View Full Version : Fraser Mullen criticised for tweet, apologises

30-09-2013, 05:48 PM
http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2013/09/30/scotland-hibernian-footballer-criticised-for-tweet-at-homosexual-poof/

If this is true then I would suggest Pat Fenlon imposes a blanket ban on any Hibernian player tweeting on twitter - it detracts from what players are paid to do and no good can come of it. If this tweet really did come from Mullen then he is a very silly laddie - he's on a one year deal and should be keeping his head down and trying to impress for a longer contract rather than making the papers for all the wrong reasons.

Suburban Hibby
30-09-2013, 06:06 PM
http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2013/09/30/scotland-hibernian-footballer-criticised-for-tweet-at-homosexual-poof/

If this is true then I would suggest Pat Fenlon imposes a blanket ban on any Hibernian player tweeting on twitter - it detracts from what players are paid to do and no good can come of it. If this tweet really did come from Mullen then he is a very silly laddie - he's on a one year deal and should be keeping his head down and trying to impress for a longer contract rather than making the papers for all the wrong reasons.

Really think a bit of context needs to be used before slating the boy- it may well be he is getting abused/ noised up/ threatened and he has had enough and told him to bolt- no special treatment because it was a homosexual involved.

30-09-2013, 06:09 PM
I wonder how the guy ruined his night. Maybe he persisted in making unwelcome advances? The use of the word 'poof' is maybe out of order these days - especially in the written word, but it seems to me that some people trawl twitter with the sole purpose of being outraged.

30-09-2013, 06:19 PM
I wonder how the guy ruined his night. Maybe he persisted in making unwelcome advances? The use of the word 'poof' is maybe out of order these days - especially in the written word, but it seems to me that some people trawl twitter with the sole purpose of being outraged.

Seems Fraser has done the sum total of zip wrong .... http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2010/06/11/lezza-poof-and-queer-are-acceptable-on-tv-ofcom-study-finds/

30-09-2013, 06:29 PM
The pink news has gone for a different customer base from the days when I used to buy it :)

Suburban Hibby
30-09-2013, 06:36 PM
Seems Fraser has done the sum total of zip wrong .... http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2010/06/11/lezza-poof-and-queer-are-acceptable-on-tv-ofcom-study-finds/

What - homosexual outcry over the sum total of hee-haw??

Surely some mistake.

30-09-2013, 06:41 PM

That's not what the article says.

hibbymick
30-09-2013, 06:47 PM
Its just handbags.

30-09-2013, 06:59 PM
Its just handbags.

most likely yep, but..why does it most often appear to be our players in trouble for that twitter thing ? is this really what goes on down at East Mains......a wee soak in the jacuzzi, then the sauna, game of pool, see what the bookies odds are for a wee punt, practise taking throw-in's (for 30 seconds)...then home for a nice relaxing bath after a hard days tweetering/gambling/gaming/lounging about etc etc...or have i taken it just a tad TOO far :greengrin

30-09-2013, 06:59 PM
Its just handbags.

Wonder if it had just been an ordinary member of the public if "Pink News" would have carried the story ?
Making use of the fact FM is in the public eye !!

30-09-2013, 07:04 PM
most likely yep, but..why does it most often appear to be our players in trouble for that twitter thing ? is this really what goes on down at East Mains......a wee soak in the jacuzzi, then the sauna, game of pool, see what the bookies odds are for a wee punt, practise taking throw-in's (for 30 seconds)...then home for a nice relaxing bath after a hard days tweetering/gambling/gaming/lounging about etc etc...or have i taken it just a tad TOO far :greengrin

Think so , given what my two lads put in ,in a week at EM

Tha Cabbage Kid
30-09-2013, 07:10 PM

could not agree more! ive used that term many a time but dont really assosiate it with sexuality. im sure there are people out there just looking to make a situation worse.

30-09-2013, 07:21 PM

Guys can be rrrrrsoles when trying to pull no matter the gender.

I think the challenge for folks these days is social norms are a-changing. IMO it would seem that peer pressure egged on by influencers and marketers encourage folks to open up their thoughts to the world (a marketers dream).
Rather than deal with stuff life throwsup there's the handheld device to blurb to all an sundry with little pause for thought. We most likely all ranted on the bevvy in previous life - today it's documented.

Kids today are in the spotlight like never before and it's not always easy for parents/employers to help them navigate through this. Any policy can't be all-encompassing.

As as an aside I know an employment law specialist an unsurprisingly this is a growth area for them...

scott7_0(Prague)
30-09-2013, 07:25 PM
Wonder if it was Gary Locke's brother who ruined his night?

30-09-2013, 07:35 PM
The pink news has gone for a different customer base from the days when I used to buy it :)

30-09-2013, 07:59 PM
Wonder if it had just been an ordinary member of the public if "Pink News" would have carried the story ?
Making use of the fact FM is in the public eye !!

:agree: without getting his side of the story, as well.

30-09-2013, 08:10 PM

aye theres nae chance we work on throw-ins for that long. Behave yersel.

Twa Cairpets
30-09-2013, 08:36 PM
Really think a bit of context needs to be used before slating the boy- it may well be he is getting abused/ noised up/ threatened and he has had enough and told him to bolt- no special treatment because it was a homosexual involved.

Nah. That's like saying "what about that Paki that kept giving me a hard time. Sooty *******" Not acceptable.

Mullen is in a job where misdemeanours will be pounced on. The tweet - regardless of context - was stupid and out of order, and he should get a right good slap from the club, told what he can and can't do, and to stop being an erse on twitter.

30-09-2013, 08:43 PM
Nah. That's like saying "what about that Paki that kept giving me a hard time. Sooty *******" Not acceptable.

Mullen is in a job where misdemeanours will be pounced on. The tweet - regardless of context - was stupid and out of order, and he should get a right good slap from the club, told what he can and can't do, and to stop being an erse on twitter.

:agree: :top marks

30-09-2013, 08:52 PM
I don't care much for Fraser Mullen.

TowerHibs
30-09-2013, 08:56 PM
the guy's just having a laugh, ok you cant get away with these things nowadays but nothing to worry about. Didnt mean to insult anyone

This s the Tam Cowan thread??? :cb

30-09-2013, 08:59 PM

If it's proven this account is his and he posted the tweet then absolutely spot on. Why is it we don't hear about, say, Barcelona players getting into bother on twitter?

30-09-2013, 09:05 PM
Guys can be rrrrrsoles when trying to pull no matter the gender.

I think the challenge for folks these days is social norms are a-changing. 07808976126IMO it would seem that peer pressure egged on by influencers and marketers encourage folks to open up their thoughts to the world (a marketers dream).
Rather than deal with stuff life throwsup there's the handheld device to blurb to all an sundry with little pause for thought. We most likely all ranted on the bevvy in previous life - today it's documented.

Kids today are in the spotlight like never before and it's not always easy for parents/employers to help them navigate through this. Any policy can't be all-encompassing.

As as an aside I know an employment law specialist an unsurprisingly this is a growth area for them...

Well at least Fraser didn't put his mobile number in his tweet. That would have been really stupid.

30-09-2013, 09:06 PM
If it's proven this account is his and he posted the tweet then absolutely spot on. Why is it we don't hear about, say, Barcelona players getting into bother on twitter?

They are to busy bumping the taxman. :cb

30-09-2013, 09:08 PM
Its just handbags.

half.time.draw.
30-09-2013, 09:16 PM
Gods sake do you need to edit anything you say to make it publicly acceptable.
The worlds went mad.

Leishy1995
30-09-2013, 09:22 PM

Most big players don't run their accounts.

Obviously there is a few in Britain that do but Spanish clubs I doubt even let their players use twitter for personal use.

30-09-2013, 09:25 PM

Rightly or wrongly, in terms of common usage and acceptance, the use of the terms 'poof' and 'paki' don't cause the same level of offence (although the groups concerned are probably the least offended).

FWIW I agree with the second part of your post.

30-09-2013, 09:26 PM
The worlds went mad.

:agree: See below:

For Gods' sake, do you need to edit anything (everything) you say to make it publicly acceptable?
The world's went (gone) mad.

30-09-2013, 09:32 PM

For Gods' sake, do you need to edit anything (everything) you say to make it publicly acceptable?

Beat me to it. :hilarious

(Although 'God' with a capital G suggests a singular god, so I'd have the apostrophe before the 's'.)

30-09-2013, 09:33 PM

Now that really is PC - correcting the punctuation to include more than one god.

30-09-2013, 09:38 PM
The worlds went mad.

Until very recently, that's exactly what happened to everything that was put in the public domain (as opposed to what was said in private, between individuals), and it would have been looked over by lawyers if there was any suggestion of potential bother. Now, anyone with access to relatively inexpensive technology has the ability to publish, world-wide, their unedited thoughts, opinions and drunken ramblings, instantaneously. Generally speaking, I'm not sure the world's a better place for it.:coffee:

30-09-2013, 09:40 PM
Beat me to it. :hilarious

(Although 'God' with a capital G suggests a singular god, so I'd have the apostrophe before the 's'.)

Now that really is PC - correcting the punctuation to include more than one god.

:aok: I was being 'inclusive' :wink: :greengrin

whiskas
30-09-2013, 10:27 PM
Pretty poor timing given that there's a current anti-homophobia campaign going on with the rainbow laces.

30-09-2013, 10:30 PM
They dinnae practise throw in's.

30-09-2013, 11:00 PM
Words not acceptable any more and shouldn't be used pure and simple. I find it quite bizarre that football fans get really angry when rival teams or their fans indulge in secretarianism, racism, homophobia etc but instantly jump to the defence of their own club in similar situations.

Football has done a huge amount to combat racism (although there is still work to be done) but as a sport it's still decades behind in its attitude to homosexuality. Stuff like this really doesn't help the game or our club and we need to have a word with Mullen and make sure he's aware that it's not the behaviour expected of a professional at Easter Road.

30-09-2013, 11:46 PM

Possibly, Fraser's a good looking laddie.

So how can we ensure any further instances are handled without upsetting our light loafered friends? Fraser, next time please respond with something along the lines of "Tradesmans entrance is for deposits, not deliveries" or such like, and everyone's happy...!

01-10-2013, 12:41 AM
Words not acceptable any more and shouldn't be used pure and simple. I find it quite bizarre that football fans get really angry when rival teams or their fans indulge in secretarianism, racism, homophobia etc but instantly jump to the defence of their own club in similar situations.

Dearie me, is that secretaries added to the banned list now too?

sadtom
01-10-2013, 01:42 AM
Agree with Whiskas that it was certainly bad timing in light of the current campaign.
Think it was stupid and wrong and we should be beyond that in this day and age.
However I do think that when its written down, context, intonation etc is lost so it could appear more offensive than if it was actually heard.

It does remind me of the Jerry Sadowic rant when he was talking about language, the context its used in, new meanings, and regional variations when he said... "In Scotland, Quentin Crisp is a homosexual...but Jimmy Hill's a f***in' p**f!" :greengrin

01-10-2013, 07:41 AM
Well at least Fraser didn't put his mobile number in his tweet. That would have been really stupid.

Oops! I hate the iPhone. Actually I don't even know who's number that is it was a random caller but aeons could you remove. Thx

01-10-2013, 08:11 AM
I give up. Looks like it will be a few more generations until we stop breeding morons.

01-10-2013, 08:19 AM
Fraser Mullen is a guff right back and a bit of a clown it seems.

01-10-2013, 08:28 AM
Whilst I see the point of view that people nowadays are quick to have their own definition of 'offence' when it suits them, it's quite ironic though that we have one thread almost universally (rightly) condemning The Rangers and some soldiers for sectarianism/bigotry, yet some see this tweet as nothing more that ill advised, ill considered outburst.

This is especially astounding seeing as all Scottish clubs this season have been visited by police regarding social media use :rolleyes: And in light of the rainbow laces campaign.

I was at school in the 70's and 80's when Mind Your Language and Alf Garnett were standard TV fare - luckily I went to a city centre school where if you kicked a ball (or tennis ball) in the general direction of the two rolled up coats, it didn't matter what colour you were or what 'side you batted with' - you were just a mate. My folks taught me that thankfully. Plus one of my Chinese mates had a restaurant we were always able to get free food from now and again at lunchtimes :greengrin

Respect and common courtesy - not that common these days.

Twitter is going to be the end of many people's career/job - it's an absolute given someone will make a formal complaint because of this as well - just sheer stupidity and ignorance on Mullen's part.

01-10-2013, 08:38 AM
Oops! I hate the iPhone. Actually I don't even know who's number that is it was a random caller but aeons could you remove. Thx
"Aeons" lol

01-10-2013, 08:58 AM
I give up. Looks like it will be a few more generations until we stop breeding morons.

:agree: Especially those who won't accept that common language and cultural changes don't happen overnight.

01-10-2013, 09:15 AM
"Aeons" lol

Of FFA !

Since switching to the Imoan (or 'milan') 5 and ios7 it's been replacing allsorts of random stuff.
Too quick hitting Done.

Predictive text is crop.

01-10-2013, 11:36 AM
Rightly or wrongly, in terms of common usage and acceptance, the use of the terms 'poof' and 'paki' don't cause the same level of offence (although the groups concerned are probably the least offended).

FWIW I agree with the second part of your post.

I see and hear this claim brought out every time this topic comes up. "The groups concerned are probably the least offended."

This means (I assume) that I would probably be mre offended if Mullen called a homosexual friend of mine a "poof" than my friend would be.

Or that if someone called my very conscientious and friendly postie a "f****** Paki" I would be more upset and angry than he would be.

This might very well be true, but it still doesn't make it right to call people these names. But I really don't believe it's true. I think that people don't say anything because they know that doing so will get them nowhere. They'll be told they need to "get a sense of humour", or something equally inane.

It seems to me that in the "minds" of a considerable proportion of the population of Scotland, the only groups deserving of toleration and understanding are the racists and sectarian bigots.

It's reasonably OK to call my postie a Paki because it's not have as bad as calling him a wog or a coon.

It's quite acceptable to call an Irishman "Pat" or "Paddy" because it's better than calling him a "taig" or a "Fenian b******".

As Spike Milligan said many years ago in The Goon Show, "It's all rather confusing, really." :rolleyes:

01-10-2013, 11:45 AM
'Quentin Crisp is a homosexual, Jimmy Hill is a poof!.

Jerry Sadowitz.

...just as another thought on the matter.

Oh aye, I've always wondered why the term 'Homophobia' is used in reference to people who abuse or criticize Homosexuals. A phobia, as I'm sure almost everyone knows, is a fear of something, e.g. Arachnophobia is a fear of spiders.

01-10-2013, 12:14 PM
Front page of the evening news today

01-10-2013, 12:16 PM

Of course it is...! :rolleyes:

01-10-2013, 12:18 PM

WW3 size headlines as well. How that paper has fallen.

patlowe
01-10-2013, 12:20 PM
If Mullen posted the tweet then it betrays an inherent ignorance in his character and there aren't really any excuses for it. Much like Sparky's racist tweet, I'm willing to accept that there's an element of naivety and possibly even a need for education on such matters, but it's still wrong and should be punished.

01-10-2013, 12:20 PM
WW3 size headlines as well. How that paper has fallen.

I saw just it. I assume they have trained chimps producing the EEN nowadays.

01-10-2013, 12:22 PM
'Quentin Crisp is a homosexual, Jimmy Hill is a poof!.

Jerry Sadowitz.

...just as another thought on the matter.

Oh aye, I've always wondered why the term 'Homophobia' is used in reference to people who abuse or criticize Homosexuals. A phobia, as I'm sure almost everyone knows, is a fear of something, e.g. Arachnophobia is a fear of spiders.

I reckon a lot of the abuse homosexuals face is driven by fear (as well as ignorance). I suppose you could call it the cardinal obrien Phenomenon-those shouting loudest about homosexuality being wrong or unacceptable are often repressing such feelings themselves.

TowerHibs
01-10-2013, 12:24 PM
I saw just it. I assume they have trained chimps producing the EEN nowadays.

What and tam cowan being a sexist and jambos stealing from charities isnt front page news

We live in crazy times!!!!

On a serious note, hibs have to seriously think about its relationship with our "local" paper. Their editoral seems deeply biased

01-10-2013, 12:24 PM
I expect it'll be next to some article that compares the heroic exploits of the young Hearts players to the sacrifices of the McCraes batallion.

You have to give some respect to what Kevin Twaddle said in the article. He put into context both the age of the guy and the ridiculous amount of abuse they get and can be quite human and react to it. He in no way is defending the terms used but puts into words how many of us have described this.

I await with baited breath the criticisms of the support on the other side of town that regularly sing 'all the hibees are gay'.

01-10-2013, 12:27 PM
I reckon a lot of the abuse homosexuals face is driven by fear (as well as ignorance). I suppose you could call it the cardinal obrien Phenomenon-those shouting loudest about homosexuality being wrong or unacceptable are often repressing such feelings themselves.

I did wonder about that. If so, it's rather stupid logic.

That's like saying that those who abuse people with black or brown skin are only doing so because they'd love to have a little more pigmentation themselves. Or that some people secretly wish they were Jews or Pakistanis.

01-10-2013, 12:32 PM
I did wonder about that. If so, it's rather stupid logic.

That's like saying that those who abuse people with black or brown skin are only doing so because they'd love to have a little more pigmentation themselves. Or that some people secretly wish they were Jews or Pakistanis.
I think you've just highlighted some of the inherent differences between race and sexuality, and personally I think it often is a phobia in racism too-fear of the different and unknown.

01-10-2013, 12:56 PM
What and tam cowan being a sexist and jambos stealing from charities isnt front page news

We live in crazy times!!!!

On a serious note, hibs have to seriously think about its relationship with our "local" paper. Their editoral seems deeply biased

It is pretty hard for anyone at Hibs to defend things like this, i do believe Hibs have a problem with the press highlighting things on front pages of newspaper that is the problem, we are not the only club in Scotland whose players get in to bother, it just seems that the press go way over the top when it has a story related to anything Hibs, and any other club in Scotland whose players get in to bother either don't get picked up by the press or it finds a small piece on page 15 that **** ********* pleaded guilty to drink driving and was banned from driving and fined £500 and that's about it, if its a Hibs player they are splattered all over the front page and then go on to talk about other Hibs players that have been in the press in the past, for some reason the media have it in for anything that is Hibs related.

01-10-2013, 01:00 PM
It just the fashion noo:cb

01-10-2013, 01:02 PM
It is pretty hard for anyone at Hibs to defend things like this, i do believe Hibs have a problem with the press highlighting things on front pages of newspaper that is the problem, we are not the only club in Scotland whose players get in to bother, it just seems that the press go way over the top when it has a story related to anything Hibs, and any other club in Scotland whose players get in to bother either don't get picked up by the press or it finds a small piece on page 15 that **** ********* pleaded guilty to drink driving and was banned from driving and fined £500 and that's about it, if its a Hibs player they are splattered all over the front page and then go on to talk about other Hibs players that have been in the press in the past, for some reason the media have it in for anything that is Hibs related.

Exactly! If I was to report every offensive tweet by a footballer the papers would be full from page one to back page of them!

01-10-2013, 01:23 PM
Its just handbags.

To be fair, the lad was probably on a bender at the time.

01-10-2013, 01:49 PM
To be fair, the lad was probably on a bender at the time.

:TskTsk:

patlowe
01-10-2013, 01:53 PM

I've no doubt that the media enjoys being able to stir it up a bit when Hibs players are involved but we don't half make it easy for them! I don't actually think it's an inherent bias, more just an easy narrative for them to latch on to and spin. I'm not going to get all "there's something rotten at this club" but IMO it's up to our players to behave in a fashion befitting a professional footballer - if you do that then there's very little they can pin on you.

Fenlon will be :grr: given that he just publically backed Mullen.

01-10-2013, 02:56 PM
Really? Of all the things on twitter that gets said and this is the one they pick up on? It should make no difference who you are, if he does get penalised or into bother then so should every other person on twitter that uses that term. What if someone says worse? There's no difference in saying it in person and sayin it on the internet but I think very little people would blink a eye lid if someone in the pub called a boy a poof. That's not me saying it's right to say it or anything, but Jesus.....how is this in the paper

patlowe
01-10-2013, 03:05 PM
Really? Of all the things on twitter that gets said and this is the one they pick up on? It should make no difference who you are, if he does get penalised or into bother then so should every other person on twitter that uses that term. What if someone says worse? There's no difference in saying it in person and sayin it on the internet but I think very little people would blink a eye lid if someone in the pub called a boy a poof. That's not me saying it's right to say it or anything, but Jesus.....how is this in the paper

I would certainly be offended if I heard someone called a 'poof', particularly in such a derogatory manner. In terms of him being penalised - I don't think it should be a criminal case but he should be reprimanded by either Hibs, the SFA or both IMO.

01-10-2013, 03:06 PM

It's about a Hibs player.

RSS Bot
01-10-2013, 03:10 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20131001/fraser-mullen-apology_2262950_3477486)

01-10-2013, 03:17 PM
I would certainly be offended if I heard someone called a 'poof', particularly in such a derogatory manner. In terms of him being penalised - I don't think it should be a criminal case but he should be reprimanded by Hibs, the SFA or both IMO.

Where does that leave my friend , from Aberdeenshire , who was called a " SHEEP S.....R " on twitter by a guy claiming to be a Hibs supporter .
That didn't make the newspapers

A story concerning someone in the public eye sells newspapers - end of :rolleyes:

patlowe
01-10-2013, 03:39 PM
Where does that leave my friend , from Aberdeenshire , who was called a " SHEEP S.....R " on twitter by a guy claiming to be a Hibs supporter .
That didn't make the newspapers

A story concerning someone in the public eye sells newspapers - end of :rolleyes:

I take it you are being sarcastic? If not, your friend has the right to be offended by that, although I'm guessing he/she probably wasn't? I wouldn't be uncomfortable with the guy being reprimanded in some way for behaving in such a stupid manner if there was a way of doing so. You're right that such abuse online doesn't make the newspapers. Neither would Mullen if he had kept his narrow-minded thoughts to himself.

01-10-2013, 03:52 PM
I would certainly be offended if I heard someone called a 'poof', particularly in such a derogatory manner. In terms of him being penalised - I don't think it should be a criminal case but he should be reprimanded by either Hibs, the SFA or both IMO.

Fair enough, was just meaning with most young guys it's usually used as a daft wee insult that no one takes to seriously around here. Can't comment on the person he's using it against tho! Or what the guy must have said to him to get this reaction

01-10-2013, 03:59 PM
I take it you are being sarcastic? If not, your friend has the right to be offended by that, although I'm guessing he/she probably wasn't? I wouldn't be uncomfortable with the guy being reprimanded in some way for behaving in such a stupid manner if there was a way of doing so. You're right that such abuse online doesn't make the newspapers. Neither would Mullen if he had kept his narrow-minded thoughts to himself.

I was making the point that my friend just laughed it off as possibly the hundredth time someone had said that to him in his seventy odd years !!
I accept that in 2013 we have to live with a completely different set of values than when I was a young man 60 years ago BUT !
In my twenties I worked abroad a lot and if I had thrown the toys out the pram every time I was called " Scots Git" , Haggis Basher " " Jock the Cock " etc etc I would have been involved in a large number of punch ups
My point is that OK FM made a mistake but some people on here are trying to make out it is a " Death Penalty" offence
Let's accept that the lad will have learned and we can then move on
It's not the crime of the century surely :confused:

patlowe
01-10-2013, 06:40 PM
I was making the point that my friend just laughed it off as possibly the hundredth time someone had said that to him in his seventy odd years !!
I accept that in 2013 we have to live with a completely different set of values than when I was a young man 60 years ago BUT !
In my twenties I worked abroad a lot and if I had thrown the toys out the pram every time I was called " Scots Git" , Haggis Basher " " Jock the Cock " etc etc I would have been involved in a large number of punch ups
My point is that OK FM made a mistake but some people on here are trying to make out it is a " Death Penalty" offence
Let's accept that the lad will have learned and we can then move on
It's not the crime of the century surely :confused:

I generally agree with you but I do think it should be made clear that use of the kind of language he used is wrong and shouldn't be tolerated.

01-10-2013, 07:55 PM
I generally agree with you but I do think it should be made clear that use of the kind of language he used is wrong and shouldn't be tolerated.

Politcal correctness rules OK :wink::greengrin
Just hope EVERYONE pays heed to the need to censor the use of " that kind of language " :agree:
My final comment :bye:

01-10-2013, 08:51 PM

Stops them focussing on recent events at Castle Greyskull.

01-10-2013, 09:45 PM
It never ceases to disappoint me when people demand the right to use language which they've been asked not to.

It's like their right to use offensive words trumps the right of others not to be humiliated.

Or maybe their vocabulary is extremely limited and they don't have the intellect to learn different terms.

Of course it's not that at all. In most cases, it's because they're really racist, sexist or homophobic bullies.

01-10-2013, 09:49 PM

Quite right Pat.

Now can you please share your thoughts with Fraser and offer him advise as to how you would inoffensively rebuff unwanted advances on a night out to receive objects up your back passage?

This will help us avoid these situations in the future.

01-10-2013, 09:52 PM
I'm not a homophobe, my boyfriend's gay.

01-10-2013, 09:59 PM
Quite right Pat.

Now can you please share your thoughts with Fraser and offer him advise as to how you would inoffensively rebuff unwanted advances on a night out to receive objects up your back passage?

Women have been rebuffing unwanted advances on nights out for years. They are probably better role models in these situations.

01-10-2013, 10:09 PM
Women have been rebuffing unwanted advances on nights out for years. They are probably better role models in these situations.

Fair comment.

01-10-2013, 10:15 PM
Quite right Pat.

How about simply saying" I'm not gay. I like women not men"?

01-10-2013, 10:17 PM

There's no testosterone-fuelled expression of masculinity in that. :cb

01-10-2013, 10:29 PM

That might work.

I'd suggested something similar in the discussion.

Would that tack work for a small attractive woman to see off the advances of a rather large, overbearing man with sinister intentions?

01-10-2013, 10:36 PM
That might work.

Would that tack work for a small attractive woman to see off the advances of a rather large, overbearing man with sinister intentions?

I don't really understand the question.

If she felt threatened she may have to ask for help.

She might be well advised to call the police.

01-10-2013, 10:45 PM
That might work.

In my experience, being the swaggering sexual tyrannosaurus that I am, I've found the three most popular excuses I get from women are;

"Not tonight, I've got a headache"
"I can't, I'm on my period", or more commonly
"Get your hands off my neck, I don't even know you"

Stop the world, I want off.

01-10-2013, 10:46 PM
I don't really understand the question.

If she felt threatened she may have to ask for help.

She might be well advised to call the police.

That's interesting. You assumed that Fraser would have simply rebuffed the advances with some clever rhetoric whereas a young lady would seek help.

Why? If the guy making the advances was some 20stone bruiser why would would their responses differ?

01-10-2013, 10:55 PM
In my experience, being the swaggering sexual tyrannosaurus that I am, I've found the three most popular excuses I get from women are;

"Not tonight, I've got a headache"
"I can't, I'm on my period", or more commonly
"Get your hands off my neck, I don't even know you"

Stop the world, I want off.

That's fine, but how would you you rebuff advances of a homosexual nature? Would you revert to twittering an unsavoury term or dazzle your audience with stellar perspicacity on here?

01-10-2013, 11:09 PM
Footballer calls someone a poof. ...... Front page EEN headlines.

Johnathan Ross introduces 4 Poofs and a Piano on his show every Friday night for two years and nobody complains.

01-10-2013, 11:26 PM
That's fine, but how would you you rebuff advances of a homosexual nature? Would you revert to twittering an unsavoury term or dazzle your audience with stellar perspicacity on here?

Who said I would rebuff it you presumptuous prude? ;)

01-10-2013, 11:47 PM
Who said I would rebuff it you presumptuous prude? ;)

Apologies.

02-10-2013, 06:28 AM
That's interesting. You assumed that Fraser would have simply rebuffed the advances with some clever rhetoric whereas a young lady would seek help.

Why? If the guy making the advances was some 20stone bruiser why would would their responses differ?

If anyone feels threatened they should seek help.

I certainly wouldn't suggest rushing off to twitter to call them names as the ideal solution.

02-10-2013, 06:28 AM
The front page story was a bit ridiculous. Has the EEN ever covered the entire hearts supports penchant for singing out pretty comparable homosexual slurs?

Thought not. Must be running out of things to report on while avoiding saying anything bad about the cardigan brigade.

02-10-2013, 06:31 AM

That doesn't always work.

02-10-2013, 06:59 AM

No of course it doesn't always work but I was answering the question with one obvious possibility.

Walking away, running away, seeking help from otger prople or bouncers ortgreatening to csll the police, or calling them shouting at them are just a few more possibilities depending on the circumstances.

I don't know what situation Mullen faced and I don't know how he dealt with it, other than his tweet later.

02-10-2013, 08:23 AM
If it turns out Mullen is gay, will his comment still be offensive?

I think the Pink and everyone else might have been better off getting the facts. For example, in what way was Frasers night ruined, where was he, who was he with.

Crucifying someone for using the word poof, is like stoning a man for saying his halibut was fit for Jehovah.

Seems to me niche papers like The Pink, are so desperate for news that they will print utter trivia. I mean Fraser Mullen, a role model for youngsters?

02-10-2013, 10:56 AM
This is just anouther example of how social networks such as twitter can be a bear trap for professional footballers. The media are quick to pick up on anything they say to make a good story. I'm not saying that Mullens comments were right and I know atm there is a big campaign about kicking homophobia out of football so there is zero tolerance which is quite right but he's a young lad and I genuinly don't think he really thought about what he was writing but as usual the media like to make a mountain out a mole hill.

02-10-2013, 10:59 AM
I know footballers are still normal human beings and should be allowed the same privalidges as anyone else including being able to enjoy social networking but it really is more trouble than its worth. If i was a manager I would seriously be advising my players to stay well clear of it, as it can cause trouble. We have seen many times how the media can blow up very minor things and obviously it's an opportunity for idiots to give them very harmful abuse, as we have learned this week with Sparky.

02-10-2013, 11:34 AM
Social networking is manna from heaven for lazy journalists. Why bother investigating the The Rangers/Armed Forces nonsense at the w-end when you can just sit and trawl through Twitter/Facebook all day looking for something to be offended by on others behalf that someone "famous" has posted.

02-10-2013, 11:58 AM
If anyone feels threatened they should seek help.

I certainly wouldn't suggest rushing off to twitter to call them names as the ideal solution.

Completely agree with that.

02-10-2013, 03:16 PM
Wait I am getting confused, have I missed something? Did a boy make a move on Fraser or am reading this wrong??? Haha

02-10-2013, 03:33 PM

Correct as said earlier - guys are able to be complete rrrrrrses in the pursuit of their whatever's no matter the gender.

I suppose the added twist here is it puts the person in question (and here we may be jumping to conclusions re Mullen) in a position they've probably not faced before - turning down a (let's say) persistent admirer that happens to be of the same sex.

I have been in that position before (the guy was bordering on disrespectful IMO in his persistence) and I'm relatively liberal and managed to deal with it without offence. I can laugh at it now and the only other time I was approached I was then in a frame of mind to have a good laugh at it However it the time of the first instance I did vent off to my mates - the difference now is the advent of social media. I'm hyper - conscious about social media so would not have fired off a tweet but for kids today that can often be a bit of a social norm.