View Full Version : Favourite Biscuit.

07-11-2013, 07:16 PM
Im quite partial to a kitkat but only have one when im having a cuppa tea.

I like foxes classics when im working and a jammy wagon wheel or 2 when am munchin.

Kinda trying to say i like biscuits for different occasions..

Whats your favourite biccy ?

Twa Cairpets
07-11-2013, 07:25 PM
Jam Rings

Thread Closed.

07-11-2013, 08:23 PM
Years ago it was Ayton Sandwich

Nowadays it's any biscuit I can get my hands on :greengrin

07-11-2013, 08:23 PM
foxes classics

07-11-2013, 08:27 PM

07-11-2013, 08:31 PM

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm plain chocolate ones :coffee:

07-11-2013, 08:35 PM
As far savoury biscuits go - M&S do a flat black olive cracker that is the business with cheese and/or pate.

There isn't a better biscuit on the market and I'm on at least a packet a week.

07-11-2013, 08:46 PM
As a bairn it was a bourbon. Gently nibble top part off leaving the chocolate exposed. Lick the chocolate then scoff the remaining biscuit. Bliss

07-11-2013, 09:03 PM
Jaffa cakes :devil:

07-11-2013, 09:10 PM
Maryland chocolate chip cookies, especially the gooey ones, want them now cheers

07-11-2013, 09:32 PM
Caramel chocolate digestives.

07-11-2013, 10:47 PM
I used to love Penguins but they are nothing like what they were.

Favourite now is probably a dark chocolate digestive or a Tunnocks Caramel Wafer.

07-11-2013, 11:53 PM
jammy wagon wheel

Not a biscuit.

Jaffa cakes :devil:

Not a biscuit and you know it, troll.

Tunnocks Caramel Wafer.

Beyond delicious, but not a biscuit.

Best biscuit, as any fule kno, is the Party Ring.

alnewhaven
08-11-2013, 06:07 AM
As a bairn it was a bourbon. Gently nibble top part off leaving the chocolate exposed. Lick the chocolate then scoff the remaining biscuit. Bliss
Mind doing that with club biscuits, nibble the chocolate off then eat biscuit. Nowadays chocolate so thin though

bandylegs_jLeighton
08-11-2013, 06:21 AM
The only biscuit I really like is a german (empire) biscuit. Mmm.

08-11-2013, 06:45 AM
Caramel chocolate digestives.

Correct answer!

08-11-2013, 10:18 AM
custard creams. End of.

McSwanky
08-11-2013, 12:11 PM
Not a biscuit.

Caramel wafers are so biscuits.

Twa Cairpets
08-11-2013, 01:08 PM
custard creams. End of.

While I do like a Custard Cream, as I said earlier, after the words "Jam Rings" are typed, the thread really should have been closed as they simply are the definitive biscuit.

Anyone disagreeing is wrong.

FACT!

brian6-2
08-11-2013, 01:40 PM
original rocky robin.

great biscuit.

blaikie
08-11-2013, 02:38 PM
Custard Creams!

08-11-2013, 03:22 PM
If I'm not allowed a jaffa cake then it would have to be all butter shortbread.

08-11-2013, 03:59 PM
Il chuck in pink panthers tae. Messy but pleasantly enjoyable.

08-11-2013, 04:52 PM
I believe Jaffa Cakes are "officially" biscuits, something to do with less tax being charged on biscuits than cakes, so they went out of their way to prove it!

IIRC Mr Fry on QI is my point of reference! :-)

08-11-2013, 05:04 PM
I believe Jaffa Cakes are "officially" biscuits, something to do with less tax being charged on biscuits than cakes, so they went out of their way to prove it!

Did a wee bit more digging, I got it the wrong way round, they successfully argued at a VAT Tribunal that it was a cake as the tax is lower on cakes than biscuits!

08-11-2013, 05:33 PM
Jammie Wagon Wheels

08-11-2013, 05:33 PM

Did a wee bit more digging, I got it the wrong way round, they successfully argued at a VAT Tribunal that it was a cake as the tax is lower on cakes than biscuits!

Pedant Alert

What differentiates a cake and a biscuit, is a biscuit turns soft when it's past its sell-by date, whereas, a cake goes hard.

That's honestly how the Food Standards folks grade cakes and biscuits for VAT purposes.

08-11-2013, 05:58 PM
Theres not many things that go hard after their sell by date! :-o

08-11-2013, 11:12 PM
The only biscuit I really like is a german (empire) biscuit. Mmm.

I retract my previous Party Ring statement. German biscuit is indeed the indisputably correct answer. I'm sure this has come up on here before, but retaining the original 'German biscuit' moniker is an East coast thing - when I lived in Glasgow I used to get into an almost daily argument with a local snack vendor over this. I'd ask for a German biscuit, she'd ask if I meant an Empire biscuit, I'd say, no, I meant a German biscuit, and the cycle would continue until she cracked and graciously agreed to accept my money in exchange for what was demonstrably a German biscuit.

You can't get them down here, you just can't. I scoff a couple whenever I'm back in Edinburgh, and a while ago a friend posted me four from Morrisons in Warrington. What a day that was.

09-11-2013, 11:50 PM
I retract my previous Party Ring statement. German biscuit is indeed the indisputably correct answer. I'm sure this has come up on here before, but retaining the original 'German biscuit' moniker is an East coast thing - when I lived in Glasgow I used to get into an almost daily argument with a local snack vendor over this. I'd ask for a German biscuit, she'd ask if I meant an Empire biscuit, I'd say, no, I meant a German biscuit, and the cycle would continue until she cracked and graciously agreed to accept my money in exchange for what was demonstrably a German biscuit.

You can't get them down here, you just can't. I scoff a couple whenever I'm back in Edinburgh, and a while ago a friend posted me four from Morrisons in Warrington. What a day that was.

Wow, I never even knew they were called German biscuits...

Never once heard them being called that in either Fife or Edinburgh...

Twa Cairpets
10-11-2013, 08:09 AM

It has been on here before, but for me growing up they were German or Belgian Biscuits. I've never called them Empire biscuits.

10-11-2013, 10:20 AM
Jammy Dodgers

10-11-2013, 01:57 PM
McVities Cheesy cheddars for me.Not sure if they go soft after their sell by date as once they are opened they need to be finished:greengrin

10-11-2013, 02:44 PM
Orange club :top marks.

10-11-2013, 02:45 PM
Fig rolls.

10-11-2013, 03:10 PM
Caramel TRIO were my favourite until they disappeared, now its Tunnocks Caramel Wafer.

10-11-2013, 03:40 PM
Disco biscuits

10-11-2013, 04:17 PM
Disco biscuits
They are like wagon wheels . Not as good as they used to be :-)

Twa Cairpets
10-11-2013, 04:25 PM
Orange club :top marks.

Seriously?

That's just wrong

:jamboak:

10-11-2013, 05:28 PM
Surprised chocolate hob nobs havent been mentioned tbh. Quality biscuits.

10-11-2013, 06:18 PM
Seriously?

That's just wrong

:jamboak:

I like a wee mint Club though.

Jam Rings eh TC? Not for me...

10-11-2013, 06:20 PM

Might be a generational thing as I've always called them German biscuits!

10-11-2013, 06:23 PM
Kit Kat - I have a serious addiction to them.

10-11-2013, 06:23 PM

So did my Grandad :duck:

S.sct
10-11-2013, 07:25 PM
Dark chocolate digestive, im a sucker for a chocci didgie

Sent from my GT-I8190N using Tapatalk

10-11-2013, 07:37 PM
Il chuck in pink panthers tae. Messy but pleasantly enjoyable.

Old Skool bickies mate. Wagon Wheels choccy digestives

Or even a plain digestive with a wee bit butter spread on them.

But a bickie isn't the same without a quality string coffee.

Twa Cairpets
10-11-2013, 07:55 PM
I like a wee mint Club though.

Jam Rings eh TC? Not for me...

Mental Epicureanism.

Oops wrong thread :wink:

Mint or orange in biscuits is just pointless. For example, why spoil matchmakers with artificial essence of vegetation?

Pennywise Jam Rings are the genius ultimate pinnacle of the biscuit makers art, in the same way BBQ Hula Hoops are the indisputable king of crisps.

10-11-2013, 07:59 PM
Mental Epicureanism.

Oops wrong thread :wink:

Mint or orange in biscuits is just pointless. For example, why spoil matchmakers with artificial essence of vegetation?

Pennywise Jam Rings are the genius ultimate pinnacle of the biscuit makers art, in the same way BBQ Hula Hoops are the indisputable king of crisps.

Baws.

11-11-2013, 02:12 AM
Personally I enjoy a nice coconut ring from the shops or a milk chocolate digestive.

The best biscuit I ever had was from Melissa's in London on Camden High Street. Chocolate and pecan cookies and cinnamon and oat cookies :drool:

11-11-2013, 06:18 AM
Bourbons.

11-11-2013, 02:38 PM
My next one.

12-11-2013, 03:43 AM
Years ago I had relatives that came over from Norway regularly and they used to bring these soft, spicy cookies with a sugary, white coating. They referred to them as German biscuits but they were nothing like the ones described earlier.

I could live off them!

12-11-2013, 07:28 AM
Years ago I had relatives that came over from Norway regularly and they used to bring these soft, spicy cookies with a sugary, white coating. They referred to them as German biscuits but they were nothing like the ones described earlier.

I could live off them!

Sounds like lebkuchen - sort of like gingerbread but softer.

12-11-2013, 04:40 PM
Sounds like lebkuchen - sort of like gingerbread but softer.

Maybe my post belongs in the "favourite cakes" thread then.

12-11-2013, 08:10 PM
So did my Grandad :duck:

:greengrin I know, he told me that when I was giving him a lift over at ER once :greengrin

12-11-2013, 10:03 PM
Blue riband. yummy.

13-11-2013, 01:23 AM
I'm becoming quite a fan of Peanut Butter Kit Kats, very tasty!

15-11-2013, 03:50 PM

Fifers call them double biscuits. Mentalists.

16-11-2013, 03:57 AM
Fifers call them double biscuits. Mentalists.

Fifers just say what they see.

Let's be honest, it is just one plonked on top of another one.:tee hee:

16-11-2013, 11:56 AM

I used to be a baker and they were called german biscuits when we were making them.

16-11-2013, 03:42 PM
I used to be a baker and they were called german biscuits when we were making them.

Bet you were minted... As a baker did you make plenty Dough ?

16-11-2013, 06:01 PM
Bet you were minted... As a baker did you make plenty Dough ?

There's no knead. You're just trying to get a rise out of him.

17-11-2013, 12:54 AM
Ah the old ones are still the best :greengrin