M8.
Wot makes you say A8? :confused:

Twa Cairpets
22-11-2013, 07:36 PM

"Don't get tied up in the detail, we need to look at this strategically". Using "strategic" as opposed to "operational" is not biz-speak.

22-11-2013, 08:10 PM

A8 becomes the M8 at Baillieston, does it not? :confused:

22-11-2013, 08:40 PM
Mr Pedantic would appear to be wrong :blushie:
M8 changes to A8 at Newhouse then changes back to M8 (I think) at Baillieston.
(According to this link)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8S-O6H6lgfA

Pet peeve - pedantic posters who are proved to be full of bullshoot :wink:

22-11-2013, 09:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8S-O6H6lgfA

Helicopter view helps when drilling down to the granularity. :agree:

22-11-2013, 09:24 PM
Helicopter view helps when drilling down to the granularity. :agree:

Are you trying to turn this into a Rotory Club meeting? :wink:

22-11-2013, 10:42 PM
Folk waiting to turning right at a roundabout but not leaving room for folk to turn left. Seriously :rolleyes: Does my head in

lEXO
22-11-2013, 11:09 PM
Agree with the old people thing, think they should only be allowed out at certain times.

people who genuinley believe google is spying on them.

people wishing thier 1 year old bairn a happy birthday on facebook, does your 1 year old bairn have a facebook? can your 1 year old bairn read?

people who post a status on facebook asking for the number for the local doctors surgery.

people who sit on the outside seat on a busy bus and leave the window seat either empty or for thier bag. Does your bag pay 50 sheets a month for a bus pass? has your bag paid for a ticket?

smelly people on buses.

foreign people in airports, nae manners whatsoever.

people who live in this country but have zero interest in learning the language.

people who brand you racist for having an opinion like the one above.

people who post a completely pointless post on facebook every year after they have lost a loved one.

i have so many and could go on and on, im getting old haha :agree:
People like you.

speedy_gonzales
22-11-2013, 11:34 PM
So does it not make complete sense that a cyclist be allowed to pass a motorist on his right even though the motorist is not signalling to turn right?
Perhaps I'm missing your point, but a cyclist CAN pass a motorist, be it on the motorists right or the motorists left,,,

23-11-2013, 01:02 AM
Charity wrist bracelet wearers.

That's not charity, it's literally a superficial fad of wearing it on your sleeve.

23-11-2013, 03:36 AM
Charity wrist bracelet wearers.

That's not charity, it's literally a superficial fad of wearing it on your sleeve.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FH2o5Rxc6F0

23-11-2013, 07:15 AM
Perhaps I'm missing your point, but a cyclist CAN pass a motorist, be it on the motorists right or the motorists left,,,

Being claimed that motorists must be signalling right for cyclists to pass on the left:

23-11-2013, 08:10 AM
Being claimed that motorists must be signalling right for cyclists to pass on the left:

I am an avid cyclist (with a road bike) and would never pass a vehicle on the left even if it was indicating to turn right. I was knocked off my bike doing this by a driver who decided to change their mind and pulled away without looking to their inside.

The road was wide enough for another vehicle to pass but the driver had positioned the vehicle that badly that no one could pass.

I was level with the front nearside wheel when it struck me, causing me to go arse over tit with the bike still attached to me. The driver got out and gave me dogs abuse, (as I lay on road) not bothering to ask how I was. Gravel rash, skint arms and legs grazes and bleeding and a knacked bike.

Other drivers that stopped helped me yet this other driver phoned the police and told then I had undertaken at a junction. Thankfully other drivers and pedestrians waited and backed me up. Took months to get claim sorted for my bike. Still got scars to this day.

Fwiw (my opinion) a cyclist should wait in stationary traffic (except in cycle lane) and only if a vehicle is turning right pass it on its nearside.... But as above it has it's dangers.

23-11-2013, 08:45 AM
I am an avid cyclist (with a road bike) and would never pass a vehicle on the left even if it was indicating to turn right. I was knocked off my bike doing this by a driver who decided to change their mind and pulled away without looking to their inside.

The road was wide enough for another vehicle to pass but the driver had positioned the vehicle that badly that no one could pass.

I was level with the front nearside wheel when it struck me, causing me to go arse over tit with the bike still attached to me. The driver got out and gave me dogs abuse, (as I lay on road) not bothering to ask how I was. Gravel rash, skint arms and legs grazes and bleeding and a knacked bike.

Other drivers that stopped helped me yet this other driver phoned the police and told then I had undertaken at a junction. Thankfully other drivers and pedestrians waited and backed me up. Took months to get claim sorted for my bike. Still got scars to this day.

Fwiw (my opinion) a cyclist should wait in stationary traffic (except in cycle lane) and only if a vehicle is turning right pass it on its nearside.... But as above it has it's dangers.

Shirley your experience doesn't so much indicate that passing on the left is dangerous, but that drivers who don't know what they're doing are dangerous?

But anyway, there are also dangers for cyclists in waiting behind stationary vehicles. For example, breathing (hyperventilating in many cases, since cycling is strenuous). Being directly behind a vehicle, rather than at its left hand side, is prime position for inhaling all the crap they chuck oot their exhausts before it disperses into the general airspace. (When I'm cycling, I only ever wait directly behind electric vehicles. :nerd:)

23-11-2013, 09:05 AM
Junction 15 has a right hand slip off east and on west. Charing Cross, J18 I think, has an right hand off west and on east.

23-11-2013, 09:11 AM
If you read the Highway Code it states that you should not pass any vehicle on the left hand side unless they are signaling right. So you should in fact wait in the queue of traffic...http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAn...code/DG_069862 (http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAndTransport/Highwaycode/DG_069862)

Do not overtake on the left or move to a lane on your left to overtake. In congested conditions, where adjacent lanes of traffic are moving at similar speeds, traffic in left-hand lanes may sometimes be moving faster than traffic to the right. In these conditions you may keep up with the traffic in your lane even if this means passing traffic in the lane to your right. Do not weave in and out of lanes to overtake.

23-11-2013, 09:15 AM
http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAn...code/DG_069862 (http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAndTransport/Highwaycode/DG_069862) 268 Do not overtake on the left or move to a lane on your left to overtake. In congested conditions, where adjacent lanes of traffic are moving at similar speeds, traffic in left-hand lanes may sometimes be moving faster than traffic to the right. In these conditions you may keep up with the traffic in your lane even if this means passing traffic in the lane to your right. Do not weave in and out of lanes to overtake.

However we have to remember one thing - the Highway Code is Advisory and is not the law!

23-11-2013, 09:15 AM
Shirley your experience doesn't so much indicate that passing on the left is dangerous, but that drivers who don't know what they're doing are dangerous? But anyway, there are also dangers for cyclists in waiting behind stationary vehicles. For example, breathing (hyperventilating in many cases, since cycling is strenuous). Being directly behind a vehicle, rather than at its left hand side, is prime position for inhaling all the crap they chuck oot their exhausts before it disperses into the general airspace. (When I'm cycling, I only ever wait directly behind electric vehicles. :nerd:)

Ha ha Like the last bit

23-11-2013, 09:21 AM
http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAn...code/DG_069862 (http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/TravelAndTransport/Highwaycode/DG_069862)

Do not overtake on the left or move to a lane on your left to overtake. In congested conditions, where adjacent lanes of traffic are moving at similar speeds, traffic in left-hand lanes may sometimes be moving faster than traffic to the right. In these conditions you may keep up with the traffic in your lane even if this means passing traffic in the lane to your right. Do not weave in and out of lanes to overtake.

Cyclists who overtake cars on the left in traffic are breaking that rule because they are sharing the left-hand lane with those cars. It would be the same as a car overtaking by driving with two wheels on the road and two wheels on the pavement to the left-hand side of the lane of traffic. Unless there is a specific cyclist lane on the bit of road they should be moving with the traffic in the lane rather than trying to squeeze past it on the left.

23-11-2013, 09:24 AM
Cyclists who overtake cars on the left in traffic are breaking that rule because they are sharing the left-hand lane with those cars. It would be the same as a car overtaking by driving with two wheels on the road and two wheels on the pavement to the left-hand side of the lane of traffic. Unless there is a specific cyclist lane on the bit of road they should be moving with the traffic in the lane rather than trying to squeeze past it on the left.
This bit is motorway for driving.

23-11-2013, 09:28 AM

Yip. The problem you have is some cyclist want to do what the hell they want then moan and whinge about drivers when they cut them up... Usually for undertaking.

When I'm out cycling I see myself as a small car and abide by the rules of the road... However whilst the majority of drivers take heed of cyclists there is a minority who ignore them... This is when it becomes dangerous.

bandylegs_jLeighton
23-11-2013, 09:39 AM
As previously mentioned, people parking in the child/parent spaces when they don't have a kid.

I was pointing this out to my other half on our way into Tesco's when we saw two cars pull into these spaces without any kids in sight.

On the way back out a boy racer car came whizzing into the child/parent space nearest the shop. Completely out of character, I pointed at it and in a raised voice said 'NAE KID!'.

As soon as the words left my mouth I realised it sounded like I had just shouted 'NAKED!' and saw this young bemused blonde girl just looking out at me from behind her tinted glass.

You probably had to be there...

23-11-2013, 10:44 AM
Regarding folk not using bus lanes when they can i think is down to the solid white line on the bus lane. No-one will want to go into a bus lane while crossing the solid white line.
So all those diks who scream long the bus lanes after 9:30 shaking their heads at the sheer stupidity of the normal safe driver can **** right off:greengrin

23-11-2013, 10:47 AM
As previously mentioned, people parking in the child/parent spaces when they don't have a kid.

I was pointing this out to my other half on our way into Tesco's when we saw two cars pull into these spaces without any kids in sight.

On the way back out a boy racer car came whizzing into the child/parent space nearest the shop. Completely out of character, I pointed at it and in a raised voice said 'NAE KID!'.

As soon as the words left my mouth I realised it sounded like I had just shouted 'NAKED!' and saw this young bemused blonde girl just looking out at me from behind her tinted glass.

You probably had to be there...

Brilliant ! :greengrin

23-11-2013, 02:51 PM
When the sound from the next scene on a television programme can be heard milliseconds before the actual scene appears. Often happens when it's a phone ringing or knock at the door.

23-11-2013, 03:44 PM

9/11 theorists as well.

And the JFK conspiracy nuts too. It was Oswald, in the Book Depository, with the rifle. :agree:

Simple answer to moon landing sceptics - every NASA launch was closely monitored by the Soviets from ignition to splashdown. If there had been anything even faintly suspicious about the Apollo missions, they would have said so. They didn't.

It was the Cold War, for crying out loud!

David Aaronovitch - "Voodoo Histories: How Conspiracy Theory Has Shaped Modern History"; Vintage Books, from Amazon.

23-11-2013, 11:30 PM

Concentrate on the big picture. :dunno:

24-11-2013, 12:03 AM
Yip. The problem you have is some cyclist want to do what the hell they want then moan and whinge about drivers when they cut them up... Usually for undertaking.

When I'm out cycling I see myself as a small car and abide by the rules of the road... However whilst the majority of drivers take heed of cyclists there is a minority who ignore them... This is when it becomes dangerous.

Cyclists also seem to forget that they are not always easy to see...mirrors have blind spots here drivers can miss cars no matter cyclists. Also it's not a natural thought that someone or something will be undertaking you on the left, esp if there is not enough space for a car.

Don't cycle but do have a scooter and when on that I'm very conscious that drivers will on occasion simply not see me...I'm much more alert to ensuring I anticipate non observant drivers when on my bike than when in my car, saved me a nasty accident a few times 'guessing' the driver hasn't seen me and will pull out in front of me. The time a Range Rover turned right in front of me was the closest shave....ended up a baw hair away from his passenger door staring at him through the window, if I hadn't anticipated the fact that there was a good chance he hadn't seen me in his mirror I would have been joining him in the car through said window!

24-11-2013, 07:13 AM
Cyclists also seem to forget that they are not always easy to see...mirrors have blind spots here drivers can miss cars no matter cyclists. Also it's not a natural thought that someone or something will be undertaking you on the left, esp if there is not enough space for a car. Don't cycle but do have a scooter and when on that I'm very conscious that drivers will on occasion simply not see me...I'm much more alert to ensuring I anticipate non observant drivers when on my bike than when in my car, saved me a nasty accident a few times 'guessing' the driver hasn't seen me and will pull out in front of me. The time a Range Rover turned right in front of me was the closest shave....ended up a baw hair away from his passenger door staring at him through the window, if I hadn't anticipated the fact that there was a good chance he hadn't seen me in his mirror I would have been joining him in the car through said window!

Yip SiMar being seen is for me the biggest issue.. Like folk that drive up the arse of a bus lorry or can and expect them to see you. If you can see their mirrors then there is a good chance they can see you.

Some cyclist are idiots and show no respect for other road users and that causes undue friction in my eyes.

Bright clothing where possible and on approaching /passing certain junctions I usually sit up a bit and try and make some sort of eye contact with the driver at the junction which usually works.

Massive issues which won't go away anytime soon especially with the fatalities recently down south.

26-11-2013, 11:51 PM
Pet peeves.

1. People that don't say thank you.

2. Hearts fans.

3. Putting your hand in your pocket find a bit of paper has been washed and disintegrated in the pocket.

4. FIFA 13 online. Bloody hard. (I've smashed 4 controllers because of it)

5. Xmas adverts designed to tug at the heart strings of the weak. Doesn't wash with me. Bah humbug.

6. The one show. Complete jobby

7. Charity bags through the door. 5 or 6 a week!!

8. Princes st. Too busy for my liking.

9. The new buses with the auto announcer that goes off every minute or so.

10. Playing music when a team scores. Should be banned at all grounds. Embarrassing in my opinion.

11. iPhone batteries. Don't last long.

12. X factor and everything associated with it, you can add big brother, strictly come dancing, I'm a celebrity and Britain's got talent to that as well. Complete rubbish.

I might be back with more.

27-11-2013, 12:19 AM
Pet peeves.

4. FIFA 13 online. Bloody hard. (I've smashed 4 controllers because of it)

My record on it is absolutely abysmal compared to last years effort.

27-11-2013, 05:37 AM
X Factor - taking karaoke singers and producing a "star" with over-production and a makeover. I hope they're not claiming jobseekers allowance while they're not available.

Any show with celebrity in the title. If they were such big celebrities they'd not be resting.

Any reality show following people "working". Who gives a ****.

27-11-2013, 07:22 AM
My record on it is absolutely abysmal compared to last years effort.

I haven't even bothered to buy the new one yet. I hate the new defending style. Just can't do it.

27-11-2013, 11:32 AM
Back for more:

Keyboard bashers - you don't need to smash the keyboard to type!
people who breath through their nose and it whistles!

27-11-2013, 01:13 PM
back for more: Keyboard bashers - you don't need to smash the keyboard to type! People who breath through their nose and it whistles!

what bout folk that continually write in capitals.

That really grips ma *****. ;-)

27-11-2013, 01:16 PM
Talking lifts.

27-11-2013, 05:44 PM
1 Anything that's sealed shut and has the instruction "Simply tear along dotted line" (or the ilk) and you try as hard as you can and it won't open.
2 Drivers who stop at traffic lights then, once the lights turn to green, indicate they are turning right.
3 (As someone said above) "Celebrity" and everything associated with it.
4 Celebrity Autobiographies (Who gives a monkey's derriere about them or their past?)
5 The constant attempt by the TV, Press, advertisers, etc. of trying to equate their exposure of the old firm. i.e. if there's a photo of RFC in the background then there HAS to be one of Celtic too so as not to upset anyone. It's pathetic.
6 Googling a subject on the pc and being led to a website that has no connection with what I'm after.

... to be continued.

brian6-2
28-11-2013, 06:26 AM
few new ones this morning,

folk on the bus listening to music and pretending to play the drums along with it.
folk who feel the need to bellow down the phone on busy buses.
celtic "fans"
folk on facebook who feel the need to remind everyone that their granny died on this day 14 years ago.
folk that cant handle their umbrella's properly.
folk using umbrellas when its not raining.

28-11-2013, 11:49 AM

'nuff said!

28-11-2013, 12:05 PM

'nuff said!

:agree: That raises the hackles on my goat too.

PS Do you only have one make and colour of car in Franceland, and do they all leak from the rear offside wheel? :confused:

28-11-2013, 12:06 PM
:agree: That raises the hackles on my goat too.

PS Do you only have one make and colour of car in Franceland? :confused:

:agree: It takes me 45 minutes to find the right car when I leave work.

(Nah - there's a social work type place downstairs and that's their company cars.)

derekHFC
28-11-2013, 12:27 PM

'nuff said!

This seems to be a common fault in cars that are taken to our local ASDA superstore!

28-11-2013, 12:45 PM
:bitchy:

EH6 Hibby
28-11-2013, 12:50 PM
This seems to be a common fault in cars that are taken to our local ASDA superstore!

Asda in Leith does my head in, on the road going round to the car park, there's always at least 5 cars parked on the double yellow lines at the side of the building, why can't these people drive round to the car park like everyone else? There's usually one parked right next to or just before or after the traffic island as well meaning every car that drives past has to slow down to get past. :grr:

28-11-2013, 03:25 PM
Light bulbs. When I got my first flat 20+ years ago the choice was 60W or 100W and it was all standard bayonet. Only ever needed 2-3 spare bulbs in the house at any time. Now every room seems to require different bulbs - sizes, fitting, wattage, energy saving, clear or not, etc., etc. Add in lamps, inset spotlights and there are about 10-15 different types in my house.

28-11-2013, 04:02 PM
Waiters asking if everything is alright soon as you have shoveled a mouthful in .

28-11-2013, 06:25 PM
In no particular order:

Folk who dont indicate that they are taking the first exit at roundabouts when I'm waiting to enter them.

Cyclists who ignore the publicly financed 4 mile long cycle path between Galashiels and Selkirk and ride on the bloody road instead.

Snobs

Folk of any nationality who say England when they are talking about the UK.

Rudeness

Zealots ..... Religious and Athiest alike.

Bullys

Folk who say ... "How can you not like Rice, Custard, Mince, Coffee"

The fact that I quite like Maroon as a colour :greengrin

28-11-2013, 06:51 PM
Waiters asking if everything is alright soon as you have shoveled a mouthful in .

Yes. Or when you walk into a shop and an assistant pounces on you and starts talking to you. Look just **** off and let me shop on my own. If I want help I'll ask for it.

28-11-2013, 08:59 PM
Yes. Or when you walk into a shop and an assistant pounces on you and starts talking to you. Look just **** off and let me shop on my own. If I want help I'll ask for it.

To be fair most of the time shop assistants are pulled up if they don't do that. It's usually someone in an office at their HQ that decides that's what customers want without ever having contact with their customers.

When I was at Uni I worked in a place where we had to offer a handshake to every customer that walked in. Nobody wanted it but if someone from head office was in then you'd stand by the door offering handshakes to clearly bemused shoppers. ****ing miserable.

28-11-2013, 10:50 PM
To be fair most of the time shop assistants are pulled up if they don't do that. It's usually someone in an office at their HQ that decides that's what customers want without ever having contact with their customers.

When I was at Uni I worked in a place where we had to offer a handshake to every customer that walked in. Nobody wanted it but if someone from head office was in then you'd stand by the door offering handshakes to clearly bemused shoppers. ****ing miserable.

Was it a funny handshake or just a normal one? :angelic:

Mixu62
28-11-2013, 11:31 PM
More bad manners on the bus. I can't stand:

When elderly/disabled people/heavily pregnant women get on a busy bus and nobody moves to give them a seat.

Living in NZ makes me miss the "British sense of fair play" in what we like to call a "queue". Kiwi's don't know how to do that.

School kids taking up space on the normal bus services when they've just let 3 school buses go past. Annoys me when bus goes past stops cos it's already full.

There's plenty more but these 3 are fresh in my mind today.

29-11-2013, 09:55 AM
Any ladies posted on this thread ? What a shower of torn-faced misery guts ! :faf:

brian6-2
29-11-2013, 10:29 AM
More bad manners on the bus. I can't stand:

When elderly/disabled people/heavily pregnant women get on a busy bus and nobody moves to give them a seat.

Living in NZ makes me miss the "British sense of fair play" in what we like to call a "queue". Kiwi's don't know how to do that.

School kids taking up space on the normal bus services when they've just let 3 school buses go past. Annoys me when bus goes past stops cos it's already full.

There's plenty more but these 3 are fresh in my mind today.

or when 2 of the same number buses come at once, the packed one stops to let another 20 folk on and the empty one just flies past. stupid.

29-11-2013, 10:38 AM
Cashline machines, if you are using more than one card you should have to go to the back of the line after each go, not stand there for 5 minutes checking out each one

29-11-2013, 11:00 AM
or when 2 of the same number buses come at once, the packed one stops to let another 20 folk on and the empty one just flies past. stupid.

It's particularly stupid and irritating when it's a service with alternate final destinations, and the one that doesn't stop is the one that you need. :grr:

brian6-2
29-11-2013, 11:06 AM
It's particularly stupid and irritating when it's a service with alternate final destinations, and the one that doesn't stop is the one that you need. :grr:

29-11-2013, 12:36 PM
Those self service checkouts and the weird way they give change.

If i'm getting £1.87 change i expect a poind, a 50, a 20, a 10, a 5 and a 2. What i usually get is 2 50s, 3 20s, a 10, 2 5s and 7 1s.

29-11-2013, 02:39 PM

If i'm getting £1.87 change i expect a poind, a 50, a 20, a 10, a 5 and a 2. What i usually get is 2 50s, 3 20s, a 10, 2 5s and 7 1s.
Self service check outs, i refuse to use them. Bring back serviced fuel pumps.

Twa Cairpets
29-11-2013, 03:53 PM
Commuter trains.

Was on one yesterday dahn sarf.

Possibly the worst, most soul crushingly awful experience it is possible to have.

29-11-2013, 05:05 PM

"Unexpected item in the bagging area..."

29-11-2013, 06:00 PM

And with me it's usually my 4 yo leaning against it!!

29-11-2013, 06:36 PM
Reality shows like Keeping Up With The Kardashians, The Only Way Is Essex and Made In Chelsea etc.

Brain rot.

Cashline machines that make you pay to take out your own money.

Refuse to use them.

02-12-2013, 04:21 PM
Commuter trains.

Was on one yesterday dahn sarf.

Possibly the worst, most soul crushingly awful experience it is possible to have.

You want to try working them. Nightmare!

02-12-2013, 06:43 PM

I hated them until the other week in Tescos when this guy was getting so angry with the self-scanner he started getting unbelievably stressed and calling it a f*****g b*****ding c*** in earshot of everyone. :greengrin

05-12-2013, 06:48 PM
Credits at the start of a film

leemel
06-12-2013, 02:45 AM
frozen butter/ marg in hotels at breakfast time.

06-12-2013, 09:51 AM
Credits at the start of a film

When they're still going on ten minutes into it. :agree:

06-12-2013, 10:10 AM
Shop assistants who get confused when you offer them the odd change to ensure you get a whole note back as change, the till works it out for them anyway.

06-12-2013, 11:54 AM
When they're still going on ten minutes into it. :agree:

American tv series are especially bad for that. You get 2 minutes of "action", the theme tune and the credits then they head into a commercial break.

I hate poor remakes of shows on either side of the Atlantic. We ruin theirs so they ruin one of our classics in revenge.

I hate franchised formula tv. The Americans are especially guilty of this. CSI, Law & Order etc. The originals were very good IMO. The add-ons are only vehicles for actors on the way down.

bobbyhibs1983
06-12-2013, 12:46 PM
alot of similar pet peeves to fellow posters.

1.when you have been waiting in a shopping queue for a while and the person , has there bag packed and thy then get change, relaly annoys me,

2similar to one above but people who have massvie shoppings and look at you with 3-4items, they look at you, and then back to the shop assistant and instead ,feel free to go before me they make you wait.

3. when you are in line at a cash machine, the people who check/do 3-4different cards

4.as a few people have said the lack of please and thank yous does get annoying when you have maybe gone out of your way to help.

5. tv adverts, there are so many on and at the same time!! and i cant tell you what half of them are about though.which is i think were the point of the ad s in the first place?

06-12-2013, 01:10 PM
I've realised in the last few years that I hate just about everything that other people do - no matter how unimportant it is.

Noisy eating and not respecting a queue are the ones that really drive me mental.

06-12-2013, 03:41 PM
The once a year drinkers, who haven't tried to get in a taxi since they couldn't stand last December.

Barman Stanton
06-12-2013, 06:46 PM
People that wait at traffic lights and don't press the button. It's not changing on its own stupid!

Kids that play crap euro pop on their phones on the bus without headphones.

07-12-2013, 08:11 PM
That should be punishable by a sharp poke in the eye.

07-12-2013, 08:40 PM
That should be punishable by a gunshot to the face.

Fixed.

07-12-2013, 10:14 PM
People that wait at traffic lights and don't press the button. It's not changing on its own stupid!

or anyone that plays anything with cheapsh*t 'phones that bleed noise so we all get to "enjoy" the music!

07-12-2013, 10:33 PM
Paul Ross.

09-12-2013, 12:04 AM
The way that stupidity has become something of a desirable quality to some people. I know a couple of girls who intentionally 'dumb down' when they go out because they think it's somehow attractive.

Probably goes some way to explaining the careers of people like those on The Only Way is Essex and Geordie Shore.

09-12-2013, 06:16 AM
When you return to work from leave and someone has sat at your desk, which is fine usually. But you get the odd inconsiderate twat who moves your stuff about and adjusts your chair :grr:

09-12-2013, 08:47 AM
When you return to work from leave and someone has sat at your desk, which is fine usually. But you get the odd inconsiderate twat who moves your stuff about and adjusts your chair :grr:

Dinny apply to be a tennis umpire then :)

derekHFC
09-12-2013, 09:16 AM

Sometimes they do just change - BBC report (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23869955)

09-12-2013, 09:58 AM
Sometimes they do just change - BBC report (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23869955)

Surely everyone realise that at major road junctions the sequence of the lights is not going to be altered by a request at a pedestrian crossing, on stand alone pedestrian crossings the button needs to be pressed or nothing will happen.

09-12-2013, 12:07 PM
Red lights at roadworks in the middle of nowhere that stay red for ages, so long that you think they might just be stuck on red, and the person at the front of the queue decides to just go leaving everyone else with the choice to follow suit or hope the lights change themselves.

Also how annoying is it when an otherwise satisfying Tom kite breaks on its way out and is too far gone to adequately push out but not far enough gone for gravity to get it, leaving you with the option of either sitting and waiting, or wiping it out. :greengrin

09-12-2013, 12:59 PM
This 'I'd rather get beat but play well than watch hoofball' pish that gets banded about on the main board.

10-12-2013, 09:33 AM
sparkling water.

derekHFC
10-12-2013, 10:10 AM
Mothers who drop their kids off at school in their huge 4x4's. If you're going to have a car that size, at least learn how to drive the bloody thing first instead of edging through traffic when there's enough room to fit a bus in the space you're trying to use.

10-12-2013, 10:14 AM
Bottled water and people who buy it.

10-12-2013, 10:38 AM
Not sure if it's been mentioned already but something that really annoys me is when people, who stand at traffic lights, press the button to allow them to cross but then cross the road before the lights actually change to red because they've seen a gap in the traffic and then by the time you (a driver) approach the lights, they are at red with no-one actually waiting to cross and then you have to wait for absolutely no reason at all until they go back to green.

Why couldn't they just leave the button alone if they thought they could cross the road by themselves?

Also non-alcoholic beer really annoys me too.

Really, what is the point?

10-12-2013, 04:42 PM
Bottled water and people who buy it.

I buy it :greengrin

Cause the water in my house gives me a headache.

10-12-2013, 06:50 PM
I buy it :greengrin

Cause the water in my house gives me a headache.

Me too - that is, the water in the bottles with names beginning with G-L-E-N

11-12-2013, 02:09 PM
Me too - that is, the water in the bottles with names beginning with G-L-E-N

11-12-2013, 09:48 PM
When you're looking at something on the shelves in a shop and someone goes and stands in front of you. Does my nut in :grr:

11-12-2013, 10:21 PM
When you're looking at something on the shelves in a shop and someone goes and stands in front of you. Does my nut in :grr:

Just ask them to hand the magazine down from the top shelf and yer problem is solved

12-12-2013, 07:24 AM
When you hold the door for someone and they don't even acknowledge it.

People who don't take responsibility for what they do or have done.

12-12-2013, 07:33 AM
Cyclists who think it's clever to ride along a main road with no hands on the handlebars.

12-12-2013, 11:48 PM
The increasing number of people in the UK who are using Americanisms.

For instance, hearing people over here using the word soccer really winds me up.

It's football!

British people spelling words the American way really gets my goat too.

Legalize, authorize, realize etc.

I don't know if I would cope if we started to spell words like;

liter
meter
center
theater
flavor
defense

:timebomb:

lEXO
13-12-2013, 12:09 AM
Drivers that park on double yellow lines on the corner at junctions (usually van drivers where I live) so you have to edge out to see it,s safe to pull out. Drivers who drop their kids off at school and park on the yellow zig zags outside. They are there to make it safe for their kids. Cyclist with no lights on at night. People who don't pick their dugs ***** up. My neighbour who sticks his washing machine on at half 6 in the morning but complained that I had my music to loud at 9 at night. I,m informed that bolt ya radge is rude! Cyclists on the pavement. Drivers who park on the pavement. Hearts fans in general. The fact The Picture House is closing down and we lose another great music venue. COLDPLAY. That's enough I think.

lEXO
13-12-2013, 12:17 AM
Oh I forgot. Folk who say "no disrespect but". It usually is followed with something disrespectful and me telling them to get tae.

13-12-2013, 05:53 AM
The little 'tie' things they attach to the bottom of bin bags! :grr:

Everyone knows that to tie a knot in a bin bag, you use the bag itself (unless you're a girl). This also makes it easy to carry outside with a convenient one or two finger hooky grip - and that's when you step on the stupid plastic stringy thing attached to the bottom of the bag.

Every time!

So then you bend over to pick it up off the floor (having been detached from the bag by your foot) and then you realise that you've nowhere to put it, having already tied a knot in the bag with itself!

One of these days, I swear, I'll swing for someone ...

13-12-2013, 06:53 AM
My neighbours wind chime, funnily enough it went missing at 2am this morning Haha

13-12-2013, 11:22 PM
When cyclists get off their bikes and walk onto the pavement at a red light and walk past it and then go back to the road.

When a customer decides to put his money onto the bar rather than in my hand - rude as **** I don't have scabies.

14-12-2013, 12:50 AM
When a customer decides to put his money onto the bar rather than in my hand - rude as **** I don't have scabies.

I always used to put their change back on the counter as well.

14-12-2013, 07:07 AM
When cyclists get off their bikes and walk onto the pavement at a red light and walk past it and then go back to the road.

I always used to put their change back on the counter as well.

In France it's the other way about, although putting the cash in someone's hand isn't viewed as rude, it isn't normal either.

Last year I visited Scotland with 20+ French workmates. I made a point of telling them not to pay people by putting the cash on the counter as we didn't wabt to taken for w***ers everywhere we went.

14-12-2013, 09:30 AM
There's a bus stop outside my living room - it irritates the **** out of me when drunken twat ******* students need to show they're having a good time by going 'Woooooooo' like they're on a ****ing rollercoaster.

15-12-2013, 01:25 PM
Folk on here that think posting "fixed that for you" posts are amusing.

(It'll be interesting to see how long it takes until I can roll about the floor in hysterics when its done to this post, some bellend is bound to do it).

15-12-2013, 01:28 PM
Folk on here that think posting "fixed that for you" posts are amusing.

(It'll be interesting to see how long it takes until I can roll about the floor in hysterics when its done to this post). Probably a couple of minutes

Fixed that for you :greengrin

15-12-2013, 03:42 PM
People on here that spell Murdock murdoch.

People on here that spell Oconnor Oconner.

Sky engineers that think THEY are doing YOU a favour when called out and fix your sky box when its cost YOU money to phone out an engineer that is THEIR problem.

Folk that just wont accept Derek Riordan was and IS a living Hibernian legend.

Office workers that sit on their erse all day texting you cause they dont have job to do.

People on here that under estimate my knowledge of Tennis and actually think Falkirkhibee knows more but he just copys & pastes Tennis news!!

Ive been to more hibs games than you so im more of a hibs man.Get a grip ya twat!!

Cliques.

Many many more.

15-12-2013, 04:41 PM

and posters on here that spell the first name of arguably thee best ever footballer to play for Hibernian football club...it's L A W R I E reilly, not ****** L A U R I E dammit :grr::grr:

oh aye, and i haven't drunk tap water for approx 10 years....bottled all the time, and lots of it :flag:

15-12-2013, 04:46 PM
and posters on here that spell the first name of arguably thee best ever footballer to play for Hibernian football club...it's L A W R I E reilly, not ****** L A U R I E dammit :grr::grr:

oh aye, and i haven't drunk tap water for approx 10 years....bottled all the time, and lots of it :flag:

Bottled water defo the way forward :agree:

15-12-2013, 05:48 PM
A football related one.

Tight goalnets that mean the ball shoots back out again after a goal

Should be loose so the ball hits them and drops

15-12-2013, 05:48 PM
People who decide they MUST put random WORDS in capital letters in EVERY sentence.

It's UTTERLY pointless, especially with lots of exclamation marks when one will do!!!!!!

15-12-2013, 07:07 PM
The poor quality of Chinese take aways.

There must only be about 2 decent ones in the whole of Edinburgh.

15-12-2013, 07:16 PM
The poor quality of Chinese take aways.

There must only be about 2 decent ones in the whole of Edinburgh.

Ping on in stockbridge one of your 2?

Loopz
16-12-2013, 12:14 AM
Ping on in stockbridge one of your 2?
I now live in Fife after staying in Canonmills for 8 years. We still travel into Edinburgh for a Ping On carry out. It's my wife's birthday 31/12 and she drove into Edinburgh on her birthday with her twin sister to get us a tasty Chinese for their birthday dinner, think it was 2006 into 2007 when the weather was really bad. The Forth road bridge closed for their return journey and they did not get back until 23:30Hrs. They returned to me and my brother in law, slightly inebriated due to being hungry.

P.S it's having to spend every New year with my sister in law and Jambo husband.:cb

16-12-2013, 02:23 AM
I also stay in Fife and the only Chinese my other half will touch is taste good in slateford. I'm not that fussy but we've had too many bad meals from so many other places so it's best to stick to what's good and reliable even if it means travelling.

I remember getting a chicken dish from a place called hong in Dunfermline. It certainly wasn't chicken. Seagull in a Szechuan sauce?

16-12-2013, 07:42 AM

Sky engineers that think THEY are doing YOU a favour when called out and fix your sky box when its cost YOU money to phone out an engineer that is THEIR problem.

Folk that just wont accept Derek Riordan was and IS a living Hibernian legend.

Office workers that sit on their erse all day texting you cause they dont have job to do.

People on here that under estimate my knowledge of Tennis and actually think Falkirkhibee knows more but he just copys & pastes Tennis news!!

Ive been to more hibs games than you so im more of a hibs man.Get a grip ya twat!!

Cliques.

Many many more.

Folk that think their sky box is unlike every other bit of electricall equipment that they own and thus carries an everlasting warranty. :greengrin

16-12-2013, 09:29 AM
The amount of money you need to spend doing secret f*****g Santa at work. As if it's not expensive enough at Christmas!

16-12-2013, 10:54 AM
The amount of money you need to spend doing secret f*****g Santa at work. As if it's not expensive enough at Christmas!

Just be a miserable ****er and say no. I practice it all year round.

16-12-2013, 12:08 PM
The way that Christmas becomes so many people sole topic of conversation from about now until the day itself.

Are you all organised?
What are you doing?
Got all your presents?
What's your Mum and Dad doing for the big day?
Got all your food in?
Got the tree up?

Working.
No idea.

Don't even get me started on people who stockpile bread and milk because the shops are shut for one ****ing day. One day! Also if you are planning on some apocalyptic scenario why are you buying quick perishables like bread and milk?

Bah humbug.

16-12-2013, 12:19 PM
Drivers (normally women in my experience), who pull out in front of you into traffic, THEN SLOW DOWN to put on their seatbealt, set their GPs, or whatever.

speedy_gonzales
16-12-2013, 03:30 PM
Drivers (normally women in my experience), who pull out in front of you into traffic,
and in doing so cause you to miss the green light as the sequence changes!:grr:
This happened this afternoon to me on Turnhouse Road as a lovely young lady pulled out of 'Jigsaw' nursery just before the Maybury Road. She dallied about with her seatbelt then floored it just as the lights changed to red.
Muggins here then had to wait for the full cycle of the lights at Maybury Junction,,,,2 minutes of my life that I will NEVER get back:rolleyes:

16-12-2013, 06:39 PM
Jack Wills gift boxes.

Seriously £40 for a pair of not quite cotton joggers, £40!!!! And they don't even make the box for you.

Bought them for my sisters Xmas and the box is like something of the Krypton Factor.