View Full Version : Motorbike test.

08-10-2013, 04:10 PM
Wanna get myself a Motorbike after the year but will need to pass my test first, Just looking for feedback as to how hard it is to pass your test and how it works ?... Cheers in advance.

davy malcolm
08-10-2013, 04:37 PM
There are different types of tests the difference is a 125cc test you are restricted to drive no more than 500 cc for two years or sit on a 500 cc and you can do Any cc you want it's harder than a car test I think your only allowed 7 minor faults during the test

Sent from my HTC One X+ using Tapatalk 4

08-10-2013, 05:05 PM
Cheers Davy...I would have thought a motorbike test would be easier than a car test as their is no real reversing or changing gears with a motorbike ?..Not wanting a monster motorbike nor the ones you see wee jakeys on

Casey1875
08-10-2013, 06:12 PM
Cheers Davy...I would have thought a motorbike test would be easier than a car test as their is no real reversing or changing gears with a motorbike ?..Not wanting a monster motorbike nor the ones you see wee jakeys on

Unless you want a scooter you will need to change gears! You can get some big scooters now though, not all of them are 50cc.

If you sit your cbt you can ride a 125 with l plates on till you pass your test.

08-10-2013, 06:24 PM
Unless you want a scooter you will need to change gears! You can get some big scooters now though, not all of them are 50cc.

If you sit your cbt you can ride a 125 with l plates on till you pass your test.

Cheers Casey :aok:

08-10-2013, 06:27 PM
I passed my bike test about 12 years ago and found it pretty easy. Main thing is road position, and awareness. Observation, Signal, Position and Move. Always remember your life saver look.

And hang onto any temptation to rip through the gears while you have L plates on :greengrin

08-10-2013, 07:04 PM
Any idea where to get a decent Vespa ...a real vespa no one o those electric efforts ..not seen many (if any) on gum tree, although I wouldn't really trust that place anyway ..

Ps ..sorry for the hijack Andy ..:aok:

speedy_gonzales
08-10-2013, 07:44 PM
I sat my 'DAS' with the guys at 'City School of Motoring (http://www.yourbiketest.com/)' down at Seafield Road. When I was there the two senior instructors were John & Trish, apparently they helped train motorcycle cops so they obviously know their stuff.
I sat the tests back in '04 and not a lot has changed. Basically, if you're over 24, and sit a test on a bike over 500odd CC's then you are legal to ride any size of bike you wish, with no restrictions.
I had zero experience of motorbikes, just had an itch that needed scratched. The training was carried out over 5 separate days. The 1st day was the CBT on a little Suzuki 125SR. Then 2 further days on the SR with another 2 days on a larger +500cc Yamaha. I done the training at free weekends as I was quite busy at work so it took about 6 weeks from start to finish. The training was centred around safety and awareness rather than just getting you to pass an exam.
After the CBT, not only do you have the practical exam to ready for but the theory and hazard perception tests. All new stuff to me as I had passed my car test before they brought in all the extra tests. The 'school' held weekly revision nights where anyone about to sit a test could come along and sit mock theory tests at no extra charge. I went a couple of times but to be honest if you're familiar with the highway code it's not essential. The hazard perception test was a bit more challenging though, if you've never done it before then research it. Personally I thought it was a bit of a joke and impossible to fail but apparently some folk do!
The actual practical exam went smoothly enough for me but there is a fairly high fail rate, out of the 5 people that sat the test when I done it, 2 failed. On a bike you are obviously more exposed and errors seem to be penalised harsher than if you were in a car, that was my understanding anyway.
The one part of the test I dreaded was the turn in the road, a controlled turn whilst slipping the clutch, feathering the rear brake and watching out for other road users. I dropped the bike a few times whilst learning but Trish from the school gave me a few good tips and I cracked it the lesson before the test!
One thing I would say is the learning curve you experience when you straddle an iron horse. I think all drivers should have a day on a bike as per the CBT, it makes you far more aware of your positioning and those around you as well as giving you an insight on the vulnerability of some road users.

08-10-2013, 08:01 PM
Brilliant Speedy cheers for that :aok:

08-10-2013, 08:05 PM
The one part of the test I dreaded was the turn in the road, a controlled turn whilst slipping the clutch, feathering the rear brake and watching out for other road users. I dropped the bike a few times whilst learning ...

haha, now you mention it that was the hardest thing. I wonder how many times those 500's have been dropped :greengrin

05-11-2013, 04:16 PM
CBT..You got to have a full driving license first tho eh ?

05-11-2013, 04:24 PM
Any idea where to get a decent Vespa ...a real vespa no one o those electric efforts ..not seen many (if any) on gum tree, although I wouldn't really trust that place anyway ..

K, this link to ebay

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/Cars-Motorcycles-Vehicles-/9800/i.html?_from=R40&_nkw=vespa+scooter&_sop=7

I've listed them by virtue of distance from my postcode but if you've got an ebay account you can put your own search in and it'll come up

05-11-2013, 04:32 PM
K, this link to ebay

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/Cars-Motorcycles-Vehicles-/9800/i.html?_from=R40&_nkw=vespa+scooter&_sop=7

I've listed them by virtue of distance from my postcode but if you've got an ebay account you can put your own search in and it'll come upCheers J ..will have a look at that later mate ..:aok:

deek
07-11-2013, 10:03 AM
Two Wheels near Cameron Toll used to do the courses as well. One week blitz course and you can get your license. If you can, go for the 500cc, that way you can ride anything, plus it is actually safer on a bigger bike.

07-11-2013, 04:55 PM

Cheapest place to do CBT is http://www.dunfermlinemotorcycletrainingscheme.co.uk everywhere else is around £150, these guys charge £100.

If you want to look cool don't get a bike get one of these.
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/08/upyne2ab.jpg

If you've plenty wedge and want to look super cool then this is the very machine :greengrin
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/08/aju2ytaq.jpg

I'm too miserable to splash out on one so am still on the more reliable vespa px.

07-11-2013, 05:01 PM

It depends what you want, if it's a new one then eclipse at Tranent.
I would also recommend the lml star, indian made replica. Exact same spec and lml made over capacity for piaggio previously. They're about a grand cheaper.

If it's 2nd hand then eBay or classifieds in scootering as good a place as any to start.

Here's my current scooter

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/08/jynamu7u.jpg

07-11-2013, 05:37 PM
You dinnae need a car driving license for a cbt test do you ?..Aken that sounds bizzare :greengrin

07-11-2013, 06:00 PM
No, just a provisional licence.

07-11-2013, 06:10 PM
No, just a provisional licence.

07-11-2013, 06:50 PM
K, this link to ebay

I've listed them by virtue of distance from my postcode but if you've got an ebay account you can put your own search in and it'll come up

Weird! Clicked on that link and it came up on my post code - now wondering if you live in my street and, if so, which one you are!

07-11-2013, 07:02 PM
It depends what you want, if it's a new one then eclipse at Tranent.
I would also recommend the lml star, indian made replica. Exact same spec and lml made over capacity for piaggio previously. They're about a grand cheaper.

If it's 2nd hand then eBay or classifieds in scootering as good a place as any to start.

Here's my current scooter

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/08/jynamu7u.jpgThats exactly what I want ..smart as **** ,...:agree:

07-11-2013, 07:25 PM
Thats exactly what I want ..smart as **** ,...:agree:

That's the fifth vespa I've had over the years, next scoot is definitely going to be a lambretta though. Hopefully an sx but more likely a gp, given the cost of them these days.

07-11-2013, 08:19 PM
Weird! Clicked on that link and it came up on my post code - now wondering if you live in my street and, if so, which one you are!

One of two explanations here:-

1. You have an eBay account and the software automatically replaced my postcode with yours, or

2. You have a stalker :greengrin

My money is on number 1 :thumbsup:

07-11-2013, 08:22 PM
Cheapest place to do CBT is http://www.dunfermlinemotorcycletrainingscheme.co.uk everywhere else is around £150, these guys charge £100.

If you want to look cool don't get a bike get one of these.
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/08/upyne2ab.jpg

If you've plenty wedge and want to look super cool then this is the very machine :greengrin
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/08/aju2ytaq.jpg

I'm too miserable to splash out on one so am still on the more reliable vespa px.

D, that Lambretta is the business :thumbsup:

I had one when I was 16, an LI125 and loved it to bits. Reg was VFS928 (1959 I believe) Bought it for £50 (£3 a week :greengrin) from Reid, Allan & Paterson in Broughton Street Lane

Have now reached an age when I want another one :greengrin

07-11-2013, 10:26 PM
D, that Lambretta is the business :thumbsup:

I had one when I was 16, an LI125 and loved it to bits. Reg was VFS928 (1959 I believe) Bought it for £50 (£3 a week :greengrin) from Reid, Allan & Paterson in Broughton Street Lane

Have now reached an age when I want another one :greengrin

The price on vintage lambrettas is frightening, though I suppose it is over 40 years since innocenti stopped building them.

Check this cracker, make sure your sitting down when you see the price though :greengrin
http://www.scootopia.co.uk/product/7076-3391/Lambretta-SX200

08-11-2013, 05:29 AM
That's the fifth vespa I've had over the years, next scoot is definitely going to be a lambretta though. Hopefully an sx but more likely a gp, given the cost of them these days.What sort of average price would a second hand one cost D ..& if that's yer 5th one ...are they plagued wi mechanical problems or was it just through choice ....or bad "riding"....:greengrin

08-11-2013, 08:02 AM
Should have qualified that - 5th over 25 year period :greengrin

If you don't bugger about with kits then they're super reliable they go on an on forever. My first one was a 1982 p200 with a t5 125 engine kitted to 170cc or thereabouts. Flying machine but not so reliable.
Others all bog standard and only changed to trade in for newer models, or through having a break from scootering.

Lml star 125 you could get for £800 upwards, vespa px 125 the same but would be an older bike

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VESPA-PX125-DISC-02-REG-ONLY-5800KM-YEARS-MOT-VERY-TIDY-BIKE-/190960861507?pt=UK_Motorcycles&hash=item2c76278143

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LML-Star-125-2-Stroke-09-reg-/181253340100?pt=UK_Motorcycle_Parts&hash=item2a338a7bc4

08-11-2013, 07:23 PM
The price on vintage lambrettas is frightening, though I suppose it is over 40 years since innocenti stopped building them.

Check this cracker, make sure your sitting down when you see the price though :greengrin
http://www.scootopia.co.uk/product/7076-3391/Lambretta-SX200

A cracker indeed but the price is scary!

10-11-2013, 02:26 PM
A boy I was playing darts against had just bought a Lambretta.I was quizzing him about it as there are loads of Vespas in Thailand but it is the 1st Lambretta Ive seen.He paid 200,000baht for it which is about £4000.He got a bargain judging by the price of that other one:greengrin

10-11-2013, 04:55 PM
Should have qualified that - 5th over 25 year period :greengrin

If you don't bugger about with kits then they're super reliable they go on an on forever. My first one was a 1982 p200 with a t5 125 engine kitted to 170cc or thereabouts. Flying machine but not so reliable.
Others all bog standard and only changed to trade in for newer models, or through having a break from scootering.

Lml star 125 you could get for £800 upwards, vespa px 125 the same but would be an older bike

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VESPA-PX125-DISC-02-REG-ONLY-5800KM-YEARS-MOT-VERY-TIDY-BIKE-/190960861507?pt=UK_Motorcycles&hash=item2c76278143

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LML-Star-125-2-Stroke-09-reg-/181253340100?pt=UK_Motorcycle_Parts&hash=item2a338a7bc4There was a guy at the game had one like yours, parked it in wee industrial estate opp the east stand ..smart as ..:agree:

10-11-2013, 06:42 PM
There was a guy at the game had one like yours, parked it in wee industrial estate opp the east stand ..smart as ..:agree:

Was way too cold for mine to be taken out the garage :greengrin