View Full Version : Rowan Vine was on 36k a week

13-11-2013, 10:36 PM
NortholtRanger (http://www.hibs.net/member.php?2099-NortholtRanger) QPR fan

I live in Basingstoke and one of Rowan's friends is in my powerleague team (5 a side football team)

He's good friends with Rowan Vine (Who is from Basingstoke) and told me that Rowan was on 36k a week at QPR, no reason not to believe this guy. He said it's because when he signed he had a massive bonus clause when QPR got promotion

I didn't want to say anything while he was under contract as it's not right but that's what his friend said

MattyRangers

Don't doubt that for a minute mate. He was bigging up being on 23k a wk when we were in CCC and , as u say, would have had a big old promotion bonus wacked in his contract. In all honesty can't blame him for sitting it out n being paid. If I could be paid 36k a wk to train abit with the ressies n do naff all with my wkends I wouldn't be complaining. Stupid of the club to give out such a contract

Winalot
36k per week !! Never, half it and you may be close to the actual amount..

Even half that :shocked:

13-11-2013, 10:56 PM
Birmingham once paid £2.5m which rose to £3m for him. There must have been in a player in there, but certainly not anymore from what we have seen anyway!

13-11-2013, 11:01 PM
Does it really matter what he was on before. All these snide digs at the guy are not helping.

13-11-2013, 11:02 PM
Birmingham once paid £2.5m which rose to £3m for him. There must have been in a player in there, but certainly not anymore from what we have seen anyway!

Under aw that hair

13-11-2013, 11:07 PM
Does it really matter what he was on before. All these snide digs at the guy are not helping.

From me ? Beg to differ

13-11-2013, 11:08 PM

This. I hope folks won't get their knickers in a twist when TB gets on with picking the team based on merit. No excuses. Believe in better.

13-11-2013, 11:09 PM
From me ? Beg to differ

Not really directed at you, but what response were you expecting from your op.

13-11-2013, 11:11 PM
Just shows the crazy money down south. If someone like Riordan had been English and starting his career in League 1 instead of the SPL he'd have been signed for £10M earning megabucks. If Vine went for around £2.5 it would not be a ridiculous price...

13-11-2013, 11:18 PM
Not really directed at you, but what response were you expecting from your op.

Not that type , just found it amazing we had a player on such ridiculous wages . He wont be the only one in the squad

13-11-2013, 11:20 PM
I think I've seen glimpses of a player there but he has not applied himself nearly enough for me - he needs to be working his tits off to prove himself to us as he's had a very mediocre start to his career at Hibs. Hopefully Butcher can tease that out of him as an icon of his own country who holds work ethic in high regard

13-11-2013, 11:23 PM
One of my mates is a big QPR supporter so I`ve always been getting his moans and groans about whats going on at Loftus Road. The money that was getting thrown about there a couple of years ago for a spell was utterly grotesque, and everything that was wrong with modern English football.

I think it will be interesting to see if Terry Butcher can spark Rowan Vine`s Hibs career into life. It has been disappointing so far but a new manager and coach could just see him produce the goods that attracted Pat Fenlon`s interest in the first place.

13-11-2013, 11:39 PM
One of my mates is a big QPR supporter so I`ve always been getting his moans and groans about whats going on at Loftus Road. The money that was getting thrown about there a couple of years ago for a spell was utterly grotesque, and everything that was wrong with modern English football.

I think it will be interesting to see if Terry Butcher can spark Rowan Vine`s Hibs career into life. It has been disappointing so far but a new manager and coach could just see him produce the goods that attracted Pat Fenlon`s interest in the first place.

Lets hope so. And if he was earning anything like that at QPR, good luck to him.

13-11-2013, 11:42 PM
Jeez. How the michty have fallen. From 36K per week to not being able to afford razor blades. Poor Laddie.

Nailrod
14-11-2013, 12:05 AM
And well worth every penny! :agree:

14-11-2013, 01:46 AM
He's actually not half as bad as people make out. Needs a goal, and when it eventually comes along and we actually see abit of confidence installed in him, I think a number of people are actually going to be pretty surprised.

dmc1875
14-11-2013, 03:39 AM
He's actually not half as bad as people make out. Needs a goal, and when it eventually comes along and we actually see abit of confidence installed in him, I think a number of people are actually going to be pretty surprised.

I tell you what I feel sorry for him he is a footballer with ability. He is good with his distribution from out wide and has the ability to be a decent player which has been seen throughout the teams he has played for

He gets unfair criticism it should be he up front before Collins every time in my book I'm yet to see what Collins offers

Nailrod
14-11-2013, 04:02 AM
I don't think he's nearly as bad as people make out either. For a big guy who's not very quick he has quite neat feet. May be he'll be a new Ally Mcleod. Ally was a bit slow to get going with Hibs but once he found his feet he was outstanding...

What? :greengrin

14-11-2013, 04:44 AM
He will never even hit double figures in his career at hibs. But riordan on the other hand. .

mikewynne
14-11-2013, 06:29 AM
Whatever ability he has is being limited by his lack of confidence. I feel a little sorry for him because his lack of confidence is hiding whatever ability he has. The end result is that I see a scared, limited player and I have no idea how good he could be.

cocteautwin
14-11-2013, 07:11 AM
Whilst on the subject of wage thieves:

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/nov/13/chelsea-still-paying-roberto-di-matteo-130000-week

14-11-2013, 07:20 AM

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/nov/13/chelsea-still-paying-roberto-di-matteo-130000-week

Why does that make him a wage thief? I agree its an obscene amount of money, but not uncommon for that level of football (a Champions League winning manager!) and especially for a club like Chelsea. Abramovich couldnt wait to sack him, so Di Matteo is entitled to every bit of compensation he is owed in my eyes.

As for Vine, that is quite a lot of money based on what Ive seen so far, but he did have a fairly good reputation during his QPR days. Im not sure how common that wage would have been for a Championship player back then though (obviously its become more common as the money invested in English football has began to move down the leagues)?

NatureBoy
14-11-2013, 08:15 AM
There must be a player in there if clubs have splashed out that amount of coin on him. In fairness I've saw a few glimpses I do stress the word glimpses.

Maybe if he's made all that cash, he's not really that driven to recapture his old form or fitness, who knows!

14-11-2013, 08:20 AM

He looked lively in spells at home against Malmö and "scored" a cracker which was unfortunately offside but thems the breaks. Clean slate although dredging up bygone days will surely help. Jesus wept. If we as a support cannot move forward how the hell do we expect the players?

14-11-2013, 08:27 AM
Lets be honest, if you were on 36k a week and now on 2k a week would u bother trying :-))

14-11-2013, 08:32 AM
I don't think he's nearly as bad as people make out either. For a big guy who's not very quick he has quite neat feet. May be he'll be a new Ally Mcleod. Ally was a bit slow to get going with Hibs but once he found his feet he was outstanding...

What? :greengrin

Ah but Ally could play and one of the most two footed players ever to grace ER. Once saw him take a free kick about 22 yards from goal. Bang - Goal. Straight into right hand side. Ref ordered it retaken so Ally just put it into the opposite side. Genius. Also met him a few times and was a really nice guy and good company.

14-11-2013, 08:34 AM
Lets be honest, if you were on 36k a week and now on 2k a week would u bother trying :-))

If he doesn't try, he's on his way to Sunday amateurs and £0 per week.

Mind you, blowing oot yer erse can make it look like you're trying in Sunday amateurs.

14-11-2013, 08:37 AM
I'm willing to give every player another chance now that Big Terry is in place, Vine included. There's very few players in that squad who, based on their history, shouldn't be able to step it up.

I reckon that a few of them - Collins, Vine, Heffernan, Craig and more - have been hamstrung in doing their jobs by the way we were set up to play by the previous regime.

14-11-2013, 09:08 AM
Lets be honest, if you were on 36k a week and now on 2k a week would u bother trying :-))If I couldn't be bothered trying i'd retire.

14-11-2013, 09:15 AM
I'm willing to give every player another chance now that Big Terry is in place, Vine included. There's very few players in that squad who, based on their history, shouldn't be able to step it up.

I reckon that a few of them - Collins, Vine, Heffernan, Craig and more - have been hamstrung in doing their jobs by the way we were set up to play by the previous regime.

:agree: 100% :top marks

14-11-2013, 09:49 AM
He signed a 4.5 year deal with QPR at a time when they had just been taken over by some of the richest people in the world. Fair play to him and his agent. Hope he managed to save some cash.

14-11-2013, 10:03 AM

If you couldn't be bothered trying at 36k a week, would you bother trying at 2? :wink:

The truth about Vine is that he had an "ok" couple of years with Luton Town quite some time ago. Since then, he's never really done anything of note and has become a millionaire out of it. It just happens for some people.

Kaff
14-11-2013, 11:22 AM
He signed a 4.5 year deal with QPR at a time when they had just been taken over by some of the richest people in the world. Fair play to him and his agent. Hope he managed to save some cash.

I think it was £2.5m that QPR paid Luton for him when he was bang in form, started well at QPR but broke his leg badly and unfortunately for him the specialist treating him tried new treatment on him which apparently involved no cast or support for the bone. It went disastrously with setback after setback and the QPR support backed him as this was obviously no fault of his but as time wore on and he was healed and ready to get game time his attitude was called into question, reluctant to go out on loan and refusing to leave his lucrative contract.
Was he affected mentally by this protracted recovery and constant setbacks? Don't know but the player I saw on tv for St Johnstone looked hungry and was an effective player for them, surely on less than £2k a week too. Steve Lomas would have been at QPR when Vine was and he must have seen enough to give him his chance and certainly he got a good return from him imo.
He was a slight built lad before his injury and as with many who get career threatening breaks they can come back heavier built and have to alter their game, I don't think he will ever be that player so highly valued at Luton but if he can get his confidence back and show his St Johnstone form then there is plenty to work on.

14-11-2013, 11:35 AM
I think it was £2.5m that QPR paid Luton for him when he was bang in form, started well at QPR but broke his leg badly and unfortunately for him the specialist treating him tried new treatment on him which apparently involved no cast or support for the bone. It went disastrously with setback after setback and the QPR support backed him as this was obviously no fault of his but as time wore on and he was healed and ready to get game time his attitude was called into question, reluctant to go out on loan and refusing to leave his lucrative contract.
Was he affected mentally by this protracted recovery and constant setbacks? Don't know but the player I saw on tv for St Johnstone looked hungry and was an effective player for them, surely on less than £2k a week too. Steve Lomas would have been at QPR when Vine was and he must have seen enough to give him his chance and certainly he got a good return from him imo.
He was a slight built lad before his injury and as with many who get career threatening breaks they can come back heavier built and have to alter their game, I don't think he will ever be that player so highly valued at Luton but if he can get his confidence back and show his St Johnstone form then there is plenty to work on.

It was Birmingham that paid 2.5 million for him mate , QPR paid 1 million for him .

Saints couldnt afford to keep him , he was their joint top scorer .

When I knew I was coming away from St Johnstone, I told my representatives that I had enjoyed it in Scotland but if I was to come back I would want to play for one of the proper clubs in the SPL."And I think Hibs are widely regarded as being up there as a proper football club with proper facilities and somewhere you should enjoy playing your football

Kaff
14-11-2013, 11:40 AM
It was Birmingham that paid 2.5 million for him mate , QPR paid 1 million for him .

Saints couldnt afford to keep him , he was their joint top scorer .

When I knew I was coming away from St Johnstone, I told my representatives that I had enjoyed it in Scotland but if I was to come back I would want to play for one of the proper clubs in the SPL."And I think Hibs are widely regarded as being up there as a proper football club with proper facilities and somewhere you should enjoy playing your football

Actually forgot about him being at Birmingham, cheers

14-11-2013, 02:57 PM
I saw RV play for Luton on a few occasions & I was very impressed each time. He was a reasonably natural goal scorer, but his main asset was his creativity. We saw a glimpse at Well when he made an excellent blindside run, turn & laid on a great chance for Collins. If he can play at about 80% of his Luton standard he'll be fine in SPFL. As other posters have said they all start with a clean sheet, on a separate note, wonder if Callum Booth has been contacted by new team?

14-11-2013, 06:15 PM
From what i've seen so far, he deserves to be on about 36K a YEAR!!

14-11-2013, 06:32 PM
If he doesn't try, he's on his way to Sunday amateurs and £0 per week.

Mind you, blowing oot yer erse can make it look like you're trying in Sunday amateurs.

Tried this Sunday Amateur lark, have you? Interested.

cocteautwin
15-11-2013, 03:01 AM

Nah, I'd turn up for work scruffy and unkempt, looking like I hadn't wiped my ar$e for a few months.

15-11-2013, 04:34 AM
I don't really know what the point of this thread is.

If its suggesting that such a player perhaps isn't compatible with the new regime then only time will tell. ICT were built on hunger and if Vine, or anyone else thinks they have made it or reached a point where they can relax then I'm sure they will be given two very different options.

15-11-2013, 07:23 AM
From what i've seen so far, he deserves to be on about 36K a YEAR!!

I think that could be said of all our strikers this season.

To be fair to them, any striker would struggle when their midfield is is set up with no width and more often than not, 50 yards away

15-11-2013, 08:33 AM
Judging by recent photographs of Fletcher and McFadden, it would appear the much maligned Vine is a veritable style guru.

15-11-2013, 11:10 AM

No wonder Di Matteo hasn't got another job. I imagine he might be focusing on "other interests" until July 2014, when he might suddenly be back in the market for a coaching role.

Teo10
15-11-2013, 01:30 PM
I've said this time and time again. There is a player in there, without doubt, look at his goal he scored against us last season, couple of stepovers, cut inside and sunk it in the top bag. He clearly has no confidence and looks unfit, but he should be played out wide not as a striker, he does fancy himself a bit but hopefully with Butcher in, he can give him a wee boot up the erchie and get him playing again. I for one didn't see him "hiding" against Hearts, he was trying to hug the touchline and stretch their backline out (Thus giving space for midfielders to make runs through the gaps in defence). As frustrating as he can get at times at least he is trying a trick to go past someone instead of going backwards.

I'm probably alone in thinking that but hoping if he does come good then you can all look back and think I defo play too much Football Manager:wink:

(I don't play FM atall:greengrin)

15-11-2013, 01:42 PM
I've said this time and time again. There is a player in there, without doubt, look at his goal he scored against us last season, couple of stepovers, cut inside and sunk it in the top bag. He clearly has no confidence and looks unfit, but he should be played out wide not as a striker, he does fancy himself a bit but hopefully with Butcher in, he can give him a wee boot up the erchie and get him playing again. I for one didn't see him "hiding" against Hearts, he was trying to hug the touchline and stretch their backline out (Thus giving space for midfielders to make runs through the gaps in defence). As frustrating as he can get at times at least he is trying a trick to go past someone instead of going backwards.

I'm probably alone in thinking that but hoping if he does come good then you can all look back and think I defo play too much Football Manager:wink:

(I don't play FM atall:greengrin)

:agree: Played there with Saints and ended up joint top scorer

15-11-2013, 01:46 PM
I quite like Vine tbh.

I like his beard and reckon he could become a decent player. He was excellent against Kilmarnock away. I have a lot more time for him than the clowns who love to abuse him at every opportunity.